DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 6/02/26 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0259896 to Sachs et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0191746 to Cai.
a. As per claim 1, Sachs et al teaches an apparatus for implementing a session management function (SMF) (See paragraph [01241 and 1436]), comprising: at least one memory (See paragraph [0655 and 1284]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See paragraph [1284]) and configured to cause the apparatus to: construct, for a specific user equipment (UE) (See paragraph [0013, 1276, 1369]) or Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (See paragraph [1347]), stream information and PDU set integrated packet handling information (See paragraph [1255]), for a service wherein the stream information includes at least one stream indicator each indicating a stream associated with XR traffic (See paragraph [0717and 1347] and Table 2 ( Augmented Reality) , An identifier for the data stream may be established to enable it to be distinguished from other data streams), and the PDU set integrated packet handling information includes a respective indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with each stream indicator (See paragraph [1347], the identifier may be unique within the PDU session); and transmita UE can communicate data packets to a device and/or application on an external network (e.g., the Internet) by sending them via a serving gNB to a user plane function (UPF)). However, Sachs et al fails to teach wherein the service is an Extended Reality (XR) service.
Cai teaches wherein the service is an augmented Reality application (See paragraph [0038 and 0048]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cai in the claimed invention of Sachs et al in order to eliminate unwanted latency from an application session utilizing extended reality service.
b. As per claim 7, Sachs et al teaches a network node comprising: (See paragraph [1284]) and configured to cause the network node to: receive, from a session management function (SMF) (See paragraph [1255, 1299, 2349 and 2385]) for a specific user equipment (UE) and Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (See paragraph [1255, 1299. 2349 and 2385]), stream information and an associated PDU set integrated packet handling information for a service, wherein the stream information includes at least one stream indicator each indicating a stream associated with XR traffic (See paragraph [0717, 1347], An identifier for the data stream may be established to enable it to be distinguished from other data streams), and the PDU set integrated packet handling information includes a respective an indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with each stream indicator (See paragraph [1347], the identifier may be unique within the PDU session); and handle each stream indicated by the at least one stream indicator included contained in the stream information according to the indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with the stream indicator indicating the stream (See paragraph [1322 and 1329], An identifier might be added to data packets inside of PDU sessions or QoS Flows to differentiate multiple TSN/Ethernet streams within the same session or flow (thus the identifier is for a particular TSN/Ethernet stream). For example, the identifier may be used instead of the Ethernet header fields removed statically for transmission; an 8-bit header might be sufficient to separate TSN streams inside sessions or flows). However, Sachs et al fails to teach wherein the service is an Extended Reality (XR) service.
Cai teaches wherein the service is an augmented Reality application (See paragraph [0038 and 0048]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cai in the claimed invention of Sachs et al in order to eliminate unwanted latency from an application session utilizing extended reality service.
c. As per claim 12, Sachs et al teaches a method performed by a session management function (SMF) (See paragraph [1241 and 2192]) , the method comprising: constructing, for a specific user equipment (UE) or Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session, stream information and PDU set integrated packet handling information for service, (See paragraph [1255, 1299. 2349 and 2385]), wherein the stream information includes at least one stream indicator each indicating a stream associated with XR traffic (See paragraph [0717and 1347] and Table 2 ( Augmented Reality) , An identifier for the data stream may be established to enable it to be distinguished from other data streams), and the PDU set integrated packet handling information includes a respective an indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with each stream indicator (See paragraph [1347], the identifier may be unique within the PDU session); and transmitting the constructed stream information and PDU set integrated packet handling information to a User Plane Function (UPF) or Radio Access Network (RAN) node (See paragraph [1241], a UE can communicate data packets to a device and/or application on an external network (e.g., the Internet) by sending them via a serving gNB to a user plane function (UPF)). However, Sachs et al fails to teach wherein the service is an Extended Reality (XR) service.
Cai teaches wherein the service is an augmented Reality application (See paragraph [0038 and 0048]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cai in the claimed invention of Sachs et al in order to eliminate unwanted latency from an application session utilizing extended reality service.
d. As per claim 17, Sachs et al teaches a method performed by a network node, comprising: receiving, from a session management function (SMF) (See paragraph [1241 and 2192]), for a specific user equipment (UE) and Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session , stream information and an associated PDU set integrated packet handling information for a service, (See paragraph [1255, 1299, 2349 and 2385]), wherein the stream information includes at least one stream indicator each indicating a stream associated with XR traffic (See paragraph [0717and 1347] and Table 2 ( Augmented Reality) , An identifier for the data stream may be established to enable it to be distinguished from other data streams), and the PDU set integrated packet handling information includes a respective indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with each stream indicator (See paragraph [1347], the identifier may be unique within the PDU session); and handling each stream indicated by the at least one stream indicator included in the stream information according to the indication for PDU set integrated packet handling associated with the at least one stream indicator indicating the stream (See paragraph [1322 and 1329], An identifier might be added to data packets inside of PDU sessions or QoS Flows to differentiate multiple TSN/Ethernet streams within the same session or flow (thus the identifier is for a particular TSN/Ethernet stream). For example, the identifier may be used instead of the Ethernet header fields removed statically for transmission; an 8-bit header might be sufficient to separate TSN streams inside sessions or flows). However, Sachs et al fails to teach wherein the service is an Extended Reality (XR) service.
Cai teaches wherein the service is an augmented Reality application (See paragraph [0038 and 0048]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cai in the claimed invention of Sachs et al in order to eliminate unwanted latency from an application session utilizing extended reality service.
e. As per claims 2 and 13, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to construct the stream information and the associated PDU set integrated packet handling information based on pre-configuration (See paragraph (See paragraph [1338]) wherein the stream information includes at least one of a 5G Quality of Service Identifier (5QI), slice/service type (SST) or Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), a Data Network Name (DNN), or an application identifier (appId) (See paragraph [1266 and 1272], identifiers of one or more quality-of-service (QoS) flows associated with the data stream).
f. As per claims 3, 14 and 20, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to construct the stream information and the associated PDU set integrated packet handling information based on Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rules provided by a Policy Control Function (PCF) (See paragraph [2257]), wherein the stream information includes at least one of a Quality of Service Flow ID (QFI), a stream ID, a frame type, an importance value, or a service data flow filter (See paragraph [1933, 1941 and 1981], Mapping of QoS Flow ID (QFI) selected by UE to TSN stream QoS).
g. As per claims 4, 11 and 15, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein if the indication for PDU set integrated packet handling is true, the associated PDU set integrated packet handling information further includes at least one of a discard indication for dependency, a discard timer, or a discard type (See paragraph [1076 and 1336], Packets that have to be retransmitted or buffered because of a context unawareness lead to packet latencies that are most likely unacceptable. It would be better to either discard the packet or reuse an old (or as introduced in this disclosure, statically configured) context instead).
h. As per claim 5, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the constructed stream information including at least one of a Quality of Service Flow ID (QFI), an application identifier (appId),a service data flow filter, a frame type, or an importance value, and the associated PDU set integrated packet handling information to the UPF (See paragraph [1319-1323]).
i. As per claims 6 and 16, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus transmit the constructed stream information including at least one of a Quality of Service Flow ID (QFI}, a stream ID, a frame type, or an importance value, and the associated PDU set integrated packet handling information to the RAN node (See paragraph [1266]).
j. As per claims 8 and 18, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the network node is a user plane function (UPF) or a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (See paragraph [0773, 1241]).
k. As per claims 9 and 19, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node to provide a downstream node with discard PDU set information associated with a PDU set if the PDU set is not received completely (See paragraph [ (See paragraph [0722 and 1336]).
l. As per claims 10 and 20, Sachs et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Sachs et al teaches wherein the stream information includes at least one of a5G Quality of Service Identifier (5QI), a slice/service type (SST) or Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI), a Data Network Name (DNN), an application identifier (appId), a QoS Flow ID (QFI), a stream ID,a frame type, an importance value, or a service data flow filter (See paragraph [1933 and 1941], QoS Flow IDs (QFIs).
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444