DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-33, and 35-40, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US Publication No. 20130036181).
As to claims 21 and 31, Choi teaches a method and a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to (fig. 2, #300, pp0050, PN gateway may be a smart phone): send a personal internet of things (IoT) network (PIN) create request to a PIN server (fig. 2, fig. 6A, #1015, transmits the generated personal network generation request message to the CPNS server 200); receive a response to the PIN create request, the response comprising a PIN identifier and one or more PIN element identifiers (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1019, pp0125, generates a personal network generation response message informing that the personal network has been registered as shown in Table 8); send a PIN creation message to a PIN element that indicates that the PIN has been created (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1021, #1025, pp0125, generates a personal network generation response message informing that the personal network has been registered as shown in Table 8); receive a query message from the PIN element via the PIN, wherein the query message comprises an identifier of an application service and an identifier of the PIN element (fig. 2, fig. 7A, #1045, pp0148, service provision request and service group establishment request message including a service identifier of the particular service selected by the user, component information related to the particular service, and identifiers of member PNEs to receive or share the service); determine that the first WTRU does not have information associated with the application service (fig. 2, fig. 7A, #1045, #1051, pp0148, service provision request and service group establishment request message including a service identifier of the particular service selected by the user, component information related to the particular service, and identifiers of member PNEs to receive or share the service); send a request message to the PIN server to receive information associated with the application service, wherein the request message comprises the identifier of the application service and the identifier of the PIN element (fig. 2, fig. 7A, #1045, #1051, pp0148, service provision request and service group establishment request message including a service identifier of the particular service selected by the user, component information related to the particular service, and identifiers of member PNEs to receive or share the service, and Table 8); receive a response message from the PIN server, wherein the response message comprises the information indicating how to connect to an application server associated with the application service (fig. 2, fig. 7B, 1059, #1065, #1067, pp0157, PN gateway 300 having received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service in step 1069. The PN gateway 300 having identified the identifiers of the member PNEs transmits the service/content to the PNE A 400 and the PNE B 500 in steps 1071 and 1073); and send a message to the PIN element, wherein the message comprises the information indicating how to connect to the application server (fig. 2, fig. 7B, 1059, #1065, #1067, pp0157, PN gateway 300 having received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service in step 1069. The PN gateway 300 having identified the identifiers of the member PNEs transmits the service/content to the PNE A 400 and the PNE B 500 in steps 1071 and 1073).
As to claims 22 and 32, Choi teaches wherein the query message is a request to discover the PIN server (fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7, pp0061, the PN gateway 300 can configure the personal network 700 with the PNEs 400, 500, and 600, and perform a function of relaying transmission of a CPNS system message and a service or a content between the CPNS server 200 and the PNEs 400, 500, and 600).
As to claims 23 and 33, Choi teaches wherein the information associated with the application service comprises the information indicating how to connect to the application server (fig. 2, fig. 7B, 1059, #1065, #1067, pp0157, PN gateway 300 having received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service in step 1069. The PN gateway 300 having identified the identifiers of the member PNEs transmits the service/content to the PNE A 400 and the PNE B 500 in steps 1071 and 1073).
As to claims 25 and 35, Choi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the first WTRU does have the information indicating how to connect to the application server (fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7B, #1069, #1071, pp0157, received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service); and send the information indicating how to connect to the application server to the PIN element in response to the query message (fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7B, #1069, #1071, pp0157, received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service).
As to claims 26 and 36, Choi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to be provisioned with information associated with the application server that is associated with the application service (fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7B, #1069, #1071, pp0157, received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service).
As to claims 27 and 37, Choi teaches wherein the create request is a request to create the PIN that can provide the application service to other PIN elements (fig. 2, fig. 6A, #1015, pp0003, for providing a service based on a function component included in electronic devices belonging to a personal network, fig. 7B, #1069, #1071, pp0157, received the service from the CPNS server 200 identifies an identifier of the corresponding service group and identifiers of member PNEs to receive and share the service).
As to claims 28 and 38, Choi teaches wherein the create request indicates one or more of a desired application service at a location, a capability of the PIN element, a device identifier, or a user identifier for authentication (fig. 2, fig. 6A, #1051, transmits the generated personal network generation request message to the CPNS server 200 pp0120, and Table 7).
As to claims 29 and 39, Choi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to send a configuration message to a second WTRU that is part of the PIN (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1021, #1025, pp0125, PN component list received from the PN gateway, Table 8, and pp0058), the configuration message comprising the PIN identifier (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1021, #1025, pp0125, PN component list received from the PN gateway, Table 8, and pp0058), wherein the first WTRU sends the configuration message to the second WTRU to indicate that the second WTRU is part of the PIN and can provide service to one or more PIN elements (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1021, #1025, pp0125, PN component list received from the PN gateway, Table 8, and pp0058).
As to claims 30 and 40, Choi teaches wherein the configuration message comprises the one or more PIN element identifiers (fig. 2, fig. 6B, #1021, #1025, pp0125, PN component list received from the PN gateway, Table 8, and pp0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Publication No. 20130036181) in view of He et al. (US Publication No. 20080034417).
As to claims 24 and 34, Choi teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the information indicating how to connect to the application server comprises a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of the application server.
In an analogous field of endeavor, He teaches the concept wherein the information indicating how to connect to the application server comprises a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of the application server (fig. 1A, pp0082, clients 102 in a local network, and pp0119, the client agent may further determine a routing decision based on a URL specified in the HTTP header. For example, if a client is requesting a URL that corresponds to a file associated with a given application server, the client agent may route the client request directly to the application server). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of He to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing optimized communications in a communication system (He, pp0001).
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645