DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 15 and 18 are drafted in such a way as to recite its own invention which relies on the features of claim 1 rather than reciting structure which further limits and defines the invention of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 13-16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (U.S. Publication No. 20170102512). Yamada teaches an optical filter mount for positioning an optical filter (100) or an optical filter adapter in front of a lens (98) of a camera, the filter mount comprising:- a mounting frame (110), with a lens connection mechanism (180) for connecting the mounting frame to the lens of the camera; and one or more connection members (130) arranged for connecting the optical filter or the optical filter adapter to the mounting frame, wherein the one or more connection members form at least one loop (fig. 3) into which the optical filter or optical filter adapter can be positioned.
Regarding claim 2, the one or more connection members form at least two loops into which the optical filter or the optical filter adapter can be positioned. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, ¶19 teaches the bands are elastic.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 3 depicts at least two connection members, each connection member forming at least one loop.
Regarding claim 6, at least one of the connection members forms at least two loops (each loop goes between a pair of 120 in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, fig. 3 shows at least two loops are positioned on opposite sides of the mounting frame.
Regarding claim 13, the optical filter or the optical filter adapter is positioned into at least one loop of the optical filter mount. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 14, a width and/or a height of the assembly is essentially determined by a width and/or a height of the optical filter or the optical filter adapter. See figs 3-4.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 3 shows the adapter configured to accommodate a non-cuboid optical filter (100), which wherein the adapter frame is arranged to be positioned inside at least one loop of an optical filter mount.
Regarding claim 16, at least one hook (120 or structure between pairs of 102, see fig. 3) arranged to be positioned into a loop of an optical filter mount.
Regarding claim 18, Yamada teaches a lens assembly (204) for use with a camera, comprising the optical filter mount (110) is for positioning an optical filter or an optical filter adapter (100) in front of a lens (98) of a camera, the filter mount comprising: -a mounting frame (110), with a lens connection mechanism (180) for connecting the mounting frame to the lens of the camera; and one or more connection members (130) arranged for connecting the optical filter or the optical filter adapter to the mounting frame (fig 3), wherein the one or more connection members form at least one loop into which the optical filter or optical filter adapter can be positioned the optical filter or the optical filter adapter is positioned into at least one loop of the optical filter mount, and wherein the optical filter mount or optical filter mount assembly is positioned in front of the lens, and light can pass through the optical filter mount or optical filter mount assembly into the lens. See figs. 3-4.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 4 shows the lens assembly is connected to the camera.
Regarding claim 20. Yamada teaches mounting an optical filter (100) or an optical filter adapter to a lens (980) of a camera, comprising connecting a mounting frame (180) of an optical filter mount to the lens of the camera; and positioning the optical filter or the optical filter adapter between the mounting frame and at least one loop (loops formed by 130) of the optical filter mount.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 1 depicts the optical filter or the optical filter adapter is pressed against the mounting frame by the at least one loop being elastically deformed.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liebermann (U.S. Patent No. 6102556). Liebermann teaches an optical filter mount (18) for positioning an optical filter (50) or an optical filter adapter (12) in front of a lens (52) of a camera, the filter mount comprising: a mounting frame (18), with a lens connection mechanism (internal part of 18 in contact with 52) for connecting the mounting frame to the lens of the camera; and one or more connection members (fig. 6, parts of 18 around the rods 36) arranged for connecting the optical filter or the optical filter adapter to the mounting frame, wherein the one or more connection members form at least one loop (fig 6) into which the optical filter or optical filter adapter can be positioned.
Regarding claim 4, at least one of the one or more connection members is or comprises an elongated member, arranged to be resiliently elongated, such as an elastic band. See col. 4, lines 37-38.
Regarding claim 8, a first end of one of the connection members is connected to the mounting frame (“wrap the adjustable attachment means 18 around the legs 30, 32 or rods 36”) and a second end of the one of the connection members is a free end (“securely tie off the attachment means 18 against the lens 52.”) See col. 4, lines 35-37. The loose ends are at the end of the tied off section.
Regarding claim 9, additional posts 36, 37 are a tightening mechanism configured to tighten at least one of the loops if too loose.
Regarding claim 11, part of at least one of the connection members (18) extends through the mounting frame (18 goes through gaps between 36 which is part of 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamada (U.S. Publication No. 20170102512). Yamada teaches at least four loops (one at each pair of 120 in fig. 3). Alternatively, if the loops are interpreted as each continuous band, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize at least four loops for the purpose of a more secure connection. The applicant should note that it has been held that where the general working conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (U.S. Publication No. 20170102512) in view of Schorman (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0059355). Yamada teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for that the open ring frame can be clamped onto a lens. Shorman teaches in fig. 3 that it was known to provide an open ring frame can be clamped onto a lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Schorman for the purpose of a secure attachment to the lens.
Regarding claim 17, Shorman teaches one or more light blocking members (arms defining 134/138) adjacent to the aperture. See fig. 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rebot (U.S. Patent No. 9921461) teaches multiple loops (24) for accommodating filters. Shibaski (U.S. Publication No. 20110128638) teaches a clamp style attachment for attaching a filter to a lens. Kim (WO2018093009) teaches an elastic member 50 adapted to mount a filter to a camera lens.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852