DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because it depends from claim 2 but recites “the MAC-CE indication used for activating the semi-persistent SRS,” while claim 2 lists only RRC configuration or a predefined manner for the SRS. Applicant should conform the dependency or the SRS alternative of claim 2.
Claim 12 and 41 are objected to because “high-level signaling” appears to be translation of “higher-layer signaling.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4, 10, 12-13, 37-38, 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and 37 recite limitation “in the TCI state(s)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 4, 38 recite limitation “in the TCI state(s). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 10, 41 are rejected for the same reason indicated above.
Claim 12 recites “the second type of CORESET is a CORESET using/not using the TCI state indication in unified TCI architecture”. The limitation is indefinite because the slash makes it unclear whether the second type of CORESET is one that uses the indication, one that does not, or either. The term “a TCI state domain” also unclear.
Claim 13 and 42 recites “the SRS resource set”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Further, claim 13 and 42 are directed to “the obtaining … through the RRC configuration” but then recites “the determining, through the predefined manner, the association relationship.” These are alternative branches of claim 2, so it is unclear how the wherein clause limits the RRC branch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al (US 2025/0192966 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Gao teaches a beam determining method/apparatus, applied to a base station and under a unified transmission configuration indication (unified TCI) architecture ([0024]-[0025]), comprising:
a memory, a transceiver, a processor:
the memory is configured to store a computer program;
the transceiver is configured to receive and send data under control of a processor;
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fig. 9, [0135]) to:
for a target signal or a target channel, determining beam indication information ([0028]-[0029], “Three-stage: RRC signaling is used to configure a number of unified TCI states in PDSCH-config, a MAC-CE is used to activate up to eight unified TCI states, and a 3-bit TCI state bitfield in DCI is used to indicate one of the activate unified TCI states”); wherein the beam indication information is configured to indicate a terminal to receive or send the target signal or the target channel in a corresponding time slot using a receiving beam of a reference signal indicated by a target transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) ([0026], “A unified TCI state for DL or joint DL and UL comprises identifiers of two QCL source references signals as shown below, where the first RS is a QCL source RS for one of … The second RS is used to indicate a spatial beam of filter associated with the unified TCI state”, [0030], indicated state used for later PDCCH, PDSCH and NZP CSI-RS transmission until a new unified TCI state is activated or indicated; [0032], first application slot corresponds to the time slot);
sending the beam indication information to the terminal ([0028]-[0029] and[0031], RRC, MAC-CE, DCI formats 1_1 and 1_2).
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches a beam determining method, applied to a terminal, comprising: receiving beam indication information sent by a base station ([0028],[0029], [0031]); wherein the beam indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to receive or send a target signal or a target channel in a corresponding time slot using a receiving beam of a reference signal indicated by a target transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) ([0026], [0030], [0032]); based on the beam indication information, determining whether to use a receiving beam indicated by a TCI state in a unified TCI architecture ([0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 18, Gao teaches a beam determining apparatus, wherein the apparatus is applied in a terminal, and the apparatus comprises: a memory, a transceiver, a processor; the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to receive and send data under control of a processor; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fig. 9, [0135]) and execute the method according to claim 15 (refer to claim 15 above) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 6, 9, 10, 36 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, in view of Yu (US 2021/0135830 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gao teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target signal comprises:
an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (Aperiodic CSI-RS), a semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (semi-persistent CSI-RS) or a sounding reference signal (SRS); and the target channel comprises: a non-dedicated physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0030]: the indicated unified TCI state applies to PDCCH, PDSCH and NZP CSI-RS); wherein for the target signal or the target channel, the determining the beam indication information comprises:
for the Aperiodic CSI-RS, obtaining the beam indication information through a radio resource control (RRC) configuration ([0063], “For AP CSI-RS, a unified TCI state pointer may be configured in the associated aperiodic CSI trigger state for the associated CSI-RS resource set or for each NZP CSI-RS resource in the CSI-RS resource set”);
for the semi-persistent CSI-RS, obtaining the beam indication information through a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) indication used for activating the semi-persistent CSI-RS ([0063], “For SP CSI-RS, a unified TCI state pointer may be indicated in the activating MAC CE for each SP CSI-RS resource”);
for the non-dedicated PDCCH, obtaining the beam indication information by configuring each control resource set (CORESET) through RRC ([0036], “This is indicated to a UE by both a RRC configuration of SFN PDCCH and a CORESET activated with two TCI states” and Fig. 4);
Gao doesn’t explicitly that i)for the SRS, obtaining the beam indication information through the RRC configuration; and ii) for the PUSCH, obtaining the beam indication information; wherein the beam indication information is configured to indicate that a sending beam used by the terminal is a receiving beam used by a control resource set in a time slot for scheduling the PUSCH or a receiving beam used by a control resource set in a time slot for transmitting the PUSCH.
Yu teaches that i)for the SRS, obtaining the beam indication information through the RRC configuration ([0084],[0085], “Default Spatial Relation for SRS”, Yu teaches that each SRS resource is RRC-configured by the base station with an SRS-SpatialRelationshipinfo IE); and ii) for the PUSCH, obtaining the beam indication information; wherein the beam indication information is configured to indicate that a sending beam used by the terminal is a receiving beam used by a control resource set in a time slot for scheduling the PUSCH ([0167]-[0168], “Default Spatial Relation for DCI Format 0_0 Scheduled PUSCH”, “when the CORESET(s) are configured on the CC, the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET ID in the most recent monitored downlink slot within the active BWP of the CC”, sending beam correspond to a CORESET’s receiving beam).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gao’s base station to configure the SRS beam by RRC and to indicated a CORESET receiving beam for the PUSCH, as taught by Yu. Yu explains that deriving uplink beams from the downlink CORESET QCL assumption saves uplink beam indication signaling and uplink beam sweeping for a beam-correspondent UE (Yu, para 0034), which applies equally to the signals and channels Gao’s unified TCI disclosure leaves unaddressed, and the combination yields predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, 39, Gao in view of Yu teaches the method according to claim 2, the combination of the references further teaches wherein the obtaining the beam indication information through the predefined manner comprises:
through the predefined manner, determining that the beam indication information is an indication for the terminal to use a receiving beam used by a control resource set in which downlink control information (DCI) used for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS is located (Gao, [0065], “In case of implicit association, the NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a unified TCI state of the corresponding PDCCH triggering the NZP CSI-RS”);
wherein the determining that the beam indication information is the indication for the terminal to use the receiving beam used by the control resource set in which the downlink control information (DCI) used for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS is located comprises:
based on that a number of receiving beams used by the control resource set in which DCI used for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS is located is greater than 1, determining that the beam indication information is an indication for the terminal to use one receiving beam of a plurality of receiving beams used by the control resource set in which the DCI used for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS is located (Gao, [0066], “If the PDCCH or PDSCH is associated with two unified TCI states, and triggered or activated NZP CSI-RS resource set contains one NZP CSI-RS resource, the NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with the first or second of the two unified TCI states”);
wherein the receiving beam used by the control resource set in which the DCI used for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS is located is a receiving beam used by the control resource set in a time slot for activating the Aperiodic CSI-RS or a receiving beam used by the control resource set in a time slot for receiving the Aperiodic CSI-RS (Gao, [0058], “receiving a Downlink Control Information (DCI) triggering a CSI-RS resource set”, [0060], “the unified TCI state (or common beam) used to receive the PDCCH is used for receiving the AP CSI-RS resource”).
Regarding claim 9, 40, the aforementioned references teach the method according to claim 2, further teach wherein based on that the SRS is an aperiodic sounding reference signal (Aperiodic SRS), the beam indication information is configured to indicate that the sending beam used by the terminal is a receiving beam used by a control resource set in a time slot for activating the Aperiodic SRS (Yu, [0087], [0089],[0090]).
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned references teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the beam indication information through the medium access control control element (MAC-CE) indication used for activating the semi-persistent CSI-RS comprises: indicating, through the MAC-CE used for activating the semi-persistent CSI-RS, whether a receiving beam of the semi-persistent CSI-RS uses a receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture (Gao, [0063], “For SP CSI-RS, a unified TCI state pointer may be indicated in the activating MAC CE for each SP CSI-RS resource”); based on that the receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture is configured, using a receiving beam indicated by one TCI state among N TCI state(s) in the TCI state(s) (Gao, [0064]).
Claim 3-4, 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, in view of Yu (US 2021/0135830 A1), further in view of Koskela et al (US 2024/0113825 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 37, Gao in view of Yu teaches the method according to claim 2, Gao further teaches obtaining the beam indication information through the MAC-CE indication used for activating a semi-persistent reference signal; wherein the obtaining the beam indication information through the MAC-CE indication used for activating the semi-persistent reference signal comprises: indicating, through the MAC-CE used for activating the semi-persistent reference signal, whether a receiving beam of the semi-persistent reference signal uses a receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture (Gao, [0063]); based on that the receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture is configured, using a receiving beam indicated by one TCI state among N TCI state(s) in the TCI state(s) (Gao, [0064]).
Gao applies this MAC-CE indication to a semi-persistent CSI-RS rather than a semi-persistent SRS.
Koskela teaches applies this MAC-CE indication to a semi-persistent SRS (Fig. 4, step 440; and [0070], “followunifiedTCIstate dynamic” parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gao so that the MAC CE activating a semi-persistent SRS indicates whether the SP-SRS follows the indicated unified TCI state as taught by Koskela. The combination is only a simple substitution of semi-persistent CSI-RS to semi-persistent SRS. The success of the combination can be well predicted by an ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, 38, the aforementioned references teach the method according to claim 2, further teach wherein the obtaining the beam indication information through the radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprises: configuring, through the RRC, whether a receiving beam of the Aperiodic CSI-RS uses a receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture (Gao, [0063], [0058]);
based on that the receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture is configured, using a receiving beam indicated by one TCI state among N TCI state(s) in the TCI state(s) (Gao, [0063], [0064]).
However, the aforementioned references don’t explicitly teach that wherein the configuring, through the RRC, whether the receiving beam of the Aperiodic CSI-RS uses the receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture comprises: configuring, in a channel resource, through the RRC, whether the receiving beam of the Aperiodic CSI-RS uses the receiving beam indicated by the TCI state in the unified TCI architecture.
Koskela teaches the above limitation (Fig. 4, step 440; and [0070], “followunifiedTCIstate dynamic” parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gao’s RRC configuration expressly configure whether the Aperiodic CSI-RS follows the indicated unified TCI state, as taught by Koskela, so that the network can switch the AP CSI-RS between its own beam and the common beam without RRC reconfiguration.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, in view of Islam et al (US 2019/0115967 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Gao teaches the method according to claim 15, further teaches that the target signal comprises: an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (Aperiodic CSI-RS), a semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (semi-persistent CSI-RS) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0061]-[0063]); and the target channel comprises: a non-dedicated physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0005]):
However, Gao doesn’t explicitly teach that before receiving the beam indication information sent by the base station, the method further comprises: receiving beams sent by the base station through scanning; measuring the beams to obtain beam measurement results; comparing the beam measurement results to determine a beam with best beam quality, and using beam index information of the beam with best beam quality as beam information; wherein the beam indication information is determined by the base station based on the beam information.
Islam teaches teach that before receiving the beam indication information sent by the base station, the method further comprises: receiving beams sent by the base station through scanning ([0090]); measuring the beams to obtain beam measurement results; comparing the beam measurement results to determine a beam with best beam quality, and using beam index information of the beam with best beam quality as beam information; wherein the beam indication information is determined by the base station based on the beam information ([0095]-[0097]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Islam in the system disclosed by Gao for the purpose of finding out the beam suits the UE before it can indicate a TCI state for it. Islam’s procedure is a well known way to obtain that information, used for its known purpose with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 and 41-42 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SIMING LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411