DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 03/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isami (US20210229550) in view of Kurosawa (EP3486111) further in view of Imada (JP3325347).
Claim 1:
Isami explicitly teaches:
A method for controlling an electric two-wheel vehicle, the electric two-wheel vehicle including a motor, a clutch, and a stepped transmission, the method comprising:
(Isami) – “To solve the above problems, a first disclosure is applied to an electric vehicle includes an electric motor for transmitting torque to a wheel, a clutch device operated by driver, and a torque controller for controlling torque of the electric motor. The torque controller is configured to control torque of the electric motor in response to an operation amount of the clutch device. The clutch device may include a clutch pedal or a clutch lever.” (Para 0007)
“Here, in the torque control of the electric motor 2, the ECU 50 performs a calculation assuming that a traveling condition of the electric vehicle 10 is realized by the MT vehicle equipped with a virtual engine and a virtual transmission. Then, the ECU 50 calculates a transmission output torque Tgout output from the transmission, and uses the calculated transmission output torque Tgout as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0052)
“The electric vehicle 10 of the present embodiment may be configured as a two-wheeled MT vehicle (motorcycle) not limited to four-wheeled MT vehicle (automobile). A typical motorcycle (MT vehicle) has a clutch lever operated by hand and a shift pedal operated by foot. Therefore, in the motorcycle as the electric vehicle 10, the shift pedal can be configured to have the function of the shift device in place of the shift lever 26 of the automobile, and the clutch lever can be configured to have the function of the clutch device in place of the clutch pedal 28 of the automobile.” (Para 0082)
“the shift device can select any one of a plurality of modes in which the torque characteristics with respect to the rotational speed of the electric motor are stepwise different.” (Para 0025)
an engagement state detecting step of detecting an engagement state of the clutch;
(Isami) – “The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a function as a clutch device having a structure simulating a clutch pedal provided by an MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is depressed when the driver operates the shift lever 26. The layout and feeling of operation of the clutch pedal 28 is equivalent to an actual MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a clutch position sensor 38 for detecting a clutch pedal depressing amount Pc (%) which is an operation amount of the clutch pedal 28. The signal detected by the clutch position sensor 38 is output to the ECU 50 which will be described later.” (Para 0048)
an accelerator operation detecting step of detecting an amount of accelerator operation performed by a rider after detecting that is engaged;
(Isami) – “The electric vehicle 10 includes an accelerator pedal 22 for inputting an acceleration request and a brake pedal 24 for inputting a braking request as an operation request input device for inputting an operation request to the electric vehicle 10 by driver. The accelerator pedal 22 is provided with an accelerator position sensor 32 for detecting the accelerator opening Pap (%). Further, the brake pedal 24 is provided with a brake position sensor 34 for detecting the pedal depression amount. Each of signals detected by the accelerator position sensor 32 and the brake position sensor 34 is output to the ECU 50 to be described later.” (Para 0044)
“The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a function as a clutch device having a structure simulating a clutch pedal provided by an MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is depressed when the driver operates the shift lever 26. The layout and feeling of operation of the clutch pedal 28 is equivalent to an actual MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a clutch position sensor 38 for detecting a clutch pedal depressing amount Pc (%) which is an operation amount of the clutch pedal 28. The signal detected by the clutch position sensor 38 is output to the ECU 50 which will be described later.” (Para 0048)
a target motor rotation speed setting step of setting a target motor rotation speed based on the accelerator operation amount;
(Isami) – “the shift device can select any one of a plurality of modes in which the torque characteristics with respect to the rotational speed of the electric motor are stepwise different.” (Para 0025)
“The electric vehicle 10 includes an accelerator pedal 22 for inputting an acceleration request and a brake pedal 24 for inputting a braking request as an operation request input device for inputting an operation request to the electric vehicle 10 by driver. The accelerator pedal 22 is provided with an accelerator position sensor 32 for detecting the accelerator opening Pap (%). Further, the brake pedal 24 is provided with a brake position sensor 34 for detecting the pedal depression amount. Each of signals detected by the accelerator position sensor 32 and the brake position sensor 34 is output to the ECU 50 to be described later.” (Para 0044)
“The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
a motor rotation speed controlling step of controlling a rotation speed of the motor based on the target motor rotation speed;
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
an engagement start detecting step of detecting start of engagement of the clutch; and
(Isami) – “The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a function as a clutch device having a structure simulating a clutch pedal provided by an MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is depressed when the driver operates the shift lever 26. The layout and feeling of operation of the clutch pedal 28 is equivalent to an actual MT vehicle. The clutch pedal 28 is provided with a clutch position sensor 38 for detecting a clutch pedal depressing amount Pc (%) which is an operation amount of the clutch pedal 28. The signal detected by the clutch position sensor 38 is output to the ECU 50 which will be described later.” (Para 0048)
an output controlling step of starting output control based on a start preparation required output when the start of engagement of the clutch is detected in the engagement start detecting step, the start preparation required output being determined such that a vehicle speed of the electric two-wheel vehicle is generated [only up to a vehicle speed of a set traveling resistance],
(Isami) – “The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the method further comprises: a torque map switching step of switching a torque map followed by the motor, [among a plurality of torque maps stored in a memory in advance, based on the engagement state of the clutch].
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
“A rotation speed sensor 40 for detecting a shaft rotation speed Np is disposed on the propeller shaft 5.” (Para 0042)
“While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.” (Para 0054)
Isami does not explicitly teach:
only up to a vehicle speed of a set traveling resistance… among a plurality of torque maps stored in a memory in advance, based on the engagement state of the clutch
Kurosawa, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
only up to a vehicle speed of a set traveling resistance
(Kurosawa) – “Also, as shown in Fig. 2, the torque threshold value (T.sub.1_ON) is set to a value lower than the torque indicated by the characteristic of the traveling resistance line (R/L line). The torque indicated by the characteristic of the traveling resistance line (R/L line) is the torque required to maintain the vehicle speed constant. …Then, when the request torque reaches an intersection point Q, the driving force and traveling resistance become a balanced state and the vehicle speed becomes a constant speed (Vq). The intersection point Q is a point at which the graph of 20% accelerator opening and traveling resistance line (R/L line) intersect. The torque threshold value (T.sub.1_ON) that corresponds to the speed Vq is set to a value that is lower than the torque indicated by the intersection point Q. Also, for speeds other than the speed Vq, the torque threshold value (T.sub.1_ON) is set to a value that is lower than the torque indicated by the characteristic of the traveling resistance line (R/L line).” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electric vehicle of Isami with the torque control method of Kurosawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “driving efficiency of the motor can be improved.” (Kurosawa Para 0007)
Kurosawa does not explicitly teach:
among a plurality of torque maps stored in a memory in advance, based on the engagement state of the clutch
Imada, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
among a plurality of torque maps stored in a memory in advance, based on the engagement state of the clutch
(Imada) – “A control program for driving force distribution control for controlling the driving force distribution to the wheels 1 to 4 and a plurality of maps and the like accompanying the control program are previously input and stored, and the RAM is required for arithmetic processing of the control. Various memories are provided.” (Para 0022)
“Here, each of the maps M1, M4 and M6 corresponds to a torque characteristic in which a characteristic of the fastening torque is set, and each of the maps M2, M3 and M5 is a characteristic of a gain multiplied by the fastening torque. Is equivalent to the gain characteristic in which. Next, the configuration of these maps M1 to M7 will be described. As shown in FIG. 3, the map M1 includes the engagement torque Tn using the differential rotation speed ΔN as a parameter.” (Para 0026)
“In the driving force distribution control (differential limit control) executed by the clutch control device 32, the engagement torque Tn according to the differential rotation speed ΔN, the engagement torque Tψ according to the estimated lateral acceleration α, and the vehicle speed V The corresponding engagement torque Tv is obtained from the respective torque characteristic maps, and based on the total torque thereof, the differential limiting torque of the electromagnetic clutch 19 is controlled.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electric vehicle of Isami with the driving force control apparatus of Imada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to enable the differential limiting torque of the differential limiting clutch means of a four-wheel drive vehicle to be appropriately controlled in consideration of the correlation between a plurality of physical parameters” (Imada Para 0004)
Claim 2:
Isami in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isami further teaches:
wherein the output controlling step is executed when it is detected that the accelerator operation amount is not zero after the start of engagement of the clutch is detected in the engagement start detecting step.
(Isami) – “The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
Claim 3:
Isami in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isami further teaches:
further comprising: a motor rotation speed detecting step of detecting a motor rotation speed; and
(Isami) – “A rotation speed sensor 40 for detecting a shaft rotation speed Np is disposed on the propeller shaft 5.” (Para 0042)
“While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.” (Para 0054)
a vehicle speed measuring step of measuring the vehicle speed,
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, “vehicle speed” may correspond with any speed related to a vehicle.
wherein in the torque map switching step, the torque map is switched further based on at least one of the motor rotation speed, and the vehicle speed.
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
“A rotation speed sensor 40 for detecting a shaft rotation speed Np is disposed on the propeller shaft 5.” (Para 0042)
“While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.” (Para 0054)
Claim 4:
Isami in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Isami further teaches:
further comprising a first switching step of switching the torque map followed by the motor to a first map set based on a stall rotation speed of the motor when it is detected that the motor rotation speed has decreased or the vehicle speed has become a predetermined threshold or more after the start of the output control based on the start preparation required output.
(Isami) – “Further, during idling of the MT vehicle, idle speed control (ISC control) is performed to maintain the engine speed at a constant engine speed. Therefore, in view of the ISC control in the virtual engine, when, for example, the shaft rotation speed Np is 0 (zero) and the accelerator opening Pap is 0%, the ECU 50 outputs the virtual engine speed Ne as a predetermined idling speed (for example, 1000 rpm) on the assumption that the virtual engine is idling. The calculated virtual engine speed Ne is output to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502.” (Para 0056)
“The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, stall rotation speed may correspond with predetermined idling speed.
Claim 5:
Isami in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Isami further teaches:
further comprising:
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
“A rotation speed sensor 40 for detecting a shaft rotation speed Np is disposed on the propeller shaft 5.” (Para 0042)
“While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.” (Para 0054)
“the shift device can select any one of a plurality of modes in which the torque characteristics with respect to the rotational speed of the electric motor are stepwise different.” (Para 0025)
a second switching step of switching the torque map followed by the motor to a econd map [different from the first map when] the completion of engagement of the clutch is detected in the engagement completion detecting step.
(Isami) – “The virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating the virtual engine output torque Teout. The accelerator opening degree Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne are input to the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the virtual engine output torque Teout for the virtual engine speed Ne is specified for each accelerator opening Pap. FIG. 3 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the virtual engine output torque. In the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the virtual engine output torque Teout corresponding to the input accelerator opening Pap and the virtual engine speed Ne is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 3. The calculated virtual engine output torque Teout is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0057)
“The torque transmission gain calculation unit 504 is a functional block that executes a process of calculating a torque transmission gain k. The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to a clutch pedal depression amount of the virtual engine. The clutch pedal depressing amount Pc is input to the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504. The memory 54 of the ECU 50 stores a map in which the torque transmission gain k for the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is specified. FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a calculation map of the torque transmission gain. As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3. Here, Pc0 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 0%, Pc1 corresponds to a position of a play limit when depressing from Pc0, Pc3 corresponds to a position where the clutch pedal depression amount Pc is 100%, and Pc2 corresponds to a position of a play limit when returning from Pc3. In the torque transmission gain calculating unit 504, the torque transmission gain k corresponding to the input clutch pedal depression amount Pc is calculated using the map shown in FIG. 4. The calculated torque transmission gain k is output to the clutch output torque calculation unit 506.” (Para 0058)
“In the torque control, the ECU 50 sequentially executes processing in the virtual engine output torque calculation unit 502, the torque transmission gain calculation unit 504, the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the gear ratio calculation unit 508, and the transmission output torque calculation unit 510. The calculated transmission output torque Tgout is output to the inverter 16 as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. The inverter 16 controls the command value to the electric motor 2 so that the electric motor driving torque Tp approaches the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq. In the torque control, by such a process is repeatedly executed at a predetermined control cycle, the electric motor driving torque Tp is controlled to the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” (Para 0064)
“A rotation speed sensor 40 for detecting a shaft rotation speed Np is disposed on the propeller shaft 5.” (Para 0042)
“While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.” (Para 0054)
“the shift device can select any one of a plurality of modes in which the torque characteristics with respect to the rotational speed of the electric motor are stepwise different.” (Para 0025)
Isami does not explicitly teach:
different from the first map when
Imada, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
different from the first map when
(Imada) – “A control program for driving force distribution control for controlling the driving force distribution to the wheels 1 to 4 and a plurality of maps and the like accompanying the control program are previously input and stored, and the RAM is required for arithmetic processing of the control. Various memories are provided.” (Para 0022)
“Here, each of the maps M1, M4 and M6 corresponds to a torque characteristic in which a characteristic of the fastening torque is set, and each of the maps M2, M3 and M5 is a characteristic of a gain multiplied by the fastening torque. Is equivalent to the gain characteristic in which. Next, the configuration of these maps M1 to M7 will be described. As shown in FIG. 3, the map M1 includes the engagement torque Tn using the differential rotation speed ΔN as a parameter.” (Para 0026)
“In the driving force distribution control (differential limit control) executed by the clutch control device 32, the engagement torque Tn according to the differential rotation speed ΔN, the engagement torque Tψ according to the estimated lateral acceleration α, and the vehicle speed V The corresponding engagement torque Tv is obtained from the respective torque characteristic maps, and based on the total torque thereof, the differential limiting torque of the electromagnetic clutch 19 is controlled.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electric vehicle of Isami with the driving force control apparatus of Imada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, “to enable the differential limiting torque of the differential limiting clutch means of a four-wheel drive vehicle to be appropriately controlled in consideration of the correlation between a plurality of physical parameters” (Imada Para 0004)
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 12/08/2025 has been withdrawn because the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 03/06/2026 sufficiently overcome this rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections mailed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but are not convincing. Specifically, all claims are now rejected further in view of Imada as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Imada resolves any alleged deficiencies of the previously cited prior art as evidenced in the updated rejection rationale above.
Therefore all claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takamatsu (US20100312444) teaches a plurality of target slip ratio maps.
Kumazawa (JP2012057706) teaches correcting a torque characteristic map.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658