DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini (2022/0286224) and further in view of Huang (2020/0205165).
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini discloses a method for use in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: (See Hosseini fig. 14, para. 155, 156; apparatus for wireless communication implemented as UE (e.g. WTRU))
determining:
to one of transmit or receive a first sidelink (SL) transmission using first SL resources using a first carrier, and (See Hosseini para. 57, fig. 3; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission); para. 78; slots (e.g. resource); para. 81; PSFCH transmission is on a component carrier (e.g. a first carrier))
to transmit a second SL transmission using second SL resources using a second carrier, wherein the second SL resources include an overlapping period, and wherein the second SL resources overlap with the first SL resources in the overlapping period; (See Hosseini para. 57; non-PSFCH, PSCCH/PSSCH, carrying SCI or data/TB (e.g. second SL transmission); para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission (e.g. an overlapping period); para. 74, 78; slots (e.g. resources within carrier))
transmitting, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmitting, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period; (See Hosseini para. 77, 78, fig. 5; non-PSFCH is shortened (e.g. not transmitted in overlapping portion) and PSFCH is transmitted in part that was to overlap but non-PSFCH is still transmitted in portion not overlapping)
transmitting, to a reception WTRU, information regarding the first set of symbols of the second SL resources and the second set of symbols of the second SL resources in sidelink control information (SCI); and (See Hosseini para. 89, 91; rate matching pattern transmitted by TxUE and indicates which slot index, symbol, carrier and/or resource pool on which the SL transmission will be shortened (e.g. sidelink control information); pattern is symbols which non-PSFCH will be transmitted and not transmitted based upon when PSFCH is transmitted; see also para. 106, 139)
one of transmitting or receiving, using the first carrier, the first SL transmission using the first SL resources in the overlapping period. (See Hosseini para. 77, 78, fig. 5; non-PSFCH is shortened (e.g. not transmitted in overlapping portion) and PSFCH is transmitted in part that was to overlap (e.g. transmitting in first carrier)
Hosseini discloses in fig. 5 that the PSFCH is put at the end off the overlapping non-PSFCH transmission. Hosseini does not explicitly disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. However, Huang does disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513, fig. 20, 22-23; UE punctures last 2 symbols (e.g. on the condition); slot is composed of symbols) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols of Huang with the motivation being that tail-end puncturing/rate matching may be less disruptive and easier to decode than arbitrary-symbol puncturing/rate matching and further to allow for simultaneous transmissions for less capable devices that may have trouble decoding if the rate matching and/or puncturing is performed in other symbols and further resources composed of symbols allows for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 2, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first SL resources include first time resources, wherein the second SL resources include second time resources, and wherein the overlapping period is in of the second time resources which overlap in time. (See Hosseini para. 77; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission) overlaps partially with non-PSFCH in a slot; see also fig. 5)
wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513; slot is composed of symbols) The motivation being to allow for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 3, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first SL transmission is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; and wherein the first SL resources are PSFCH resources. (See Hosseini para. 57, fig. 3; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission); para. 78; slots (e.g. resource); para. 81; PSFCH transmission is on a component carrier (e.g. a first carrier))
Regarding claim 4, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second SL transmission is any one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission, or a combination of a PSCCH transmission and a PSSCH transmission; and wherein the second SL resources are any one of PSCCH resources, PSSCH resources, or a combination of PSCCH resources and PSSCH resources. (See Hosseini para. 57; non-PSFCH, PSCCH/PSSCH, carrying SCI or data/TB (e.g. second SL transmission); para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission (e.g. an overlapping period); para. 74, 78; slots (e.g. resources within carrier))
Regarding claim 5, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmitting, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period (See Hosseini para. 77, 78, fig. 5; non-PSFCH is shortened (e.g. not transmitted in overlapping portion) and PSFCH is transmitted in part that was to overlap but non-PSFCH is still transmitted in portion not overlapping)
Hosseini discloses using rate matching. Hosseini does not explicitly disclose puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. However, Huang does disclose puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513, fig. 20, 22-23; UE punctures last 2 symbols (e.g. on the condition); slot is composed of symbols) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols of Huang with the motivation being reduced latency and near-zero access to airwaves and further to lower processing overhead and fixed code-rate complexity and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmitting, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period is rate matching. (See Hosseini para. 82; rate-matching; para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission; see also fig. 5, 6, 8)
wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513; slot is composed of symbols) The motivation being to allow for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 7, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1. Hosseini does not explicitly disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources. However, Huang does disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, (See Huang para. 446; overlap is partial or fully (e.g. earlier than one of the last one)) one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources. (See Huang para. 640-642; UE deprioritizes by not transmitting (e.g. dropping) the lower priority transmission; see also para. 648-650, 652) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources of Huang with the motivation being to meet capability limits of a UE and further to prioritize transmissions when it is not possible to transmit them all do to limitations of the UE and the available network resources and further to ensure more important data is sent when it is not possible to send all of it.
Regarding claim 9, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an SL grant of resources for transmitting the second SL transmission using the second carrier. (See Hosseini para. 61; sidelink grants; see also para. 57)
Regarding claim 10, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting resources for transmitting the second SL transmission using the second carrier. (See Hosseini para. 38, 59; UE performing scheduling operations (e.g. selecting resources))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini (2022/0286224) and further in view of Huang (2020/0205165).
Regarding claim 11, Hosseini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor; and
a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor; wherein:
the processor is configured to determine: (See Hosseini fig. 14, para. 155, 156; apparatus for wireless communication implemented as UE (e.g. WTRU) which has a processor executing an algorithm stored in memory; para. 158 transceiver)
to one of transmit or receive a first sidelink (SL) transmission using first SL resources using a first carrier, and (See Hosseini para. 57, fig. 3; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission); para. 78; slots (e.g. resource); para. 81; PSFCH transmission is on a component carrier (e.g. a first carrier))
to transmit a second SL transmission using second SL resources using a second carrier, wherein the second SL resources include an overlapping period, and wherein the second SL resources overlap with the first SL resources in the overlapping period; (See Hosseini para. 57; non-PSFCH, PSCCH/PSSCH, carrying SCI or data/TB (e.g. second SL transmission); para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission (e.g. an overlapping period); para. 74, 78; slots (e.g. resources within carrier))
the transceiver is configured to transmit, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmit, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period; (See Hosseini para. 77, 78, fig. 5; non-PSFCH is shortened (e.g. not transmitted in overlapping portion) and PSFCH is transmitted in part that was to overlap but non-PSFCH is still transmitted in portion not overlapping)
the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to a reception WTRU, information regarding the first set of symbols of the second SL resources and the second set of symbols of the second SL resources in sidelink control information (SCI); and (See Hosseini para. 89, 91; rate matching pattern transmitted by TxUE and indicates which slot index, symbol, carrier and/or resource pool on which the SL transmission will be shortened (e.g. sidelink control information); pattern is symbols which non-PSFCH will be transmitted and not transmitted based upon when PSFCH is transmitted; see also para. 106, 139)
the transceiver is configured to one of transmit or receive, using the first carrier, the first SL transmission using the first SL resources in the overlapping period. (See Hosseini para. 77, 78, fig. 5; non-PSFCH is shortened (e.g. not transmitted in overlapping portion) and PSFCH is transmitted in part that was to overlap (e.g. transmitting in first carrier)
Hosseini discloses in fig. 5 that the PSFCH is put at the end off the overlapping non-PSFCH transmission. Hosseini does not explicitly disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. However, Huang does disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513, fig. 20, 22-23; UE punctures last 2 symbols (e.g. on the condition); slot is composed of symbols) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of on a condition that the overlapping period is in the last one or more symbols of the second SL resource and wherein the resources are composed of symbols of Huang with the motivation being that tail-end puncturing/rate matching may be less disruptive and easier to decode than arbitrary-symbol puncturing/rate matching and further to allow for simultaneous transmissions for less capable devices that may have trouble decoding if the rate matching and/or puncturing is performed in other symbols and further resources composed of symbols allows for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 12, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the first SL resources include first time resources, wherein the second SL resources include second time resources, and wherein the overlapping period is in the second time resources which overlap in time. (See Hosseini para. 77; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission) overlaps partially with non-PSFCH in a slot; see also fig. 5)
wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513; slot is composed of symbols) The motivation being to allow for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 13, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the first SL transmission is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; and wherein the first SL resources are PSFCH resources. (See Hosseini para. 57, fig. 3; PSFCH including ACK/NACK (e.g. first SL transmission); para. 78; slots (e.g. resource); para. 81; PSFCH transmission is on a component carrier (e.g. a first carrier))
Regarding claim 14, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the second SL transmission is any one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission, or a combination of a PSCCH transmission and a PSSCH transmission; and wherein the second SL resources are any one of PSCCH resources, PSSCH resources, or a combination of PSCCH resources and PSSCH resources. (See Hosseini para. 57; non-PSFCH, PSCCH/PSSCH, carrying SCI or data/TB (e.g. second SL transmission); para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission (e.g. an overlapping period); para. 74, 78; slots (e.g. resources within carrier))
Regarding claim 15, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the transmitting, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmitting, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period.
Hosseini discloses using rate matching. Hosseini does not explicitly disclose puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. However, Huang does disclose puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513, fig. 20, 22-23; UE punctures last 2 symbols (e.g. on the condition); slot is composed of symbols) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of puncturing and wherein the resources are composed of symbols of Huang with the motivation being reduced latency and near-zero access to airwaves and further to lower processing overhead and fixed code-rate complexity and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 16, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the transmitting, using the second carrier, at least part of the second SL transmission in a first part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period and not transmitting, using the second carrier, in a second part of the second SL resources in the overlapping period is rate matching. (See Hosseini para. 82; rate-matching; para. 81; perform transmission of non-PSFCH transmission in another sidelink component carrier (e.g. second carrier) simultaneously and non-PSFCH transmission maybe shortened by length of simultaneous PSFCH transmission; see also fig. 5, 6, 8)
wherein the resources are composed of symbols. (See Huang para. 513; slot is composed of symbols) The motivation being to allow for a granularity in determining the best part or parts of a transmission and further may allow for sub-slot/resource transmission/reception of a multitude of channels which may be more efficient than only slot level implementation and further it is common sense that slots/resources are comprised of symbols in the 3GPP standards which saves time and money and provides compatibility.
Regarding claim 17, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11.
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources. However, Huang does disclose on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, (See Huang para. 446; overlap is partial or fully (e.g. earlier than one of the last one)) one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources. (See Huang para. 640-642; UE deprioritizes by not transmitting (e.g. dropping) the lower priority transmission; see also para. 648-650, 652) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hosseini to include the teaching of on a condition that the overlapping period is earlier than the last one or more symbols of the second SL resources, one of dropping one of the transmission or the reception of the first SL transmission, or dropping the transmission of the second SL transmission, based on a comparison of a priority associated with the first SL resources with a priority associated with the second SL resources of Huang with the motivation being to meet capability limits of a UE and further to prioritize transmissions when it is not possible to transmit them all do to limitations of the UE and the available network resources and further to ensure more important data is sent when it is not possible to send all of it.
Regarding claim 19, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive an SL grant of resources for transmitting the second SL transmission using the second carrier. (See Hosseini para. 61; sidelink grants; see also para. 57)
Regarding claim 20, Hosseini in view of Huang discloses the WTRU of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to select resources for transmitting the second SL transmission using the second carrier. (See Hosseini para. 38, 59; UE performing scheduling operations (e.g. selecting resources))
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461