Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3,6-9,11,14-17, and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious in view of Clavin (20130147686) hereinafter, Clavin further in view of Wang et al (2024/0053879) hereinafter Wang.
In regards to claim 1, Clavin teaches a wearable device, comprising (fig. 1 (2)):
An audio and/or visual experience of a see-through head-mounted display (HMD) device, e.g., in the form of glasses, can be moved to target computing device such as a television, cell phone, or computer monitor to allow the user to seamlessly transition the content to the target computing device. For example, when the user enters a room in the home with a television, a movie which is playing on the HMD device can be transferred to the television and begin playing there without substantially interrupting the flow of the movie. The HMD device can inform the television of a network address for accessing the movie, for instance, and provide a current status in the form of a time stamp or packet identifier. Content can also be transferred in the reverse direction, to the HMD device. A transfer can occur based on location, preconfigured settings and user commands. (abstract)
a display device configured to present first content in combination with a view of an environment [002-004] (fig. 13 (2, and displays)); and
a controller is configured to (fig. 3 (310)):
detect an intention to transfer display [0033, 0080,0095-0097,100-101] of a content item between the display device and an external display device configured to present second content [0113](fig. 14a-2 (1300, 1400, 1408), and
wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected based on a gesture,[011-0020, 0033, 0040-0043,458]
[0043] FIG. 2 is a top view of a portion of one embodiment of the HMD device 2 of FIG. 1, including a portion of the frame that includes temple 102 and nose bridge 104. Only the right side of HMD device 2 is depicted. At the front of HMD device 2 is a forward- or room-facing video camera 113 that can capture video and still images. Those images are transmitted to processing unit 4, as described below, and can be used, e.g., to detect gestures of the user such as a hand gesture which is interpreted as a command to perform an action such as to continue an experience at a target computing device such as described below in the example scenarios of FIGS. 14B, 15, 17A and 17B. The forward-facing video camera 113 faces outward and has a viewpoint similar to that of the user.
determine a destination display position for the content item based on a motion direction associated with the gesture, wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location [0068-0069,112-114,160] (fig. 10a 1000-1014)
Clavin fails to teach wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device, and
However, Wang teaches wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device, and[409] (fig. 1b window 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Clavin to further include wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device as taught by Wang in order to improve user efficiency of cooperatively using plurality of terminals.
Therefore, Clavin in view of Wang teaches transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the intention [0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin and according to the destination display position. 0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin (fig. 1 window, fig. 5a to 5b (application) fig. 88d-2 thumbnail) Wang.
In regards to claim 9, Clavin teaches a device, comprising (abstract):
a display device [0034] configured to present first content to a user [0033-0040] (fig. 2 display); and
a controller configured to(fig. 3 (310)):
detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the display device and a wearable display device configured to present second content to the user in combination with a view of an environment [0033, 0080,0095-0097,100-101], and transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the intention [0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910).
wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected based on a gesture,[011-0020, 0033, 0040-0043]
[0043] FIG. 2 is a top view of a portion of one embodiment of the HMD device 2 of FIG. 1, including a portion of the frame that includes temple 102 and nose bridge 104. Only the right side of HMD device 2 is depicted. At the front of HMD device 2 is a forward- or room-facing video camera 113 that can capture video and still images. Those images are transmitted to processing unit 4, as described below, and can be used, e.g., to detect gestures of the user such as a hand gesture which is interpreted as a command to perform an action such as to continue an experience at a target computing device such as described below in the example scenarios of FIGS. 14B, 15, 17A and 17B. The forward-facing video camera 113 faces outward and has a viewpoint similar to that of the user.
determine a destination display position for the content item based on a motion direction associated with the gesture, wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location [0068-0069,112-114,160] (fig. 10a 1000-1014)
Clavin fails to teach wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device, and
However, Wang teaches wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device, and[409] (fig. 1b window 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Clavin to further include wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the display device or the external display device as taught by Wang in order to improve user efficiency of cooperatively using plurality of terminals.
Therefore, Clavin in view of Wang teaches transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the intention [0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin and according to the destination display position. 0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin (fig. 1 window, fig. 5a to 5b (application) fig. 88d-2 thumbnail) Wang.
In regards to claim 17, Clavin teaches system, comprising (abstract):
a wearable display device configured to present first content to a user in combination with a view of an environment [0032-0036];
an external display device configured to present second content to the user (fig. 14a (1300)); and
a controller configured to:
detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture
Clavin fails to teach detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture,
However, Wang teaches detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture,. [0014-0020,409,462, 523] (fig. 1b window 1)(fig. 9a-9b window and finger, “triggering drag” [458], “drag”[467], and “drag release” [523]) Wang
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Clavin to further include the gesture and wherein the controller is configured to cause the content item to be displayed on at least one of the external display device or the wearable display device at a destination display position during gesture as taught by Wang in order to allow the in order to improve user efficiency of cooperatively using plurality of terminals.
Therefore, Clavin in view of Wang teaches detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable display device and the external display device based on a gesture that includes transfer initiation sub-gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, and a transfer completion sub-gesture, wherein the controller is configured to cause the content item to be displayed on at least one of the external display device or the wearable display device at a destination display position during the positioning sub-gesture, and to cause the destination display position of the content item to change in accordance with a movement of the positioning sub- gesture[0014-0020,409,462, 523] (fig. 1b window 1)(fig. 9a-9b window and finger, “triggering drag” [458], “drag”[467], and “drag release” [523]), and
transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the detect an intention to transfer display of a content item between the wearable device [0033, 0080,0095-0097,100-101] Clavin and the external device, and transfer display of the content item in response to detection of the intention [0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin transfer completion sub-gesture and according to the destination display position.[458-523] Wang
In regards to claim 3, Clavin in view of Wang teaches the wearable device of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the external display device based on a comparison of a view angle of the wearable device to a location of the external display device (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze).
In regards to claim 6, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 2, wherein the gesture includes a transfer initiation sub- gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, wherein the position sub-gestures includes the motion direction [0014-0020,409,462, 523] (fig. 1b window 1)(fig. 9a-9b window and finger, “triggering drag” [458], “drag”[467], and “drag release” [523] fig. 92a) Wang
In regards to claim 7, Clavin in view of Wang teaches the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected based further on a determination that the wearable device is at a location associated with the external display device. . (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100-102, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze). [0102] FIG. 9B depicts various techniques by which a computing device can determine its location. Location data can be obtained from one or more sources. These include local electromagnetic (EM) signals 920, such as from a Wi-Fi network, BLUETOOTH network, IrDA (infrared) and/or RF beacon. These are signals that can be emitted from within a particular location which a computing device visits, such as an office building, warehouse, retail establishment, home or the like.
In regards to claim 8, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 1, wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected based further on a determination that a view angle of the wearable device corresponds to a location of the external display device. (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze).
In regards to claim 11, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the device based on a comparison of a view angle of the wearable display device to a location of the device. (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze). [0114] Decision step 1002 determines whether the target computing device is recognized. For example, the HMD device may determine if the television is present via a wireless network, or it may attempt to recognize visual features of the television using the front-facing camera, or it may determine that the user is gazing at the target computing device (see FIG. 12 for further details). If decision step 1002 is false, the condition is not met to continue the experience, at step 1006. The user may be informed of this fact at step 1010, e.g., via a visual or audible message, such as "TV is not recognized."
In regards to claim 14, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 9, wherein the gesture includes a transfer initiation sub- gesture, a positioning sub-gesture, wherein the position sub-gestures includes the motion direction [0014-0020,409,462, 523] (fig. 1b window 1)(fig. 9a-9b window and finger, “triggering drag” [458], “drag”[467], and “drag release” [523] fig. 92a) Wang
In regards to claim 15, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected further based on a determination that the wearable display device is at a location associated with the device. (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze).
In regards to claim 16, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the intention to transfer display of the content item is detected based on a determination that a view angle of the wearable device corresponds to a location of the device. (fig. 12 1200-1210) [100, 144-145, 154] claim 4 (gesture and gaze). [0114] Decision step 1002 determines whether the target computing device is recognized. For example, the HMD device may determine if the television is present via a wireless network, or it may attempt to recognize visual features of the television using the front-facing camera, or it may determine that the user is gazing at the target computing device (see FIG. 12 for further details). If decision step 1002 is false, the condition is not met to continue the experience, at step 1006. The user may be informed of this fact at step 1010, e.g., via a visual or audible message, such as "TV is not recognized."
In regards to claim 21, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the motion direction based on movement of a gesture within a plane that is generally parallel to a plane of a display screen of the external display device.(fig. 1b (a) plane along display) Wang
In regards to claim 22, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the destination display position from among a plurality of discrete predetermined display locations on the external display device based on the motion direction.([156-158] Calvin in view of fig. 92a of Wang)
In regards to claim 23, Clavin in view of Wang teaches wearable device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine the destination display position based on an intersection between an imaginary line constructed from the motion direction and a surface of the external display device (fig. 12 finger and line to display Wang).
In regards to claim 24, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the motion direction based on movement of the gesture within a plane that is generally parallel to a display screen of the display device.(fig. 1a plane of 101 to 102 Wang)
In regards to claim 25, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to select the destination display position from among a plurality of discrete predetermined display locations on the display device based on the motion direction. ([156-158] Calvin in view of fig. 92a of Wang)
In regards to claim 26, Clavin in view of Wang teaches device of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to determine the destination display position based on an intersection between an imaginary line constructed from the motion direction and a surface of the display device. (fig. 12 finger and line to display Wang).
In regards to claim 27, Clavin in view of Wang teaches system of claim 17, wherein the destination display position corresponds to a particular location and limited area of at least one of the wearable display device or the external display device. . 0040-0043,0096-0097 147-153] (fig. 9a 902-910) Clavin (fig. 1 window, fig. 5a to 5b (application) fig. 88d-2 thumbnail) Wang.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavin and Wang in view of Hwang (2016/0124506)
In regards to claim 4, Clavin and Wang fails to expressly teach the wearable device of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to, and determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the external device based on a comparison of the motion direction to a location of the external display device. Examiner notes 92a of Wang
However, Hwang teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a motion direction associated with the gesture, and determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the external display device based on a comparison of the motion direction to a location of the external display device [0099-102] (fig. 6a/6b S432-S448 Hwang and (fig. 7b (S724, S726, S728 and S730 [0099, 135-145] “a gesture input of stretching the right arm toward the TV and then making a first with the right hand, as the user input for displaying the data currently displayed on the TV, on the other device. The user 10 may input to the camera module 150, the gesture input of moving the right arm to face the second monitor and then opening the fisted right hand, as the user input for setting the other device.”) Hwang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Clavin to further include wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a motion direction associated with the gesture, and determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the external display device based on a comparison of the motion direction to a location of the external device.
In regards to claim 12, see rational of claim 4, Clavin in view of Hwang teaches device of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a motion direction associated with the gesture, and determine that the gesture indicates a selection of the device based on a comparison of the motion direction to a location of the device. [0099-102] (fig. 6a/6b S432-S448 Hwang
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4,6-9,11-12,14-17, and 21-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622