DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24, 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teaches the claims.
Regarding claim 21, Gulati discloses a method (Gulati, abstract, methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described) comprising:
obtaining sidelink (SL) synchronization priority order information configured as global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based synchronization or based station-based synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0077], a UE 115 may receive multiple types ( e.g., kinds) of synchronization signals at a given time from multiple corresponding synchronization sources and may identify a priority based on the different synchronization sources (i.e., UE receives/obtains SL synchronization priority order information) when determining which synchronization source with which to connect. For example, the UE 115 may be out-of-coverage of a GNSS and may perform a synchronization procedure (e.g., a distributed synchronization procedure, S-SSB based distributed synchronization, etc.) based on different synchronization sources (e.g., including different priorities/hops of SyncRef UEs) having different priorities);
selecting at least one synchronization reference, based on the SL synchronization priority order information (Gulati, paragraph [0076], the synchronization sources may include a GNSS, a base station 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, etc.), a synchronization reference UE (e.g., SyncRef UE), etc. A baseline synchronization source may include GNSS and base station-based synchronization. Also see paragraph [0077], In some cases, the UE 115 may use a priority order for out-of-coverage operation when GNSS is configured to be higher priority than a base station 105 (e.g., as indicated for V2X communications). This priority order may include a GNSS having a highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., Sync Ref UE) directly synchronized to the GNSS having a second highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., SyncRefUE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an in-coverage UE having a third highest priority, a synchronization source ( e.g., Sync Ref UE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an out-of-coverage UE having a fourth highest priority, and independent synchronization sources (e.g., independent SyncRef UEs) having a lowest priority (i.e., at least one SyncRef is selected based on the synchronization priority order information));
obtaining time synchronization from the at least one synchronization reference (Gulati, paragraph [0080] In some cases, a UE 115 may drift away from a synchronization source 205 such that the UE 115 stops transmitting to the synchronization source 205 based on transmission parameters degrading below transmission requirements and has lost synchronization with the synchronization source 205 but may still be able to receive transmissions from the synchronization source 205. If the UE 115 can still receive
data packets (e.g., data transmissions) from GNSS connected synchronization sources, the UE 115 may derive time/frequency synchronization information based on DMRS of the data packets (i.e., obtains time synchronization from at least one reference signal)); and
transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) including a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS), and a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) (Gulati, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0085], As shown and as an example for FIG. 2, first synchronization source 205-a may support the S-SSB based synchronization procedure (e.g., a first kind of synchronization signals), and second synchronization source 205-b may support the data-based (e.g., DMRS based) synchronization procedure (e.g., a second kind of synchronization signals). Accordingly, UE 115-a may receive different synchronization signal kinds 215 from each synchronization source 205 on the respective sidelinks 210-a (i.e., UE 115-a receives S-SSB transmitted by the first and second source UE 205-a and 205-b on respective sidelinks)… In some cases, first synchronization signal kind 215-a may include one or more of S-PSSs, S-SSSs, PSBCH physical signals and channels, etc. ( e.g., for the S-SSB based synchronization procedure)), on an unlicensed band, based on the time synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0052], In some cases, wireless communications system 100 may utilize both licensed and unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands. For example, wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band).
Regarding claim 24, Gulati discloses wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on at least one RB set (Gulati, paragraphs [0100]-[0101], One or more UEs 115 may use synchronization signal block 400 to transmit and receive synchronization signals with other UEs 115 … As shown, synchronization signal block 400 may span 14 symbols (e.g., a slot) in the time-domain and 11 resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency-domain).
Regarding claim 34, Gulati discloses a first device (Gulati, paragraph [0135], FIG. 9 shows a diagram of a system 900 including a device 905 that supports sidelink synchronization priority rules in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of device 605, device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Gulati, paragraph [0135], The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including an UE communications manager 910, an I/O controller 915, a transceiver 920, an antenna 925, memory 930, and a processor 940);
at least one processor (Gulati, Fig. 9 element 930, “Memory”); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that (Gulati, paragraph [0140], The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions), based on being executed by the at least one processor (Gulati, paragraph [0140], The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein), cause the first device to:
obtain sidelink (SL) synchronization priority order information configured as global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based synchronization or based station-based synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0077], a UE 115 may receive multiple types ( e.g., kinds) of synchronization signals at a given time from multiple corresponding synchronization sources and may identify a priority based on the different synchronization sources (i.e., UE receives/obtains SL synchronization priority order information) when determining which synchronization source with which to connect. For example, the UE 115 may be out-of-coverage of a GNSS and may perform a synchronization procedure (e.g., a distributed synchronization procedure, S-SSB based distributed synchronization, etc.) based on different synchronization sources (e.g., including different priorities/hops of SyncRef UEs) having different priorities);
select at least one synchronization reference, based on the SL synchronization priority order information (Gulati, paragraph [0076], the synchronization sources may include a GNSS, a base station 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, etc.), a synchronization reference UE (e.g., SyncRef UE), etc. A baseline synchronization source may include GNSS and base station-based synchronization. Also see paragraph [0077], In some cases, the UE 115 may use a priority order for out-of-coverage operation when GNSS is configured to be higher priority than a base station 105 (e.g., as indicated for V2X communications). This priority order may include a GNSS having a highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., Sync Ref UE) directly synchronized to the GNSS having a second highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., SyncRefUE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an in-coverage UE having a third highest priority, a synchronization source ( e.g., Sync Ref UE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an out-of-coverage UE having a fourth highest priority, and independent synchronization sources (e.g., independent SyncRef UEs) having a lowest priority (i.e., at least one SyncRef is selected based on the synchronization priority order information));
obtain time synchronization from the at least one synchronization reference (Gulati, paragraph [0080] In some cases, a UE 115 may drift away from a synchronization source 205 such that the UE 115 stops transmitting to the synchronization source 205 based on transmission parameters degrading below transmission requirements and has lost synchronization with the synchronization source 205 but may still be able to receive transmissions from the synchronization source 205. If the UE 115 can still receive
data packets (e.g., data transmissions) from GNSS connected synchronization sources, the UE 115 may derive time/frequency synchronization information based on DMRS of the data packets (i.e., obtains time synchronization from at least one reference signal)); and
transmit a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) including a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS), and a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) (Gulati, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0085], As shown and as an example for FIG. 2, first synchronization source 205-a may support the S-SSB based synchronization procedure (e.g., a first kind of synchronization signals), and second synchronization source 205-b may support the data-based (e.g., DMRS based) synchronization procedure (e.g., a second kind of synchronization signals). Accordingly, UE 115-a may receive different synchronization signal kinds 215 from each synchronization source 205 on the respective sidelinks 210-a (i.e., UE 115-a receives S-SSB transmitted by the first and second source UE 205-a and 205-b on respective sidelinks)… In some cases, first synchronization signal kind 215-a may include one or more of S-PSSs, S-SSSs, PSBCH physical signals and channels, etc. ( e.g., for the S-SSB based synchronization procedure)), on an unlicensed band, based on the time synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0052], In some cases, wireless communications system 100 may utilize both licensed and unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands. For example, wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band).
Regarding claim 35, Gulati discloses a processing device adapted to control a first device (Gulati, paragraph [0135], FIG. 9 shows a diagram of a system 900 including a device 905 that supports sidelink synchronization priority rules in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of device 605, device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein), the processing device comprising:
at least one processor (Gulati, Fig. 9 element 930, “Memory”); and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that (Gulati, paragraph [0140], The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions), based on being executed by the at least one processor (Gulati, paragraph [0140], The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein), cause the first device to:
obtain sidelink (SL) synchronization priority order information configured as global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based synchronization or based station-based synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0077], a UE 115 may receive multiple types ( e.g., kinds) of synchronization signals at a given time from multiple corresponding synchronization sources and may identify a priority based on the different synchronization sources (i.e., UE receives/obtains SL synchronization priority order information) when determining which synchronization source with which to connect. For example, the UE 115 may be out-of-coverage of a GNSS and may perform a synchronization procedure (e.g., a distributed synchronization procedure, S-SSB based distributed synchronization, etc.) based on different synchronization sources (e.g., including different priorities/hops of SyncRef UEs) having different priorities);
select at least one synchronization reference, based on the SL synchronization priority order information (Gulati, paragraph [0076], the synchronization sources may include a GNSS, a base station 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, etc.), a synchronization reference UE (e.g., SyncRef UE), etc. A baseline synchronization source may include GNSS and base station-based synchronization. Also see paragraph [0077], In some cases, the UE 115 may use a priority order for out-of-coverage operation when GNSS is configured to be higher priority than a base station 105 (e.g., as indicated for V2X communications). This priority order may include a GNSS having a highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., Sync Ref UE) directly synchronized to the GNSS having a second highest priority, a synchronization source (e.g., SyncRefUE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an in-coverage UE having a third highest priority, a synchronization source ( e.g., Sync Ref UE) indirectly synchronized to the GNSS via an out-of-coverage UE having a fourth highest priority, and independent synchronization sources (e.g., independent SyncRef UEs) having a lowest priority (i.e., at least one SyncRef is selected based on the synchronization priority order information));
obtain time synchronization from the at least one synchronization reference (Gulati, paragraph [0080] In some cases, a UE 115 may drift away from a synchronization source 205 such that the UE 115 stops transmitting to the synchronization source 205 based on transmission parameters degrading below transmission requirements and has lost synchronization with the synchronization source 205 but may still be able to receive transmissions from the synchronization source 205. If the UE 115 can still receive
data packets (e.g., data transmissions) from GNSS connected synchronization sources, the UE 115 may derive time/frequency synchronization information based on DMRS of the data packets (i.e., obtains time synchronization from at least one reference signal)); and
transmit a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) including a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS), and a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) (Gulati, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0085], As shown and as an example for FIG. 2, first synchronization source 205-a may support the S-SSB based synchronization procedure (e.g., a first kind of synchronization signals), and second synchronization source 205-b may support the data-based (e.g., DMRS based) synchronization procedure (e.g., a second kind of synchronization signals). Accordingly, UE 115-a may receive different synchronization signal kinds 215 from each synchronization source 205 on the respective sidelinks 210-a (i.e., UE 115-a receives S-SSB transmitted by the first and second source UE 205-a and 205-b on respective sidelinks)… In some cases, first synchronization signal kind 215-a may include one or more of S-PSSs, S-SSSs, PSBCH physical signals and channels, etc. ( e.g., for the S-SSB based synchronization procedure)), on an unlicensed band, based on the time synchronization (Gulati, paragraph [0052], In some cases, wireless communications system 100 may utilize both licensed and unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands. For example, wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of LIU et al., US 2023/0247528 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 9, 2020, corresponding to PCT/CN2020/095067; referred to as Liu hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 22, Gulati discloses the method of claim 21. Gulati does not explicitly discloses wherein the S-SSB is transmitted in a resource block (RB) set, and wherein the S-SSB is transmitted in a form that the S-SSB is repeated in frequency region, according to at least one index values related to the S-SSB repetition.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Liu discloses a method related to wireless communications that comprises wherein the S-SSB is transmitted in a resource block (RB) set (Liu, paragraph [0133], An S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks wide and the UE 115 may transmit the S-SSB with a same numerology as a sidelink BWP in which the S-SSB is transmitted), and wherein the S-SSB is transmitted in a form that the S-SSB is repeated in frequency region (Liu, paragraph [0133], Additionally, or alternatively, the S-SSB may be repeated in the frequency domain (e.g., to satisfy the OCB requirement). Table 1 below shows the contents of a PBSCH), according to at least one index values related to the S-SSB repetition (Liu, paragraph [0137], a UE 115 may transmit the S-SSB 320 in the sidelink BWP 310 such that a first starting resource block of the S-SSB 320 is offset from a second starting resource block of the sidelink BWP 310. The first starting resource block of the S-SSB 320 may refer to the resource block with the lowest index used to transmit the S-SSB 320 (e.g., the 0th resource block of the S-SSB 320), and the second starting resource block of the sidelink BWP 310 may refer to the resource block with the lowest index in the sidelink BWP 310 (e.g., the 0th resource block of the sidelink BWP 310)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati by using the features, as taught by Liu, in order to support sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) in a shared spectrum (see Liu, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), in view of LIU et al., US 2023/0247528 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 9, 2020, corresponding to PCT/CN2020/095067; referred to as Liu hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Sun et al., US 2025/0184053 A1 (Sun hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 23, Gulati and Liu disclose the method of claim 22. Gulati and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein frequency hopping is applied in the S-SSB repetition based on the at least one index values.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Sun discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises wherein frequency hopping is applied in the S-SSB repetition based on the at least one index values (Sun, paragraph [0049], As illustrated, the S-SSBs 202 being transmitted by the Tx UE may be arranged according to a frequency hopping pattern. This results in ones of the S-SSBs 202 (e.g., within the same S-SSB periodicity) being sent using a different set of PRBs (e.g., unlike the timeline 102 of FIG. 1, where each of the first S-SSB 104, the second S-SSB 106, the third S-SSB 108, and the fourth S-SSB 110 are sent using the same set of PRBs). Also see paragraph [0057]-0058], FIG. 3 illustrates a use of repeated S-SSBs 302 in the frequency domain, according to an embodiment. An S-SSB (e.g., structured as described in relation to FIG. 1) may be repeated in the frequency domain, as illustrated … This S-SSB repetition may allow for the use of the S-SSB signaling in unlicensed bands by the Tx UE. For example, the S-SSB repetition may cause the overall frequency range used by the repeated S-SSBs 302 to meet a minimum frequency occupation requirement imposed by).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati and Liu by using the features, as taught by Sun, in order to support coverage enhancements for sidelink (SL) synchronization signal block (SSB) (S-SSB) between a transmit (Tx) user equipment (UE) and a receive (Rx) UE (see Sun, abstract).
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Zhao et al., US 2024/0276544 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of November 26, 2021, corresponding to PCT/CN2021/133670; referred to as Zhao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 25-26, Gulati discloses the method of claim 24. Gulati does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 25, wherein the at least one RB set is included within a channel occupancy time (COT) duration.
Regarding claim 26, further comprising: transmitting information related to the at least one RB set.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhao discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 25, wherein the at least one RB set is included within a channel occupancy time (COT) duration (Zhao, paragraphs [0104]-[0105], In some embodiments, COT sharing information in the N pieces of COT sharing information carries at least one of following information: … resource block set information, COT duration information, a COT start slot position, priority information, channel access type information, and target identity information).
Regarding claim 26, further comprising: transmitting information related to the at least one RB set (Zhao, paragraph [0107], Specifically, for example, a UE-A transmits COT sharing information, and the COT sharing information includes resource block set information. A UE-B receives the COT sharing information transmitted by the UE-A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati by using the features, as taught by Zhao, in order to support performing channel access by using channel occupancy time (COT) information when a terminal receives plurality of pieces of COT sharing information (see Zhao, abstract and paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), in view of Zhao et al., US 2024/0276544 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of November 26, 2021, corresponding to PCT/CN2021/133670; referred to as Zhao hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further Jiao et al., US 2024/0023043 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of March 25, 2022, corresponding to PCT/CN2022/083156; referred to as Jiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 27, Gulati and Zhao disclose the method of claim 26. Gulati and Zhao do not explicitly disclose wherein the information related to the at least one RB set is transmitted along with the S-SSB.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Jiao discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises wherein the information related to the at least one RB set is transmitted along with the S-SSB (Jiao, paragraph [0169], In the schematic diagram shown in FIG. 5, the first BWP includes 50 consecutive RBs, that is, K=50, where 11 consecutive RBs are used to transmit the S-SSB, that is, L=11, and it also indicates that the first resource group includes the 11 consecutive RBs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati and Zhao by using the features, as taught by Jiao, in order to support a synchronization method in an unlicensed spectrum (see Jiao, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further Jiao et al., US 2024/0023043 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of March 25, 2022, corresponding to PCT/CN2022/083156; referred to as Jiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 28, Gulati discloses the method of claim 24. Gulati does not explicitly disclose wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on at least one interlace in the at least one RB set.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Jiao discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on at least one interlace in the at least one RB set (Jiao, paragraph [0053], The RB used to send the S-SSB is mapped to the interlaced resource block in the first resource group, and it can be ensured in this application that the SL-U device occupies more than 80% of the bandwidth B of the allocated unlicensed spectrum).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati by using the features, as taught by Jiao, in order to support a synchronization method in an unlicensed spectrum (see Jiao, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al., US 2021/0051617 A1 (Gulati hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further XING et al., US 2025/0089073 A1 (using foreign application filing date of July 21, 2021, corresponding to CN 202110825600.1; referred to as Xing hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 29-33, Gulati discloses the method of claim 21. Gulati does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 29, further comprising: obtaining information related to a COT duration, wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on the COT duration.
Regarding claim 30, wherein obtaining information related to the COT duration includes: performing an initial channel sensing; and
determining the COT duration based on the initial channel sensing.
Regarding claim 31, further comprising: performing channel sensing for a transmission of the S-SSB, wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE.
Regarding claim 32, wherein the channel sensing includes a listen before talk (LBT) operation.
Regarding claim 33, wherein the channel sensing is performed from a time point preceding a time point of a resource for the transmission of the S-SSB by a specific time interval, to the time point of the resource.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Xing discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 29, further comprising: obtaining information related to a COT duration, wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on the COT duration (Xing, paragraph [0089], In addition, the network or the base station may also configure the channel access priority of the synchronization signal, for example, may configure the CAPC of the S-SSB, or the S-SSB may be any CAPC, and the S-SSB may perform COT sharing with SL signals of any priority so as to perform the COT sharing with other SL signals).
Regarding claim 30, wherein obtaining information related to the COT duration includes: performing an initial channel sensing (Xing, paragraph [0066], the UE detects the sent SL signal (i.e., initial channel sensing) satisfying the preset condition at the previous occasion of the transmission resource corresponding to the SL signal to be sent means that at least one sent SL signal is detected at the previous occasion of the transmission resource, the transmission resource of the SL signal to be sent is within the remaining COT indicated by the detected and sent SL signal); and
determining the COT duration based on the initial channel sensing (Xing, paragraph [0066], if the UE detects the sent SL signal satisfying the preset condition, then the UE may share the remaining COT (i.e., determining the channel duration based on the initial channel sensing) and may perform a fast channel access by using the first channel access type with a relatively shorter LBT duration).
Regarding claim 31, further comprising: performing channel sensing for a transmission of the S-SSB (Xing, paragraph [0055], In an embodiment, the SL signal type includes one of: PSCCH, PSSCH, PSFCH, S-SSB, SL CSI-RS, or SL PRS. The channel access type includes one of a first channel access type or a second channel access type. A duration of a listen before talk (LBT) procedure performed in a channel access procedure corresponding to the first channel access type is a fixed value, and a duration of a LBT procedure performed in a channel access procedure corresponding to the second channel access type is a random value or a fixed value (i.e., sensing is performed for the S-SSB)), wherein the S-SSB is transmitted based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE (Xing, paragraph [0062], As described in the above-described embodiments, when determining that the channel is idle in the LBT procedure, the UE may send only the SL signal to be sent ((i.e., S-SSB is to be transmitted based on the result of the channel sensing being idle)), or may send the filling signal at the head of the SL signal to be sent, and/or at the end of the SL signal to be sent).
Regarding claim 32, wherein the channel sensing includes a listen before talk (LBT) operation (Xing, paragraph [0021], Sensing: generally, a sensing procedure exists in both the LBT procedure and the SL resource scheduling procedure, but the LBT procedure and the SL resource scheduling procedure have different technologies).
Regarding claim 33, wherein the channel sensing is performed from a time point preceding a time point of a resource for the transmission of the S-SSB by a specific time interval, to the time point of the resource (Xing, paragraph [0021], The general LBT procedure or channel access procedure occurs before a device (which may be a base station or a terminal) performs signal transmission, and the length in a span of time of the general LBT procedure or the channel access procedure may be referred to as the LBT duration (the duration may include multiple sensing slots). FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a relationship between an LBT duration and a transmission resource according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, when a channel is determined to be idle within the LBT duration, the device may send a signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati by using the features, as taught by Xing, in order to implement the co-existence between the sidelink devices and other devices of an unlicensed frequency (see Xing, abstract and paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 08/07/2026