Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious in view of Clavin (20130147686) hereinafter, Clavin further in view of Anderson et al (2014/0071069) hereinafter, Anderson.
In regards to claim 17, Clavin teaches system, comprising (abstract):
a wearable display device configured to present first content to a user in combination with a view of an environment [0032-0036];
an external display device configured to present second content to the user (fig. 14a (1300)); and
a controller configured to:
detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture
Clavin fails to teach detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture,
However, Anderson teaches detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture,. [0049,0068,0074,0080, 0094, 0095] (fig. 1A-1H)) Anderson
[0094] Now with reference to FIG. 1A, a virtual object VO appears on the screen of ED1 of device D1, which in this embodiment comprises a smartphone device as previously noted. The user hand is shown in FIG. 1A as moving toward VO, and as being about to pinch and lift it from ED1. Referring next to FIG. 1B, the user hand is shown as pinching VO in order to acquire it, virtually, between its thumb and finger, through a touch screen pinch gesture. The Touch Screen Sensor System of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be active at this point to sense and interpret the interactions between the user hand and the screen of ED1. Referring next to FIG. 1C, the user hand is depicted as still virtually holding the VO, having moved the same to a location over the screen of ED2, that is, over the screen of the notebook display. At least from the time the user hand leaves its contact position with respect to the screen of ED1, ID1, ID2, UD1, or UD2 or all detectors may track its air movements interacting with the VO, using GCS1 and/or GCS2 as described with respect to FIGS. 4A and 4B above. Thus, by the time the user hand is disposed over the notebook display ED2, a shadow of the VO may be shown in ED1 at the location where the user hand acquired the same, and a shadow of the VO may be also shown in ED2 at an optional target release location of the VO on ED2 before the VO is actually moved to ED2. Referring next to FIG. 1D, the user hand is shown as making a pinch-release gesture, which may be captured by ID2/UD2 in order to effect a virtually release of the VO onto ED2 as shown. As a result of the release gesture, the VO, with underlying properties and data, is effectively moved from D1 to D2 by way of being moved from ED1 to ED2. Referring next to FIG. 1E, the user hand is shown as being disposed close to the screen of ED2 in order to re-acquire VO on ED2. In the depiction of FIG. 1E, the user hand makes a air pinching gesture, which may be captured by ID1/UD1 or ID2/UD2 as an acquiring gesture with respect to VO. Referring next to FIG. 1F, the user hand is depicted as still virtually holding the VO, having moved the same to a location over the screen of ED1, that is, over the screen of the smartphone display. By the time the user hand is disposed over the notebook display ED2, a shadow of the VO may be shown in ED2 at the location where the user hand acquired the same, and a shadow of the VO may be also shown in ED1 at an optional target release location of the VO on ED1 before the VO is actually moved to ED1. Referring next to FIG. 1G, the user hand is shown as making a pinch-release gesture, which may be captured by ID2/UD2 in order to effect a virtually release of the VO onto ED2 as shown. As a result of the release gesture, the VO, with underlying properties and data, may be effectively moved back from D2 to D1 by way of being moved from ED2 to ED1. Referring next to FIG. 1H, the VO is shown as having moved from its release location, by virtue of inertia capabilities of GCS1 (FIG. 4A/4B) associated with D1, which effects a continued movement of the VO across the screen of ED1 based on the dynamics of the user hand release gestures and virtual properties of the VO. Throughout the process as depicted in FIGS. 1A-1H, GCS1 and GCS2 as described with respect to FIGS. 4A/4B may be active to track the user hand movements to effect a movement of the VO beyond a given display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Clavin to further include the gesture and wherein the controller is configured to cause the content item to be displayed on at least one of the external display device or the wearable display device at a destination display position during gesture as taught by Wang in order to allow the in order to improve user efficiency of cooperatively using plurality of terminals.
Therefore, Clavin in view of Anderson teaches detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture, gesture[0049,0068,0074,0080, 0094, 0095] (fig. 1A-1H)) Anderson
wherein the positioning sub-gesture comprises a non-contacting hand motion performed in air in front of the (fig. 1a air gesture Anderson) wearable display device(fig. 1 (2) Clavin), and wherein the controller is configured to cause the content item to be displayed on the external display device at a destination display position during the positioning sub-gesture [0094] Anderson, and to determine a motion direction of the positioning sub-gesture based on movement of the positioning sub- gesture within a plane that is generally parallel to a plane of a display screen of the external display device (fig. 1a-1d parallel to display) Anderson, and to cause the destination display position of the content item to change during the positioning sub-gesture in accordance with the motion direction of the positioning sub-gesture, and[0049,0068,0074,0080, 0094, 0095] (fig. 1A-1H)) Anderson
transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable device [0033, 0080,0095-0097,100-101] Clavin and the external device, and transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the intention [0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin transfer completion sub-gesture and according to the destination display position. [0049,0068,0074,0080, 0094, 0095] (fig. 1A-1H)) Anderson
In regards to claim 27, Clavin in view of Anderson teaches system of claim 17, wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the wearable display device or the external display device. . 0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin [0049] release zones Anderson
In regards to claim 29, Clavin in view of Anderson teaches (New) the system of claim 17, wherein the positioning sub-gesture is detected based on sensor output from at least one imaging sensor associated with the wearable display device. [0034, 0043,0054-0057] Clavin in view of ,[0049,0068,0074,0080, 0094, 0095] (fig. 1A-1H ID1/ID2)) Anderson
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4,6-9,11-12,14-17, and 21-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4,6-9,11-12,14-16,21,22,24,25 and 28 are allowed.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622