Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims fail to place the invention squarely within one statutory class of invention. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term "computer readable storage medium", the term is not limited to non-transitory computer readable storage media, and can include transitory media (See http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/comments/2009-08-25_interim_101_instructions.pdf). The transitory media generally stores data/information in form of signals. Signals are form of energy. As such, the claim is drawn to a form of energy and/or signal per se. Energy is not one of the four categories of invention and therefore this claim(s) is/are not statutory. Energy is not a series of steps or acts and thus is not a process. Energy is not a physical article or object and as such is not a machine or manufacture. Energy is not a combination of substances and therefor not a composition of matter. Signal per se does not appear to be a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
[Claims that recite nothing but the physical characteristics of a form of energy, such as frequency, voltage or the strength of a magnetic field, define energy or magnetism, per se, and as such are nonstatutory natural phenomena. O'Reilly, 56 U. S. (15 How.) at 112-14. See also In re Nuijten. Docket no. 2006-1371 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 20, 2007)(slip. Op. at 18): "A propagating signal is not a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter"]
Thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, 14, 19, 22, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202).
Regarding claims 6, 19, 24, VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) teaches a communication method, applied to a user plane (fig. 7, 11), wherein the user plane and a control plane are separately deployed (fig. 7, 11), and the method comprises:
sending a second connection establishment request message to the control plane in response to receiving a first connection establishment request message from a terminal device (par. 84, 86, 87, 88, the NG UE 210 sends a request for establishment… sends a request to the CU-CP 225 in step S310);
sending a first connection establishment response message to the terminal device in response to receiving a second connection establishment response message from the control plane (fig. 7, par. 72, 73, 74, 86, 87, 90, 117, responds to the CU-UP 226 in step S212 over interface E1…the CU-CP 225 performs an AN resources setup procedure with the NG UE 210 in step S213); and
sending a connection configuration update message to the terminal device in response to receiving a connection management message from the control plane (fig. 7, par. 72, 73, 74, 86, 87, 90, 117, responds to the CU-UP 226 in step S212 over interface E1…the CU-CP 225 performs an AN resources setup procedure with the NG UE 210 in step S213),
wherein the connection configuration update message is used is configured to indicate the terminal device to perform access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter (fig. 7, par. 3, 75, 86, 90, 91, 117, 119, the PDU session is established with a user plane tunnel between the NG UE 210, the DU 227 and the CRC-UPF 228…preparing the transparent data container comprising the UPF configuration data further comprise the action of preparing at least one recommendation to the CU-CP regarding CRC-UPF selection, such as e.g. which particular CRC-UPF 228 should be selected by the CU-CP 225).
Regarding claim 7, VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following:
the first connection establishment request message comprises a service establishment request sent by the terminal device to the user plane (par. 80, 106, The N11 interface can alternatively be realized using service-based interfaces utilized by the AMF 221 and SMF 222…the SMF 222 may recommend a specific CRC-UPF 228 because it is connected to specific local service network or the SMF 222 has knowledge of the optimal path from a CRC-UPF 228 to the next cascaded UPF over the N9 interface);
the first connection establishment response message comprises a connection establishment response sent by the user plane to the terminal device (fig. 7, par. 72, 73, 74, 86, 87, 90, 117, responds to the CU-UP 226 in step S212 over interface E1…the CU-CP 225 performs an AN resources setup procedure with the NG UE 210 in step S213).
Regarding claim 10, 22, 25, VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) teaches a communication method, applied to a terminal device (fig. 7, NG UE), wherein the method comprises:
sending a first connection establishment request message to a user plane (fig. 7, par. 84, 86, S301 PDU Session Establishment Request; S307 N4 session Establishment/Modification request (UPF configuration)), wherein the user plane and a control plane are separately deployed (fig. 7, par. 117, CU-CP and CRC-UPF);
receiving a first connection establishment response message sent by the user plane (fig. 7, par. 86, 87, 90, 117, a request to this effect is sent to the selected CRC-UPF 228 in step S307 over interface N4… the CU-CP 225 performs an AN resources setup procedure with the NG UE 210…); and
performing access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter in response to receiving a connection configuration update message from the user plane (fig. 7, par. 3, 86, 90, 91, 117, 119, preparing the transparent data container comprising the UPF configuration data further comprise the action of preparing at least one recommendation to the CU-CP regarding CRC-UPF selection, such as e.g. which particular CRC-UPF 228 should be selected by the CU-CP 225).
Regarding claim 14, VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein sending the first connection establishment request message to the user plane comprises: selecting a user plane entity or instance in the user plane in a case that there is a network access requirement (fig. 3, par. 54, The CU-CP 125 selects a CU-UP 126), and sending the first connection establishment request message to the selected user plane entity or instance (fig. 3, par. 54, The CU-CP 125 selects a CU-UP 126 in step S111 via which the PDU session is to be established with the UPF 112, and a request to this effect is sent to the selected CU-UP 126 in step S112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 20, 23, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 20190059027) in view of LIU et al. (US 20210314767).
Regarding claims 1, 20, 23, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) teaches a communication method, applied to a control plane (fig. 2, par. 41), wherein the control plane and a user plane are separately deployed (fig. 9, 10A, 10B), and the method (fig. 9, 10A, 10B) comprises:
sending a third connection establishment request message to a core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF 1030 to indicate that the UE 1005 has changed cell); and
sending a connection management message to the user plane in response to receiving a third connection establishment response message from the core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, 164, 166, the AMF 1030 may confirm the NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message with an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016)…the S-CU-CP 1016 may send an E1AP BEARER RELEASE message to the S-CU-UP 1014).
However, YANG does not explicitly teach sending a second connection establishment response message to the user plane in response to receiving a second connection establishment request message from the user plane.
But, LIU et al. (US 20210314767) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches sending a second connection establishment response message to the user plane in response to receiving a second connection establishment request message from the user plane (par. 89, 94, a user plane device transmits a second request message for establishing a connection to a control plane device, where the second request message for establishing the connection includes information about the user plane device… the control plane device transmits a second response message indicating that the connection is successfully established or a second response message indicating that the connection fails to be established to the user plane device);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LIU in the system of YANG to setup connection.
The motivation would have been that the CP and the UP is able to be deployed in different geographical positions, configured independently, and carried out resource expansion and function upgrading, thereby more flexibly and efficiently satisfying requirements of various 5G services (LIU par. 44).
Regarding claim 2, LIU et al. (US 20210314767) teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein sending the second connection establishment response message to the user plane in response to receiving the second connection establishment request message from the user plane (par. 89, 94) comprises:
establishing terminal device context information in response to receiving the second connection establishment request message from the user plane (par. 89, 91, 94, the control plane device and the user plane device respectively acquire their own configuration information from an operation management maintenance platform, the configuration information of the control plane device includes information about the control plane device; and the configuration information of the user plane device includes information about the user plane device), and sending the second connection establishment response message to the user plane (par. 89, 91, 94).
Regarding claim 3, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein sending the connection management message to the user plane in response to receiving the third connection establishment response message from the core network comprises: updating terminal device context information and sending the connection management message to the user plane in response to receiving the third connection establishment response message from the core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, 164, 166, 168, the AMF 1030 may confirm the NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message with an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016)…the S-CU-CP 1016 may send an E1AP BEARER RELEASE message to the S-CU-UP 1014).
Regarding claim 4, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) teaches the method according to claim 1,further comprising:
sending a second connection update request message to the core network in response to receiving a first connection update request message from a terminal device (fig. 10B, par. 158, 159, 160, 162, 164, 166, the UE 1005 may send an RRC CONNECTION CONFIGURATION COMPLETE to the T-DU 1022. The message may include the C-RNTI to identify the UE 1005, in some embodiments…the T-DU 1022 may use an F1AP UL RRC TRANSFER message to forward the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the T-CU-CP 1026… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF 1030 to indicate that the UE 1005 has changed cell);
sending a first connection update response message to the terminal device in response to receiving a second connection update response message from the core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, 164, 166, the AMF 1030 may confirm the NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message with an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016)…the S-CU-CP 1016 may send an E1AP BEARER RELEASE message to the S-CU-UP 1014); and
sending a connection update message to the terminal device, wherein the connection update message is configured to indicate the terminal device to perform access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter (par. 148, 149, he T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)).
Regarding claim 5, LIU et al. (US 20210314767) teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprises at least one of the following:
the second connection establishment request message comprises a connection establishment request sent by the user plane to the control plane (par. 89, 94, a user plane device transmits a second request message for establishing a connection to a control plane device, where the second request message for establishing the connection includes information about the user plane device… the control plane device transmits a second response message indicating that the connection is successfully established or a second response message indicating that the connection fails to be established to the user plane device);
the second connection establishment response message comprises a connection establishment response sent by the control plane to the user plane (par. 89, 94, a user plane device transmits a second request message for establishing a connection to a control plane device, where the second request message for establishing the connection includes information about the user plane device… the control plane device transmits a second response message indicating that the connection is successfully established or a second response message indicating that the connection fails to be established to the user plane device);
the third connection establishment request message comprises a service request sent by the control plane to the core network (optional, par. 89, 94);
the third connection establishment response message comprises a service response sent by the core network to the control plane (optional, par. 89, 94);
the first connection update request message comprises a signaling connection update request sent by the terminal device to an updated target control plane (optional, par. 89, 94);
the first connection update response message comprises a signaling connection update response sent by the target control plane to the terminal device (optional, par. 89, 94);
the second connection update request message comprises a bearer update request sent by the target control plane to the core network (optional, par. 89, 94);
the second connection update response message comprises a bearer update response sent by the core network to the target control plane (optional, par. 89, 94).
Regarding claim 26, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising: sending a second connection update request message to the core network in response to receiving a first connection update request message from a terminal device (fig. 10B, par. 158, 159, 160, 162, 164, 166, the UE 1005 may send an RRC CONNECTION CONFIGURATION COMPLETE to the T-DU 1022. The message may include the C-RNTI to identify the UE 1005, in some embodiments…the T-DU 1022 may use an F1AP UL RRC TRANSFER message to forward the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the T-CU-CP 1026… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF 1030 to indicate that the UE 1005 has changed cell); sending a first connection update response message to the terminal device in response to receiving a second connection update response message from the core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, 164, 166, the AMF 1030 may confirm the NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message with an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016)…the S-CU-CP 1016 may send an E1AP BEARER RELEASE message to the S-CU-UP 1014); and sending a connection update message to the terminal device, wherein the connection update message is configured to indicate the terminal device to perform access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter (par. 148, 149, he T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)).
Regarding claim 27, YANG teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising: sending a second connection update request message to the core network in response to receiving a first connection update request message from a terminal device (fig. 10B, par. 158, 159, 160, 162, 164, 166, the UE 1005 may send an RRC CONNECTION CONFIGURATION COMPLETE to the T-DU 1022. The message may include the C-RNTI to identify the UE 1005, in some embodiments…the T-DU 1022 may use an F1AP UL RRC TRANSFER message to forward the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the T-CU-CP 1026… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF 1030 to indicate that the UE 1005 has changed cell); sending a first connection update response message to the terminal device in response to receiving a second connection update response message from the core network (fig. 10B, par. 160, 162, 164, 166, the AMF 1030 may confirm the NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST message with an NGAP PATH SWITCH REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message… the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016)…the S-CU-CP 1016 may send an E1AP BEARER RELEASE message to the S-CU-UP 1014); and sending a connection update message to the terminal device, wherein the connection update message is configured to indicate the terminal device to perform access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter (par. 148, 149, he T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)).
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) in view of YANG et al. (US 20190059027).
Regarding claim 11, VIKBERG does not explicitly teach he method according to claim 10, further comprising: sending a first connection update request message to an updated target control plane when there is a control plane connection update requirement;
receiving a first connection update response message sent by the target control plane; and
performing access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter in response to receiving a connection update message from the target control plane.
But, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches sending a first connection update request message to an updated target control plane when there is a control plane connection update requirement (par. 158, 159, the UE 1005 may send an RRC CONNECTION CONFIGURATION COMPLETE to the T-DU 1022… the T-DU 1022 may use an F1AP UL RRC TRANSFER message to forward the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the T-CU-CP 1026);
receiving a first connection update response message sent by the target control plane (par. 148, 149, he T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)); and
performing access point update processing and/or configuration update processing for a wireless parameter in response to receiving a connection update message from the target control plane (par. 148, 149, the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YANG in the system of VIKBERG to setup connection.
The motivation would have been maintained and up to date UE context in the network.
Regarding claim 12, VIKBERG does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 11, wherein determining that there is the control plane connection update requirement for the terminal device when a location of the terminal device changes.
But, YANG et al. (US 20190059027) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein determining that there is the control plane connection update requirement for the terminal device when a location of the terminal device changes (par. 148, 149, the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YANG in the system of VIKBERG to setup connection.
The motivation would have been maintained and up to date UE context in the network.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIKBERG et al. (US 20210282202) and YANG et al. (US 20190059027) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of KHALID et al. (US 20230284094).
Regarding claim 13, YANG teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein determining that there is the control plane connection update requirement for the terminal device when the location of the terminal device changes (par. 148, 149, the T-gNB (T-CU-CP 1026) may send an XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the S-gNB (S-CU-CP 1016). In some embodiments, the XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message may include a transparent container to be sent to the UE 1005 as an RRC message to perform the handover (which may include a C-RNTI and/or other elements); par. 124, The handover decision may be based at least partly on information included in the measurement report).
wherein determining that there is the control plane connection update requirement for the terminal device when the location of the terminal device changes and a distance between a post-changing location and a prior-changing location reaches a preset threshold.
But, KHALID et al. (US 20230284094) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein determining that there is the control plane connection update requirement for the terminal device when the location of the terminal device changes and a distance between a post-changing location and a prior-changing location reaches a preset threshold (par. 58, a determination is made as to whether the UE location is indicative of possible handover to destination network. Referring to box 225, this determination may be made based upon the UE location being within or moving toward a coverage area of a destination network node, or being within a source node/destination node coverage overlap area (e.g., within a threshold distance of the coverage edge such as measured by location, signal strength, etc.).).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KHALID in the system of VIKBERG and YANG to perform handover.
The motivation would have been to provide best coverage and signal quality.
Conclusion
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 10/16/2026