DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spalt et al. (US 2022/0399718 A1; hereinafter "Spalt") in view of Muthu-Mannivannan et al. (US 2009/0150686 A1; hereinafter "Muthu"), and further in view of Cardozo et al. (US 2020/0379023 A1; hereinafter "Cardozo").
Regarding claim 1, Spalt teaches a method for providing outage information by a meter comprising: collecting waveform data that includes at least voltage or current data for at least one phase of an electrical distribution network connected to the meter (a metering device located on an electricity distribution grid that samples an analog characteristic of electricity, including voltage or current, and analyzes one or multiple phases of the measured waveform [0004]-[0005], [0062]); detecting voltage values outside a predetermined voltage range on an interface connected to the electrical distribution network for a predetermined number of cycles (detecting when voltage drops below a predetermined threshold for a predetermined amount of time before triggering a power outage notification (PON) [0004], and further teaches a PON timer that times the period during which the voltage remains below the threshold, wherein the PON timer times out if the voltage remains below the threshold [0061]; Spalt further teaches processing the waveform for a predetermined number of cycles, which may refer to a number of waveform cycles [0063], [0107]-[0109]); determining that an outage event has started based on the voltage values outside the predetermined voltage range continuing for the predetermined number of cycles (triggering the PON responsive to the voltage remaining below the threshold until expiration of the PON timer [0061], [0109]); based on the determination that the outage event has started, determining a disturbance magnitude value (responsive to detecting the drop/PON, determining a rate of change metric from a derivative in time of an RMS voltage or current signal and generating a time series of the metric [0008]-[0009], [0063], [0107], wherein the metric values are normalized and compared and the magnitude of the metric is used in determining the relative location of meters with respect to the fault); and communicating the disturbance magnitude value to a communications module of the meter (communicating PON and associated RMS/rate of change information between metering devices and through the network for determining the location of the fault [0063], [0109]).
Spalt, however, does not explicitly teach storing the waveform data in a buffer; and,
based on the determination that the outage event has started, determining the disturbance magnitude value by accessing the stored waveform data and using the stored waveform data collected prior to a start of the outage event to calculate the disturbance magnitude value for the outage event, while the outage event continues: in response to determining that a first predetermined period of time has expired since the start of the outage event, entering a low power mode of operation; in response to determining that a second predetermined period of time has expired since the start of the outage event, determining that the outage event is a sustained outage event; and transmitting a message including the disturbance magnitude value by the communications module in response to determining that the outage event is a sustained outage event.
Muthu, in the relevant electrical power system event monitoring art, teaches obtaining electrical parameter signals including voltage and current signals and storing the waveform data in a buffer, wherein a data buffer temporarily stores the electrical parameter signal and occurrence of an electrical event causes the contents of the buffer to be captured as a data window [0026]-[0027]. Muthu further teaches that the data window includes data preceding and following the detected event, for example, approximately 2.5 seconds of data preceding the event and approximately 2.5 seconds following the event [0027], and thereafter analyzes the stored data window to characterize the electrical event, including analysis of RMS voltage/current levels and temporal or spectral characteristics of the voltage/current waveforms [0029]-[0030]. Muthu further teaches that the disclosed data acquisition and analysis may be incorporated into electrical transmission/distribution equipment, including power quality meters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spalt to store the collected waveform data in a buffer and, upon detection of the outage event, access the buffered waveform data including waveform data collected prior to the outage event for use in determining Spalt's disturbance metric, as taught by Muthu. Muthu teaches that retaining pre-event and post event electrical data in the buffer provides a data window for more detailed analysis of the detected electrical event [0026]-[0027]. Such modification would preserve the electrical conditions immediately preceding the detected outage and provide waveform information surrounding the outage for determining and characterizing Spalt's waveform derived disturbance metric.
Spalt as modified by Muthu, however, does not explicitly teach while the outage event continues: in response to determining that a first predetermined period of time has
expired since the start of the outage event, entering a low-power mode of operation; in
response to determining that a second predetermined period of time has expired since
the start of the outage event, determining that the outage event is a sustained outage
event; and transmitting a message including the disturbance magnitude value by the
communications module in response to determining that the outage event is a sustained
outage event.
Cardozo, in the relevant electrical power distribution meter outage detection and reporting art, teaches nodes including electricity meters associated with a power distribution network [0024], and teaches that following detection of a power outage at time T1 , the dying node performs an ordered shutdown between T1 and T2, including turning off the receiver, stopping communication functions and non-critical processor activities, shutting down high speed clocks, and maintaining powered a low consumption timer, thereby reducing energy consumption while the outage continues [0035], Fig. 2. Cardozo further teaches waiting for a predetermined sustained period 206 from T2 to T3, which may be several seconds to a minute and may be predetermined by the utility; at expiration of the sustained period, if power has not been restored and the node remains in the outage, the node determines that the outage is not momentary and sends a last gasp packet [0038], Fig. 2. Cardozo further teaches determining whether a predetermined sustained period of time has passed since the node detected the power outage, thereby determining whether the power outage is a momentary outage or a sustained outage [0049], Fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Spalt as modified by Muthu to incorporate Cardozo's post outage power management, sustained outage determination, and reporting technique, such that after a first predetermined post outage period sufficient to perform required outage processing, the meter enters a low power mode by shutting down non critical functions while maintaining low consumption timing functionality, and after expiration of a second predetermined period while power remains unavailable, determines that the outage is sustained and transmits an outage message including the previously determined disturbance magnitude value. Cardozo teaches performing an ordered shutdown after detecting the outage by turning off noncritical components and functions to reduce energy consumption while maintaining a low consumption timer [0035], and further teaches waiting for a predetermined sustained period before determining that an outage is not momentary and transmitting the last gasp message, thereby avoiding reporting momentary outages [0038], [0049]-[0050].
Regarding claim 2, Spalt does not explicitly teach wherein an application
program operating on the meter calculates the disturbance magnitude value, and
wherein determining a disturbance magnitude value includes notifying the application
program that the outage event has started and causing the application program to
access the stored waveform data and to calculate the disturbance magnitude value.
Muthu, in the relevant electrical power system event monitoring art, teaches a computing device integrated with the electrical data acquisition system and including a processor configured to execute instructions for performing electrical event detection and analysis, wherein electrical parameter signals, including voltage and current signals, are acquired and evaluated according to predetermined event selection criteria, and satisfaction of the event selection criteria causes the detected electrical event to be logged [0025]-[0026].
Muthu further teaches that a data buffer temporarily stores the electrical parameter signals and, upon occurrence of the detected event, the contents of the buffer are captured as a data window containing data preceding and following the event [0027], and that the stored data window is thereafter analyzed by the computing device to determine characteristics of the detected electrical event, including RMS voltage/current levels and temporal or spectral characteristics of the electrical signals [0029]-[0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the waveform buffer access and disturbance magnitude calculation of Spalt as modified by Muthu as an application program executed by the meter processor, and upon detection of the outage event, cause the application program to access the stored waveform data and calculate the disturbance magnitude value. Muthu teaches processor executed event detection and analysis in which satisfaction of predetermined event criteria causes the buffered electrical data associated with the event to be captured and subsequently analyzed. Implementing these processor executed functions as an application program and providing the detected outage indication to the application program to initiate the analysis would have been a predictable software implementation of Muthu's event triggered waveform analysis, allowing the meter processor to use the stored waveform data to perform Spalt's disturbance magnitude calculation.
Regarding claim 3, Spalt as modified by Muthu does not explicitly teach wherein entering a low-power mode of operation comprises: shutting down the application program; and operating the communications module in an idle mode.
Cardozo in a relevant art further teaches that, following detection of the power outage, the node performs an ordered shutdown to reduce energy consumption, including stopping communication functions, such as protocol activities and packet processing, shutting down non critical processor activities, shutting down high speed clocks, and maintaining only a low consumption timer needed for the sustained outage determination [0035], Fig. 2, further teaches that communication capability is subsequently used to transmit the last gasp packet after the sustained outage period has elapsed while the outage continues [0038]-[0040], thereby teaching maintaining the communication functionality in a reduced/inactive condition during the intervening period rather than continuously performing normal communication operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the low power operation of Spalt as modified by Muthu and Cardozo to shut down the application program after completion of the disturbance magnitude calculation and operate the communications module in an idle mode
until transmission of the outage message is required. Cardozo teaches shutting down noncritical processor activities and stopping communication functions during the outage to reduce energy consumption while retaining the functionality necessary for subsequent outage reporting.
Regarding claim 4, Spalt as modified further teaches wherein the meter is a
multi-phase meter and the voltage or current data for an electrical distribution network
includes voltage or current data for multiple phases (the metering devices monitor electrical characteristics of an electricity distribution grid, including voltage and current waveform information used in determining the electrical behavior associated with a fault. Spalt's metering arrangement is applicable to electrical distribution grid measurements involving the phases of the electrical service and performs the disclosed RMS/rate of change analysis on the measured voltage or current signals [0008]-[0011], [0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 5, Spalt as modified with Muthu further teaches wherein the message that includes the disturbance magnitude value is an outage notification message or the message that includes the disturbance magnitude value is separate from the outage notification message (triggering a power outage notification (PON) responsive to detecting the
fault condition and teaches communicating outage related information including measured RMS and rate of change information between metering devices [0008]-[0011], [0107]-[0109].
Cardozo further teaches transmitting a last gasp outage message after determining that the outage is not momentary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Spalt as modified by Muthu’s disturbance magnitude information in the outage notification transmitted according to Cardozo, since the disturbance magnitude is already available at the meter and is useful in determining the location of the fault. Including the available disturbance information in the outage notification would provide the receiving system with both notification of the outage and information useful for locating the associated fault in a single outage communication.
Regarding claim 6, Spalt as modified further teaches wherein the disturbance the electrical distribution network to a fault in the electrical distribution network associated with the outage event (generating, for metering devices affected by the outage, rate of change values whose magnitude represents the electrical behavior associated with the fault and arranging/comparing the information for meters at different locations on the distribution grid [0107]-[0111]. Spalt further teaches determining, based on the rate of change time series and predetermined pattern, the location of a metering device on the electricity distribution grid relative to the location of the fault, including determining that the meter is downstream of one subset of meters and upstream of another subset of meters [0009]-[0011]. Thus, the magnitude information associated with the respective meters is used to identify their relative locations with respect to the electrical fault.
Regarding claims 7, 19, Spalt as modified by Muthu does not explicitly teach
when the outage event terminates after the expiration of the first predetermined period of time and prior to the expiration of the second predetermined period of time, determining that the outage event is a momentary outage event; and storing information for the momentary outage event, including the disturbance magnitude value.
Cardozo in a relevant art teaches determining whether a predetermined sustained period has passed after detection of the outage for the purpose of distinguishing a momentary outage from a sustained outage [0049]. Cardozo further teaches that where communication from the affected node resumes during the sustained period, the outage is determined to be momentary, rather than sustained [0046]. Cardozo also teaches, upon detecting the outage, performing an ordered shutdown including saving relevant data to the storage device [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Spalt as modified by Muthu and Cardozo such that restoration of power after the first post outage period but before expiration of Cardozo's sustained outage period results in classification of the event as a momentary outage and storage of the information associated with that event, including the previously calculated disturbance magnitude value. Cardozo teaches distinguishing a momentary outage from a sustained outage based on restoration/activity during the sustained period and saving relevant outage data, while Spalt as modified by Muthu provides the disturbance information associated with the detected fault. Storing the already determined disturbance magnitude together with the momentary outage information would preserve the available event information for subsequent outage analysis and reporting.
Regarding claims 8, 20, Spalt further teaches wherein the meter maintains
the buffer to include waveform data for a predetermined number of recent cycles (processing electrical waveform information over a predetermined number of waveform cycles, wherein the number of cycles may be preset or preconfigured by the operator [0107]-[0108]).
Muthu further teaches continuously acquiring electrical parameter signals and temporarily storing the acquired signals in a data buffer, wherein the buffer maintains a configurable window of recently acquired data such that, upon detection of an electrical event, the captured data window includes electrical data occurring before the event and after the event; an exemplary arrangement maintains approximately 2.5 seconds of pre event data and 2.5 seconds of post event data [0026]-[0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Muthu's waveform buffer in the modified Spalt meter to maintain a predetermined number of the most recent waveform cycles. Muthu teaches maintaining a configurable amount of recently acquired pre event waveform information in the buffer, while Spalt teaches defining waveform processing intervals according to a predetermined number of waveform cycles. Expressing the size of Muthu's rolling pre event waveform window as a predetermined number of AC waveform cycles would have been a predictable implementation of the disclosed configurable buffer, providing a defined amount of recent waveform information for analysis when the outage event is detected.
Regarding claim 9, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Spalt (US 2022/0399718 A1) in view of Muthu-Mannivannan (US 2009/0150686 A1; hereinafter "Muthu"), and further in view of Cardozo et al. (US 2020/0379023 A1; hereinafter "Cardozo") as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Spalt further teaches determining a plurality of disturbance magnitude values, each disturbance magnitude value associated with a different time period; storing the disturbance magnitude values; and, based on the determination that the outage event has started, retrieving one of the stored disturbance magnitude values that corresponds to a time period prior to the start of the outage event (determining a plurality of waveform derived rate of change values over time, wherein the rate of change metric is determined from an RMS voltage or current signal and the values are used to generate a time series over a predetermined number of waveform cycles [0107]-[0110].
Muthu teaches retaining electrical waveform information associated with different time periods in a buffer, including information preceding a detected electrical event, and subsequently using the retained pre event information for analysis of the detected event [0026]-[0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store Spalt's waveform derived disturbance values corresponding to respective time periods, as suggested by Muthu's retention of time associated electrical event information, such that upon detection of an outage the previously determined disturbance value corresponding to a pre outage time period could be retrieved for outage analysis and reporting.
Regarding claim 10, Spalt as modified by Muthu does not teach after the expiration of the first predetermined period of time and prior to the expiration of the second predetermined period of time, determining that the outage event has terminated; determining that the outage event is a momentary outage event; and storing information
for the momentary outage event, including the disturbance magnitude value for the time
period prior to the start of the outage event.
Cardozo teaches using a predetermined sustained period to distinguish a momentary outage from a sustained outage. Cardozo teaches that if communication from the affected node resumes during the sustained period, the outage is determined to be momentary, whereas if the outage persists through the sustained period, the outage is determined to be sustained [0046], [0049]. Cardozo further teaches saving relevant outage data to a storage device as part of the outage handling process [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Spalt as modified by Muthu and Cardozo such that restoration of power after the first post outage period but before expiration of the second sustained outage period results in determining that the outage has terminated and classifying the event as a momentary outage, and to store the information associated with that momentary outage, including the previously determined pre outage disturbance magnitude value. Cardozo teaches identifying an outage as momentary when service/activity resumes before expiration of the sustained outage period and saving relevant outage data, while Spalt as modified by Muthu provides the previously determined pre outage disturbance magnitude value. Storing that available disturbance magnitude with the momentary outage information would preserve the electrical conditions associated with the event for subsequent outage analysis and reporting.
Regarding claim 11, Spalt as modified by Muthu further teaches transmitting an event reporting message, wherein the event reporting message includes information on the momentary outage event, including the disturbance magnitude value for the momentary outage event (transmitting outage related information, including measured RMS and rate of change information, between metering devices and through the network for fault analysis [0107]-[0109]).
Cardozo teaches communicating outage related messages through the meter network and teaches distinguishing a momentary outage from a sustained outage based on whether
communication/activity resumes during the sustained period [0046]-[0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit an event reporting message containing the stored information for the momentary outage determined according to claim 10, including the associated disturbance magnitude value. Spalt as modified by Muthu teaches communicating waveform derived disturbance information for outage and fault analysis, while Cardozo teaches determining whether an outage is momentary or sustained. Communicating the stored disturbance information for a momentary outage would provide the receiving system with information useful for recording and analyzing the electrical event even though the outage terminated before becoming sustained.
Regarding claim 12, Spalt as modified further teaches wherein transmission of the
event reporting message is responsive to a query from a remote system or is based on a reporting schedule (network communication between metering devices and a remote
computing/data processing system for providing and processing electrical outage information,
including information used to determine the location of the fault [0011], [0109].
Regarding claim 13, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 9, as disclosed by Spalt (US 2022/0399718 A1) in view of Muthu-Mannivannan (US 2009/0150686 A1; hereinafter "Muthu"), and further in view of Cardozo et al. (US 2020/0379023 A1; hereinafter "Cardozo") as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 9. Spalt as modified further teaches a central system configured to communicate with the meter and with additional meters in the electrical distribution network; receive the disturbance magnitude value from the meter; receive additional disturbance magnitude values from the additional meters; identify a fault location based on the disturbance magnitude value and the additional disturbance magnitude values; and identify an asset of the electrical distribution network based on the fault location (a central data processing system communicating with a plurality of metering devices located at different locations on an electricity distribution grid. The respective metering devices determine values associated with an electrical characteristic during an outage, such as rate of change values, and transmit the values to the data processing system. The data processing system compares the waveform characteristics received from the respective meters and determines whether the meters are upstream of, downstream of, or relatively near the fault, thereby identifying the location of the fault within the electrical distribution grid [0005]-[0006]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Spalt's identification of the location of the fault within the electrical distribution grid reasonably reads on identifying an asset of the electrical distribution network based on the fault location, since locating the physical fault within the distribution grid identifies the distribution grid component or asset associated with that fault location for purposes of locating and repairing the source of the outage. Spalt expressly explains that determining the location of the fault is used to locate the source or epicenter of the outage and reduce the time required to locate and repair the physical fault and restore power [0003]-[0006].
Regarding claim 14, Spalt does not explicitly teach wherein an application
program operating on the meter calculates the disturbance magnitude value, and
wherein determining a disturbance magnitude value includes notifying the application
program that the outage event has started and causing the application program to
access the stored waveform data and to calculate the disturbance magnitude value.
Muthu further teaches a computer program product comprising instructions executed by one or more processors to acquire and analyze electrical power system data containing a power system event, and further teaches performing the analysis on a stored data window containing
waveform information occurring before and after the event. Muthu further teaches identifying the occurrence of an electrical event according to predetermined criteria and, when the criteria are satisfied, declaring that the event is present and storing the associated data window for
analysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the waveform buffer access and disturbance magnitude calculation of Spalt as modified by Muthu as an application program executed by the meter processor and, upon detection of the outage event, cause the application program to access the stored waveform data and calculate the disturbance magnitude value. Muthu teaches processor executed event detection and analysis in which detection of an electrical event results in retention and subsequent analysis of the associated waveform data. Implementing these processor executed functions as an application program and providing the detected outage indication to the application program to initiate the analysis would have been a predictable software implementation of Muthu's event triggered waveform analysis.
Regarding claim 15, Spalt as modified by Muthu does not explicitly teach wherein entering a low-power mode of operation comprises shutting down the application program and operating the communications module in an idle mode.
Cardozo teaches that following detection of the power outage the node performs an ordered shutdown to reduce energy consumption, including stopping communication functions, shutting down non critical processor activities and high speed clocks, and maintaining only the functionality needed during the sustained outage period. Cardozo further teaches shutting down the node before transmission of the last gasp packet by saving context information and/or turning off components of the node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Cardozo's post outage power management technique to the application program Spalt as modified by Muthu and the meter communications module, such that the application program is shut down after completion of the disturbance magnitude calculation and the communications module remains idle until transmission is required. Such operation would predictably reduce energy consumption during the continuing outage while retaining the communication functionality needed for subsequent outage reporting.
Regarding claim 17, Spalt as modified by Muthu further teaches wherein the central system generates different outage communications for a premises associated with the meter and another premises associated with one of the additional meters based on the disturbance
magnitude value and the additional disturbance magnitude values (receiving waveform derived rate of change information from a plurality of metering devices at different locations in the distribution grid and using the respective values to distinguish the locations of the meters relative to the fault, including whether respective meters are upstream, downstream, or relatively near the fault.
Cardozo further teaches a headend outage reporting system in which outage messages identify the respective affected node and include information associated with the outage at that node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate different outage communications for premises associated with different meters based on the respective disturbance information received from those meters. Spalt as modified by Muthu teaches that the respective disturbance values distinguish the meters' relationships to the fault, while Cardozo teaches outage communications associated with identified nodes. Using the meter specific disturbance information when generating outage communications for the corresponding premises would predictably provide outage information appropriate to the respective premises based on its determined relationship to the fault.
Regarding claim 18, Spalt as modified further teaches wherein the central system determines an outage area using the disturbance magnitude value and the additional disturbance magnitude values and generates an image of the outage area that includes an indication of the fault location (central data processing system receiving rate of change/disturbance information from a plurality of metering devices and plotting the values from the individual metering devices on a map. The system compares the characteristics received from the meters to determine whether the respective meters are upstream of, downstream of, or relatively near the fault, thereby identifying the fault location within the distribution grid, further explains that the distributed meter information is used to determine the relative distance of the metering devices to the fault and thereby locate the fault within the affected portion of the utility grid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the disturbance information received from the plurality of affected meters to determine the corresponding outage area and display that outage area together with an indication of the determined fault location on Spalt's map. Spalt already teaches plotting the meter specific disturbance information on a map and using that information to determine the meters' positions relative to the fault. Displaying the resulting affected area and fault location on that map would have been a predictable presentation of the outage and fault location information to facilitate identification and repair of the outage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or teaches the claimed combinations, or feature the following:
Re-claim 16, The system of claim 13, wherein the central system reconfigures the identified asset to restore power to at least one premises.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Smith (U.S. Publictaion 20130054162) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR DETERMINING CONDITIONS OF POWER LINES
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858