DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 9/25/2024.
Claims 13-15 are cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer.
Claims 1-12, and 16 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on December 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210266943 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([see, [0044], a UE]),
the method comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on different cells ([see, [0008, 0044, 0087], receiving a DCI message scheduling a first transmission on a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second transmission on a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, wherein downlink data channel may include a PDSCH. Wherein the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]); and
receiving the PDSCHs on the different cells ([see, [0044, 0087], Wherein receiving a DCI message, the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]) or transmitting the PUSCHs on the different cells based on the DCI ([see, [0095], and Fig. 3, wherein the receive a PDCCH carrying the DCI message 310 on the component carrier 305-a, with a secondary cell scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH on a primary cell]),
wherein the DCI includes one or more time domain resource assignment (TDRA) (time resources) for the PDSCHs or the PUSCH on the different cells ([see, [0097-0098, 0106-0107, 0113], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
As per Claim 7, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the DCI includes one TDRA field (time resources) for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs, and the one TDRA field indicates one value that is commonly applied to the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs ([see, [0097-0098, 0106-0107, 0113], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the DCI includes one TDRA field for the PDSCH or the PUSCH on a reference cell from among the different cells ([see, [0097-0098, 0106-0107, 0113], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0135], and Fig. 9, a UE 115]) for transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver (a receiver 910); at least one processor (one or more processors); and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor (memory coupled with the one or more processors) and configured to store instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to perform a specific operation ([see, [0135], and Fig. 9, device 905 may be an example of aspects of a UE 115 as described herein. The device 905 may include a receiver 910, a UE communications manager 915, and a transmitter 920. The device 905 may also include one or more processors, memory coupled with the one or more processors, and instructions stored in the memory that are executable by the one or more processors]), including:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on different cells ([see, [0008, 0044, 0087, 0095], receiving a DCI message scheduling a first transmission on a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second transmission on a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, wherein downlink data channel may include a PDSCH. Wherein the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]); and
receiving the PDSCHs on the different cells ([see, [0044, 0087, 0095], Wherein receiving a DCI message, the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]) or transmitting the PUSCHs on the different cells based on the DCI ([see, [0095], and Fig. 3, wherein the receive a PDCCH carrying the DCI message 310 on the component carrier 305-a, with a secondary cell scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH on a primary cell]),
wherein the DCI includes one or more time domain resource assignment (TDRA) (time resources) for the PDSCHs or the PUSCH on the different cells ([see, [0097-0098, 0106-0107, 0113], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
As per Claim 16, D1 discloses a base station (BS) (a base station 105) for transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system (a base station communications with a UE 115), the BS comprising:
at least one transceiver ( transceiver 1220); at least one processor (the processor 1240); and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to perform a specific operation ([see, [0165-0167], and Fig. 12], memory 1230 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform]) including:
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on different cells ([see, [0008, 0044, 0087, 0095], receiving a DCI message scheduling a first transmission on a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second transmission on a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, wherein downlink data channel may include a PDSCH. Wherein the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]); and
transmitting the PDSCHs on the different cells ([see, [0044, 0087, 0095], Wherein receiving a DCI message, the DCI message may schedule a first PDSCH of a first component carrier and a second PDSCH of a second component carrier]) or receiving the PUSCHs on the different cells based on the DCI ([see, [0095], and Fig. 3, wherein the receive a PDCCH carrying the DCI message 310 on the component carrier 305-a, with a secondary cell scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH on a primary cell]),
wherein the DCI includes one or more time domain resource assignment (TDRA) (time resources) for the PDSCHs or the PUSCH on the different cells ([see, [0097-0098, 0106-0107, 0113], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210266943 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of CHENG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220046610), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 2, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the DCI includes one TDRA field for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs ([see, [0097-0098], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs on the different cells, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of all of the cells.
However, D2 discloses the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs on the different cells, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of all of the cells ([see, [0006, 0022], wherein the DCI identifies a first row of a time domain resource allocation TDRA table; the first row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a first number of PDSCHs; and a second row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a second number of PDSCHs, different from the first number]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 3, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the DCI includes one TDRA field for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs ([see, [0097-0098], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of some of the cells.
However, D2 discloses the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs on the different cells, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of some of the cells ([see, [0006, 0022], wherein the DCI identifies a first row of a time domain resource allocation TDRA table; the first row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a first number of PDSCHs; and a second row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a second number of PDSCHs, different from the first number]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 4, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the DCI includes one TDRA field for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs ([see, [0097-0098], and Fig. 2, wherein the DCI message 310 may include various indicator fields to indicate PUCCH resources for the HARQ feedback, which may indicate resources for a HARQ feedback for multiple PDSCH. The resources may include time resources (e.g., a symbol, a minislot, a slot, a subframe, a frame)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of some of the cells.
However, D2 discloses the one TDRA field indicates a row index in a TDRA table for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs on the different cells, and each row of the TDRA table includes information about a combination of some of the cells ([see, [0006, 0022], wherein the DCI identifies a first row of a time domain resource allocation TDRA table; the first row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a first number of PDSCHs; and a second row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a second number of PDSCHs, different from the first number]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 5, D1 discloses the method of claim 4, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the cell group includes cells in which the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs indicated by the one TDRA field are transmitted ([see, [0165], the DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs to dynamically schedule fewer than N PDSCHs with same TDRA table. Each bit of this flag indicates whether the corresponding PDSCH is transmitted)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 8, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the DCI includes a number of TDRA fields ([TDRA table row as filed), equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs; and each of the TDRA fields (first and second rows as fields) indicates a value for a corresponding PDSCH or PUSCH.
However, D2 discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes a number of TDRA fields ([TDRA table row as filed), equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs ([see, [0022], the first row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a first number of PDSCHs; and a second row of the TDRA table specifies the scheduling of a second number of PDSCHs]), and each of the TDRA fields (first and second rows as fields) indicates a value for a corresponding PDSCH or PUSCH ([see, [0022], the first row of the TDRA table corresponding a first number of PDSCHs, and the second row of the TDRA table corresponding a second number of PDSCHs]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the DCI includes a TDRA field including one first DCI field and a number of second DCI fields, equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs, an interval from a reception slot of the DCI to a transmission slot of the PDSCHs or a reception slot of the PUSCHs is equally configured through the first DCI field, and each of the second DCI fields indicates a start symbol and symbol length of a corresponding PDSCH or PUSCH.
However, D2 discloses wherein the DCI includes a TDRA field ([TDRA table row as filed), including one first DCI field and a number of second DCI fields (first and second rows as fields), equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs, an interval from a reception slot of the DCI to a transmission slot of the PDSCHs or a reception slot of the PUSCHs is equally configured through the first DCI field, and each of the second DCI fields indicates a start symbol and symbol length of a corresponding PDSCH or PUSCH ([see, [0010, 0022], wherein the DCI includes a downlink assignment index (DAI), and the first row of the TDRA table corresponding a first number of PDSCHs, and the second row of the TDRA table corresponding a second number of PDSCHs, and the DAI having a value greater, by more than one, than a DAI in a most recent previously received DCI, wherein the difference between the DAI and the DAI in the most recent previously received DCI equals the number of start and length indicators (SLIVs) in a row of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table identified by the DCI]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the DCI includes a TDRA field ([TDRA table row as filed), including one first DCI field and a number of second DCI fields (L DCI fields (see, [0180]) and M DCI fields (see, [0192])), equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs, a start symbol and symbol length of the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs are equally configured through the first DCI field, and each of the second DCI fields indicates a transmission slot of a corresponding PDSCH or a reception slot of a PUSCH from a reception slot of the DCI.
However, D2 discloses wherein the DCI includes a TDRA field ([TDRA table row as filed), including one first DCI field and a number of second DCI fields (L DCI fields (see, [0180])) and M DCI fields (see, [0192])), equal to a number of the PDSCHs or a number of the PUSCHs ([see, [0192-0193], wherein M DCI fields for downlink assignment index (DAI) and PUCCH resource indicator (PRI), the number of determined PUCCH slots P is always smaller or equal to the number of DAI and PRI fields M in the DCI]), a start symbol and symbol length of the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs are equally configured through the first DCI field, and each of the second DCI fields indicates a transmission slot of a corresponding PDSCH or a reception slot of a PUSCH from a reception slot of the DCI ([see, [0010, 0022, 0180, 0192], wherein the DAI having a value greater, by more than one, than a DAI in a most recent previously received DCI, wherein the difference between the DAI and the DAI in the most recent previously received DCI equals the number of start and length indicators (SLIVs) in a row of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table identified by the DCI]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improve the coverage for PDCCH and channel occupancy, and reduce signaling overhead in the unlicensed spectrum, a single DCI scheduling multiple contiguous PUSCHs is supported (D2, [0048, 0156]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210266943 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of LI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220053553), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein an interval from a reception slot of the DCI to a reception slot of the PDSCHs or a transmission slot of the PUSCHs is equally configured for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs.
However, D3 discloses wherein an interval from a reception slot of the DCI to a reception slot of the PDSCHs or a transmission slot of the PUSCHs is equally configured for the PDSCHs or the PUSCHs ([see, [0074], wherein interval determine the resources/scheduling gap, determine that a value of K that is larger or equal than a minimum scheduling gap is indicated in DCI and TDRA table(s), the table may be applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission(s)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide applied for time domain resource allocation of the corresponding PUSCH transmission results improving efficiency and its operation of the communication system as well as particular devices pertaining to the system (D3, [0003]]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418