DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 08/26/2026.
2. Claims 1-12, and 15-22 are pending. All the pending claims are examined.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Yang does not disclose scenario-based desktop switching mechanism. The applicant further argues that paragraph [0136] of Yang merely discloses a desktop that contains application icons and a card component. However, the application icons and the card component shown in the desktop are not determined based on a scenario. As stated in this paragraph, when the user drags the clock component 331 to a specified area, the electronic device 100 may reposition another application icon or card component previously located in the specified area. Thus, paragraph [0136] concerns rearrangement of desktop components in response to a user drag operation. This paragraph does not disclose that the displayed application icons or card components are determined based on a scenario.
The examiner disagrees because the claimed “scenario” is nothing more than a possible situation sequence of actions or events taken by a user. Thus, Yang’s drag or swipe operation performed by a user is a scenario that explain both an action and an event. In addition to drag operation event described in [0136] Yang also describes “scenario” in ([0258], that is Yang discloses a plurality of application icons are displayed on the page 1331. When the electronic device 100 receives a left-sliding operation of the user on the page 1331, the electronic device 100 may switch to display, on the page adjustment interface 1320, a page on the right of the page 1331 by using a preset switching effect). ([0140] In some application scenarios, the electronic device 100 may display a card component corresponding to the first application in response to a sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the icon of the first application on the desktop.
Further example of scenario or sequence of event also illustrated in Fig . 15A, wherein Yang further describes [0277] The electronic device 100 may receive a sliding operation (for example, slide obliquely from the bottom left on the desktop to the top right) of the user on the desktop. In response to the sliding operation, the electronic device 100 may display a service center interface 1520 shown in 15B.
Based on the above explanation given, the argument is not persuasive, the rejection is maintained and it is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 5-12, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 20240176628 A1).
Yang et al (US 20240176628 A1) is directed to DISPLAY METHOD FOR CARD COMPONENT, GRAPHICAL USER INTERFACE, AND RELATED APPARATUS.
Note: Yang discloses listing several cards and/components and desktops. Let it be known that the examiner maps these listings to claimed first , second, third, etc. of the claimed card and/or desktops.
As per claim 1, Yang discloses a display method (flowchart of Fig. 16) , wherein the method is applied to an electronic device ( electronic device 100) and comprises:
displaying a first desktop in a first scenario, wherein the first desktop comprises a plurality of first application icons and at least one first card, the plurality of first application icons and the at least one first card being determined based on the first scenario (0218] In some application scenarios, the electronic device 100 may display a component management interface of the first application through the input by the user. Card components of different styles of the first application may be switched to be displayed in a management interface of the component. The electronic device 100 may change, through the input by the user on the component management interface, a default style of the card component corresponding to the first application. When the electronic device 100 receives the sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the icon of the first application, the electronic device 100 may display a card component of a default style of the first application. In this way, the user may be allowed to select a favorite style of the card component); and
in response to recognizing that the first scenario changes to a second scenario, changing the first desktop to a second desktop, wherein the second desktop comprises a plurality of second application icons and at least one second card, the plurality of second application icons and the at least one second card being determined based on the second scenario, and the plurality of second application icons are different from the plurality of first application icons, and/or the at least one second card is different from the at least one first card ([0258] A plurality of application icons are displayed on the page 1331. When the electronic device 100 receives a left-sliding operation of the user on the page 1331, the electronic device 100 may switch to display, on the page adjustment interface 1320, a page on the right of the page 1331 by using a preset switching effect).
As per claim 5, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 1 wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second operation performed on a fourth card, wherein the fourth card is any one of the at least one first card; and deleting the fourth card in response to the second operation ([0140] In some application scenarios, the electronic device 100 may display a card component corresponding to the first application in response to a sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the icon of the first application on the desktop. The card component corresponding to the first application may be displayed, in a floating manner, around the icon of the first application. [0214] In some embodiments, after adding a card component to the desktop, the electronic device 100 may delete the card component through an input by the user. In this way, when the user does not want the card component that has been added on the desktop, the card component may be manually deleted).
As per claim 6, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 5, wherein after the receiving a second operation performed on a fourth card, the method further comprises: displaying a fourth desktop, wherein the fourth desktop comprises at least one fifth card, and display manners of the at least one fifth card and the at least one first card are different ([0163] In a possible implementation, the electronic device 100 may add the card component corresponding to the first application to a blank area on the desktop in response to the sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the icon of the first application on the desktop. In this way, it may be convenient for the user to quickly add the card component corresponding to the first application to the desktop).
As per claim 7, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a third operation performed on the first desktop; and generating a sixth card in response to the third operation ([0156] In a possible implementation, when the application folder includes icons of a plurality of applications, after detecting a sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the application folder, the electronic device 100 may temporarily display a corresponding card stacking component in the application folder. The card stacking component may switch to display card components corresponding to the plurality of applications).
As per claim 8, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 7, wherein after the receiving a third operation performed on the first desktop, the method further comprises: displaying a fifth desktop, wherein the fifth desktop comprises at least one seventh card, the at least one seventh card comprises the at least one first card and the sixth card, and display manners of the at least one seventh card and the at least one first card are different. [0015] In a possible implementation, when a fifth card component is displayed in the second area, the electronic device may display a second card stacking component in the second area, where the second card stacking component includes the first card component and the fifth card component. In this way, a plurality of card components may be combined into one card stacking component and placed on the desktop. This saves use space on the desktop.0022] In a possible implementation, after the electronic device displays, in a floating manner around an area of the icon of the first application, the first card component corresponding to the first application, the electronic device displays the first interface on the desktop after receiving a seventh input of switching, by a user, the first card component corresponding to the first application to a second card component. The electronic device receives a second sliding operation on the icon of the first application. In response to the second sliding operation, the electronic device displays, in a floating manner, the second card component corresponding to the first application around the icon of the first application, where a style of the second card component is different from a style of the first card component. In this way, the user may be allowed to select a favorite style of the card component).
As per claim 9, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation performed on an eighth card, wherein the eighth card is any one of the at least one first card; and scaling up or down the eighth card in response to the fourth operation ([0151] For another example, as shown in FIG. 4E, the electronic device 100 may receive an input (for example, tapping) of the user for an icon 312 of an application folder 1. In response to the tapping operation, the electronic device 100 may display an interface 420 of the application folder 1 shown in FIG. 4F).
As per claim 10, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 9, wherein after the receiving a fourth operation performed on an eighth card, the method further comprises: displaying a sixth desktop, wherein the sixth desktop comprises the at least one first card, and display manners of the at least one first card on the sixth desktop and the at least one first card on the first desktop are different ([0263] As shown in FIG. 13D, the card component display interface 1360 displays and includes a music component 1361, a music component 1362, a music component 1363, and an add-to-desktop control 1364. The music component 1361 is stacked on an upper layer of the music component 1362, and the music component 1362 is stacked on an upper layer of the music component 1363. Styles (including a size and/or a displayed functional control) of the three card components: the music component 1361, the music component 1362, and the music component 1363 are different. The add-to-desktop control 1364 may be used to add to a blank area on a desktop, a card component that is stacked and displayed at a top layer on the card component display interface 1360).
As per claim 11, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the recognizing that the first scenario changes to a second scenario comprises:
recognizing that a time changes from a first moment to a second moment, the first moment corresponds to the first scenario, and the second moment corresponds to the second scenario; or recognizing that a location of the electronic device changes from a first location to a second location, wherein the first location corresponds to the first scenario, and the second location corresponds to the second scenario; or recognizing at a third moment that a user performs a fifth operation on the electronic device, and recognizing at a fourth moment that the user performs a sixth operation on the electronic device, wherein the fifth operation performed by the user on the electronic device corresponds to the first scenario, and the sixth operation performed by the user on the electronic device corresponds to the second scenario ([0140] In some application scenarios, the electronic device 100 may display a card component corresponding to the first application in response to a sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the icon of the first application on the desktop. The card component corresponding to the first application may be displayed, in a floating manner, around the icon of the first application. 0183] For example, as shown in FIG. 6A, an electronic device 100 may display an interface 610 on a desktop. The electronic device 100 may display, on the interface 610, a weather component 611 and a fixed control 612 that correspond to a weather application icon in response to a sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) performed by a user on the weather application icon. For a text description of the interface 610, refer to a text description of the interface 310 in the embodiment shown in FIG. 4B. Details are not described herein again).
As per claims 12, and 18-21, these are electronic device claims, and the features claimed in these claims correspond to method claims 1, 5, 7,9 and 11, respectively. Thus, the electronic device claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims.
As per claim 22, this claim is directed to electronic storage medium, and the features claimed in this claim corresponds to method claim 1. Thus, claim 22 is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2-4 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Zhang et al (US 20220291811 A1).
Zhang is directed to METHOD FOR DISPLAYING APPLICATION ICON AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE
As per claim 2, Yang further discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the first desktop comprises a first dock region (see Fig. 4C) , and the method further comprises:
receiving a first operation performed on the first dock region (see swiping upward operation applied to Dial icon 313 in the dock region, Fig. 4C) ; and
displaying a third desktop in response to the first operation, wherein the third desktop comprises a second dock region, and an area of the second dock region is different from an area of the first dock region (See different application icons shown in the desktop and dock regions of Fig. 13B) ; and
Although Yang disclose dock area or region (see at least Fig. 3A, and [0131] a dock (dock) area below the page indicator, and the dock area may include one or more dock icons (for example, a dial-up application icon 313, a messaging application icon, a contact application icon, a camera application icon, or the like).
However, Yang’s dock areas as shown in several figures, such as fig.3A, 3B, 3D, etc. is the same size and includes the same number of icons. Thus, Yang fails to disclose when the area of the second dock region is greater than the area of the first dock region, a quantity of application icons in the second dock region is greater than a quantity of application icons in the first dock region; or when the area of the second dock region is less than the area of the first dock region, a quantity of application icons in the second dock region is less than a quantity of application icons in the first dock region.
Zhang, on the other hand, discloses customized or enlarged dock with different number of icons as required in the claim see [0126], Figs. 6a and 6b).
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang’s dock region interface by Zhang’s dock region interface.
The suggestion /motivation for doing so would have been to provide recently used applications within the reach of the user (i.e., at the dock region). Therefore, the user directly taps the icon in the DOCK region, and does not need to frequently switch interfaces or search for the application icon from a multi-application interface, to improve user experience (also see Zhang [0129])..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
As per claim 3, Yang in view of Zhang further discloses that the method according to claim 2, wherein the at least one first application icon of the first desktop comprises N application icons located outside the first dock region (Zhang, see application icons in Fig. 6a) , and the third desktop comprises M application icons located outside the second dock region (Zhang, also see application icons in Fig. 6b); and
when the area of the second dock region is greater than the area of the first dock region, N is greater than M; or when the area of the second dock region is less than the area of the first dock region, N is less than M (Zhang, as illustrated in Fig. 6b, the dock region of Fig. 6b is greater than dock region of fig. 6a).
As per claim 4, Yang in view of Zhang further discloses that the method according to claim 2, wherein the third desktop comprises at least one third card, the at least one third card is all or a part of cards in the at least one first card, and display manners of the at least one first card and the at least one third card are different (Yang, [0134] As shown in FIG. 3C, the component addition page 330 includes card components (for example, a clock component 331, a weather component, a music component, a sports and health component, and the like) corresponding to one or more application functions).
As per claims 15-17, these electronic device claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims 2-4, respectively.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20110167078 A1 discloses methods, systems, and computer-readable media for providing a scenario desktop for recording a current event scenario and a content desktop for presenting information about a previously recorded event scenario are disclosed. When a first event scenario is detected on the mobile device, the scenario desktop is presented on the mobile device. The scenario desktop exists in parallel with a default primary desktop of the mobile device. An information bundle is created for the first event scenario, including one or more documents accessed through the scenario desktop during the first event scenario. Access to the one or more documents is automatically provided on the mobile device during a second event scenario related to the first event scenario. The access is provided through the content desktop existing in parallel with the primary desktop and the scenario desktop. Other scenario-based content retrieval and presentation methods are also disclosed.
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174