DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 16-17, in the response dated 7/16/2026, is acknowledged. The applicant also elected the species of specific salt of a mixture of sodium bicarbonate and magnesium chloride without traverse.
Upon further consideration, the Examiner withdraws the species election.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 and 16-17 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Indefiniteness Rejection
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of an “aqueous solution” in the preamble. Since the specification lacks a definition of the term “solution,” the Examiner cites the definition provided by Brittanica online: “solution, in chemistry, a homogenous mixture of two or more substances in relative amounts that can be varied continuously up to what is called the limit of solubility” (available at https://www.britannica.com/science/
solution-chemistry). Claim 3 recites the species of sodium hydride, potassium hydride, and magnesium hydride. These species are insoluble and cannot form an aqueous solution. Furthermore, these species are highly reactive upon contact with water and are not considered salts, but rather ionic solids.
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 1-9, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano (JP 2018-035130 A; citations herein from the English translation by Google Patents).
Kawano teaches hydrogen containing compositions comprising ascorbic acid and, for example:
calcium carbonate (pg 9, Table 1);
potassium carbonate (pg 10, Table 2);
magnesium carbonate (pg 11, Table 3);
sodium carbonate (pg 11, Table 4);
sodium bicarbonate (pg 12, Table 5);
calcium oxide (pg 13, Table 8);
calcium hydroxide (pg 14, Table 10)
It is noted that these citations are from the Japanese language patent; translation from Google Translate.
For claims 2 and 11, in each of Tables 1-5, 8, and 10, Kawano teaches that at pH of 7.8-8.0 the concentration of molecular hydrogen is within the claimed range.
For claims 3-6, the examples cited above read on the claimed salt species.
Claims 1 and 9 recite limitation of range of ionic strength and claims 7, 8, and 17 recite a concentration range of the salt or of ascorbic acid. Kawano teaches the pH range to obtain the claimed range of hydrogen concentration but does not teach the specific amounts of the salt and ascorbic acid, nor the ionic strength of the solution. However, "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). “In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). As such, it is prima facie obvious to optimize the amounts of ascorbic acid and the salt within the teachings of the prior art of Kawano through routine experimentation to obtain the claimed amounts of ascorbic acid and the salt. See MPEP 2144(II)(A).
For claim 16, Kawano teaches a combination of ascorbic acid and calcium oxide at pH 8 that comprises 0.8 ppm of molecular hydrogen, within the claimed range (see Table 8, entry 46 of the Japanese patent, below
The examiner acknowledges that some picking and choosing was used to arrive at the instantly claimed composition in view of Kawano. However, the claimed combination of components, including the salt and ascorbic acid, is taught as known and used in solutions containing the claimed amount of molecular hydrogen. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to prepare the claimed combination of ingredients, including the salt and ascorbic acid to obtain a composition comprising the claimed amounts of ascorbic acid and the salt, as well as the claimed range(s) of ionic strength, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Kawano.
2) Claims 1-9, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano (cited above), in view of Safonov (US 2020/0345992 A1).
Safonov teaches a hydrogen-enhanced, drug-releasing transdermal system comprising a therapeutic composition (e.g., one or more drugs) and components capable of generating molecular hydrogen (H2) that facilitates transdermal delivery of the therapeutic composition (pg 2, [0031]). Safonov teaches examples of the aqueous composition include calcium hydroxide, a suitable acid, and a suitable base (pg 6, [0073]). Safonov teaches the therapeutic agents can be natural healing agents such as essential oils (pg 4, [0043]). Safonov also teaches the H2 can also enhance the therapeutic effect of the therapeutic agent (Abstract).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in adding the composition comprising molecular hydrogen, as taught by Kawano, to the drug-releasing, therapeutic transdermal system of Safonov, comprising essential oil as the active agent, since Safonov teaches the molecular hydrogen diffuses to a target surface of a subject's body and facilitates delivery of the therapeutic agent to the subject's body, providing additional therapeutic effect and prevent side effects of the therapeutic agent (pg 1, [0006]).
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612