DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merli et al. (US 2013/0281326 – cited previously) in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA herein).
With respect to independent claim 1, Merli et al. discloses a method, comprising:
(a) adding from 0.02-5% by weight ([0021]-[0022]) of a dual function additive ([0026]) to a water based drilling fluid ([0031]-[0034]), wherein the dual function additive is an aqueous solution of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine in a weight ratio between 0.2 and 1.3 ([0026]; [0031]) and having a pH from 9 to 11 ([0039]; [0048]; [0051]); and
(b) drilling a borehole with a drilling bit in swellable and dispersive clay soils ([0005], wherein drilling fluid is circulated to carry cuttings from the bit to the surface, cool and clean the drill bit, reduce friction between the drill string and drilled hole and to stabilize uncased sections of the well; [0010], wherein the fluid is used in drilling operations as a drilling fluid) in the presence of the water based drilling fluid that contains the dual function additive ([0033]),
wherein the clays are swellable and dispersive ([0003], wherein the clays are disclosed as swellable; [0006]-[0007], wherein the formation solids, i.e., clay minerals, become dispersed in the drilling fluid, thereby providing for dispersive clays; [0040], wherein the shale is dispersed in a sample); and
(c) improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils ([0005], wherein drilling fluid is circulated to stabilize uncased sections of the well and [0020], wherein the clays are stabilized, thereby improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils).
With regard to the instantly claimed weight ratio of hexylenediamine and dihexylenediamine, the Examiner notes, Merli et al. suggests ratios thereof overlapping the range as disclosed by Applicant on page 7 ([0031]), and, further, specifies an exemplary additive that is the same as that disclosed by Applicant of CAS No. 68411-90-5; although silent to explicitly reciting the specific range instantly claimed, since the suggested amounts of Merli et al. overlap such a range, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the optimal weight ratio thereof to employ in order to effectively inhibit hydration of clays therewith and, thereby, improve the rate of penetration of the drill bit since it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 wherein it was held "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Additionally, the Examiner notes, obviousness can be shown in a predictable art when a difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In re Brandt, 886 F. 3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The instant specification fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed weight ratio of between 0.2 and 1.3 as critical, as further exemplified by the lack of disclosure thereof. Since Merli et al. discloses the use of one of the same additives disclosed as suitable by Applicant, i.e., CAS No. 68411-90-5, and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using an additive having a weight ratio as instantly claimed, wherein such stabilizes a clay and dispersive soil containing formation, it does not appear that such would be considered an unexpected result of using the presently claimed weight ratio, and, as such, the determination of optimal weight ratio would be achievable through routine experimentation in the art.
Although silent to explicitly disclosing “improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils, Merli et al. discloses the use of the same commercially available blend of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine that is described for use as such in the instant specification on page 6, line 16, i.e., CAS No. 68411-90-5. The reference further discloses the use of the same amount thereof in the water based drilling fluid, i.e., 0.2-5 wt%. As such, the CAS No. 68411-90-5 of Merli et al. would be expected to act in the same manner as claimed, i.e., “improve” a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation since it has been held “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If there is any difference between the dual function additive of Merli et al. and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious. See MPEP 2112.01(1), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 1 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934). Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102.” See MPEP 2112(111) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
Merli et al. discloses wherein the swellable clay and clay soils are dispersive, as set forth above; the reference, however, fails to explicitly identify such as dispersive according to ASTM D4647/4647M, as instantly claimed.
AAPA recites on page 4 of the specification as filed, lines 1-7:
Dispersive clay soils are characterized by their tendency to disaggregate in presence of water and by detachments that lead to problems of stability. Various methods are known to identify dispersive soils, some of which are standardized methods. Here we mention the double hydrometer test (Test method ASTM D4221-18), the pinhole dispersion test (Test method ASTM D4647/D4647M), the crumb test (Test method ASTM D6572) and the pore water extraction test (Test method ASTM D4542).
Since Merli et al. discloses wherein the clay soils indeed disperse as it is suggested during drilling operations formation solids, such as clay minersl, may disperse into the drilling fluid ([0006]-[0007]) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try the methods of Merli et al. when drilling a formation containing clays that are dispersive according to ASTM D4647/4647M in order to yield the predictable result of effectively stabilizing the dispersive clays therein. Such a standard is but one of a finite number of standards known to one having ordinary skill in the art that is used to identify dispersive soils, as taught by AAPA, and, as such, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the suitability thereof as used to determine the dispersibility of the clay of the formation treated by the method of Merli et al. in order to yield predictable results. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
With respect to independent claim 12, Merli et al. discloses a method comprising:
drilling a wellbore with the drilling bit in swellable and dispersive clay soils ([0003],
wherein the clays are disclosed as swellable; [0006]-[0007], wherein the formation solids, i.e., clay minerals, become dispersed in the drilling fluid, thereby providing for dispersive clays as claimed; [0020]) using a water-based drilling fluid ([0031]-[0034]),
wherein the water-based drilling fluid comprises from 0.02-5% by weight ([0021]-[0022]) of a dual function additive ([0026]),
wherein the dual function additive is an aqueous solution of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine in a weight ratio between 0.2 and 1.3 ([0026]; [0031]) and having a pH from 9 to 11 ([0039]; [0048]; [0051]), wherein the dual function additive improves lubrication of the drilling bit ([0005], wherein drilling fluids are used to reduce friction and thereby “improve” lubrication),
wherein the clays are swellable and dispersive ([0003], wherein the clays are disclosed as swellable; [0006]-[0007], wherein the formation solids, i.e., clay minerals, become dispersed in the drilling fluid, thereby providing for dispersive clays; [0040], wherein the shale is dispersed in a sample); and
improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils ([0003], wherein the clays are disclosed as swellable; [0006]-[0007], wherein the formation solids, i.e., clay minerals, become dispersed in the drilling fluid, thereby providing for dispersive clays as claimed; [0020], wherein the clays are stabilized, thereby improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils).
With regard to the instantly claimed weight ratio of hexylenediamine and dihexylenediamine, the Examiner notes, Merli et al. suggests ratios thereof overlapping the range as disclosed by Applicant on page 7 ([0031]), and, further, specifies an exemplary additive that is the same as that disclosed by Applicant of CAS No. 68411-90-5; although silent to the explicitly noting the specific range instantly claimed, since the suggested amounts of Merli et al. overlap such a range, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the optimal weight ratio thereof to employ in order to effectively inhibit hydration of clays therewith and, thereby, improve the rate of penetration of the drill bit since it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 wherein it was held "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Additionally, the Examiner notes, obviousness can be shown in a predictable art when a difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In re Brandt, 886 F. 3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The instant specification fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed weight ratio of between 0.2 and 1.3 as critical, as further exemplified by the lack of disclosure thereof. Since Merli et al. discloses the use of one of the same additives disclosed as suitable by Applicant, i.e., CAS No. 68411-90-5, and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using an additive having a weight ratio as instantly claimed, wherein such stabilizes a clay and dispersive soil containing formation, it does not appear that such would be considered an unexpected result of using the presently claimed weight ratio, and, as such, the determination of optimal weight ratio would be achievable through routine experimentation in the art.
Although silent to explicitly disclosing “improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils, Merli et al. discloses the use of the same commercially available blend of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine that is described for use as such in the instant specification on page 6, line 16, i.e., CAS No. 68411-90-5. The reference further discloses the use of the same amount thereof in the water based drilling fluid, i.e., 0.2-5 wt%. As such, the CAS No. 68411-90-5 of Merli et al. would be expected to act in the same manner as claimed, i.e., “improve” a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation since it has been held “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If there is any difference between the dual function additive of Merli et al. and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious. See MPEP 2112.01(1), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 1 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934). Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102.” See MPEP 2112(111) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
Merli et al. discloses wherein the swellable clay and clay soils are dispersive, as set forth above; the reference, however, fails to explicitly identify such as dispersive according to ASTM D4647/4647M, as instantly claimed.
AAPA recites on page 4 of the specification as filed, lines 1-7:
Dispersive clay soils are characterized by their tendency to disaggregate in presence of water and by detachments that lead to problems of stability. Various methods are known to identify dispersive soils, some of which are standardized methods. Here we mention the double hydrometer test (Test method ASTM D4221-18), the pinhole dispersion test (Test method ASTM D4647/D4647M), the crumb test (Test method ASTM D6572) and the pore water extraction test (Test method ASTM D4542).
Since Merli et al. discloses wherein the clay soils indeed disperse as it is suggested during drilling operations formation solids, such as clay minersl, may disperse into the drilling fluid ([0006]-[0007]) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try the methods of Merli et al. when drilling a formation containing clays that are dispersive according to ASTM D4647/4647M in order to yield the predictable result of effectively stabilizing the dispersive clays therein. Such a standard is but one of a finite number of standards known to one having ordinary skill in the art that is used to identify dispersive soils, as taught by AAPA, and, as such, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the suitability thereof as used to determine the dispersibility of the clay of the formation treated by the method of Merli et al. in order to yield predictable results. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 13, Merli et al. discloses wherein the dual function additive is a mixture of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine, and, further, wherein a commercially available example thereof is CAS No. 68411-90-5 ([0026]); further description of such shows wherein higher polyamines may be present in an amount of 0-20 wt% ([0031]). The Examiner notes, such a commercially available example is described in the instant specification on page 6, line 16, as a suitable mixture of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine for use in the instant method and further described beginning at line 20 wherein such may contain 1-50 wt%/1-25 wt% of amines having a boiling point higher than 330oC. Although Merli et al. is silent to the boiling point of the higher polyamines present in the mixture, since Merli et al. suggests the same commercially available example thereof as Applicant, as well as wherein higher polyamines may be present therein, it is the position of the Office that such would also have a presence of high boiling point amines therein as claimed since it has been held “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present, i.e., in the instant case, the weight percent of higher boiling point amines therein. If there is any difference between the dual function additive of Merli et al. and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious; since Merli et al. suggests the presence of higher polyamines in the mixture, as well as provides for the same commercially available example of the mixture disclosed by Applicant to contain a percentage of amines with such a boiling point, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize an optimal weight percent thereof to include in the mixture since it has been held wherein generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). Additionally, the Examiner notes, obviousness can be shown in a predictable art when a difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In re Brandt, 886 F. 3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The instant specification fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed weight percent of amines having a boiling point as claimed as critical and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using such a percentage thereof. Since the additive of Merli et al. is disclosed to include the same commercially available form disclosed by Applicant as suitable for use, and, further, effectively inhibits clay swelling in subterranean formations, it does not appear that such would be considered an unexpected result of further including the presently claimed weight percent of amines having a boiling point as claimed, and, as such, the determination of optimal percent thereof would be achievable through routine experimentation in the art.
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 14, Merli et al. discloses wherein the pH of the aqueous dual function additive solution is adjusted by addition of one as claimed ([0023]; [0048]; [0051]).
With respect to dependent claims 6 and 15, Merli et al. discloses wherein the water based drilling fluid has pH as claimed ([0039]; [0048]; [0051]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of claims over Merli et al. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to each of independent claims 1 and 12, Applicant notes the amendments made to each and asserts:
Merli fails to disclose, teach, or suggest using a dual function additive in swellable and dispersive clay soils that are dispersive according to ASTM D4647/4647M.
Applicant asserts Merli discusses formation solids and clay minerals and does not define dispersive clay soils according to ASTM D4647/4647M or any other dispersive-soil identification method.
Applicant asserts clay minerals whose particles become dispersed in a circulating drilling fluid are not necessarily the same as clay soils that meet the dispersive criteria of such a standard.
The Examiner notes the new grounds of rejection, as set forth above, as it is the position of the Office that such a standard is a known standard; furthermore, dispersive clays, as defined by Applicant’s AAPA are those that disaggregate in presence of water by detachments that lead to problems of stability. Merli suggests wherein formation solids including clays become detached in the presence of a drilling fluid which leads to problems of stability. As such, one of ordinary skill would recognize to at least try the method of Merli in a formation containing clay soils according to such a standard.
Merli fails to disclose, teach or suggest using a dual function additive containing hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine in a weight ratio of between 0.2 and 1.3 to improve a rate of penetration of the drilling bit to reduce soil disaggregation in swellable and dispersive clay soils.
Applicant asserts improper inherency as Merli fails to disclose a dual function additive that improves a rate of penetration as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Merli explicitly discloses one of the same additives disclosed by Applicant, CAS No. 68411-90-5. Such is disclosed by Applicant to have a weight ratio of hexylenediamine and dihexylenetriamine in a range of 0.2 and 4; the specification fails to identify with sufficient specificity the criticality of a weight ratio of 1.3. Merli further discloses wherein use of such an additive stabilizes clay ([0020]), thereby suggesting improving a rate of penetration of the drilling bit and reducing soil disaggregation in the swellable and dispersive clay soils.
Applicant further asserts unexpected results and highlights Merli’s teaching of a claimed weight ratio from the composition set forth in [0031]. Applicant asserts such a broad ratio cannot support obviousness when the application shows unexpected results.
The Examiner notes, however, as set forth above, Merli provides a clear example that indeed has a weight ratio that is the same as identified by Applicant in the specification in the form of the use of the same chemical, i.e., CAS No. 68411-90-5 in [0026].
Applicant asserts the present record provides improved lubrication/ROP performance relative to other amine-based shale inhibitors.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., improved lubrication by lowering adhesion and/or large increase in inertizing index/decreasing adhesion between metal and damp clay) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, whether unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).
Although Applicant has identified examples having a ratio of 1.25, 1.26 and 0.44 from the examples, such does not clearly provide objective evidence for the entirety of the instantly claimed range.
Applicant’s further arguments pertaining to the dependent claims and concentration ranges of higher boiling amines in claims 3 and 13 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the mere fact that Merli discloses the same CAS number does not establish that Merli’s compositions satisfy the claimed concentration range of amines. However, it is the position of the Office the provision of such would indeed at least be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art when employing such a composition with the same CAS number in Merli for at least the reasons above.
Conclusion
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL08/17/26