DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 and 17 in the reply filed on 07/17/26 is acknowledged. Claims 16 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/497,682 [not published]. Claims dated 12/29/25 were reviewed. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and copending claims are obvious variants of each other. Both the copending claims and Applicant’s claims require a fiber reinforced composite which is impregnated with a matrix resin which can be a polyamide or a polyester resin; thermoplastic resin reinforcing fibers which have a melting point within the range of 130° C. to 230° C; where the mean fiber diameter of the fibers is in the overlapping range of 0.5 μm to 35 μm; where the fiber layer may be unidirectionally laid woven; where the layers can be stacked and the at least two reinforcing fiber layers are stitched together by a stitch yarn as the auxiliary yarn.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/879,081 [USPUB 20250387953A1]. Claims dated 12/26/24 were reviewed. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and copending claims are obvious variants of each other. Both the copending claims and Applicant’s claims require a stitched fiber reinforced composite which is impregnated with a matrix resin; has thermoplastic resin reinforcing fibers aligned in a direction; both require a melting or glass transition of the fiber; the layers can be stacked (multiaxially or unidirectionally) and the at least two reinforcing fiber layers are stitched together by a stitch yarn as the auxiliary yarn, which can be polyethersulfone.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-5, 9, 11-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 17/798,791 [USPUB 20230139781A1]. Claims dated 08/03/26 were reviewed. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and copending claims are obvious variants of each other. Both the copending claims and Applicant’s claims require a fiber reinforced composite which is impregnated with a matrix resin; thermoplastic resin reinforcing fibers having a linear expansion coefficient; carbon fibers; where the fiber layer may be unidirectionally laid and stitched together by a stitch yarn as the auxiliary yarn.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/172246A1 issued to Akamatsu et al.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6 and 17; Applicant is directed to the teachings Akamatsu et al., who at ¶ 0063 and Example 4, teach a reinforcing fiber base material having a plurality of reinforcing fiber layers [reinforcing fiber sheets] which include reinforcing fibers, a plurality of resin material layers [non-woven fabric made from polyamide 12, having an average fiber diameter of 20 µm, a weight per area: 6 g/m2, a melting point of 170°C, disposed between each of the reinforcing fiber sheets] including thermoplastic resin fibers, and an auxiliary yarn, wherein the reinforcing fiber base material includes at least two of the reinforcing fiber layers, which are layered and overlapping with one other; the at least two reinforcing fiber layers are each configured from the reinforcing fibers, with said fibers being unidirectionally drawn and aligned; the at least two reinforcing fiber layers are stitched together with, the auxiliary yarn/stitching yarn; the integrity of the reinforcing fiber base material is maintained by the auxiliary yarn joining fellow reinforcing fiber layers; and the average fiber diameter of the thermoplastic resin fibers is 0.5-35 µm [20 µm.
At ¶ 0032-0033, the instant reference teaches that the reinforcement fiber sheets made of unidirectionally drawn and aligned reinforcement fiber are laminated layer by layer by altering the fiber axial direction. The laminate structure of the reinforcement fiber sheets is such that the sheets are preferably laminated layer by layer by altering the fiber axial direction of the reinforcement fiber, and more preferably laminated by altering the fiber axial direction to an appropriately selected angle from 0°, ±45°, and 90°. These angles mean that the fiber axial directions of thread line of the reinforcement fiber are at 0°, ±45°, and 90° with respect to a predetermined direction of the stitched fiber-reinforced substrate material, thereby meeting the limitation as sought in claims 7-9.
At ¶ 0024, the instant reference teaches that the fineness of the stitching yarn, though not particularly specified, is preferably 10 to 70 dTex, and more preferably 15 to 40 dTex. The single yarn diameter of the stitching yarn is preferably 10 to 40 μm. The number of filaments in the stitching yarn is preferably 1 to 50 and more preferably 4 to 24, thereby meeting the limitations as sought in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, where Applicant seeks that the reinforcing fiber substrate according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary yarn is made of a resin fiber having a melting point of 80°C to 185°C; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0020, where the instant reference teaches the composition of the stitching yarn, which serves as Applicant’s auxiliary yarn. As the composition is the same, the melting point will also be the same.
Regarding Claim 12, where Applicant seeks that the reinforcing fiber substrate according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary yarn comprises a fiber of polyamide resin, polyester resin, polyethersulfone (PES) resin, or polyetherimide (PEI) resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0020, where the instant reference teaches the composition of the stitching yarn, which serves as Applicant’s auxiliary yarn can be polyolefin fiber, such as polyethylene fiber and polypropylene fiber, polyamide fiber, such as aliphatic polyamide fiber, semi-aromatic polyamide fiber, and fully aromatic polyamide fiber, polyester fiber, cellulose fiber, and the like.
Regarding Claim 13, where Applicant seeks that the reinforcing fiber substrate according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary yarn comprises a compound having at least one selected from a group consisting of a hydroxyl group, an amino group, a phenol group, a lactam group and an epoxy group, and an amide bond and an ester bond; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0021, where the instant reference teaches that the he polar group, hydroxy group, epoxy group, ester group, amino group, amide group, and the like are preferably mentioned. Among these, fibers having a hydroxy group or amide group are particularly preferable.
Regarding Claim 14, where Applicant seeks that the reinforcing fiber substrate according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary yarn is an auxiliary yarn which melts when heated at 180°C for 2 hours, or the coefficient of linear expansion of the auxiliary yarn in the fiber axial direction after being heated at 180°C for 2 hours and cooled is -1x10-6 to 8Ox10-6/K; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0010, where the instant reference teaches exactly the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, where Applicant seeks that a preform material, comprising the reinforcing fiber substrate according to claim 1, and a binder resin, wherein the binder resin is 1 to 20 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the reinforcing fiber substrate; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0049, where the instant reference teaches exactly the same limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP 2447305A1 issued to Fang et al.
/Arti Singh-Pandey/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1759
asp