DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davidson (US 9243756);
Claim(s) 3, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1, 7, 8 and 13 above, and further in view of Parsons (US 8276878);
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1, 7, 8 and 13 above, and further in view of Pitsch (US 2017/0252755);
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1, 7, 8 and 13 above, and further in view of Pitsch (US 2017/0252755);
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1 and 19 above.
Davidson discloses in claim 1: A faucet assembly (16 figure 2) comprising: a faucet body (20/22) comprising: a fluid inlet (at 26) configured to fluidly connect to a mixing valve (38 figure 1) of a fluid source (12/14 hot and cold water) and receive fluid from the fluid source by way of the mixing valve (via 24); a fluid flow path (24) within the faucet body fluidly connected to the fluid inlet and configured to receive fluid from the fluid inlet (see figure 1 and 2); and a spray head (30 figure 4) comprising one or more fluid outlets (32/34 based on the spray of the surrounding output 34) fluidly connected to the fluid flow path and configured (via diverter valve) to dispense fluid out of the faucet body (and see Col 4 ln 40-60); and a temperature control system (50/52/38 figures 2, 3 and 4) positioned on the faucet body proximate to the spray head (see figures 2, 4-8), the temperature control system comprising: a printed circuit board (136 and see Col 7 ln 40-47); one or more controls (touch/slide controls at 71) disposed on the printed circuit board and configured to receive a user input (via UI 50) comprising a user's desired fluid temperature (via 72a/92a for temperature, and 72b/92b for flow rate Col 8 ln 32-55); one or more lights (LED’s 132) disposed on the printed circuit board and configured to emit light based on the user input (red for hot, blue for cold); and one or more circuit traces (124, best seen in figure 10) disposed on the printed circuit board (per Col 7 ln 28-40) and configured to electronically connect to the mixing valve (via controller 52, figure 3), the one or more controls, and the one or more lights (as discussed); wherein, upon receiving the user input, the one or more controls are configured to transmit a signal to the mixing valve via the one or more circuit traces to cause the mixing valve to control a temperature of the fluid based on the user's desired fluid temperature (Col 8 ln 32-55.)
Davidson discloses in claim 2: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more controls of the temperature control system comprise one or more capacitive touch sensors (input touch buttons 74, 76, 78 or touch sliders 72a, 72b; see Col 9 ln 45-55.)
Davidson discloses in claim 3: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more controls of the temperature control system comprise one or more sensors; Davidson does not disclose; although Parsons teaches: using one or more pressure sensors (412 figure 10, and where the actuator sensor may be a electromagnetic sensor, capacitive sensor, Hall effect sensor, optical sensor, or pressure transducer (sensor), or any other type, Col 15 ln 57-63 for the purpose of providing user interface actuation via an actuation controller sensor);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Parsons, for that of Davidson, using one or more pressure sensors as taught in Davidson, all for the purpose of providing user interface actuation via an actuation controller sensor.
Davidson discloses in claim 4: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more controls of the temperature control system comprise one or more push buttons (buttons 74, 76, 78 must be pushed to actuate, Col 9 ln 43-54.)
Davidson discloses in claim 5: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more controls of the temperature control system are arranged in a linear pattern or a circular pattern (the controls are arranged linearly see 100a,b figures 4-7, the use of “or” indicating alternative grouping under MPEP 2131.)
Davidson discloses in claim 7: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the faucet assembly is configured to provide a plurality of spray modes (see figures 5-7 and where as previously discussed the modes can be related to the flow amount setting, the various diverter outlets, or temperature levels.)
Davidson discloses in claims 8 and 13: wherein the faucet body further comprises a spray mode control (toggle 68 and user control panel 71, figure 4) comprising one or more spray mode regions (32/34 outlet modes), wherein each spray mode region is associated with a spray mode of the plurality of spray modes (i.e. the user can create plurality of spray modes in as much as the temperature and flow rate along with the outlets through the spay region 34 is adjustable for flow rate and temperature), and wherein each spray mode region is configured to: receive a spray mode input from the user (i.e. toggle to 34, flow rate level and temperature level); and control a flow of fluid through the one or more fluid outlets in order to initiate the spray mode associated with the spray mode region (34.)
Davidson discloses in claim 9 and 14: does not disclose, although Pitch teaches: wherein the spray mode control comprises at least four spray mode regions (selector has four flow selector valves to provide four flow paths for four sprayer modes including aerator path, showering sprayer path, misting sprayer path, jet sprayer path, ph 0016, provided for the purpose of user selective fluid flow dispersion in the faucet/sink);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Pitch for that of Davidson, at least four spray mode regions with a selector that can provide for control of four flow selector valves to and control as taught in Pitch four flow paths for four sprayer modes including aerator path, showering sprayer path, misting sprayer path, jet sprayer path as taught in Pitch, and all provided for the purpose of user selective fluid flow dispersion in the faucet/sink.
Davidson discloses in claim 10 and 15: wherein the spray mode control is a push button (toggle push button 68.)
Davidson discloses in claim 11 and 16: wherein the spray mode control is a capacitive touch sensor (the capacitive touch sensor control for the flow and temperature.) If it could be persuasively argued at some future unforeseen date that Davidson does not disclose: a diverter valve spray mode control which is capacitive touch sensing; considering that Davidson teaches: using a solenoid valve for the diverter valve (thus making it electronically controlled, Col 4 ln 55-60); and considering that Davidson also teaches using capacitive touch for the flow rate, temperature settings and on/off functions of the mixing valves (via the user interface 50 as seen in figure 3 and 4 for the purpose of a single panel fluid control for all of the fluid flow control functions;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as suggested in Davidson, making the diverter valve a spray mode control via capacitive touch as discussed above, all for the purpose of for example, providing a single user interface control panel for all of the fluid flow control functions.
Davidson discloses in claim 12 and 17: the spray mode control is a [toggle button]; Davidson does not disclose; although Parsons teaches: using one or more pressure sensors (412 figure 10, and where the actuator sensor may be a electromagnetic sensor, capacitive sensor, Hall effect sensor, optical sensor, or pressure transducer (sensor), or any other type, Col 15 ln 57-63 for the purpose of providing for example, user interface actuation via an actuation controller sensor for the spray mode);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Parsons, for that of Davidson, using one or more pressure sensors as taught in Davidson, all for the purpose of providing for example, user interface actuation via an actuation controller sensor for the spray mode.
Davidson discloses in claim 18: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the spray head is configured to pull away from the spout (Col 5 ln 35-41.)
Davidson discloses in claim 19: The faucet assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more lights (as discussed in Col 8 ln 10-31 LED lights 132/134 can be blue and red in alternating arrangement or can be laterally spaced to provide different levels of intensity of color for representing the temperature (red hot), blue cold, and varying combinations there between, where the colors can be mixed to provide a range of color the low spectrum of 380 to 500 nm for blue and the upper end of 620 to 750 nm for red) are configured to emit light in a first wavelength range if the user's desired fluid temperature is within a first temperature range (mostly if not all red which is in the wavelength range of 620-750 nm) and are configured to emit light in a second wavelength range (mostly if not all blue led’s in the range of 350 to 500 nm) if the user's desired fluid temperature is within a second temperature range (or a mix of the led’s color there between as discussed.)
Davidson discloses in claim 20: The faucet assembly of claim 19, wherein the first wavelength range is between [620] to 750 nm (this is red wavelength); but Davidson does not disclose: the first wavelength of between 500-750 nm (this is green to red wavelengths); but considering that Davidson recites: the above ranges Col 8 ln 10-31; and that Davidson suggests varying the colors in Col 9 ln 65- Col 10 ln 6); and that one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface would: provide an additional color of green (to span between the red and blue wavelengths, with green having a wavelength of about 495 to 570 nm) so as to provide a full range of color combinations (red blue green 380 to 750 nm), all for the purpose of providing for example an accurate intuitive temperature indication of the fluid across the full visual color range (of red green blue);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Davidson and/or suggested therein, the first wavelength range of between 500 and 750 nm, by providing an additional color of green so as to span between the red and blue wavelengths of Davidson, where green has a wavelength of about 495 to 570 nm, for the purpose of providing for example, a full range of color combinations, and accurate intuitive temperature indication of the fluid across the full visual color range.
Davidson discloses in claim 21: The faucet assembly of claim 19, wherein the second wavelength range is 350-500 nm (the blue spectrum including a turquoise blue/green.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753