NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the main substrate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. 6,626,585 B1 to Malone (“Malone”).
As to claim 1, Malone discloses:
An optical connector module, comprising:
at least one optical device configured to include at least one of a light-emitting device and a light-receiving device; and
Malone discloses an optical connector module 10 including an optical device (optoelectric device 58 and substrate 60) which may be a light emitting device (VCSEL). Malone at FIG 4 and at 4:24-35 and 5:6-17.
an optical fiber guide configured to contact the optical device on at least two points to align a first optical path of the optical device with a second optical path of the optical fiber at a predetermined position, wherein the second optical path acquires light generated by the optical device or transmits light to the optical device.
Malone discloses the connector module 10 includes an optical fiber guide 50 which contacts the optical device on at least two points 64 which aligns the device with the path of an optical fiber at a predetermined position, wherein the optical path acquires light generated by the optical device. Malone at FIGS 4 and 5Q as well as 4:24-59 and 6:38-49.
Further as to claim 7:
The optical connector module of claim 1, wherein the first and second optical paths are virtual paths formed along the center lines of the optical device and the optical fiber, representing highest light transmission efficiency between the optical device and the optical fiber.
Malone discloses that the device and the fiber are aligned along a center line to maximize light coupling efficiency. Malone at 1:16-33 and 5:1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malone as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pat. 5,257,336 to Dautartas (“Dautartas”).
As to claim 2:
The optical connector module of claim 1, wherein the optical fiber guide includes:
an outer surface,
a coupling surface that perpendicularly penetrates the outer surface and forms a coupling hole for accommodating the optical fiber, and
an inner surface extending from the coupling surface, with at least one region extending in a slanted manner so as not to be parallel to the outer surface and the coupling surface,
wherein the optical fiber guide contacts the optical device on at least two points with a slanted region of the inner surface to align the first and second optical paths with each other.
Malone discloses that the fiber guide includes an outer surface and an inner coupling surface 54 which in part perpendicularly penetrates the outer surface forming a coupling hole for accommodating the fiber, as well as a slanted portion 56 not parallel to the outer surface and coupling surface. Malone at FIG 4. Malone does not disclose the slanted surface is on the inside for contacting the optical device.
Dautartus discloses an analogous invention, namely an optical assembly for arranging a fiber 28 in line with an optoelectric device 18 by way of specialized guides 22 and 38. Dautartus at FIGS 1 and 2 and at 2:49-3:41. Notably, the submount 38 is slanted along the inside in such a manner as to be able to contact the optical device. Id. at FIG 1, shown below in portion:
Dautartus at FIG 1 (excerpt). Note that the inner slanted wall of the submount meets the device.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Malone in the manner of Dautartus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found such to merely have been an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 214. I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 3:
The optical connector module of claim 2, wherein the at least two points are located at a first corner of the optical device and at another first corner symmetrical to the first corner about the center of the optical device.
This is met by the combination in the case the VCSEL is a square shape.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malone as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2020/0083670A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
As to claim 4:
The optical connector module of claim 1, further comprising:
a guide electrode formed on at least a portion of an inner surface that contacts the optical device, for connecting and transmitting electrical signals between the optical device and the main substrate.
Malone discloses claim 1 above but does not disclose a main substrate or guide electrode for connecting the device.
Kim discloses an analogous invention, namely a means for connecting an optical fiber to a device including a guide. Kim at FIGS 24 and 48. Kim specifies that a fiber guide 3200 with a slanted cross section may contact an optical device 3100 through an electrode which connects the device to a circuit board 3300 (reads substrate). Id. at ¶¶485, 503, and 646-649.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Malone in the manner of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found such to merely have been an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 214. I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 5:
The optical connector module of claim 4, further comprising:
at least one solder ball positioned between the guide electrode and the optical device, wherein the at least one solder ball is deformed by at least one of heat and pressure when the optical fiber guide contacts the optical device, to connect the guide electrode with an electrode of the optical device.
Malone discloses that the connection between the device and guide by way of an electrode may be a solder ball 64 as noted above in the rejection of claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would have understood such to be deformed by heat and/or pressure to make an electrical connection.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malone in view of KR101276508 to Lee Seung Hun et al. (“Lee”), cited in the September 25, 2024 Information Disclosure Statement.
As to claim 8, Malone discloses:
An optical interconnection module, comprising:
[…]
an optical connector module […] to generate or receive optical signals […]
Malone discloses an optical connector module 10 including an optical device (optoelectric device 58 and substrate 60) which may be a light emitting device (VCSEL). Malone at FIG 4 and at 4:24-35 and 5:6-17, thus the overall connector module generates optical signals.
wherein the optical connector module comprises:
at least one optical device configured to include at least one of a light-emitting device and a light-receiving device; and
an optical fiber guide configured to contact the optical device on at least two points to align a first optical path of the optical device with a second optical path of the optical fiber at a predetermined position, wherein the second optical path acquires light generated by the optical device or transmits light to the optical device.
Malone discloses the connector module 10 includes the device noted above as well as an optical fiber guide 50 which contacts the optical device on at least two points 64 which aligns the device with the path of an optical fiber at a predetermined position, wherein the optical path acquires light generated by the optical device. Malone at FIGS 4 and 5Q as well as 4:24-59 and 6:38-49.
Malone does not disclose a substrate and control device for controlling the optical device to produce the signal.
Lee discloses an analogous invention, namely a means for aligning a fiber and optical device by way of a guide housing, wherein the overall element including the device and housing are mounted on a substrate and include a control device to control the creation of the optical signal. Lee at FIGS 3 describing control device 33 and substrate 31 as well as device package 34.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Malone in the manner of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the need for a control mechanism for providing the optical signal as well as means for fixing the whole system in place (such as a substrate), and further would found such to merely have been an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 214. I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 discloses the optical connector module of claim 4, further comprising:
a reinforcement plate formed on the outer surface of the optical guide corresponding to the inner surface where the guide electrode is formed,
wherein the optical guide is coupled to the main board in a direction perpendicular to the main board while the guide electrode and the reinforcement plate are soldered to the main board.
The prior art does not teach or suggest the reinforcement plate claimed here.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s
supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information
system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992