DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "rod-like" renders the claims indefinite because the claim extends the scope of the claim such that it is unclear what is encompassed by the claim (e.g. what is and what is not ‘rod-like’), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable and the public is not appropriately appraised of the invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). This rejection may be overcome by amending to “rod-shaped”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waki (JP2010-099769 – machine translation) and claim 8 is rejected over Waki as applied to claim 1 further in view of Hasegawa (US 2018/0161886).
Considering claim 1, Waki teaches a surface coated tool having improved wear and chipping resistance (abstract). The coating comprises a lower layer of first thin layers of Ti1-aMa(C1-xNx) where M is at least one of Mo, Ta, etc. and 0.35 ≤ a ≤ 0.55 and 0 ≤ x ≤ 1 alternated with second thin layers of Ti1-bMb(C1-yNy) where M is at least one of Mo, Ta, etc. and 0.40 ≤ b ≤ 0.60 and 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, and b>a and an upper layer of a third thin layer of Ti1-cMc(C1-xNx) where M is at least one of Mo, Ta, etc. and 0.40 ≤ c ≤ 0.60 and 0 ≤ x ≤ 1 alternated with fourth thin layers of Ti1-dMd(C1-yNy) where M is at least one of Mo, Ta, etc. and 0.45 ≤ d ≤ 0.65 and 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, and d>c (Paragraph 7; Claim 1). Each of the lower layer and upper layer may be considered the claimed multilayered Ta- and Mo-containing multilayer structures as no particular configuration of layers is claimed. See MPEP 2111.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed tool this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Waki as this is considered a combination of conventionally known Ta- and Mo-containing layers with different compositions for Ta and Mo known to afford wear resistant tools and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the difference in Mo and Ta contents overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Waki teaches where the thin layers are alternately layered (Paragraph 7).
Considering claim 7, Waki teaches where the coating has an overall thickness of 0.8-10 µm (Paragraph 17) and where the thickness of the lower layer TA and upper layer TB has a ratio of 0.8 ≤ TB/TA ≤ 1.2 (Paragraph 7) indicating where each section may have a thickness of 0.4-5 µm when the ratio equal 1 overlapping that which is claimed as well as where the thickness of the first thin layer is 10-20 nm, the thickness of the second thin layer is 12-45 nm, the thickness of the third thin layer is 2-15 nm, and the thickness of the fourth thin layer is 10-40 nm (Paragraph 8) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 8, Waki teaches where the coated tool may be a cutting tool (Paragraph 12), but does not teach the claimed holder and pocket.
In a related field of endeavor, Hasegawa teaches a cutting tool and holder (abstract; Paragraph 5). The holder comprises a body having a rod shape (Fig. 6A-6C) with the cutting insert affixed therein (Paragraph 18) where the cutting insert is has a coating layer (Paragraph 4). The coating is at least one of TiMN where M is at least one of Groups 4-6 of the periodic table (Paragraph 33).
As both Waki and Hasegawa teach cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Waki with the tool structure taught by Hasegawa as this is considered a combination of a conventionally known tool and coating have wear resistance known to machine parts and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of Waki does not teach or suggest the claimed compositions with relative amounts of the materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Selinder et al. (US 6,103,357, Yamamoto et al. (US 2005/0170162), Sakamoto (US 2015/0343535), Tanaka (US 2018/0281079), and Wang (US 2021/0310130) teach coated cutting tools with a multilayer coating demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784