DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed August 31, 2026 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1 and 10.
Examiner acknowledges pending claims 1-4, 10-11, 14, 23, 26,33-34, 36-37, 40-41 and 45-49.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 5-9, 12-13, 15-22, 24-26. 27-32, 35, 38-39 and 42-44.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 10-11, 14, 23, 26,33-34, 36-37, 40 and 45-49 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman, GB1150860 in view of Huelsmann et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0099847 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claim 41 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman, GB1150860 in view of Huelsmann et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0099847 and in further view of Kia et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2017/0136698 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 14, 23, 26, 34, 36-37, 40-41 and 45-49.are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wenzel et al., U.S. Patent Number 5,360,891 as evidenced by Prince et al., The effect of Isomer Ratio on the Properties Bis(4-aminocyclohexyl)methane Polyamides
Regarding claims 1-4, 10-11, 14, 23 26, 34,36, and 45-40, Wenzel discloses a polyimide composition comprising I. 35-60 mol% of trans,trans bis(4-aminocyclohexyo)-methane and II 65-40 mol% of other aliphatic, cycloaliphatic, araliphatic or aromatic diamines. [see abstract and column 2, lines 5-19[] wherein the molar ratio of components I and II ranges from 0.95 to 1.05:1. Column 3, lines 34-36 discloses that the composition can include fillers and stabilizers. It is disclosed in column 3, lines 37-38 that the composition can be processed into fibers. Column 3, lines 1-6 discloses that the suitable acid components I can include decanedioic acid which yields n=10.
[recurring unit].
Prince et al., provides for a glass transition temperature and melt temperature of the bis(4-aminocyclohexyl)methane polyamide when n=10 [as in Wenzel]. Table 1 of Prince discloses Tm [melt temperature] is 264 ºC and a Tg [glass transition temperature] of 125 ºC.
Regarding claim 37, reference claim 13 discloses a process by extrusion.
Regarding claim 41, reference claims 15-17 disclose a 3_D object such as an inspection window or lamp cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel et al., U.S. Patent Number 5,360,891 as evidenced by Prince et al., The effect of Isomer Ratio on the Properties Bis(4-aminocyclohexyl)methane Polyamides in view of Zimmerman, GB1150860.
Wenzel, as evidenced by Prince, remains relied upon for claim 1.
Wenzel, as evidenced by Prince, is silent to the geometry and diameter of the filament. Zimmerman discloses polyamide filaments [title]. It is disclosed in page 1, lines 29-50 of Zimmerman a high molecular crystalline oriented filament of trans,trans bis(4-(aminocyclohexyl) methane wherein n = 10 [see paragraphs 0003-0005]. Zimmerman discloses in column 4, lines 32-35 that the filament has a diameter 0.12 to 1.25 mm. A filament has a cylindrical shape. Zimmerman discloses that the fiber has high strength, high modulus and low shrinkage [0027]. Wenzel and Zimmerman are analogous art in that both references discloses polyamide filaments formed from bis(4-aminocyclohexyl)methane polyamides wherein n=10. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optimize the diameter of the filament in Wenzel in the range of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm for the benefit of having a filament with enhanced strength, modulus and low shrinkage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended the claims to recite the glass transition temperature and the melting temperature. Applicant’s previous claim set [claim 10] recited the glass transition temperature and/or the melting temperature. Applicant narrowed the scope of the claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786