DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to applicant's amendment received on 2/27/2026. Amended claim 1 is acknowledged and the following grounds of rejection below are maintained. Claims 2-3 and 8 are cancelled. The amendments to the specification have been considered and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0170053), hereinafter “Mark”.
Regarding claim 1, Mark discloses a reservoir tank comprising: a tank main body (146, shown in figure 5) having a coolant injection part (154) and configured to store a coolant therein; an inlet pipe (108) connected to one side of the tank main body (left side 158) and configured to communicate with the inside of the tank main body; and an outlet pipe (116) connected to the other side of the tank main body (right side 160) and configured to communicate with the inside of the tank main body, wherein a height of an upper end of one side (158) of the tank main body is lower than a height of an upper end of the other side (160) of the tank main body, and the inlet pipe (108) is connected to the tank main body so that the coolant flows in a direction toward a lower end from the upper end of one side of the tank main body (shown in figure 5), wherein the reservoir tank has a stepped portion (top surface of 158 where 108 connects to shown in figure 5) formed at one side thereof so that a height of an upper end of one side is lower than a height of an upper end of the other side (shown in figure 5), wherein the inlet pipe (108) is connected to an upper surface of the stepped portion (surface of 158 where 108 connects to), and wherein the outlet pipe (116) is disposed adjacent to a lower end of the other side (160) of the tank main body (shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Mark discloses the reservoir tank of claim 1, wherein at least a part of the inlet pipe (108) is inserted into one side (158) of the tank main body, and wherein a lower end of the inlet pipe disposed in one side of the tank main body is disposed to be adjacent to and spaced apart from the lower end of one side of the tank main body (shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Mark discloses the reservoir tank of claim 1, wherein the inlet pipe comprises: a first pipe portion extending in an upward/downward direction (108 pipe portion within the first compartment 158) and partially inserted into one side of the tank main body; and a second pipe portion (horizontal pipe portion 108 outside of the tank) disposed outside the tank main body (146) and extending in a shape bent from an upper end of the first pipe portion (shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Mark discloses the reservoir tank of claim 1, wherein the coolant injection part (154) is provided at the upper end of the other side (160) of the tank main body.
Regarding claim 9, Mark discloses the reservoir tank of claim 1, further comprising: a partition wall (148) provided in the tank main body, coupled to the tank main body, and configured to divide an internal space of the tank main body (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 10, Mark discloses the reservoir tank of claim 9, wherein a communication hole (162) is formed in the partition wall (148) and penetrates two opposite surfaces of the partition wall in a thickness direction of the partition wall (shown in figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark.
Regarding claim 7, Mark discloses the same invention substantially as claimed but is silent to disclose wherein the interior of the tank main body is filled with the coolant so that a height of a surface of the coolant is higher than a height of the upper end of one side of the tank main body. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of when the invention was made to have the coolant level above the height of the one side of the tank main body since it was known in the art that that coolant expands significantly when it heats up during engine operation and therefore, the coolant level of Mark (130) would be a height that is higher than the height of the first compartment (158).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the present invention does no have a physical separation wall that creates two regions and the present invention prevents the formation of bubbles. Examiner notes that these limitations are not within the claims of having no separation wall, having to be only one region, and prevention of the formation of bubbles. These limitations should be recited within the claims for the arguments to hold weight. Applicant merely provides the statement in page 6 of the remarks that that Mark fails to teach “wherein the reservoir tank… the other side of the tank main body” but does not show how. The mere statement without explanation does not render the argument valid. Examiner also notes that the present claims mentions “one side” and the ”other side” and therefore any “sides” of the coolant tank can be regarded as the “other side”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED O HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 5/26/2026