DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cooling means” in claim 1 to be means allowing to reduce the temperature of the user of the indoor sports device, including a fan, an apparatus for spraying water, an air conditioner, a water mister, an air purifier as described on page 3, lines 19-22 of the specification;
“reception means” in claim 3 to be an opening having a shape allowing to receive and stabilize a container such as a water bottle holder, a cup holder, or a glass holder as described on page 5, lines 26-30 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watterson (US PG Pub. No. 2015/0182800, July 2, 2015).
Watterson was cited in the IDS filed on 09/25/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Watterson teaches a console (i.e., desk frame 14 including support member 30, and desk 28, see para. [0051] and Figs. 1,3-4 below) for an indoor sports device comprising a cooling means (i.e., fan, see para. [0065], [0074]) for a user of said indoor sports device and a support shelf (i.e., desk 28), characterized in that the support shelf 28 comprises a passage for a flow of air (i.e., the desk has a shape and configuration for passage of air flow to a user), for example in the shape of a C or L, disposed on the path of a flow of air coming from said cooling means.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (vertical arm)][AltContent: textbox (horizontal arm)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (reception means)]
Regarding claim 2, Watterson teaches the cooling means is a fan (i.e., fan, see para. [0065], [0074])
Regarding claim 3, Watterson teaches said support shelf (i.e., desk 28) comprises at least one reception means (see annotated Fig. 3 above) for a container of liquid such as a glass, a cup, a bottle or a water bottle.
Regarding claim 4, Watterson teaches the indoor sports device is an exercise bike (see para. [0078], where the desk frame can be incorporated into a stationary bike).
Regarding claim 5, Watterson teaches at least two legs 14, for example fastened, if necessary, to the support shelf 28, which legs 14 being disposed so as to allow the placement of said indoor sports device between said at least two legs (see. Fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Watterson teaches that said at least two legs 14 comprise two vertical arms (see annotated Fig. 1 above) and two horizontal arms (see annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to each other by their ends.
Regarding claim 7, Watterson teaches at least one storage case (see annotated Fig. 5 below)
[AltContent: textbox (storage case)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 8, Watterson teaches an indoor sports device comprising a console (i.e., desk frame 14 including support member 30, and desk 28, see para. [0051] and Figs. 1,3-4 above).
Regarding claim 9, Watterson teaches a console and an indoor sports device configured to be used with said console (i.e., desk frame 14 including support member 30, and desk 28, see paras. [0051], [0078], and Figs. 1,3-4 above).
Regarding claim 10, Watterson teaches at least one storage case (see annotated Fig. 5 above), said storage case being placed between said at least two legs 14.
Regarding claim 11, Watterson teaches at least one storage case, see annotated Fig. 5 above) said storage case being placed between said at least two legs 14, said at least two legs comprising two vertical arms (see annotated Fig. 1 above) and two horizontal arms (see annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to each other by their ends.
Regarding claim 12, Watterson teaches the indoor sports device is an exercise bike (see para. [0078], where the desk frame can be incorporated into a stationary bike).
Regarding claim 13, Watterson teaches the indoor sports device is an exercise bike (see para. [0078], where the desk frame can be incorporated into a stationary bike).
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784