DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The amendments filed 08/28/2026 are entered.
Claims 1 and 2 were previously cancelled. Claims 6-8 are newly cancelled.
Claims 3 and 5 are amended.
Claims 3, 4, and 5 are rejected.
Priority
A translation of the foreign priority documents is filed 08/28/2026.
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENTS
Withdrawn Objection/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The previous rejections of claims 5 and 8 under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The amendments clarify that monensin is used in the exosome collection step, as is also stated in the Applicant’s response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejections of claims 6-8 under 35 USC § 103 are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Claims 6-8 are cancelled.
Maintained Objection/Rejections
The outstanding objections and rejections are summarized below.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures: The Objection to the Specification regarding the Incorporation by Reference statement is maintained and updated for the submitted Incorporation by Reference statement which does not state a file name found in the records for the sequence listing submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103: Claims 5 and 8 have been amended to add further limitations. Claims 6-8 have been cancelled. Therefore, the previous 35 USC § 103 rejection has been updated to address these amendments.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
The name of the file in the Incorporation by Reference is “20-223PCT.xml” while the file name of the sequence listing submitted is “Sequence_Listing-1703P197US.xml”. These two names must match.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2019/0000886 Al, Method of Treatment of Osteochondral Defects; published 01/03/2019) in view of Kato et al (EP 3954761 A1, Chondrocyte culture with high tissue regeneration ability; filed 04/08/2020), Li et al (2013) (Li et al, MicroRNA expression profiling and target genes study in congenital microtia; published 2013), Duan et al (Duan et al, Recent progress on the role of miR-140 in cartilage matrix remodeling and its implications for osteoarthritis treatment, published 2020), and Cauley (Cauley, Estrogen and bone health in men and women, published 2015).
Regarding claim 3, Ross et al teaches a method for producing a pharmaceutical composition including chondrocyte-derived exosomes (Abstract).
Ross et al defines "exosomes" as a type of extracellular membrane-enclosed vesicle, which contains molecular constituents of the cell it was secreted from (para 0025). Ross et al further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising of membrane-enclosed vesicle comprising, for example, miR-140 (para 0071), which fits the definition of an exosome (para 0072).
Ross et al further teaches the method of exosome preparation by culturing the cell that produces the exosome and collecting the exosome from the culture media (para 0079-0080).
Ross et al does not explicitly teach chondrocyte-derived exosomes comprising miR-140 in one embodiment. Ross et al does not explicitly teach auricular chondrocyte. Ross et al does not explicitly teach culturing chondrocyte with estrogen.
However, Kato et al teaches a method of chondrocyte culture, wherein the source of the cell is cartilage tissue, which can be auricular cartilage and other cartilage sources (para 0016).
Kato et al further teaches the chondrocyte culture expresses and retains miRNAs, particularly preferably miR140, including miR-140-3p and miR-140-5p (para 0092-0093).
Li et al (2013) particularly teaches the upregulation of miR-140-3p in congenital microtia tissues (p. 484, section 3.1. MicroRNA expression array), wherein the tissue samples are auricular cartilage and soft tissue (p. 484, section 2.1. Sample collection: patients and normal controls).
Ross, Kato et al, and Li et al (2013) do not explicitly teach culturing chondrocyte with estrogen.
However, Duan et al teaches estrogen upregulates miR-140 expression levels in chondrocytes since the miR-140 promoter contains estrogen receptor response elements (p. 4, col. 2, para. 1).
Duan et al further teaches exosomes derived from miR-140-overexpressing cells and miR-140-encapsulated exosomes could be used to promote MSC chondrogenesis or inhibit cartilage matrix degradation for osteoarthritis (OA) therapy (p. 5-7, section: Exosomal delivery of miR-140 in OA treatment). Duan et al additionally teaches that miR-140 is evolutionarily conserved among vertebrates and expressed in chondrocytes and regulates chondrogenesis of mesenchymal stem cells (Abstract and p. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Both underexpression and overexpression of miR-140 play a role in diseases associated with cartilage destruction (p. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Duan et al teaches that these miRNAs are significantly downregulated in chondrocytes from knee osteoarthritis (p. 3, col. 2, para. 2).
Ross, Kato et al, Li et al (2013), and Duan do not explicitly the chondrocytes are of female origin.
However, bioavailable estradiol levels are known to be higher in women relative to men (Cauley, published 2015; Section: 1.1. Sex steroid levels and age).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to culture auricular chondrocyte of female origin with estrogen to produce exosomes containing miR-140 and formulate these exosomes into a pharmaceutical composition because of the known pharmaceutical benefits of exosome-delivered miR-140,the link between estrogen upregulating miR-140 expression, as taught by Duan et al, the link between high estrogen levels in women, as taught by Cauley, and the production of miR-140 and exosome by auricular cartilage, as taught by Ross in view of Kato et al and Li et al (2013).
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to produce miR-140-containing exosomes for its pharmaceutical utility, specifically from auricular chondrocytes because it is a source of miR-140 that could be stimulated to highly express miR-140 using estrogen. Although articular cartilage may be the most highly studied, and auricular chondrocytes have not explicitly been used to produce miR-140-containing exosomes, the references together teach that auricular chondrocytes can also reasonably feasibly be used to produce miR-140-containing exosomes. Although the references do not explicitly teach culturing the chondrocytes with estrogen, one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to do so for the advantage of stimulating miR-140 expression during cell culture. Additionally, considering the role of estrogen in upregulating miR-140 expression and the motivation to introduce estrogen to chondrocytes for the purpose of producing exosomes comprising miR-140, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to start with chondrocytes from a subject population that are naturally exposed to relatively higher estrogen than other subjects, with the reasonable expectation that these chondrocytes would have some miR-140 expression.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success because miR-140 expression is essentially linked to chondrocytes, especially in the presence of estrogen, and chondrocytes have been used to produce exosomes, which carry the microRNA of its source cells. MiR-140 is present in all chondrocytes, which includes auricular chondrocytes, and particularly, miR-140 has been shown to be overexpressed in auricular cartilage of patients with microtia, which is a congenital abnormality of the outer ear where auricular cartilage resides. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success that estrogen can stimulate chondrocyte in culture to express miR-140 since the miR-140 promoter in chondrocytes have a direct response to estrogen, as taught by Duan et al, and would have reasonable expectation of success that chondrocytes exposed to estrogen, whether naturally in the human body or in the cell culture would exhibit this estrogen-induced miR-140 expression.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2019/0000886 Al, Method of Treatment of Osteochondral Defects; published 01/03/2019) in view of Kato et al (EP 3954761 A1, Chondrocyte culture with high tissue regeneration ability; filed 04/08/2020), Li et al (2013) (Li et al, MicroRNA expression profiling and target genes study in congenital microtia; published 2013), Duan et al (Duan et al, Recent progress on the role of miR-140 in cartilage matrix remodeling and its implications for osteoarthritis treatment, published 2020), and Cauley (published 2015), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Li et al (2021) (Li et al, MicroRNAs target on cartilage extracellular matrix degradation of knee osteoarthritis; published 02/01/2021).
The teachings of the references regarding claim 3 are incorporated in its entirety for the dependent claims and discussed further below, as is relevant for each claim.
Regarding claim 4, the previous references do not teach the estrogen is estradiol.
However, Li et al (2021) teaches estradiol (E2) can directly upregulate the expression of miR-140 in chondrocytes (p. 1191, section: MiR-140).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to specifically use estradiol in the chondrocyte culture since estradiol is a specific form of estrogen that serves the purpose of upregulating miR-140 in chondrocytes.
Since estrogen is a broad class of hormones, one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to choose the specific type of estrogen that has been shown to upregulate miR-140 in chondrocytes.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success that estradiol can stimulate chondrocyte in culture to express miR-140 since the miR-140 promoter in chondrocytes have a direct response to estrogen, as taught by Duan et al, and Li et al (2021) shows that estradiol in particular regulates miR-140.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2019/0000886 Al, Method of Treatment of Osteochondral Defects; published 01/03/2019) in view of Kato et al (EP 3954761 A1, Chondrocyte culture with high tissue regeneration ability; filed 04/08/2020), Li et al (2013) (Li et al, MicroRNA expression profiling and target genes study in congenital microtia; published 2013), Duan et al (Duan et al, Recent progress on the role of miR-140 in cartilage matrix remodeling and its implications for osteoarthritis treatment, published 2020), and Cauley (published 2015), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al (Hayashi et al, Exosomal MicroRNA Transport from Salivary Mesenchyme Regulates Epithelial Progenitor Expansion during Organogenesis; published 2017), as evidenced by von Osch et al (von Osch et al, Cells for Cartilage Regeneration, Chapter 4; published 2020).
The teachings of the references regarding claim 3 are incorporated in its entirety for the dependent claims and discussed further below, as is relevant for each claim.
Regarding claim 5, the previous references do not teach the use of monensin or a monensin salt.
However, Hayashi et al teaches that monensin is a biologically safe but effective way to increase exosome release in a mesenchymal cell line (p. 97, col 1-2), and as evidenced by van Osch et al, chondrocytes, such as auricular cartilage, are derived from mesenchymal cells (p. 54, section: 4.1 Auricular chondrocytes in their natural environment, para. 1).
Duan et al further teaches many advantages of exosomes as a cargo delivery mechanism (p. 5, section: Exosomes), and particularly for microRNA delivery (p. 6, section: miR-140 delivery by exosomes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, that after the chondrocytes were stimulated with estrogen to express miR-140, monensin could be added to the cell culture to stimulate miR-140-containing exosome release from the chondrocyte.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to add the monensin to promote exosome secretion, since exosome-bound microRNA is a more stable and safer form of microRNA delivery, as taught previously by Duan et al.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success since monensin is known to generally stimulate exosome release in various cells, and in particular, has been used to stimulate mesenchymal cells, which is the progenitor of chondrocytes.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant amended Claim 3 to require the auricular chondrocytes be of female origin and argues that none of the previously provided references provide teachings motivating this female origin.
The updated rejection, necessitated by amendments that changes the scope of the claims, addresses this limitation. As preliminary matter, while estrogen is a female-associated estrogen, it is produced and critical in both female and male humans (Cauley, published 2015; Abstract). However, bioavailable estradiol levels are known to be higher in women relative to men (Cauley, Section: 1.1. Sex steroid levels and age). Therefore, considering the role of estrogen in upregulating miR-140 expression and the motivation to introduce estrogen to chondrocytes for the purpose of producing exosomes comprising miR-140, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to start with chondrocytes from a subject population that are naturally exposed to relatively higher estrogen than other subjects, with the reasonable expectation that these chondrocytes would have some miR-140 expression.
Regarding the other limitations of claim 3, Applicant argues there is no reasonable expectation of success that estrogen would upregulate miR-140 in auricular chondrocytes since the cited references only teach this in articular chondrocytes and not auricular. Applicant particularly argues the lack of auricular teaching in Duan and Li (2021).
In response, the rejection of claim 3 does not use Li (2021), but rather Li (2013). Applicant is arguing using a reference not used in the claim under discussion. Li et al (2013) particularly teaches the upregulation of miR-140-3p in congenital microtia tissues (p. 484, section 3.1. MicroRNA expression array), wherein the tissue samples are auricular cartilage and soft tissue (p. 484, section 2.1. Sample collection: patients and normal controls). Therefore, the rejection does appropriately show that miR-140 can reasonably be expected to be upregulated in auricular cartilage. To the matter of estrogen as the driver of the upregulation, Duan et al teaches the miR-140 promoter contains estrogen response elements, so estrogen can upregulate miR-140 expression levels (p. 4, col. 2, para. 1). The miR-140 gene and its promoter and regulatory elements are part of the human genome, so the teaching of this promoter in articular cartilage teaches this promoter in the auricular cartilage. Therefore, the miR-140 in auricular cartilage would also be capable of being regulated by estrogen.
Applicant further argues a gap between transcriptional upregulation and exosomal packaging, specifically that transcriptional upregulation of miR-140 “does not, by itself, provide a reasonable expectation that exosomal (secreted, packaged) miR-140 content - a distinct downstream process of exosome biogenesis and cargo loading - would predictably increase in cultured auricular chondrocytes at a level suitable for a reproducible pharmaceutical manufacturing process”.
In response, first, MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. The Applicant’s argument states the rationale provided does not provide reasonable expectations of success but Applicant does not provide any explanation or evidence why the rationale provided is not sufficient. At most, the argument asserts they are two distinct processes. However, the presented rejection has already recognized them as distinct processes and provided the link between the two. In summary, the rejection provides a method for chondrocyte culture with estrogen to induce expression of miR-140, and a method for induced exosome production, used to produce exosome containing the miR in the chondrocyte. More likely than not, the exosome will contain the miR expressed in the chondrocyte.
Second, the argument requires limitations that are not commensurate with the scope of the claim. The argument asserts unpredictable levels “at a level suitable for a reproducible pharmaceutical manufacturing process”; however, the claim simply requires the exosome to have miR-140, without any specific level. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach any particular level of expression.
Conclusion
Claims 3, 4, and 5 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIRATH CHHAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1645 Monday, October 19, 2026
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 October 20, 2026