DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly introduced limitation, "an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction" of claims 1, 7 and 10, is not supported by the original disclosure because the specification or the drawings do not discuss or illustrate direction of flow of air at inlet or outlet of the ducts. For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted as ‘-- air near air inlet and air near air outlet have same flow direction --’. Appropriate correction is required.
Also, the newly introduced limitation, "air outflowing end and heat sink are positioned in… opposing manner with comparable dimensions" of claims 4, 13 and 20, is not supported by the original disclosure because the specification or the drawings do not discuss or illustrate relative dimensions of the air outflowing end and heat sink in any manner including the “opposing manner”. In addition, the phrase “opposing manner with comparable dimensions” is not mentioned in the specification. For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted as ‘-- air outflowing end and heat sink extend in opposite directions with respect to the dimensions of each other --’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-6, 8, 9, 13-17 and 20 are also rejected by virtue of being dependent upon the rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MO (CN 214223263 U) and in view of Chen (CN 216897578 U).
In regards to claim 1, MO discloses an electric control box (electrical box, see paragraph 31 and figs. 1, 3), comprising: a box body (cavity 10 with box base 11 and cover 14) having a chamber (space within base 11), and an air inlet (18, 20) and an air outlet (19) that are in communication with the chamber (see paragraph 32 and fig. 3), wherein the chamber has an air duct (duct plate 17), the air inlet and the air outlet being in communication with each other (see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 34) via the air duct (see figs. 5-6 and paragraph 34), and wherein the box body is configured to allow air to be introduced into the air duct from the air inlet (see air inlet, paragraphs 9, 12) and to flow out of the air outlet (see air outlet, paragraphs 12-13);
a circuit board disposed in the chamber (main control board or PCB drive control board within the electric box, see paragraphs 11, 14);
a heat sink (heat sink 16) disposed at the circuit board and located in the air duct (see 16 inside duct 17, figs. 1-4 and paragraph 31); and
an air duct housing defining the air duct (U-shaped air duct plate 17 containing air flow path, see figs. 3-4 and paragraph 32), wherein the air duct housing has an end connected to the air inlet and another end connected to the air outlet (see inlet 18 and outlet 19 within duct, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 31-34); wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (air near inlet 18, 20 and outlet 19 may flow in the same direction, see figs. 2-6);
wherein the air duct housing has an air inflowing end (top side end of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4) and an air outflowing end (bottom and bottom side ends of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4), wherein the air inflowing end is in communication with the air inlet (inlet 18, see figs. 3-4) and the air outflowing end is in communication with the air outlet (outlet 19, see figs. 3-4), and the air inflowing end and the air outflowing end are offset from each other (see top sided inlet end and bottom outlet end offset from each other; and air inlet 18 and air outlet 19 offset from each other, figs. 3-4);
wherein the air duct (17) comprises a first flow section (airflow section through the opening 20 and at inlet 18 perpendicular to the vertical length of the duct 17, see figs. 3-6), a second flow section (vertical airflow section of duct 17 containing parallel vertical grille strips 16, where air flows perpendicular to the first airflow section of inlets 20 and 18, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 33-34), and a third flow section (airflow section at the bottom of the plate through plurality of openings at outlet 19, see figs. 1-6) that are in communication with one another (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34), the second flow section being located between the first flow section and the third flow section (see figs. 1-6), the heat sink (heat sink 16 within the second vertical flow section of duct 17) being disposed at the second flow section (see figs. 1-6), an extending direction of the first flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (airflow perpendicular to the air inlet 18 and passing through opening 20 and inlet 18 intersects with vertical airflow within the second flow section by allowing the incoming air to bend downward towards the outlet 19, see figs. 6 and 2), the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (inlet 18 at the first section, which connects with inlet 20, see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 32), and the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (outlet 19 at the bottom section of the duct 17 with plurality of openings, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, MO does not explicitly teach that the extending direction of the third flow section intersects with the extending direction of the second flow section and the first and third extending directions are parallel.
Chen discloses an electric control box with control and communication modules (411, 412, see paragraph 37) with air duct (420, 410, 430), with a first flow section (at least section 420), second flow section (at least section 410) and a third flow section (at least section 430); wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (inlet and outlet air having same direction, see below annotated fig. 2); and wherein the three flow sections communicate with each other (see fig. 3);
and an extending direction of the first flow section (horizontal extension of first flow section 420) and an extending direction of the third flow section (extension of third flow section 430) intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (vertical extension of second flow section 420, see below annotated fig. 3), the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (see 420, fig. 3), the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (see 430, fig. 3); and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel (see parallel extending direction of the first and third flow sections, below annotated fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the duct flow sections of the control box of MO by providing an airflow section with first flow section, second flow section and a third flow section such that the three flow sections communicate with each other; and an extending direction of the first flow section and an extending direction of the third flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel based on the teachings of Chen in order to create a turbulent flow near the fins and grille strips to increase the rate of heat transfer and hence improve efficiency of air conditioner in cooling the electric control box.
In regards to claim 4, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the air outflowing end and the heat sink are positioned in a directly opposing manner (bottom and bottom side ends of the air duct housing 17 is positioned downward, which is opposite, from the upward extending heat sink 16, see below annotated fig. 6), with comparable dimensions (U-bottom side air outflow section accommodates heat sink 16, see figs. 2-6).
In regards to claim 5, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heat sink (heat sink 16) comprises: a heat dissipation base disposed on the circuit board (heat sink installed on the control board, see paragraph 31); and a plurality of heat dissipation fins arranged at the heat dissipation base (see plurality of heat sink fins, 16, fig. 2 and paragraph 33), an airflow channel being formed between adjacent heat dissipation fins of the plurality of heat dissipation fins (see airflow channels formed by the air entering inlet 18 and passing between the grille strips, figs. 1-4 and paragraph 34).
In regards to claim 6, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the adjacent heat dissipation fins are parallel to each other (see plurality of parallel heat sink fins, 16, fig. 2).
In regards to claim 7, MO discloses an air-conditioner indoor unit (air conditioner 1, see figs. 1-4 and paragraph 30), comprising:
a wind wheel (blower 2); and
an electric control box (electrical box, see paragraph 31 and figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a box body (cavity 10 with box base 11 and cover 14) having a chamber (space within base 11), and an air inlet (18, 20) and an air outlet (19) that are in communication with the chamber (see paragraph 32 and fig. 3), wherein the chamber has an air duct (duct plate 17), the air inlet and the air outlet being in communication with each other (see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 34) via the air duct (see figs. 5-6 and paragraph 34), and wherein the box body is configured to allow air to be introduced into the air duct from the air inlet (see air inlet, paragraphs 9, 12) and to flow out of the air outlet (see air outlet, paragraphs 12-13);
a circuit board disposed in the chamber (main control board or PCB drive control board within the electric box, see paragraphs 11, 14); and
a heat sink (heat sink 16) disposed at the circuit board and located in the air duct (see 16 inside duct 17, figs. 1-4 and paragraph 31), the air being introduced into the chamber from the air inlet (see air inlet, paragraphs 9, 12) and flowing out of the air outlet by an action of the wind wheel (airflow by negative pressure created by blower 2 within space 10 allows air to flow out of the air outlet 19, see fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 22, 30, 32, 34); and
an air duct housing defining the air duct (U-shaped air duct plate 17 containing air flow path, see figs. 3-4 and paragraph 32), wherein the air duct housing has an end connected to the air inlet and another end connected to the air outlet (see inlet 18 and outlet 19 within duct, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 31-34);
wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (air near inlet 18, 20 and outlet 19 may flow in the same direction, see figs. 2-6);
wherein the air duct housing has an air inflowing end (top side end of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4) and an air outflowing end (bottom and bottom side ends of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4), wherein the air inflowing end is in communication with the air inlet (inlet 18, see figs. 3-4) and the air outflowing end is in communication with the air outlet (outlet 19, see figs. 3-4), and the air inflowing end and the air outflowing end are offset from each other (see top sided inlet end and bottom outlet end offset from each other; and air inlet 18 and air outlet 19 offset from each other, figs. 3-4);
wherein the air duct (17) comprises a first flow section (airflow section through the opening 20 and at inlet 18 perpendicular to the vertical length of the duct 17, see figs. 3-6), a second flow section (vertical airflow section of duct 17 containing parallel vertical grille strips 16, where air flows perpendicular to the first airflow section of inlets 20 and 18, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 33-34), and a third flow section (airflow section at the bottom of the plate through plurality of openings at outlet 19, see figs. 1-6) that are in communication with one another (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34), the second flow section being located between the first flow section and the third flow section (see figs. 1-6), the heat sink (heat sink 16 within the second vertical flow section of duct 17) being disposed at the second flow section (see figs. 1-6), an extending direction of the first flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (airflow perpendicular to the air inlet 18 and passing through opening 20 and inlet 18 intersects with vertical airflow within the second flow section by allowing the incoming air to bend downward towards the outlet 19, see figs. 6 and 2), the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (inlet 18 at the first section, which connects with inlet 20, see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 32), and the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (outlet 19 at the bottom section of the duct 17 with plurality of openings, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, MO does not explicitly teach that the extending direction of the third flow section intersects with the extending direction of the second flow section and the first and third extending directions are parallel.
Chen discloses an electric control box with control and communication modules (411, 412, see paragraph 37) with air duct (420, 410, 430), with a first flow section (at least section 420), second flow section (at least section 410) and a third flow section (at least section 430); wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (inlet and outlet air having same direction, see below annotated fig. 2); and wherein the three flow sections communicate with each other (see fig. 3); and an extending direction of the first flow section (horizontal extension of first flow section 420) and an extending direction of the third flow section (extension of third flow section 430) intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (vertical extension of second flow section 420, see below annotated fig. 3),
the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (see 420, fig. 3), the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (see 430, fig. 3); and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel (see parallel extending direction of the first and third flow sections, below annotated fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the duct flow sections of the control box of MO by providing an airflow section with first flow section, second flow section and a third flow section such that the three flow sections communicate with each other; and an extending direction of the first flow section and an extending direction of the third flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel based on the teachings of Chen in order to create a turbulent flow near the fins and grille strips to increase the rate of heat transfer and hence improve efficiency of air conditioner in cooling the electric control box.
In regards to claim 8, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the wind wheel is a centrifugal wind wheel (see centrifugal fans 2, 4, figs. 1, 3 and 5); and the electric control box is located in an axial direction of an inlet of the wind wheel (see back of the electric box facing the inlet of the centrifugal fan 2, figs. 1, 3 and 5).
In regards to claim 10, MO discloses an air-conditioner (air conditioner, see paragraph 30 and figs. 1-6), comprising:
an air-conditioner indoor unit (air conditioner unit casing 1, see figs. 1-4 and paragraph 30), comprising:
a wind wheel (blower 2); and
an electric control box (electrical box, see paragraph 31 and figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a box body (cavity 10 with box base 11 and cover 14) having a chamber (space within base 11), and an air inlet (18, 20) and an air outlet (19) that are in communication with the chamber (see paragraph 32 and fig. 3), wherein the chamber has an air duct (duct plate 17), the air inlet and the air outlet being in communication with each other (see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 34) via the air duct (see figs. 5-6 and paragraph 34), and wherein the box body is configured to allow air to be introduced into the air duct from the air inlet (see air inlet, paragraphs 9, 12) and to flow out of the air outlet (see air outlet, paragraphs 12-13);
a circuit board disposed in the chamber (main control board or PCB drive control board within the electric box, see paragraphs 11, 14); and
a heat sink (heat sink 16) disposed at the circuit board and located in the air duct (see 16 inside duct 17, figs. 1-4 and paragraph 31), the air being introduced into the chamber from the air inlet (see air inlet, paragraphs 9, 12) and flowing out of the air outlet by an action of the wind wheel (airflow by negative pressure created by blower 2 within space 10 allows air to flow out of the air outlet 19, see fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 22, 30, 32, 34); and
an air duct housing defining the air duct (U-shaped air duct plate 17 containing air flow path, see figs. 3-4 and paragraph 32), wherein the air duct housing has an end connected to the air inlet and another end connected to the air outlet (see inlet 18 and outlet 19 within duct, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 31-34);
wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (air near inlet 18, 20 and outlet 19 may flow in the same direction, see figs. 2-6);
wherein the air duct housing has an air inflowing end (top side end of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4) and an air outflowing end (bottom and bottom side ends of the air duct housing 17, see fig. 4), wherein the air inflowing end is in communication with the air inlet (inlet 18, see figs. 3-4) and the air outflowing end is in communication with the air outlet (outlet 19, see figs. 3-4), and the air inflowing end and the air outflowing end are offset from each other (see top sided inlet end and bottom outlet end offset from each other; and air inlet 18 and air outlet 19 offset from each other, figs. 3-4);
wherein the air duct (17) comprises a first flow section (airflow section through the opening 20 and at inlet 18 perpendicular to the vertical length of the duct 17, see figs. 3-6), a second flow section (vertical airflow section of duct 17 containing parallel vertical grille strips 16, where air flows perpendicular to the first airflow section of inlets 20 and 18, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 33-34), and a third flow section (airflow section at the bottom of the plate through plurality of openings at outlet 19, see figs. 1-6) that are in communication with one another (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34), the second flow section being located between the first flow section and the third flow section (see figs. 1-6), the heat sink (heat sink 16 within the second vertical flow section of duct 17) being disposed at the second flow section (see figs. 1-6), an extending direction of the first flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (airflow perpendicular to the air inlet 18 and passing through opening 20 and inlet 18 intersects with vertical airflow within the second flow section by allowing the incoming air to bend downward towards the outlet 19, see figs. 6 and 2), the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (inlet 18 at the first section, which connects with inlet 20, see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 32), and the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (outlet 19 at the bottom section of the duct 17 with plurality of openings, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, MO does not explicitly teach that the extending direction of the third flow section intersects with the extending direction of the second flow section and the first and third extending directions are parallel.
Chen discloses an electric control box with control and communication modules (411, 412, see paragraph 37) with air duct (420, 410, 430), with a first flow section (at least section 420), second flow section (at least section 410) and a third flow section (at least section 430); wherein an inlet air and an outlet air have same direction (inlet and outlet air having same direction, see below annotated fig. 2); and wherein the three flow sections communicate with each other (see fig. 3); and an extending direction of the first flow section (horizontal extension of first flow section 420) and an extending direction of the third flow section (extension of third flow section 430) intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section (vertical extension of second flow section 420, see below annotated fig. 3),
the air inflowing end being disposed at the first flow section (see 420, fig. 3), the air outflowing end being disposed at the third flow section (see 430, fig. 3); and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel (see parallel extending direction of the first and third flow sections, below annotated fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the duct flow sections of the control box of MO by providing an airflow section with first flow section, second flow section and a third flow section such that the three flow sections communicate with each other; and an extending direction of the first flow section and an extending direction of the third flow section intersecting with an extending direction of the second flow section and wherein the extending direction of the first flow section and the extending direction of the third flow section are parallel based on the teachings of Chen in order to create a turbulent flow near the fins and grille strips to increase the rate of heat transfer and hence improve efficiency of air conditioner in cooling the electric control box.
In regards to claims 13 and 20, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claims 10 and 7 respectively and further discloses that the air outflowing end and the heat sink are positioned in a directly opposing manner (bottom and bottom side ends of the air duct housing 17 is positioned downward, which is opposite, from the upward extending heat sink 16, see below annotated fig. 6), with comparable dimensions (U-bottom side air outflow section accommodates heat sink 16, see figs. 2-6).
In regards to claim 14, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further disclose that the heat sink (heat sink 16) comprises: a heat dissipation base disposed on the circuit board (heat sink installed on the control board, see paragraph 31); and a plurality of heat dissipation fins arranged at the heat dissipation base (see plurality of heat sink fins, 16, fig. 2 and paragraph 33), an airflow channel being formed between adjacent heat dissipation fins of the plurality of heat dissipation fins (see airflow channels formed by the air entering inlet 18 and passing between the grille strips, figs. 1-4 and paragraph 34).
In regards to claim 15, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further disclose that the adjacent heat dissipation fins are parallel to each other (see plurality of parallel heat sink fins, 16, fig. 2).
In regards to claim 16, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further disclose that the wind wheel is a centrifugal wind wheel (see centrifugal fans 2, 4, figs. 1, 3 and 5); and the electric control box is located in an axial direction of an inlet of the wind wheel (see back of the electric box facing the inlet of the centrifugal fan 2, figs. 1, 3 and 5).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MO in view of Chen as applied to claim 8 and 16 above and further in view of Sun (WO 2018/076312 A1).
In regards to claims 9 and 17, MO as modified teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 16 and further disclose that the electric control box comprises an inner side plate facing towards the inlet of the wind wheel (see back plate of the electric box, opposite cover 14, facing the inlet of the centrifugal fan 2, figs. 1, 3 and 5) and an outer side plate (wall of duct 17 or cover 14, see figs. 1-6); the air outlet is formed at a bottom plate of the electric box (see outlet 19 at the bottom, figs. 1-6); and the air inlet is formed at the outer side plate (inlet 18 on the side of the duct 17) and in communication with an ambient environment (via air inlets 20 communicating with the external ambient environment, see paragraph 32 and figs. 1-6).
However, MO does not explicitly teach that the air outlet is formed on the side plate.
Sun discloses an electric box (5), wherein the air outlet of the electric box (see air leaving box 5 from the top plate, fig. 1) is formed at the inner side plate (see air leaving the side of box 5, where the side of the box 5 is inside the housing 1, 4, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric control box of MO as modified by providing an air outlet formed at the inner side plate based on the teachings of Sun in order to allow the airflow within the duct to pass the surfaces of the fin in all direction to increase the rate of heat dissipation from the fins.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5 of Remarks, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7 and 10 under 35 USC 102 over MO have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the newly added limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MO in view of Chen (CN 216897578 U).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763