DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du, WO 2022033516 A1.
For claim 1. Du teaches: A method for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing, for a station (STA), the method comprising: (Du, translation, paragraph 3, 150-158)
receiving a trigger frame, (Du, translation, paragraph 151, “The network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, where the first indication information includes a sensing parameter”; paragraph 155, “the first indication information may be carried in the Trigger frame”)
wherein the trigger frame comprises at least a common information field, wherein the common information field comprises at least a trigger type subfield and a trigger dependent common information subfield, (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “Specifically, the first indication information may be represented by using a common information field in the Trigger frame. FIG. 3 c is a schematic structural diagram of a common information field. As shown in FIG. 3 c, the common information field includes, but is not limited to, a trigger type (Trigger Type) and a trigger dependent common information (Trigger Dependent Common Info) field.”)
wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield comprises sensing subfields, wherein the sensing subfields are based on a value of the trigger type subfield; (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “When the value of the trigger type field is different, correspondingly, the common information field related to the trigger may include different sub-fields. When the value of the trigger type field is 8, the subfield included in the common information field associated with the trigger may be the same as the subfield included in the sensing element field in FIG. 2 d.”; common information field related to / associated with the trigger is trigger dependent common information field; paragraph 134-135, “the sensing element field may include but is not limited to the following subfield: Type, transmitter address (TA), receiver address (RA), and sensing details”)
and sending a trigger response frame, (Du, translation, paragraph 151, “the first indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to periodically send a sensing data packet based on the sensing parameter”; paragraph 156-157, “The terminal device periodically sends the sensing data packet to the network device in one TXOP.”)
wherein a format of the trigger response frame is at least based on at least one of the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield. (Du, translation, paragraph 158, “The sensing parameter may further indicate a length of each sensing data packet periodically sent in one TXOP, that is, the sensing detail field includes a data packet length field.”; packet length is a format)
For claim 8. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Du further teaches: wherein a reserved bit in the common information field indicates that the trigger frame is for sensing. (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “As shown in FIG. 3 c, the common information field includes, but is not limited to, a trigger type (Trigger Type) and a trigger dependent common information (Trigger Dependent Common Info) field. Currently, the trigger type field occupies four bits, and the value of the trigger type field is reserved for 8-15. In this embodiment of this application, a value (for example, 8) may be selected from the reserved value, and when the value of the trigger type field is the value, it may indicate that the trigger frame in which the common information field is located is used to trigger the sensing measurement.”)
For claim 11. Du teaches: A station (STA) configured for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing, the STA comprising: (Du, translation, paragraph 3, 269-286)
a receiver (Du, translation, paragraph 271, transceiver) configured to receive a trigger frame, (Du, translation, paragraph 151, “The network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, where the first indication information includes a sensing parameter”; paragraph 155, “the first indication information may be carried in the Trigger frame”)
wherein the trigger frame comprises at least a common information field, wherein the common information field comprises at least a trigger type subfield and a trigger dependent common information subfield, (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “Specifically, the first indication information may be represented by using a common information field in the Trigger frame. FIG. 3 c is a schematic structural diagram of a common information field. As shown in FIG. 3 c, the common information field includes, but is not limited to, a trigger type (Trigger Type) and a trigger dependent common information (Trigger Dependent Common Info) field.”)
wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield comprises sensing subfields, wherein the sensing subfields are based on a value of the trigger type subfield; (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “When the value of the trigger type field is different, correspondingly, the common information field related to the trigger may include different sub-fields. When the value of the trigger type field is 8, the subfield included in the common information field associated with the trigger may be the same as the subfield included in the sensing element field in FIG. 2 d.”; common information field related to / associated with the trigger is trigger dependent common information field; paragraph 134-135, “the sensing element field may include but is not limited to the following subfield: Type, transmitter address (TA), receiver address (RA), and sensing details”)
and a transmitter (Du, translation, paragraph 271, transceiver) configured to send a trigger response frame, (Du, translation, paragraph 151, “the first indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to periodically send a sensing data packet based on the sensing parameter”; paragraph 156-157, “The terminal device periodically sends the sensing data packet to the network device in one TXOP.”)
wherein a format of the trigger response frame is at least based on at least one of the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield. (Du, translation, paragraph 158, “The sensing parameter may further indicate a length of each sensing data packet periodically sent in one TXOP, that is, the sensing detail field includes a data packet length field.”; packet length is a format)
For claim 18. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and Du further teaches: wherein a reserved bit in the common information field indicates that the trigger frame is for sensing. (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “As shown in FIG. 3 c, the common information field includes, but is not limited to, a trigger type (Trigger Type) and a trigger dependent common information (Trigger Dependent Common Info) field. Currently, the trigger type field occupies four bits, and the value of the trigger type field is reserved for 8-15. In this embodiment of this application, a value (for example, 8) may be selected from the reserved value, and when the value of the trigger type field is the value, it may indicate that the trigger frame in which the common information field is located is used to trigger the sensing measurement.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-7, 12, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du, WO 2022033516 A1 in view of Lim, US 20250237734.
For claim 2. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the trigger frame further comprises a user information field, wherein the user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises at least a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the trigger frame further comprises a user information field, wherein the user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises at least a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield. (Lim, paragraph 281-285, “As described above, the 40th bit (B39) of the user info field may indicate whether the corresponding trigger frame is a sensing trigger frame. A trigger-dependent user info field containing information about sensing measurements may be included in the corresponding trigger frame. The trigger dependent user info field may include a Measurement Setup ID subfield, a Measurement Instance ID subfield, a PS160 subfield, and a Threshold subfield… The PS160 subfield may indicate whether the band in which various operations (e.g., sensing measurement, etc.) performed by the trigger frame are to be performed is primary 160 MHz or secondary 160 MHz. For example, when the PS160 subfield value is set to 0, this may indicate primary 160 MHZ. As another example, when the PS160 subfield value is set to 1, this may indicate secondary 160 MHZ.”; PS160 subfield is indication of results collection subfield)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such trigger frame user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield since it’s well-known in the art for trigger frame to include user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield (Lim, paragraph 281-285) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 4. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a ranging trigger frame variant or a null data packet (NDP) sounding poll trigger frame variant.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a ranging trigger frame variant or a null data packet (NDP) sounding poll trigger frame variant. (Lim, paragraph 247-249, value 8 of trigger type subfield indicates ranging/sensing trigger frame variant, value 7 of trigger type subfield indicates NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger type subfield, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having value 8 of such trigger type subfield to indicate ranging/sensing trigger frame variant and having value 7 of such trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant since it’s well-known in the art to have value 8 of trigger type subfield to indicate ranging/sensing trigger frame variant and value 7 of trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant (Lim, paragraph 247-249) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 5. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 4, and Du further teaches: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield value indicates a ranging trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a sensing trigger subtype subfield, a measurement setup identification (MSI) subfield, a measurement instance identification (MII) subfield, or a session setup identification subfield. (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “When the value of the trigger type field is different, correspondingly, the common information field related to the trigger may include different sub-fields. When the value of the trigger type field is 8, the subfield included in the common information field associated with the trigger may be the same as the subfield included in the sensing element field in FIG. 2 d.”; common information field related to / associated with the trigger is trigger dependent common information field; paragraph 134-135, “the sensing element field may include but is not limited to the following subfield: Type, transmitter address (TA), receiver address (RA), and sensing details”)
For claim 6. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the sensing trigger subtype subfield comprises information indicating a sensing trigger frame subvariant, wherein the sensing trigger frame subvariant comprises one of: poll, null data packet (NDP) soliciting, report, threshold based result collection, or group NDP soliciting.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the sensing trigger subtype subfield comprises information indicating a sensing trigger frame subvariant, wherein the sensing trigger frame subvariant comprises one of: poll, null data packet (NDP) soliciting, report, threshold based result collection, or group NDP soliciting. (Lim, paragraph 231, “For example, the trigger dependent common info subfield may include a sensing trigger subtype. The sensing trigger subtype may indicate one of a poll variant, a sounding variant, or a report variant.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger dependent common information field, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of having such trigger dependent common information field to include sensing trigger subtype field wherein the sensing trigger subtype may indicate one of a poll variant, a sounding variant, or a report variant since it’s well-known in the art that a trigger frame may be used for polling, sounding, reporting (Lim, paragraph 221) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 7. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 4, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a NDP sounding poll trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a NDP sensing/sounding subtype subfield, a number of extremely high throughput (EHT)-long training field (LTF) symbols extension subfield, a total number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield, a punctured channel information subfield, or an EHT-SIG disregard subfield.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a NDP sounding poll trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a NDP sensing/sounding subtype subfield, a number of extremely high throughput (EHT)-long training field (LTF) symbols extension subfield, a total number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield, a punctured channel information subfield, or an EHT-SIG disregard subfield. (Lim, paragraph 247-249, value 8 of trigger type subfield indicates ranging/sensing trigger frame variant, value 7 of trigger type subfield indicates NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant; paragraph 103, the NDP frame refers to a frame format that includes a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header part (i.e., STF, LTF, and SIG fields))
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger type subfield, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having value 7 of such trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant, wherein the NDP frame includes STF, LTF and SIG fields since it’s well-known in the art to have value 7 of trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant wherein the NDP frame includes STF, LTF and SIG fields (Lim, paragraph 103, 247-249) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 12. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 11, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the trigger frame further comprises a user information field, wherein the user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises at least a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the trigger frame further comprises a user information field, wherein the user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises at least a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield. (Lim, paragraph 281-285, “As described above, the 40th bit (B39) of the user info field may indicate whether the corresponding trigger frame is a sensing trigger frame. A trigger-dependent user info field containing information about sensing measurements may be included in the corresponding trigger frame. The trigger dependent user info field may include a Measurement Setup ID subfield, a Measurement Instance ID subfield, a PS160 subfield, and a Threshold subfield… The PS160 subfield may indicate whether the band in which various operations (e.g., sensing measurement, etc.) performed by the trigger frame are to be performed is primary 160 MHz or secondary 160 MHz. For example, when the PS160 subfield value is set to 0, this may indicate primary 160 MHZ. As another example, when the PS160 subfield value is set to 1, this may indicate secondary 160 MHZ.”; PS160 subfield is indication of results collection subfield)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such trigger frame user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield since it’s well-known in the art for trigger frame to include user information field comprises a trigger dependent user information subfield, wherein the trigger dependent user information subfield comprises a threshold value subfield and an indication of results collection subfield (Lim, paragraph 281-285) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 14. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 11, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a ranging trigger frame variant or a null data packet (NDP) sounding poll trigger frame variant.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a ranging trigger frame variant or a null data packet (NDP) sounding poll trigger frame variant. (Lim, paragraph 247-249, value 8 of trigger type subfield indicates ranging/sensing trigger frame variant, value 7 of trigger type subfield indicates NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger type subfield, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having value 8 of such trigger type subfield to indicate ranging/sensing trigger frame variant and having value 7 of such trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant since it’s well-known in the art to have value 8 of trigger type subfield to indicate ranging/sensing trigger frame variant and value 7 of trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant (Lim, paragraph 247-249) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 15. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 14, and Du further teaches: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield value indicates a ranging trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a sensing trigger subtype subfield, a measurement setup identification (MSI) subfield, a measurement instance identification (MII) subfield, or a session setup identification subfield. (Du, translation, paragraph 155, “When the value of the trigger type field is different, correspondingly, the common information field related to the trigger may include different sub-fields. When the value of the trigger type field is 8, the subfield included in the common information field associated with the trigger may be the same as the subfield included in the sensing element field in FIG. 2 d.”; common information field related to / associated with the trigger is trigger dependent common information field; paragraph 134-135, “the sensing element field may include but is not limited to the following subfield: Type, transmitter address (TA), receiver address (RA), and sensing details”)
For claim 16. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 15, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the sensing trigger subtype subfield comprises information indicating a sensing trigger frame subvariant, wherein the sensing trigger frame subvariant comprises one of: poll, null data packet (NDP) soliciting, report, threshold based result collection, or group NDP soliciting.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the sensing trigger subtype subfield comprises information indicating a sensing trigger frame subvariant, wherein the sensing trigger frame subvariant comprises one of: poll, null data packet (NDP) soliciting, report, threshold based result collection, or group NDP soliciting. (Lim, paragraph 231, “For example, the trigger dependent common info subfield may include a sensing trigger subtype. The sensing trigger subtype may indicate one of a poll variant, a sounding variant, or a report variant.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger dependent common information field, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of having such trigger dependent common information field to include sensing trigger subtype field wherein the sensing trigger subtype may indicate one of a poll variant, a sounding variant, or a report variant since it’s well-known in the art that a trigger frame may be used for polling, sounding, reporting (Lim, paragraph 221) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 17. Du and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 14, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a NDP sounding poll trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a NDP sensing/sounding subtype subfield, a number of extremely high throughput (EHT)-long training field (LTF) symbols extension subfield, a total number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield, a punctured channel information subfield, or an EHT-SIG disregard subfield.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein on a condition that the value of the trigger type subfield indicates a NDP sounding poll trigger frame variant, the sensing subfields of the trigger dependent common information subfield comprise at least one of: a NDP sensing/sounding subtype subfield, a number of extremely high throughput (EHT)-long training field (LTF) symbols extension subfield, a total number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield, a punctured channel information subfield, or an EHT-SIG disregard subfield. (Lim, paragraph 247-249, value 8 of trigger type subfield indicates ranging/sensing trigger frame variant, value 7 of trigger type subfield indicates NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant; paragraph 103, the NDP frame refers to a frame format that includes a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header part (i.e., STF, LTF, and SIG fields))
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating trigger frame which includes trigger type subfield, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having value 7 of such trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant, wherein the NDP frame includes STF, LTF and SIG fields since it’s well-known in the art to have value 7 of trigger type subfield to indicate NDP feedback report poll trigger frame variant wherein the NDP frame includes STF, LTF and SIG fields (Lim, paragraph 103, 247-249) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
Claims 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du, WO 2022033516 A1 in view of Chen, US 20220150962.
For claim 9. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the trigger response frame is a null data packet (NDP) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU).
Chen from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the trigger response frame is a null data packet (NDP) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). (Chen, paragraph 45-46, “In one or more embodiments, a sensing transmission and reception phase may include the use of sensing PPDUs… Sensing PPDUs may be null data packets (NDPs), referring to packets without a medium access control (MAC) payload, or they may be packets with a MAC payload… The AP also sends Trigger frame(s) to the other non-AP STAs that are identified as sensing transmitters to trigger them to send sensing PPDUs… Once transmitted, the recipient STA is triggered to transmit broadcast NDP packets after short inter frame space (SIFS) time of the Trigger frame reception.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Chen into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating sensing data packet in response to trigger frame, and Chen suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having such sensing data packet to be NDP PPDU since it’s well-known in the art for sensing data packet to be NDP PPDU (Chen, paragraph 45-46) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 19. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 11, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the trigger response frame is a null data packet (NDP) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU).
Chen from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the trigger response frame is a null data packet (NDP) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). (Chen, paragraph 45-46, “In one or more embodiments, a sensing transmission and reception phase may include the use of sensing PPDUs… Sensing PPDUs may be null data packets (NDPs), referring to packets without a medium access control (MAC) payload, or they may be packets with a MAC payload… The AP also sends Trigger frame(s) to the other non-AP STAs that are identified as sensing transmitters to trigger them to send sensing PPDUs… Once transmitted, the recipient STA is triggered to transmit broadcast NDP packets after short inter frame space (SIFS) time of the Trigger frame reception.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Chen into Du, since Du suggests a technique for communicating sensing data packet in response to trigger frame, and Chen suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique having such sensing data packet to be NDP PPDU since it’s well-known in the art for sensing data packet to be NDP PPDU (Chen, paragraph 45-46) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du, WO 2022033516 A1 in view of Kim, US 20240292262.
For claim 10. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Du doesn’t teach: further comprising receiving an indication of a collaborative responder role, wherein the indication of a collaborative responder role is received in a sensing measurement parameters field.
Kim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving an indication of a collaborative responder role, wherein the indication of a collaborative responder role is received in a sensing measurement parameters field. (Kim, fig 16, paragraph 217-227, “a first STA may receive measurement setup information related to a plurality of measurement instances for a STA group from a second STA… A STA group refers to STAs that perform collaborative sensing across a plurality of measurement instances. A STA group may include a first STA… In addition, measurement setup information may include information on a role that will be performed by a first STA in a plurality of measurement instances, i.e., a transmitter and/or a receiver.”; paragraph 39, “For example, the STAs 110 and 200 may perform an access point (AP) role or a non-AP role.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Kim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for device receiving sensing information, and Kim suggests the beneficial way of including into such sensing information a role that will be performed by the device in a plurality of measurement instances to enable collaborative sensing for a group of devices across a plurality of measurement instances (Kim, fig 16, paragraph 217-227) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 20. Du discloses all the limitations of claim 11, however Du doesn’t teach: wherein the receiver is further configured to receive an indication of a collaborative responder role, wherein the indication of a collaborative responder role is received in a sensing measurement parameters field.
Kim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the receiver is further configured to receive an indication of a collaborative responder role, wherein the indication of a collaborative responder role is received in a sensing measurement parameters field. (Kim, fig 16, paragraph 217-227, “a first STA may receive measurement setup information related to a plurality of measurement instances for a STA group from a second STA… A STA group refers to STAs that perform collaborative sensing across a plurality of measurement instances. A STA group may include a first STA… In addition, measurement setup information may include information on a role that will be performed by a first STA in a plurality of measurement instances, i.e., a transmitter and/or a receiver.”; paragraph 39, “For example, the STAs 110 and 200 may perform an access point (AP) role or a non-AP role.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Kim into Du, since Du suggests a technique for device receiving sensing information, and Kim suggests the beneficial way of including into such sensing information a role that will be performed by the device in a plurality of measurement instances to enable collaborative sensing for a group of devices across a plurality of measurement instances (Kim, fig 16, paragraph 217-227) in the analogous art of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462