DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 01/26/2026 has been considered and entered. The response was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 9 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Patil et al. (US 2018/0223210) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Patil et al. (US 2018/0223210)
In regards to claim 1, Patil teaches low transition temperature mixtures (LTTMs) comprising eutectic mixture (i.e., deep eutectic solvent) of a quaternary amine and a polyol which can be useful as cobasestocks in a lubricating oil composition (abstract). The ratio of the quaternary amine to the polyol is from 1:1 to 1:9 or 1:4 [0011, 0043]. The quaternary amine may be choline chloride (CC) or betaine and the polyol can be glycerol (i.e., glycerin) [0030, 0031]. The LTTMs are useful as synthetic basestock [0044]. It can be present in as at composition comprising 100% of the eutectic mixture when not mixed with a co-basestock. Alternatively, it can be mixed with Group I to V base oil as a co-basestock [0055 – 0057]. Other known additives may also be added to the composition [0082]. Since betaine is useful in the place of choline chloride as the amine compound, the composition can be chlorine free and provide the amount of chlorine (i.e., halogen atom) as claimed. Patil teaches the composition comprising betaine having the claimed structure wherein the groups analogous to R1 to R3 are hydrocarbon having 1 carbon atom each (methyl) [0030].
In regards to claim 9, Patil teaches the composition which can comprise lubricant additives as previously stated.
In regards to claim 10, Patil teaches the composition which is a lubricant and thus would intrinsically provide the claimed method when used for lubrication.
In regards to claims 11, 12, Patil teaches the composition comprising the mixture of the claimed ingredients and thus provide the claimed method. Steps of preparing the eutectic mixture are also discussed including mixing them and stirring for some time [0044 – 0051].
Claims 1, 6, 9 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Patil et al. (US 2016/0122676) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Patil et al. (US 2016/0122676) hereinafter cited as Patil ‘676.
In regards to claim 1, Patil’676 teaches deep eutectic solvent useful as lubricating basestock (abstract). The eutectic solvent comprises hydrogen bond acceptor such as betaine and hydrogen bond donor such as malic acid [0044 – 0047]. The solvent is a cobasestock in a lubricating oil composition which is mixed with a Group I to V base oil at amounts of from about 1 to about 50% in the composition [0084 – 0096]. The lubricant composition can also comprise other additives at amounts of from 5 to 50% [0097]. Patil’676 teaches the composition having betaine in the eutectic composition. Betaine has a structure such that in the compound of the claim, R1 to R3 are methyl (C1 hydrocarbon) and n is 1.
In regards to claim 6, Patil’676 teaches the composition comprising Group I to V oils which are mineral and synthetic oils.
In regards to claim 9, Patil’676 teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 10, Patil’676 teaches the composition which is useful as a lubricating oil composition and thus when used for lubricating will intrinsically provide the method of lubrication as claimed.
In regards to claims 11, 12, Patil’676 teaches the composition comprising the blend of the claimed components and thus provides the method of producing the lubricant as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Patil does not teach that the eutectic solvent comprises the hydrogen donor and acceptor compounds of the claims. The argument is not persuasive.
Patil teaches the hydrogen donor and acceptor compounds which can be used alone as lubricant and thus provides the claimed solvent.
Applicant argues that Patil fails to recite combination of the betaine compound with glycerin or malic acid as claimed. The argument is not persuasive.
The Patil references recite mixtures that can comprise betaine and glycerin or malic acid as claimed.
Applicant argues that the mixture provides improvements over the prior art. The argument is not persuasive.
The composition of Patil would be expected to have the same improvements. To the extent that applicant is attempting to demonstrate unexpectedly improved results, the examiner notes that the inventive examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the claims allow for the use of any betaine of the formula 1, the inventive examples require one specific compound which does not support the breadth of the claims as the R groups are strictly methyl groups.
While the claims allow for the betaine and the glycerin or malic acid to be at ratios of from 25:75 and 75:25, the inventive examples require one strict ratio of betaine to glycerin and one strict ratio of betaine to malic acid which does not support the breadth of the claims nor demonstrate criticality of the claimed range.
The results are not persuasive.
The results merely demonstrate intrinsic activities of different components and do not demonstrate synergism or criticality. The is not demonstration of what would have been expected to show why the results would be considered unexpected.
Therefore, applicant fails to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the claims and that demonstrates unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Applicant previously argued that Patil requires the eutectic solvent in low amounts when mixed with a base oil in a lubricant composition. The argument was moot.
While the examiner agreed that the eutectic mixture is present in low amounts when mixed with base oil as a second component, the eutectic mixture itself meets the limitation of a lubricating oil composition having 100% of the mixture. The examples in Patil teaches the mixtures alone which are not blended with base oils.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771