A Preliminary Amendment was filed on September 26, 2024 amending the Specification.
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1, 15, and 16 are independent claims.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 for Application No. 2022-071121 filed on April 22, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 26, 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
35 USC § 112(f) Analysis
Claims 1-14 and claim 19 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as reciting means for performing a specified function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Referring to independent claim 1, this claim recites the claim limitations “an acquisition unit…”, “an estimation unit…”, and “a determination unit…”.
For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0111]-[0117] of the specification, as published, the “acquisition unit” will be construed as a functional block of a central processing unit or a micro processing unit that acquires sensor information from a sensor. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0111] and [0118]-[0122] of the specification, as published, the “estimation unit” will be construed as a functional block of a central processing unit or a micro processing unit that estimates, based on the sensor information acquired by the acquisition unit, a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0111] and [0123]-[0127] of the specification, as published, the “determination unit” will be construed as a functional block of a central processing unit or a micro processing unit that determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimated by the estimation unit.
The recitations of claims 2-14 simply add more detail to or are cumulative to the operator control unit of independent claim 1.
Referring to claim 19, this claim recites the claim limitation “a drive unit…”. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0152]-[0154] of the published specification, the “drive unit” is construed as a drive mechanism such as an actuator or a motor.
Because the referred claim limitations of claims 1-14 and 19 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 recites, “... estimates, based on the sensor information …, a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable; and …determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimated ...”
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, if a claim limitation covers performance that can be executed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic electronic devices or generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Under their broadest reasonable interpretation and based on the description provided in the Specification, such as paragraphs [0118]-[0127], for instance, the estimates and determines limitations are mental processes that can be performed through observation, evaluation and judgement. Therefore, a person may perform, through observation, evaluation and judgement, the features enunciated above.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional elements of, “an acquisition unit that acquires sensor information detected by a sensor; an estimation unit… and a determination unit…”.
The acquires limitation is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output). See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. In accord with MPEP 2105(g), “An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent.”
The additional features including “an acquisition unit”, “an estimation unit”, and “a determination unit”, as recited in the claim that are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used as recited in claim 1, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using generic electronic or computer components. Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea is not indicative of integration into a practical application.
In view of the foregoing, the additional limitations, individually or combined, are not sufficient to demonstrate integration of a judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The receive driving information of a plurality air conditioner devices through the communicator represents a function that is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional. For instance, US Patent Publication No. 2025/0381899 A1 to Nicola et al. describes in Paragraph [0023] (“The system also uses a number of pressure sensors to provide feedback to a controller about the occupant's physical features and dynamic interaction with the seat. Such adjustments and treatment options can change dynamically to address the transient nature of wellness and comfort by continuously monitoring a set of chosen parameters and react accordingly.”) Nicola describes in Paragraph [0035] (“In some embodiments, the feedback devices 110 include a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about the user 104 ... For example, the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices.”) Nicola provides in Paragraph [0048] (“Referring to FIG. 3G, in some embodiments, the plurality of bladders 312 include or otherwise are in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 324 to measure the pressure of the fluid within each of the plurality of bladders 312, the pressure being applied by the plurality of bladders 312 to the user 104, and/or the pressure being applied by the user 104 to the plurality of bladders 312. The plurality of pressure sensors 324 can include any combination of pressure sensors 324.”) US Patent Publication No. 2021/0237620 A1 to Mizoi et al. describes in paragraph [0011] “According to aspect 2 of the present invention, in the ECU device according to aspect 1, the thigh angle information obtainer obtains sitting pressure measured by a sitting pressure sensor positioned in a seat cushion of the vehicle seat as the information regarding the thigh angle.” Bobey et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2006/0112489 A1) describes in Paragraph [0007] “The pressure sensors may include one or more light transmitters or conductors or optical fibers. The pressure sensors may operate to measure pressure applied to one or more of the bladders. One or more of the pressure sensors may evaluate changes in intensity of light energy diffused within the sensor.”
The additional features including “an acquisition unit”, “an estimation unit”, and “a determination unit”, as recited in the claim that are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for the functions recited in claim 1, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more. See Elec. Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the specification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information.”)
Therefore, the additional claimed features, individually or combined, do not amount to significantly more and the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 8, and 13, claim 2 recites “the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including pressure information indicating a pressure applied to the surface of the target detected by a pressure sensor, and the estimation unit estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the pressure information.” Claim 7 recites, “the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including the pressure information indicating a pressure to each of a plurality of regions on the surface of the target, the estimation unit calculates, based on the pressure information, the change amount in the pressure applied by the object to each of the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, and the determination unit determines a region in which the change amount in the pressure satisfies a condition, among the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, as a region to undergo firmness alteration”. Claim 8 recites “the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including image information imaged by an image sensor, and the estimation unit estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the image information”. Claim 13 recites “the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including the image information obtained by imaging a user by the image sensor, the estimation unit estimates information related to the user based on the image information, and the determination unit determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target based on the information related to the user estimated by the estimation unit.” As provided in independent claim 1, the acquiring functions of sensor information does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application and as shown in the cited art provided in independent claim 1, the acquisition functions do not amount to significantly more. The additional limitation of determining and estimates, calculates, and determines are abstract ideas as mental processes that can be performed through observation, evaluation and judgement. The calculates function can also be a mathematical computation. The claims also do not include additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and that would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, claims 2, 7, 8, and 13 are not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 3-6, 9-12, and 14, these claims are also directed to further defining the abstract ideas as recited in independent claim 1. As submitted in independent claim 1, the estimation unit and the determination unit do not integrate the additional abstract ideas recited in claims 3-6, 9-12, and 14 and do not amount to significantly more. There are no additional limitations in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that would impose a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. The claims are not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The claims also do not include additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and that would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, claims 3-6, 9-12, and 14 are not patent eligible.
The functions of independent claim 15 are implemented by similar functions as those of the information processing apparatus of claim 1 with substantially the same limitations. Therefore, the rejection applied to independent claim 1 above also applies to independent claim 15. Independent claim 15 is not deemed patent eligible.
To overcome the non-statutory subject matter rejection, the Office respectfully recommends adding the following recitation after the features of “a determination unit” of independent claim 1: “… a softness/firmness controller that dynamically alters the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimate by the estimation unit”. Support may be found in the description corresponding to FIG. 3 of the present application and paragraphs [0111] and [0253] of the published specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nicola et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0381899 A1) (“Nicola”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Nicola teaches:
An information processing apparatus comprising: Nicola: Paragraph [0028] (“FIG. 1 illustrates an example system 100 for automatically assessing and controlling one or more parameters of a seat 102 and a user 104 (e.g., a vehicle occupant) occupying the seat 102. The system 100 implements a combination of devices to assess the wellbeing of the user 104 and adjusting the seat 102 to enhance the wellbeing of the user.”)
an acquisition unit that acquires sensor information detected by a sensor; Nicola: Paragraph [0191] (“…an electronic processor coupled to the memory, the plurality of adjustable bladders, and the plurality of sensors, the electronic processor configured to control the plurality of adjustable bladders in accordance with the seat adjustment programs and based on the user data and feedback from at least one of the plurality of sensors.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0023] (“The system also uses a number of pressure sensors to provide feedback to a controller about the occupant's physical features and dynamic interaction with the seat. Such adjustments and treatment options can change dynamically to address the transient nature of wellness and comfort by continuously monitoring a set of chosen parameters and react accordingly.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0035] (“In some embodiments, the feedback devices 110 include a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about the user 104 ... For example, the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0048] (“Referring to FIG. 3G, in some embodiments, the plurality of bladders 312 include or otherwise are in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 324 to measure the pressure of the fluid within each of the plurality of bladders 312, the pressure being applied by the plurality of bladders 312 to the user 104, and/or the pressure being applied by the user 104 to the plurality of bladders 312. The plurality of pressure sensors 324 can include any combination of pressure sensors 324.”) [The processor reads on “an acquisition unit”. At least one of the feedback devices providing information feedback reads on “acquires sensor information detected by a sensor”.]
an estimation unit that estimates, based on the sensor information acquired by the acquisition unit, a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable; and Nicola: Paragraphs [0023], [0035], [0048], and [0191] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0047] (“Inflation of certain bladders provides seat contouring to address different body types, sizes, etc. and different bladders 312 are selected for inflation/deflation based on the different characteristics of the occupant of the seat 102.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0087] (“At step 544, the process 540 determines that the user 104 is applying sustained pressure to one or more areas in the seat 102. The area to which the user 104 is applying sustained pressure may reflect an area that the user 104 desires to be less firm. In some embodiments, the sustained pressure is determined by comparing an initial pressure level (e.g., pressure levels from the pressure scan from step 504) to current pressure levels which are elevated over a predetermined threshold for a predetermined period of time. For example, if a regional pressure increases of over 40% is detected (due to the user 104 applying additional pressure to that area) at one or more pressure sensors 324 in the seat 102 for more than 2 seconds, it is determined that they user is indicating an area to be reduced in firmness.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0088] (“At step 546, in response to determining the user 104 is indicating an area to be reduced in firmness, the process 540 initiates a firmness reduction for at least a portion of the seat 102 at the identified region. In some embodiments, the reduction in firmness is achieved by deflating at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders 312 within the identified region. When a region is identified for pressure reduction, the process 540 deflates at least a portion of all the bladders 312 within the region at substantially the same time or it deflates one or more of the bladders 312 at a time while cycling through all of the bladders 312 in the identified region. Regardless of how many bladders 312 are adjusted within a period of time, the process 540 can continue to evaluate the target region for adjustment until proper adjustment is achieved.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0089] (“The area that the user 104 is applying lower or no pressure may reflect an area that the user 104 would like an increase in the firmness of the seat 102. In some embodiments, the lower pressure is determined by comparing an initial pressure level (e.g., pressure levels from the pressure scan from step 504) to current pressure levels which are reduced over a predetermined threshold for a predetermined period of time. For example, if a regional pressure decreases of over 40% (due to a reduction in pressure being applied by the user) is detected at one or more pressure sensors 324 in the seat 102 for more than 2 seconds, it is determined that they user is indicating an area to be increased in firmness.”) [The processor reads on “an estimation unit”. Determining a pressure difference between current pressure levels and initial pressure level reads on “estimates…a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable”. Deflating or inflating at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders to decrease or increase firmness within the identified region reads on “target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable”.]
a determination unit that determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimated by the estimation unit. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described above.] [The processor reads on “a determination unit”. The determination of whether to deflate or inflate the at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders based on the determined pressure difference reads on “determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimated”.]
Regarding claim 2, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including pressure information indicating a pressure applied to the surface of the target detected by a pressure sensor, and Nicola: Paragraphs [0023], [0035], [0048], and [0191] [As described in claim 1.]
the estimation unit estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the pressure information. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described in claim 1.] [The determined regional pressure on an area of the seat reads on “estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the pressure information”.]
Regarding claim 3, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the estimation unit calculates a change amount in the pressure applied by the object to the surface of the target, and the determination unit determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target based on the change amount in the pressure. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0072] (“At step 426, an equalization pressure is determined for the differences in the sides. To equalize the pressure between sides, different pressure equalization processes can be performed. For example, pressure for one of the two sides can be adjusted to match the pressure being applied to the other side or pressure can be adjusted for both sides until an equilibrium is achieved. In some embodiments, the equalization is determined based on user preferences (e.g., from the user profile). For example, if the left side is firmer than the right side but the right side is within a desired firmness range of the user 104, then it will be determined that the firmness of the left side should be adjusted to match the right side. Once a determination for how to equalize the pressure is made, the process 400 advances to step 428.”) [The determined amount of increase or decrease in pressure by a percentage amount or over a time period to determine whether to deflate or inflate the at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders reads on “calculates a change amount in the pressure applied by the object to the surface of the target, and … determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target based on the change amount in the pressure”.]
Regarding claim 4, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 4 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the determination unit determines to alter the firmness of the surface of the target in a case where the change amount in the pressure is a threshold or more. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described in claim 1.] [The determined amount of increase in pressure by a percentage amount reads on “change amount in the pressure is a threshold or more”.]
Regarding claim 5, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 5 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the determination unit determines to alter the firmness of the surface of the target in a case where a gesture corresponding to a pressure change pattern satisfies a condition. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0081] (“The pressure and physiological data is used to detect a number of predefined triggers such as increased or decreased seat pressure, fidgeting, temperature change, occupant's emotional state (e.g., based on facial recognition, biometrics, etc.), and posture detection.”) [The user applying sustained pressure desiring to be less firm or the fidgeting reads on “a gesture corresponding to a pressure change pattern satisfies a condition”.]
Regarding claim 6, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 6 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the determination unit determines an alteration amount in the firmness of the surface of the target according to the change amount in the pressure. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0072] (“At step 426, an equalization pressure is determined for the differences in the sides. To equalize the pressure between sides, different pressure equalization processes can be performed. For example, pressure for one of the two sides can be adjusted to match the pressure being applied to the other side or pressure can be adjusted for both sides until an equilibrium is achieved. In some embodiments, the equalization is determined based on user preferences (e.g., from the user profile). For example, if the left side is firmer than the right side but the right side is within a desired firmness range of the user 104, then it will be determined that the firmness of the left side should be adjusted to match the right side. Once a determination for how to equalize the pressure is made, the process 400 advances to step 428.”) [The amount of firmness reduction or increase adjusted based on pressure difference reads on “an alteration amount in the firmness of the surface of the target according to the change amount in the pressure”.]
Regarding claim 7, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 7 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including the pressure information indicating a pressure to each of a plurality of regions on the surface of the target, Nicola: Paragraphs [0191], [0023], [0035], and [0048] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0067] (“FIG. 4C illustrates a general example of pressure distribution in the thigh and buttocks area, for example, as it relates to FIG. 4B. FIG. 4C shows how the zones are defined and can be applied to a pressure distribution data set to divide the seat 102 and adjust it to achieve ideal pressure distribution. For example, as depicted in FIG. 4C, the buttocks and legs can be identified by their shape and the zones corresponding to the buttocks (e.g., zones 10 and 11) and the legs (e.g., zones 13-17) can be adjusted such that the activated pressure sensors 324 match those zones.”)
the estimation unit calculates, based on the pressure information, the change amount in the pressure applied by the object to each of the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, and Nicola: Paragraph [0067] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0072] (“At step 426, an equalization pressure is determined for the differences in the sides. To equalize the pressure between sides, different pressure equalization processes can be performed. For example, pressure for one of the two sides can be adjusted to match the pressure being applied to the other side or pressure can be adjusted for both sides until an equilibrium is achieved. In some embodiments, the equalization is determined based on user preferences (e.g., from the user profile). For example, if the left side is firmer than the right side but the right side is within a desired firmness range of the user 104, then it will be determined that the firmness of the left side should be adjusted to match the right side. Once a determination for how to equalize the pressure is made, the process 400 advances to step 428.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0104] (“In some embodiments, the persistent regional pressure increase is determined by comparing the pressures to the baseline after the micro adjustments (or other mitigating changes) have been implemented. If the regional pressure increase persists then the process 500 advances to step 530…”) Nicola: Paragraph [0113] (“In operation, the processes 500 and 530 can be carried out automatically when the user 104 sits in the seat 102. Once seated, an initial user pressure and posture assessment is performed to personalize seat adjustments based, at least in part, on the size and shape of the user 104. After the assessment is complete, the conditions of the seat 102 (e.g., pressure sensors 324) and physiological data of the user 104 are continuously monitored to determine if a discomfort condition is triggered.”) [The determination of whether the pressure on the right side and the left side are within the desired firmness range for the zones 10 and/or 11 corresponding to the buttocks reads on “calculates, based on the pressure information, the change amount in the pressure applied by the object to each of the plurality of regions on the surface of the target”.]
the determination unit determines a region in which the change amount in the pressure satisfies a condition, among the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, as a region to undergo firmness alteration. Nicola: Paragraph [0072] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0088] (“At step 546, in response to determining the user 104 is indicating an area to be reduced in firmness, the process 540 initiates a firmness reduction for at least a portion of the seat 102 at the identified region. In some embodiments, the reduction in firmness is achieved by deflating at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders 312 within the identified region. When a region is identified for pressure reduction, the process 540 deflates at least a portion of all the bladders 312 within the region at substantially the same time or it deflates one or more of the bladders 312 at a time while cycling through all of the bladders 312 in the identified region. Regardless of how many bladders 312 are adjusted within a period of time, the process 540 can continue to evaluate the target region for adjustment until proper adjustment is achieved.”) [The area or at least a portion of the seat at the identified region to be reduced in firmness based on the determination that the pressure is to increase or decrease reads on “determines a region in which the change amount in the pressure satisfies a condition, among the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, as a region to undergo firmness alteration”.]
Regarding claim 8, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including image information imaged by an image sensor, and the estimation unit estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the image information. Nicola: Paragraphs [0023], [0048], and [0191] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0035] (“In some embodiments, the feedback devices 110 include a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about the user 104 ... For example, the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0067] (“In some embodiments, the size and shape of the user is determined using a combination of inputs. For example, the size and shape of the user can be determined using in-seat pressure sensing, images from cameras, and data from the feedback devices 110 and/or user devices 114 (e.g., wearables).”) Nicola: Paragraph [0074] (“A combination of the user profile, pressure and position sensors and other feedback (e.g., cameras, biometric data, etc.) can be used for determining automatic seat adjustment.”) [Based on the obtained feedback information from a camera for the seat adjustment reads on “estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the image information”.]
Regarding claim 13, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 13 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein
the acquisition unit acquires the sensor information including the image information obtained by imaging a user by the image sensor, Nicola: Paragraph [0067] (“For example, the size and shape of the user can be determined using in-seat pressure sensing, images from cameras, and data from the feedback devices 110 ...”)
the estimation unit estimates information related to the user based on the image information, and Nicola: Paragraph [0067] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0147] (“The biometric data can include biometric or physiological data as discussed herein and the emotion recognition can be derived using a camera to capture an image of the face of the user 104 and performing analysis on the captured image.”)
the determination unit determines whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target based on the information related to the user estimated by the estimation unit. Nicola: Paragraphs [0067] and [0147] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0111] (“In some embodiments, other forms of treatment are provided including, for example, cycling comfort profiles, adjusting the seat 102 for new posture, coaching the user 104 through stretching exercises (e.g., via the display 112 or user device 114), among others. In some embodiments, onboard cameras and analytics are used to provide feedback based on visual characteristics of the user 104 and update the AI/machine learning for contouring, treatment recommendations, etc. based on the visual characteristics. For example, a camera and analytics visualize the user 104 after adding firmness to the bladders 312. If facial characteristics of the user 104 indicate user discomfort, the computing environment 106 changes the contouring again and updates the user profile for future changes.”)
Regarding claim 14, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 14 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein
the estimation unit estimates the contact mode of the object with respect to a plurality of regions on the surface of the target based on the image information, and the determination unit determines a region in which the contact mode satisfies a condition among the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, as a region to undergo firmness alteration. Nicola: Paragraphs [0023], [0048], and [0191] [As described in claim 1.] Nicola: Paragraph [0035] (“In some embodiments, the feedback devices 110 include a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about the user 104 ... For example, the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0067] (“In some embodiments, the size and shape of the user is determined using a combination of inputs. For example, the size and shape of the user can be determined using in-seat pressure sensing, images from cameras, and data from the feedback devices 110 and/or user devices 114 (e.g., wearables).”) Nicola: Paragraph [0074] (“A combination of the user profile, pressure and position sensors and other feedback (e.g., cameras, biometric data, etc.) can be used for determining automatic seat adjustment.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0091] (“For example, if the user 104 is applying sustained pressure to a region including three pressure sensors 324 and the bladders 312 associated with those pressure sensors 324 are all substantially deflated, the bladders 312 adjacent to each of the deflated bladders 312 can begin to be deflated. The same operation exists for bladder inflations.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0111] (“In some embodiments, onboard cameras and analytics are used to provide feedback based on visual characteristics of the user 104 and update the AI/machine learning for contouring, treatment recommendations, etc. based on the visual characteristics. For example, a camera and analytics visualize the user 104 after adding firmness to the bladders 312.”) [Based on the obtained feedback information from a camera for the seat adjustment reads on “estimates the contact mode of the object with the surface of the target based on the image information”. In response to the information from the camera, adjusting the firmness of a seat based on user position reads on “a region in which the contact mode satisfies a condition among the plurality of regions on the surface of the target, as a region to undergo firmness alteration”.]
Regarding independent claim 15, Nicola teaches:
An information processing method comprising: Nicola: Paragraph [0028] (“FIG. 1 illustrates an example system 100 for automatically assessing and controlling one or more parameters of a seat 102 and a user 104 (e.g., a vehicle occupant) occupying the seat 102. The system 100 implements a combination of devices to assess the wellbeing of the user 104 and adjusting the seat 102 to enhance the wellbeing of the user.”)
acquiring sensor information detected by a sensor; Nicola: Paragraph [0191] (“…an electronic processor coupled to the memory, the plurality of adjustable bladders, and the plurality of sensors, the electronic processor configured to control the plurality of adjustable bladders in accordance with the seat adjustment programs and based on the user data and feedback from at least one of the plurality of sensors.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0023] (“The system also uses a number of pressure sensors to provide feedback to a controller about the occupant's physical features and dynamic interaction with the seat. Such adjustments and treatment options can change dynamically to address the transient nature of wellness and comfort by continuously monitoring a set of chosen parameters and react accordingly.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0035] (“In some embodiments, the feedback devices 110 include a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about the user 104 ... For example, the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0048] (“Referring to FIG. 3G, in some embodiments, the plurality of bladders 312 include or otherwise are in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 324 to measure the pressure of the fluid within each of the plurality of bladders 312, the pressure being applied by the plurality of bladders 312 to the user 104, and/or the pressure being applied by the user 104 to the plurality of bladders 312. The plurality of pressure sensors 324 can include any combination of pressure sensors 324. “) [At least one of the feedback devices providing information feedback reads on “acquiring sensor information detected by a sensor”.]
estimating, based on the acquired sensor information, a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable; and Nicola: Paragraphs [0023], [0035], [0048], and [0191] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0047] (“Inflation of certain bladders provides seat contouring to address different body types, sizes, etc. and different bladders 312 are selected for inflation/deflation based on the different characteristics of the occupant of the seat 102.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0087] (“At step 544, the process 540 determines that the user 104 is applying sustained pressure to one or more areas in the seat 102. The area to which the user 104 is applying sustained pressure may reflect an area that the user 104 desires to be less firm. In some embodiments, the sustained pressure is determined by comparing an initial pressure level (e.g., pressure levels from the pressure scan from step 504) to current pressure levels which are elevated over a predetermined threshold for a predetermined period of time. For example, if a regional pressure increases of over 40% is detected (due to the user 104 applying additional pressure to that area) at one or more pressure sensors 324 in the seat 102 for more than 2 seconds, it is determined that they user is indicating an area to be reduced in firmness.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0088] (“At step 546, in response to determining the user 104 is indicating an area to be reduced in firmness, the process 540 initiates a firmness reduction for at least a portion of the seat 102 at the identified region. In some embodiments, the reduction in firmness is achieved by deflating at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders 312 within the identified region. When a region is identified for pressure reduction, the process 540 deflates at least a portion of all the bladders 312 within the region at substantially the same time or it deflates one or more of the bladders 312 at a time while cycling through all of the bladders 312 in the identified region. Regardless of how many bladders 312 are adjusted within a period of time, the process 540 can continue to evaluate the target region for adjustment until proper adjustment is achieved.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0089] (“The area that the user 104 is applying lower or no pressure may reflect an area that the user 104 would like an increase in the firmness of the seat 102. In some embodiments, the lower pressure is determined by comparing an initial pressure level (e.g., pressure levels from the pressure scan from step 504) to current pressure levels which are reduced over a predetermined threshold for a predetermined period of time. For example, if a regional pressure decreases of over 40% (due to a reduction in pressure being applied by the user) is detected at one or more pressure sensors 324 in the seat 102 for more than 2 seconds, it is determined that they user is indicating an area to be increased in firmness.”) [Determining a pressure difference between current pressure levels and initial pressure level reads on “estimating…a contact mode of an object with respect to a target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable”. Deflating or inflating at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders to decrease or increase firmness within the identified region reads on “target of which a firmness of a surface is alterable”.]
determining whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the estimated contact mode of the object. Nicola: Paragraph [0191], [0087], [0088], and [0089] [As described above.] [The determination of whether to deflate or inflate the at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of bladders based on the determined pressure difference reads on “determining whether to alter the firmness of the surface of the target according to the contact mode of the object estimated”.]
Regarding independent claim 16, Nicola teaches:
A firmness alterable module constituting at least a part of a surface of a target, the firmness alterable module comprising: Nicola: FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C; Nicola: Paragraph [0028] (“FIG. 1 illustrates an example system 100 for automatically assessing and controlling one or more parameters of a seat 102 and a user 104 (e.g., a vehicle occupant) occupying the seat 102. The system 100 implements a combination of devices to assess the wellbeing of the user 104 and adjusting the seat 102 to enhance the wellbeing of the user.”) Nicola: Abstract (“Systems and methods for automatic seat adjustment, the systems and methods including a seat frame, a plurality of seat cushions coupled to the seat frame, a plurality of adjustable bladders enclosed within the plurality of seat cushions, and a plurality of sensors enclosed within the plurality of seat cushions.”) [The seat cushion reads on “a surface of a target”.]
a sheet-like coupling portion that is disposed along the surface and is flexible in a direction intersecting the surface; Nicola: Paragraph [0043] (“Referring to FIG. 3A, in some embodiments, the seat 102 includes a combination of elements traditionally found in seats and also include the modules and/or subsystems discussed with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2 . The seat 102 is designed to include a frame 300 for mounting the seat 102, for example, to a vehicle. The frame 300 frame includes a base frame portion 302 and a backrest frame portion 304 for receiving components related to the seat base 306 and backrest 308 respectively. The backrest frame portion 304 also includes mounting for the headrest 310. The seat base 306, backrest 308, and headrest 310 conventionally include contoured padding (e.g., foam) wrapped in a seat cover, for example, cloth or leather. In some embodiments, the seat 102 includes a plurality of bolster pairs 306 a, 308 a (e.g., base cushion bolsters 306 a and backrest cushion bolters 306 b) on the sides of the seat cushions for further fitting the user 104 to the seat 102. Similarly, the backrest 308 includes a shoulder support and lumbar support. The seat cushions for the seat base 306 and the backrest 308 can include an A-surface and a B-surface, a central portion, and two bolster areas. Each bolster area is adjacent the central portion of the seat cushion. The upper surface of the seat cushion (closest to the occupant) may be referred to as the A-surface and the lower surface (closest to the frame 300) may be referred to as the B-surface.”) Nicola: Paragraph [0047] (“The bladders, alone or in combination with the other seat 102 components (e.g., bolsters, cushion support structures, headrest, lumbar supports, etc.) can be adjusted to appropriately fit the occupant while optimizing comfort and support of the user 104, as discussed in greater detail with respect to FIGS. 4-5B.”) [The upper surface of the sheet cushion reads on “a sheet-like coupling portion”.]
a block portion having a plurality of blocks disposed side by side along a back surface and coupled to the back surface, the back surface being a surface opposite to the surface of the coupling portion; and Nicola: FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C; Nicola: Paragraphs [0043] and [0047] [As described above.] Nicola: Paragraph [0048] (“Referring to FIG. 3G, in some embodiments, the plurality of bladders 312 include or otherwise are in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 324 to measure the pressure of the fluid within each of the plurality of bladders 312, the pressure being applied by the plurality of bladders 312 to the user 104, and/or the pressure being applied by the user 104 to the plurality of bladders 312. The plurality of pressure sensors 324 can include any combination of pressure sensors 324. For example, the plurality of pressure sensors 324 can include an array of inline pressure sensors built into each of the plurality of bladders 312 and/or interface pressure sensors inserted within, on, and/or under the cushions. Different pressure sensors can be used in combination to enhance accuracy, reliability, etc. For example, inline pressure sensor can be used individually or in tandem with interface pressure sensors. In some embodiments, the plurality of pressure sensors 324 are built into the plurality of bladders 312. The pressure sensors 324 can be provided within or otherwise associated with each of the plurality of bladders 312 or in select bladders 312. Different types of pressure sensors 324 can be located at different locations within the seat 102.”) [As shown in FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C, the bladders on the seat and on the backseat reads on “a block portion having a plurality of blocks disposed side by side along a back surface and coupled to the back surface”. The backrest reads on “a back surface”.]
a softness/firmness controller that is disposed along one surface of each of the plurality of blocks with the block portion interposed between the softness/firmness controller and the coupling portion, the softness/firmness controller being capable of altering firmness. Nicola: FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C; Nicola: Paragraph [0230] (“Example 22: A method of operating a seat that includes a plurality of adjustable bladders positioned within the seat; a plurality of sensors located within the seat; a memory for storing user data and a seat adjustment program for controlling the plurality of adjustable bladders; and an electronic processor coupled to the memory, the plurality of adjustable bladders, and the plurality of sensors, the electronic processor configured to control the plurality of adjustable bladders in accordance with the seat adjustment program and based on the user data and feedback from at least one of the plurality of sensors, the method comprising: adjusting, via the electronic processor and a seat adjustment subsystem, the seat monitoring, via the electronic processor and a combination of the plurality of pressure sensors and a physiological sensor subsystem, a state of a user; configuring user preferences; performing a pressure scan of the seat to establish an initial baseline pressure; receiving, via the seat and the plurality of pressure sensors, physical input from the user; determining whether the user is applying sustained pressure to a first area of the seat; in response to determining that the user is applying sustained pressure to the first area of the seat, reducing a firmness of the first area of the seat; determining whether the user is applying less pressure to the first area of the seat; in response to determining that the user is applying less pressure to the first area of the seat, increasing a firmness of the area of the seat.”) [As shown in FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C, the electronic processor coupled to the bladders and sensors reads on “a softness/firmness controller that is disposed along one surface of each of the plurality of blocks with the block portion interposed between the softness/firmness controller and the coupling portion”.]
Regarding claim 18, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 16, from which claim 18 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The firmness alterable module according to claim 16, wherein the softness/firmness controller includes:
a flexible member disposed along one surface of each of the plurality of blocks; and a pressing mechanism that presses the flexible member toward the block portion from a position where the block portion and the flexible member are sandwiched. Nicola: FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C; Nicola: Paragraphs [0043] and [0047]-[0048] [As described in claim 16.] [The array of pressure sensors on the bladders reads on “a flexible member” and the surface over the bladders on the seat and the backseat illustrated in FIG. 3A reads on “a pressing mechanism”.]
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Regarding claim 20, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 16, from which claim 20 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The firmness alterable module according to claim 16, further comprising
a cover portion that covers the coupling portion, the block portion, and the softness/firmness controller, and to which an object comes in contact with a surface being an opposite surface of a surface running along the coupling portion. Nicola: Paragraph [0043] (“Referring to FIG. 3A, in some embodiments, the seat 102 includes a combination of elements traditionally found in seats and also include the modules and/or subsystems discussed with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2 . The seat 102 is designed to include a frame 300 for mounting the seat 102, for example, to a vehicle. The frame 300 frame includes a base frame portion 302 and a backrest frame portion 304 for receiving components related to the seat base 306 and backrest 308 respectively. The backrest frame portion 304 also includes mounting for the headrest 310. The seat base 306, backrest 308, and headrest 310 conventionally include contoured padding (e.g., foam) wrapped in a seat cover, for example, cloth or leather.”) [The seat cover reads on “a cover portion”
It is noted that any citations to specific paragraphs or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicola and in view of US Patent Publication No. 2006/0112489 A1 to Bobey et al. (“Bobey”).
Regarding claim 17, Nicola teaches all the claimed features of claim 16, from which claim 17 depends. Nicola further teaches:
The firmness alterable module according to claim 16, wherein
each of the plurality of blocks … in which a facing surface facing the one surface is coupled to the coupling portion, and surfaces other than the one surface and the facing surface are disposed adjacent to surfaces of other blocks. Nicola: FIGS. 3A-3G and FIG. 4C; Nicola: Paragraphs [0043], [0047] and [0230] [As described in claim 16.]
Nicola does not expressly teach that each of the bladders has a hexahedron shape. However, Bobey describes a patient support. Bobey teaches:
each of the plurality of blocks is a hexahedron… Bobey: Paragraph [0082] (“FIG. 12A illustrates a portion of bladder assembly 60 including a weld 196, a bladder 50, and an elbow port 110. As discussed above, bladder 50 includes a top portion 98 and a beveled portion 102. Bladder 50 is substantially cone- or can-shaped or cylindrical in shape. However, in other embodiments, bladder 50 is square or cube-shaped, rectangular, hexagonal, octagonal, or any other suitable shape as will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art. Welds 196, 194, and 200 are generally circular in shape. In the case of bladder weld 194, weld 194 is positioned along the circumference of bladder 50. In the case of weld 200, weld 200 is positioned along the circumference of elbow port 110.”) Bobey: Paragraph [0091] (“In the illustrated embodiment, patient support 10 includes a pressure sensing member 67 located underneath the bladder assemblies 60, 62, 64. As shown in FIG. 20, pressure sensing member 67 includes a first or head section sensor pad 68 and a second or seat section sensor pad 70. Further, each sensor pad 68, 70 includes first and second sensor pad portions 124, 126. Each sensor pad portion 124, 126 includes a plurality of pressure sensors 136 located on a substrate 220.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nicola and Bobey before them, for the bladders of Nicola to have alternate shapes such as a cube-shaped because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on adjusting surfaces based on pressure sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide an alternative bladder shape to improve a person’s comfort and, similarly to Nicola provide pressure relief support surfaces, or patient support surfaces that are configured to accommodate and operate with a variety of sizes and styles. Bobey Paragraph [0004] and Paragraph [0082]
It is noted that any citations to specific paragraphs or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter of claims 9-12 and 19, including intervening claims, is found not to be taught by the prior art of record and would be considered allowable pending the nonstatutory subject matter rejection under 35 USC 101 rejection given above.
While the prior art shows using a number of pressure sensors to provide feedback to a controller about the occupant’s physical features and dynamic interaction with the seat. Such adjustments and treatment options can change dynamically to address the transient nature of wellness and comfort by continuously monitoring a set of chosen parameters and react accordingly; feedback devices including a combination of data collection devices obtaining information about a user. And that for example, the feedback devices can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices. The feedback device may also include audio, video, and haptic devices; and that the size and shape of the user can be determined using in-seat pressure sensing, images from cameras, and data from the feedback devices 110 and/or user devices 114 (e.g., wearables) (see Nicola et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0381899 A1) [as described above.]; US Patent Publication No. 2006/0112489 A1 to Bobey et al.; US Patent Publication No. 2020/0391617 A1 to Lee et al.; and US Patent Publication No. 2021/0237620 A1 to Mizoi et al.) the prior art, individually or combined, does not teach or suggest “wherein the estimation unit calculates an intersection between a feature point of the object and the surface of the target by using a moving direction of the object based on the image information, and the determination unit determines to alter the firmness of the surface of the target in a case where a distance between the feature point of the object and the intersection is a threshold or more”, as recited in claim 9 and “the pressing mechanism includes: a movable portion having a plate shape along the flexible member at a position sandwiching the block portion and the flexible member; and a drive unit that moves the movable portion in a direction intersecting the surface”, as recited in claim 19. It is this concept that defines the present application over the prior art of record.
In view of their dependencies to an allowable claim, claims 10-12 are found to be allowable over prior art.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. 2020/0391617 A1 to Lee et al. describes in paragraph [0061] “Such a method for estimating a human body size using a camera may include photographing a body size of a person seated on a seat using a camera to acquire an image plane, converting the image plane into a reference plane considering photographing angle and distance, and matching the converted reference plane to a human body size map which is constructed in advance to select the most appropriate human body size, as exemplarily shown in FIG. 8.” Paragraph [0062] describes “Such a method for estimating a human body size using a body pressure sensor may include acquiring pressure information about major body parts (for example, the scapulae) of a person seated on a seat using the body pressure sensor installed in the seat, and estimating a human body size using a height from a seating face of the seat to the body pressure sensor sensed the pressure of the scapulae, as exemplarily shown in FIG. 9.”
US Patent Publication No. 2021/0237620 A1 to Mizoi et al. describes an ECU device which estimates a length of a lower limb of a seated person who is seated in a vehicle seat is shown. The ECU device includes the following. A thigh angle information obtainer obtains information regarding a thigh angle of the seated person. A back knee angle information obtainer obtains information regarding a back knee angle of the seated person. An estimator estimates the length of the lower limb of the seated person based on the information regarding the thigh angle obtained by the thigh angle information obtainer and information regarding the back knee angle obtained by the back knee angle information obtainer.
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117