DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/410,867 filed on 09/25/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, 19-20, 22-23, and 25-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable Dees et al. (U.S 20240267113, Aug. 8, 2024) in view of LUO et al. (US 20230050943, Feb. 16, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Dees discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (page 9, par (0152), line 1-5, enables the wireless terminal acting as a Remote UE), Comprising receiving, from a network entity(page 9, par (0152), line 1-5, enables the wireless terminal acting as a Remote UE to become visible as a registered entity in the Core Network(from network entity)), a grant that allocates a set of resources for use by the UE(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device, wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device; and communicating with the energy-harvesting device in accordance with the grant.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)),
wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, the anchor UE that is less limited by power consumption may take charge of monitoring and sensing the sidelink transmission resource pools to provide assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools. The anchor UE is used to indicate an assistance role of the UE in resource allocation for other UEs);
and communicating with the energy-harvesting device in accordance with the grant (page 3, par(0028), line 1-10, one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations, release of such assistance relationship, and selection of configured sidelink resources allocated from the anchor UE by the UE being assisted(communication with energy-harvesting device)).
Dees and LUO l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device the teaching of Dees to include the one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations the teaching of LUO because it is providing assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE can reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools.
Regarding Claim 2, Dees discloses receiving the indication further comprises receiving a message that explicitly indicates that the grant pertains to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device, wherein the message is a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message, or downlink control information message(page 16, par (0215), line 1-5, MAC Control Elements (CE)-these are short elements inserted in between existing UL/DL/SL transmissions over the MAC layer, used to efficiently signal in UL, DL or SL is the Buffer Status Report (BSR) MAC CE that is used by UEs to signal their current data buffer status towards gNB scheduler).
Regarding Claim 3, Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving the indication further comprises receiving a message indicative of a plurality of resources dedicated for energy-harvesting communications; and identifying that the grant pertains to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device based at least in part on the plurality of resources comprising the set of resources.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches receiving the indication further comprises receiving a message indicative of a plurality of resources dedicated for energy-harvesting communications; and identifying that the grant pertains to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device based at least in part on the plurality of resources comprising the set of resources (page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)).
Regarding Claim 4, Dees discloses comprising receiving a message indicating a time range, a frequency range, or a combination thereof for which the grant is applicable, wherein the set of resources are within the time range, the frequency range, or the combination thereof(page 25, par (0308), line 1-10, NR-NR Dual Connectivity (NR-DC) enables a UE connected to two NR gNBs, using the master gNB for Control Plane traffic and UL on low frequencies while using the secondary gNB for User Plane DL traffic on high frequencies, this boosts DL data rate while providing a stable connection to CN and low-power Tx operation with long range, for the UL of the UE).
Regarding Claim 5, Dees discloses the set of resources pertaining to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device comprises a
duration greater than 14 symbols(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 7, Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving a message indicating whether the UE is to transmit the energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device to power on the energy-harvesting device.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches receiving a message indicating whether the UE is to transmit the energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device to power on the energy-harvesting device (page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)).
Regarding Claim 8, Dees discloses the set of resources include one or more uplink-configured slots, one or more downlink-configured slots, or a combination thereof for the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device(page 16, par (0215), line 1-5, MAC Control Elements (CE)-these are short elements inserted in between existing UL/DL/SL transmissions over the MAC layer, used to efficiently signal in UL, DL or SL is the Buffer Status Report (BSR) MAC CE that is used by UEs to signal their current data buffer status towards gNB scheduler).
Regarding Claim 10, Dees discloses communicating with the energy-harvesting device further comprises receiving, from the energy-harvesting device, a data signal in accordance with the grant, wherein the UE receives the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 11, Dees discloses communicating with the energy-harvesting device further comprises transmitting, to the energy-harvesting device, a data signal in accordance with the grant, wherein the UE transmits the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE)).
Regarding Claim 12, Dees discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity(page 9, par (0152), line 1-5, enables the wireless terminal acting as a Remote UE), comprising transmitting a grant that allocates a set of resources for use by a user equipment (UE) (page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting an indication that the grant transmitted to the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device, wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches transmitting an indication that the grant transmitted to the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)),
wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, the anchor UE that is less limited by power consumption may take charge of monitoring and sensing the sidelink transmission resource pools to provide assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools. The anchor UE is used to indicate an assistance role of the UE in resource allocation for other UEs), a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0028), line 1-10, one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations, release of such assistance relationship, and selection of configured sidelink resources allocated from the anchor UE by the UE being assisted(communication with energy-harvesting device)).
Dees and LUO l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device the teaching of Dees to include the one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations the teaching of LUO because it is providing assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE can reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools.
Regarding Claim 13, Dees discloses transmitting the energy-providing transmission to power on the energy-harvesting device prior to the set of resources, wherein the network entity transmits the energy-providing transmission in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE)).
Regarding Claim 14, Dees discloses receiving a data signal from the energy-harvesting device, wherein the network entity receives the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE)).
Regarding Claim 15, Dees discloses comprising transmitting a data signal to the energy-harvesting device, wherein the network entity transmits the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 16, Dees discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive, from a network entity, a grant that allocates a set of resources for use by the UE(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receive an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device, wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device; and communicate with the energy-harvesting device in accordance with the grant.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches receive an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)), wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, the anchor UE that is less limited by power consumption may take charge of monitoring and sensing the sidelink transmission resource pools to provide assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools. The anchor UE is used to indicate an assistance role of the UE in resource allocation for other UEs); and communicate with the energy-harvesting device in accordance with the grant(page 3, par(0028), line 1-10, one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations, release of such assistance relationship, and selection of configured sidelink resources allocated from the anchor UE by the UE being assisted(communication with energy-harvesting device)).
Dees and LUO l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device the teaching of Dees to include the one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations the teaching of LUO because it is providing assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE can reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools.
Regarding Claim 17, Dees discloses the instructions to receive the
indication are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message that explicitly indicates that the grant pertains to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device, wherein the message is a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message, or downlink control information message (page 16, par (0215), line 1-5, MAC Control Elements (CE)-these are short elements inserted in between existing UL/DL/SL transmissions over the MAC layer, used to efficiently signal in UL, DL or SL is the Buffer Status Report (BSR) MAC CE that is used by UEs to signal their current data buffer status towards gNB scheduler).
Regarding Claim 19, Dees discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message indicating a time range, a frequency range, or a combination thereof for which the grant is applicable, wherein the set of resources are within the time range, the frequency range, or the combination thereof(page 25, par (0308), line 1-10, NR-NR Dual Connectivity (NR-DC) enables a UE connected to two NR gNBs, using the master gNB for Control Plane traffic and UL on low frequencies while using the secondary gNB for User Plane DL traffic on high frequencies, this boosts DL data rate while providing a stable connection to CN and low-power Tx operation with long range, for the UL of the UE).
Regarding Claim 20, Dees discloses the set of resources pertaining to the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device comprises a
duration greater than 14 symbols(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 22, Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message indicating whether the UE is to transmit the energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device to power on the energy-harvesting device.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message indicating whether the UE is to transmit the energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device to power on the energy-harvesting device (page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)).
Regarding Claim 23, Dees discloses the set of resources include one or more uplink-configured slots, one or more downlink-configured slots, or a combination thereof for the communications between the UE and the energy-harvesting device(page 16, par (0215), line 1-5, MAC Control Elements (CE)-these are short elements inserted in between existing UL/DL/SL transmissions over the MAC layer, used to efficiently signal in UL, DL or SL is the Buffer Status Report (BSR) MAC CE that is used by UEs to signal their current data buffer status towards gNB scheduler).
Regarding Claim 25, Dees discloses the instructions to communicate with the energy-harvesting device are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive, from the energy-harvesting device, a data signal in accordance
with the grant, wherein the UE receives the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an
uplink configured slot, or both (page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE)).
Regarding Claim 26, Dees discloses the instructions to communicate with the energy-harvesting device are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the energy-harvesting device, a data signal in accordance
with the grant, wherein the UE transmits the data signal in a downlink configured slot,
an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 27, Dees discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit a grant that allocates a set of resources for use by a user equipment (UE) (page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Dees discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit an indication that the grant transmitted to the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device, wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device.
LUO is the same field of invention teaches transmit an indication that the grant transmitted to the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, a low power UE request another UE to serve as an anchor UE to assist in allocating sidelink resources(allocating grants for communication between the UE and the low power UE) for the low-power UE(wherein low power UE is energy-saving device)), wherein the communications include at least one of an energy-providing transmission to the energy-harvesting device, a data transmission to the energy-harvesting device, or a data reception from the energy-harvesting device(page 3, par(0026), line 1-10, the anchor UE that is less limited by power consumption may take charge of monitoring and sensing the sidelink transmission resource pools to provide assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools. The anchor UE is used to indicate an assistance role of the UE in resource allocation for other UEs).
Dees and LUO l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving an indication that the grant received at the UE pertains to communications between the UE and an energy-harvesting device the teaching of Dees to include the one UE to establish an assistance relationship with an anchor UE(another UE is Low power device) to obtain assistance in sidelink resource allocations the teaching of LUO because it is providing assistance in sidelink resource allocation for the low-power UE, the low power UE can reduce its frequency and amount of sensing and monitoring of the sidelink communication resource pools.
Regarding Claim 28, Dees discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit the energy-providing transmission to power on the energy-harvesting device prior to the set of resources, wherein the network entity transmits the energy-providing transmission in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE)).
Regarding Claim 29, Dees discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a data signal from the energy-harvesting device, wherein the network entity receives the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Regarding Claim 30, Dees discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit a data signal to the energy-harvesting device, wherein the network entity transmits the data signal in a downlink configured slot, an uplink configured slot, or both(page 16, par (0215), line 1-10, a UE to indicate it has data pending that needs UL scheduling, when a UE has some data available for transmission in its buffers, and an UL grant for resources(grant allocates for use by the UE), it uses a part of this resource to add an information about one or more of its buffers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In claim 27, applicant has claimed “instructions stored in the memory”. When applying the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims they covers a software operation system per.
Therefore, claims 27-30 are directed to non-statutory subject matter as computer program, per se.
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 6 or 9 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 12 would be allowable if (i) claims 6 or 9 or 18 or 21 or 24 are incorporated into the independent claim 12.
Claim 16 would be allowable if (i) claims 18 or 21 or 24 are incorporated into the independent claim 16.
Claim 27 would be allowable if (i) claims 6 or 9 or 18 or 21 or 24 are incorporated into the independent claim 27, (ii), needs to resolve 101 rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Mueck et al. (US 20170188314, Jun. 29, 2017) teaches Uplink Interference Management in Shared Spectrum Networks.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464