DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 and 17 have been examined.
Claims 14-16 have been cancelled.
P = paragraph, e.g. p5 = paragraph 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring et al. USPAP 2020/0258331, and further in view of Asahi Technology Co. (Asahi), provided as an NPL by the applicant.
As per claim 1, 12, 13 and 17, Gonring discloses a remote watercraft maneuvering system/device/method/computer readable medium including a watercraft and an input device configured to receive an input manipulation for remotely manipulating the watercraft,
the watercraft having: an actuator having a function of generating a propulsion force of the watercraft and a function of causing the watercraft to generate a moment; a manipulation unit of the watercraft configured to receive an input manipulation for operating the actuator;
a watercraft position detection unit configured to detect a position of the watercraft; and
a communication unit of the watercraft configured to communicate with the input device,
a communication unit of the input device configured to communicate with the watercraft;
(ab, p’s 10-11, 19, 23, fig’s 3, 1, 2); figure 2 of Gonring discloses:
an input device position detection unit configured to detect a position of the input device;
a manipulation unit of the input device configured to receive an input manipulation for operating the actuator; and
a notification unit configured to provide a notification for a remote watercraft maneuverer using the input device,
wherein the actuator is operated in accordance with the input manipulation received by the manipulation unit of the watercraft in the normal watercraft maneuvering step,
wherein the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation and the actuator is operated in accordance with the input manipulation received by the manipulation unit of the input device in the remote watercraft maneuvering step,
wherein the remote watercraft maneuvering step comprises a distance calculation step in which a distance between the input device and the watercraft is calculated on the basis of the position of the input device detected by the input device position detection unit and the position of the watercraft detected by the watercraft position detection unit,
(ab; p’s 23, 19, 32-33, 44,47-48; fig’s 4, 5), p19 of Gonring discloses:
[0019] In one embodiment, the remote control system detects a fob signal and determines an operator distance based on the fob signal. The remote control system then generates a system command based on the operator distance in order to control one or more devices on the marine vessel. To provide one example, the remote control system may be configured to start one or more vessel systems as an operator approaches a marine vessel and reaches the threshold distance, and may similarly be configured to turn off one or more vessel systems as the operator leaves a marine vessel. In one embodiment, the controllers configured to compare the operator distance with one or more threshold distances and to generate the system commands as the operator reaches each of the one or more threshold distances. The controller may also be configured to determine an operator direction with respect to the marine vessel based on the fob signal, and to generate the at least one system command based further on the operator direction. As described herein, the controllable devices controlled by the remote control system may include any of various vessel systems, such as battery switches, vessel lights, propulsion systems, seat position, radio presets, environmental control devices or systems, or the like. Accordingly, the remote control system may automatically execute startup and shutdown routines as an operator approaches or walks away from their marine vessel.
wherein, while the remote watercraft maneuvering step is being executed,
the communication unit of the watercraft receives information indicating the position of the input device detected by the input device position detection unit from the input device, and
the communication unit of the watercraft transmits information indicating that the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to a threshold value to the input device, and the notification unit provides a notification for a remote watercraft maneuverer using the input device when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value, and
wherein the threshold value is smaller than a maximum value of the distance between the input device and the watercraft when communication between the communication unit of the input device and the communication unit of the watercraft is possible (p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 5, 3; ab; p’s 10-11)
Gonring discloses all the limitations of the invention, however, arguendo, if Gonring is or might be interpreted such that it might not explicitly disclose distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value, then Asahi discloses distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (pages 5-7, 1-2). If this interpretation is taken, then it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gonring to include distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value such as that taught by Asahi in order to have the vessel/drone to return to home point if it is more than 100 meters away (Asahi, page 5).
p’s 32-33 of Gonring discloses:
[0032] The remote control system 10 may be configured such that each fob 20, 22 is associated with a set of system commands that control operation of devices on the marine vessel accordingly when that fob is active, such as selected as the operator fob 20. Each set of system commands may be configurable by the user. In certain embodiments, each system command in the set of system commands may be associated with a threshold distance or one of a predefined set of threshold distances, which is the distance at which the system command is actuated. Alternatively or additionally, each system command may be associated with an operator direction, where certain system commands are generated when the operator is moving towards the marine vessel, and others are generated when the operator is moving away from the marine vessel.
[0033] FIG. 3 illustrates one example, where an operator 12 carrying an operator fob 20 is moving toward the marine vessel 14. Thus, the operator distance Do between the operator fob 20 and the helm transceiver 18 is decreasing over time. As the operator distance Do crosses one or more threshold distances R.sub.1, R.sub.2, R.sub.3, various system commands are generated. In the example, when the operator 12 crosses the threshold radius R.sub.3, a system command to turn on battery switches is generated. As the operator 12 keeps moving towards the marine vessel 14, the distance Do is continually monitored. When Do reaches the next threshold distance R.sub.2, a system command to turn on dock lights is generated. Then, when the operator distance Do reaches the next threshold R.sub.1, the engines 60 of the one or more propulsion devices 11 are started. As will be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art, the example of FIG. 3 merely illustrates exemplary system commands that may be effectuated at various threshold distances, and such examples are not limiting. Any of the various system commands may be generated at any number of thresholds. Likewise, various fobs may be associated with various system commands.
Figure 5 of Gonring discloses:
As per claim 2, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit is provided in the watercraft control device, wherein, in the remote watercraft maneuvering mode,
the communication unit of the watercraft receives information indicating the position of the input device detected by the input device position detection unit from the input device,
the processing unit of the watercraft control device calculates a distance between the input device and the watercraft on the basis of the position of the input device detected by the input device position detection unit and the position of the watercraft detected by the watercraft position detection unit,
the communication unit of the watercraft transmits information indicating that the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to a threshold value to the input device, and
the notification unit provides a notification for a remote watercraft maneuverer using the input device when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further,
Gonring discloses via p44,
[0044] The operator distance is compared to previously determined distances at step 106 to identify the operator direction. For example, the operator distance may be compared to an averaged or filtered value of previous distance measurements, or a change in operator distance may be determined and compared to previous changes in distance measurements or a filtered value of previous changes. Similarly, the operator distance determined at step 104 may be a filtered value, such as an average of three or more distance estimations. Thereby, the system can better avoid reacting to erroneous measurements resulting from interference or temporary obstruction of the fob signal, etc. The operator distance is compared to thresholds at step 108, where the thresholds are distances at which system commands are to be effectuated. When a distance threshold is crossed, step 110 is executed to select a system command from the set of system commands associated with the detected fob. The selected system command may also be based on the operator direction, as described above. The selected system command is then communicated on the vessel network at step 112 so as to effectuate control of the one or more devices on the network (e.g., battery switches 36, vessel lights 34, or engines 60 as shown in FIG. 3).
As per claim 3, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit of the watercraft control device changes a magnitude of the threshold value in accordance with an intensity of radio waves received by the communication unit of the watercraft from the input device (p26; fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via p26,
[0026] In one embodiment, the helm transceiver 18 of the remote control system 10 may be placed within the helm area 15 of a marine vessel. The helm transceiver 18 receives radio signals from a wireless operator fob 20 and/or from one or more subordinate fobs 22. In many embodiments, the helm transceiver may also be configured to transmit radio signals to the fobs 20, 22. The helm transceiver 18 may be permanently mounted to the helm area 15 such as mounted in or behind the dashboard near the steering wheel 54 and/or throttle/shift lever 68. The helm transceiver 18 is connected to a power source, such as to 12 volt DC power provided by a battery associated with the propulsion device 11. The helm transceiver 18 further communicates with one or more controllers 45 to indicate whether radio signals are being received from the operator fob 20 and/or subordinate fob(s) 22. In certain embodiments, the helm transceiver 18 and fob(s) 20, 22 may communicate to determine an operator distance between the respective fob and the helm transceiver 18, and in such embodiments, the helm transceiver 18 may further communicate the operator distance to the respective controller 45 for use by the remote control module 49.
As per claim 4, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit of the watercraft control device increases the threshold value as the intensity of the radio waves received by the communication unit of the watercraft from the input device increases (p’s 26, 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1) as per the discussion above.
As per claim 5, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit is provided in the input device,
wherein, in the remote watercraft maneuvering mode,
the communication unit of the input device receives information indicating the position of the watercraft detected by the watercraft position detection unit from the watercraft,
the processing unit of the input device calculates a distance between the input device and the watercraft on the basis of the position of the input device detected by the input device position detection unit and the position of the watercraft detected by the watercraft position detection unit (fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via p48,
[0048] If the operator fob remains within the threshold distance at step 124, then the system commands continue to be controlled based on the operator fob, represented at step 134. Once the operator fob crosses the threshold distance at step 124, instructions may be executed to determine whether the operator direction is moving away at step 126. If not, then the remote control system 10 may be configured to assume that the operator is not leaving the marine vessel and to continue to effectuate system commands based on the current operator fob. However, if the operator fob is moving away, then the one or more subordinate fobs may also be assessed at step 128 to determine if they are also moving away—e.g., everyone is leaving the marine vessel. If a subordinate fob remains on the marine vessel and is not moving away at step 128 then a new operator fob may be selected at step 130 from those one or more subordinate fobs 22 that remain on the marine vessel (e.g., are within the threshold distance) and are not moving away. Handoff instructions may be generated at step 132 to handoff the operator fob roll to the newly selected fob. For example, certain system commands may be generated or intentionally ignored to reconcile differences between the set of commands associated with the newly-selected operator fob and those associated with the previously-assigned operator fob.
As per claim 6, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit of the input device changes a magnitude of the threshold value in accordance with an intensity of radio waves received by the communication unit of the input device from the watercraft (p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 3,
As per claim 7, Gonring discloses wherein the processing unit of the input device increases the threshold value as the intensity of the radio waves received by the communication unit of the input device from the watercraft increases (fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48) as per the discussion above.
As per claim 8, Gonring discloses wherein the watercraft control device has an auto return mode in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation, the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation, and the actuator is operated so that the watercraft approaches the input device, and
wherein the watercraft control device switches the mode from the remote watercraft maneuvering mode to the auto return mode in a state in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation and the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 4,
As per claim 9, Gonring discloses wherein the watercraft control device has a fixed-point holding mode in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation, the
manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation, and the actuator is operated on the basis of a deviation between an actual watercraft position that is a position of the watercraft detected by the watercraft position detection unit and a target watercraft position that is a target position of the watercraft, and
wherein the watercraft control device switches the mode from the remote watercraft maneuvering mode to the fixed-point holding mode in a state in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation and the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 5,
As per claim 10, Gonring discloses 1, wherein the watercraft control device has an orientation holding mode in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation, the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation, and a bow orientation of the watercraft is held in a direction in which an intensity of radio waves received by the communication unit of the watercraft from the input device has a maximum value, and
wherein the watercraft control device switches the mode from the remote watercraft maneuvering mode to the orientation holding mode in a state in which the
manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation and the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48; fig’s 4, 2; ab) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via p’s 47-48:
[0047] In the example, instructions are executed at step 124 to determine whether an operator fob is within a threshold distance. For example, the threshold distance may be associated with the size of the marine vessel, such as to determine whether the operator fob remains on the marine vessel. In another example, the threshold distance may be one of the thresholds associated with one or more system commands. In still another example, the threshold distance may be slightly less than the threshold distance for certain system commands, such as a system command to turn off engines or turn off vessel lights.
[0048] If the operator fob remains within the threshold distance at step 124, then the system commands continue to be controlled based on the operator fob, represented at step 134. Once the operator fob crosses the threshold distance at step 124, instructions may be executed to determine whether the operator direction is moving away at step 126. If not, then the remote control system 10 may be configured to assume that the operator is not leaving the marine vessel and to continue to effectuate system commands based on the current operator fob. However, if the operator fob is moving away, then the one or more subordinate fobs may also be assessed at step 128 to determine if they are also moving away—e.g., everyone is leaving the marine vessel. If a subordinate fob remains on the marine vessel and is not moving away at step 128 then a new operator fob may be selected at step 130 from those one or more subordinate fobs 22 that remain on the marine vessel (e.g., are within the threshold distance) and are not moving away. Handoff instructions may be generated at step 132 to handoff the operator fob roll to the newly selected fob. For example, certain system commands may be generated or intentionally ignored to reconcile differences between the set of commands associated with the newly-selected operator fob and those associated with the previously-assigned operator fob.
As per claim 11, Gonring discloses wherein the watercraft comprises a bow orientation detection unit configured to detect a bow orientation of the watercraft,
wherein the communication unit of the watercraft comprises a communication antenna configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the input device,
wherein the communication antenna is arranged on a bow of the watercraft,
wherein the watercraft control device has an orientation holding mode in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation, the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation, and the bow orientation of the watercraft is held so that the bow of the watercraft is directed to the input device, and
wherein the watercraft control device switches the mode from the remote watercraft maneuvering mode to the fixed-point holding mode in a state in which the manipulation unit of the watercraft does not need to receive the input manipulation and the manipulation unit of the input device does not need to receive the input manipulation when the distance between the input device and the watercraft is greater than or equal to the threshold value (fig’s 4, 2; ab; p’s 10-11, 19, 23; fig’s 5, 3, 1; p’s 32-33, 44, 47-48) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 3:
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Combs (U.S. patent application publication 2020/0272152) discloses a
trolling motor system is provided including a wired or wireless controller and a trolling motor assembly configured for attachment to a watercraft. The trolling motor assembly includes a steering assembly configured to steer a trolling motor housing based on a steering command received from the wired or wireless controller in a remote mode, a handle configured to enable a user to steer the trolling motor housing in a local mode, a processor, and a memory including computer program code. The computer program code is configured to, when executed, cause the processor to receive one or more steering commands from the wired or wireless controller, cause the steering assembly to steer the trolling motor housing based on the one or more steering commands, receive an indication to enter the local mode, and disable the steering assembly in response to receiving the indication to enter the local mode.
Fyffe et al. (U.S. patent application publication 2020/0110188) discloses
delivering nodes to an ocean bottom. A system can include a tether management system (TMS) towed by a vessel that moves on the surface of the ocean in a first direction. An underwater vehicle (UV) can be connected to the TMS and can move in a second direction that is different from the first direction. A thruster can be coupled to the TMS can cause the TMS to move in a third direction that is different from the first direction. A control unit can control the thruster to move the TMS in the third direction based on a cross-line location policy, and cause the UV to deploy nodes to target locations on the ocean bottom.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop Amendment
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to (571)273-8300
Hand delivered responses should be brought to
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 3600 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is (571) 272-3600.
/Behrang Badii/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665