DETAILED ACTION
Claims 33-52 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 09/26/2024 and 09/09/2025 is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-49 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the current location of the UE" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitation in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the location when transmitting the previous channel quality report to the access node" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitation in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitation “the difference indicated in the location change condition”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitation “transmitting, to the access network node, the periodic channel quality report indicating the current channel quality value in a case that the difference indicated in the location change condition has reached or exceeded the distance.” It is vague and unclear what is being claimed, as it seems as if the applicant is claiming the performing of an action based on a condition meeting a value. Examiner notes that a normal comparison would be comparing a value to a condition, such as a threshold, and not a condition to a value.
Claims 41-42 are rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 40 above.
Claim 43 recites the limitation “the information for identifying the specific location and the information for identifying the distance is provided via a communication pattern” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation “at least one of the timing subset, the specific location, and the distance is determined…” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim.
Claim 45 recites the limitation “at least one of the timing subset, the specific location, the distance, and the at least one condition is configured…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation “using the artificial intelligence/machine learning model” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim.
Claims 47-49 are rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 46 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33, 35-37, 43, 45, 50--52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0097142 A1 to Alfarhan et al. (hereinafter “Alfarhan”)
Regarding Claim 33 and 51, Alfarhan teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) and user equipment for channel adaptation of a radio interface between the UE and an access network node, the method and UE comprising: (Figure 1A, illustrates WTRU 102 (i.e. UE) communicating wirelessly with base station 114 (i.e. access network node))
At least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: (Figure 1B and [0043], illustrates a WTRU comprising processor and memory)
receiving criteria information for determining whether a channel quality of the radio interface has been changed; ([0149], discloses a WTRU may first receive signaling activating or deactivating a trigger condition (i.e. receiving criteria information) for at least one CSI report configuration. [0360], discloses At block 840, the WTRU 102 may determine whether a report triggering condition is satisfied. At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI. [0361], discloses the report triggering condition is satisfied based on (viii) changes in CSI measurements or measured channel conditions (i.e. determining whether a channel quality of the radio interface has changed))
determining that a current channel quality value of the radio interface has been changed from a previous channel quality value transmitted to the access network node based on the criteria information; and ([0360], discloses At block 840, the WTRU 102 may determine whether a report triggering condition is satisfied. At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI. [0361], discloses the report triggering condition is satisfied based on (viii) changes in CSI measurements or measured channel conditions)
transmitting, to the access network node, at one of periodic channel quality reporting occasions, a periodic channel quality report including information indicating the current channel quality value upon the determining. ([0151], discloses the WTRU may report periodic CSI reporting (i.e. periodic channel quality report) in a CSI reporting occasion (i.e. periodic channel quality reporting occasion) when at least one additional condition is satisfied. [0360], discloses At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI (i.e. channel quality report including information indicating the current channel quality value upon the determining))
Regarding Claim 35, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, further comprising:
receiving information for identifying a timing subset of all periodic channel quality reporting occasions configured for the UE; and( [0271], discloses The WTRU 102 may report CSI on a subset of configured reporting occasions. [0273], further discloses Referring to FIG. 5, the WTRU 102 may skip reporting CSI for x occasions every configured y occasions. The WTRU 102 may be configured by RRC signaling with values for x and y (i.e. receiving information for identifying a timing subset). The WTRU 102 may be configured with a starting reporting offset relative to a frame boundary. The y reported occasions may or may not be consecutive. The reporting occasions may depend on a configured pattern in accordance with RRC signaling (e.g., by RRC ))
transmitting, to the access network node, at a channel quality reporting occasion identified by the timing subset, the periodic channel quality report indicating the current channel quality value. ([0271], discloses The WTRU 102 may report CSI on a subset of configured reporting occasions)
Regarding Claim 36, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 35, wherein the timing subset is identified based on at least one index corresponding to a channel quality report timing value. ([0273] Referring to FIG. 5, the WTRU 102 may skip reporting CSI for x occasions every configured y occasions. The WTRU 102 may be configured by RRC signaling with values for x and y (i.e. at least one index corresponding to a channel quality report timing value))
Regarding Claim 37, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, further comprising:
receiving information for identifying a specific location of a resource; ([0273], discloses The reporting occasions may depend on a configured pattern (i.e. information for identifying a specific location of resource) in accordance with RRC signaling (e.g., by RRC)) and
transmitting, to the access network node, at the specific location, the periodic channel quality report indicating the current channel quality value. ([0271], discloses The WTRU 102 may report CSI on a subset of configured reporting occasions (i.e. specific location))
Regarding Claim 43, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 35, wherein at least one of the information for identifying the timing subset, ( [0273] further discloses Referring to FIG. 5, the WTRU 102 may skip reporting CSI for x occasions every configured y occasions. (i.e. timing subset) The WTRU 102 may be configured by RRC signaling with values for x and y. The WTRU 102 may be configured with a starting reporting offset relative to a frame boundary. The y reported occasions may or may not be consecutive. The reporting occasions may depend on a configured pattern (i.e. communication pattern) in accordance with RRC signaling (e.g., by RRC ))
Regarding Claim 45, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, wherein at least one of the timing subset, ([0273] further discloses Referring to FIG. 5, the WTRU 102 may skip reporting CSI for x occasions every configured y occasions. (i.e. timing subset) The WTRU 102 may be configured by RRC signaling with values for x and y. [0183], further discloses The WTRU 102 may be configured (e.g., by RRC signaling) and/or may be specified with a mapping between a reporting resource and any of the applicability criteria (i.e. at least one condition))
Regarding Claim 50 and 52, Alfarhan teaches A method performed by an access network node and access network node for channel adaptation of a radio interface between a user equipment (UE) and the access network node, the method and access network node comprising: (Figure 1A, illustrates WTRU 102 (i.e. UE) communicating wirelessly with base station 114 (i.e. access network node))
At least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: ([0458], discloses processor and associated software in computer readable medium to implement a base station.)
transmitting criteria information for determining, by the UE, whether a channel quality of the radio interface has been changed; ([0149], discloses a WTRU may first receive signaling activating or deactivating a trigger condition (i.e. receiving criteria information) for at least one CSI report configuration. [0360], discloses At block 840, the WTRU 102 may determine whether a report triggering condition is satisfied. At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI. [0361], discloses the report triggering condition is satisfied based on (viii) changes in CSI measurements or measured channel conditions (i.e. determining whether a channel quality of the radio interface has changed))
receiving, from the UE, at least one of periodic channel quality reporting occasions, a periodic channel quality report including information indicating the current channel quality value upon the determining. ([0151], discloses the WTRU may report periodic CSI reporting (i.e. periodic channel quality report) in a CSI reporting occasion (i.e. periodic channel quality reporting occasion) when at least one additional condition is satisfied. [0360], discloses At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI (i.e. channel quality report including information indicating the current channel quality value upon the determining)) in a case where the UE determined that a current channel quality value of the radio interface has been changed from a previous channel quality value transmitted to the access network node based on the criteria information; and ([0360], discloses At block 840, the WTRU 102 may determine whether a report triggering condition is satisfied. At block 850, on condition that the report triggering condition is satisfied, the WTRU 102 may send a CSI report including or indicating the CSI. [0361], discloses the report triggering condition is satisfied based on (viii) changes in CSI measurements or measured channel conditions)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of US 2025/0202558 A1 to Kwak et al. (hereinafter “Kwak”)
Regarding Claim 34, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, wherein
Alfarhan further teaches the criteria information indicates at least one condition that the channel quality of the radio interface has been changed, and ([0361], discloses the report triggering condition is satisfied based on (viii) changes in CSI measurements or measured channel conditions)
Alfarhan does not explicitly teach the at least one condition includes at least one of:
- a channel quality change condition identifying a difference needed between the current channel quality value and the previous channel quality value transmitted to the access network node;
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kwak discloses in [0228], contention based CSI reporting may be triggered by one or more events. For example, contention based CSI reporting may be triggered on condition that a relationship (e.g., difference) between a (e.g., newly) measured quality and a reported quality is greater than or equal to a threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Kwak, for efficient operation as indicated in [0244] of Kwak.
Claim(s) 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of US 2020/0067584 A1 to Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang”)
Regarding Claim 38, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 37, wherein
Alfarhan does not explicitly teach the specific location is identified based on an index corresponding to a channel quality reporting location in a set of channel quality reporting locations.
However, the concept of identifying a resource location for transmission of channel quality reports based on an index is well known in the art.
For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Kang discloses in [0290]-[0296], semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUSCH, in which when the UE receives a CSI reporting activation message, the UE starts CSI reporting to the eNB through the designated PUSCH resource in advance or through SPS information transferred together with the CSI reporting activation message. The SPS information may be constituted by a temporal characteristic (e.g., a period or a slot offset) of the PUSCH resource, a frequency characteristic (e.g., PRB indexes) (i.e. specific location identified based on index corresponding to a channel quality reporting location in a set of channel quality reporting locations), a code characteristic (e.g., sequence), and/or a spatial characteristic (e.g., DMRS port).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Kang, for enhancing system performance or reducing power consumption as indicated in [0018]-[0019] of Kang.
Regarding Claim 39, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 37, wherein Alfarhan does not explicitly teach the specific location is identified based on a spatial signature or
However, the concept of identifying a resource location for transmission of channel quality reports based on a spatial signature is well known in the art.
For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Kang discloses in [0290]-[0296], semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUSCH, in which when the UE receives a CSI reporting activation message, the UE starts CSI reporting to the eNB through the designated PUSCH resource in advance or through SPS information transferred together with the CSI reporting activation message. The SPS information may be constituted by a temporal characteristic (e.g., a period or a slot offset) of the PUSCH resource, a frequency characteristic (e.g., PRB indexes), a code characteristic (e.g., sequence), and/or a spatial characteristic (e.g., DMRS port). (i.e. specific location identified based on spatial signature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Kang, for enhancing system performance or reducing power consumption as indicated in [0018]-[0019] of Kang.
Claim(s) 40, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of US 2023/0353209 A1 to Hindy et al. (hereinafter “Hindy”)
Regarding Claim 40, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, further comprising:
Alfarhan does not explicitly teach receiving information for a distance between the current location of the UE and the location when transmitting the previous channel quality report to the access network node; and transmitting, to the access network node, the periodic channel quality report indicating the current channel quality value in a case that the difference indicated in the location change condition has reached or exceeded the distance.
However, the concept of triggering a channel quality report based on a UE location change is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Hindy discloses in [0063], CSI reporting is triggered with a change in a UE position. Examiner notes that “location change condition” is not explicitly defined, and as such, the threshold could be interpreted as zero, and any change in distance would exceed that threshold and trigger a CSI report transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Hindy, to reduce CSI reporting overhead as indicated in [0054] of Hindy.
Regarding Claim 42, Alfarhan/Hindy teaches The method according to claim 40, wherein
Alfarhan further teaches the distance is determined based on at least one of: a difference between respective reference signal received power (RSRP) values,may determine to report and/or consider reporting UCI and/or CSI on a certain UL reporting resource or reporting resources, if the measured WTRU speed exceeds a certain threshold (e.g., is higher than or lower than a certain configured threshold), or if measured variation in channel conditions (e.g., based on CQI and/or RSRP) within a period of time exceeds a threshold (e.g., is larger than a certain threshold)) )
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan/Hindy in view of US 2026/0255315 A1 to Sen et al. (hereinafter “Sen”)
Regarding Claim 41, Alfarhan/Hindy teaches The method according to claim 40, wherein Alfarhan/Hindy does not explicitly teach the distance is identified based on an index corresponding to a distance in a set of distances corresponding to the periodic channel quality report.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Sen discloses in [0126], the base station 105-b may transmit, and the UE 115-b may receive a set of index values and a set of distance values, each index value of the set of index values corresponding to one of the set of distance values. [0130], further discloses The UE 115-b selects an index value corresponding to the distance, the selected index value may be the indication of the distance. In such cases, the selected index value may be transmitted as at least a portion of a CSI report.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan/Hindy include the above limitations as suggested by Sen, for improved communication reliability, improved user experience related to reduced processing, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, improved utilization of processing capability as indicated in [0178] of Sen.
Claim(s) 44, 46-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of US 2024/0298202 A1 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”)
Regarding Claim 44, Alfarhan teachesThe method according to claim 35, wherein Alfarhan at least one of the timing subset, the specific location, and the distance is determined using an artificial intelligence / machine learning model.
However, the concept of using artificial intelligence or machine learning model to determine a CSI reporting configuration is well known in the art. For example, Park discloses in Figure 20 and [0384], a base station may perform an AI model operation before providing CSI reporting-related configuration information to a terminal (or before providing CSI reporting-related control information differently from a drawing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Park, for performing efficient channel state information reporting (CSI reporting) according to an AI/ML-based configuration/indication as indicated in [0378] of Park..
Regarding Claim 46, Alfarhan teaches The method according to claim 33, wherein Alfarhan does not explicitly teach the criteria information for determining whether a channel quality of the radio interface is configured by predicting, by the access network node, using the artificial intelligence / machine learning model, at least one variation point for a channel quality value of the radio interface.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Park discloses in [0368], discloses Input for AI: Location/distribution of terminals (i.e. at least one variation point), request traffic, location movement-related information (e.g., a terminal moving along a certain route like a train, a fixed terminal with the little probability of a location change, etc.), an uplink reception channel/RS (e.g., a PUCCH, a PUSCH, a SRS, a UL-DMRS, etc.) in a corresponding network/base station (i.e. access network node). [0370], discloses A network/a base station may determine a short/mid-term time/frequency/space resource allocation method (i.e. configuring), an interference control/adjustment method, and/or a precoder/a beamformer, etc. for terminals based on the prediction value and capability information of each terminal (e.g., whether to have an interference cancellation reception function), etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alfarhan include the above limitations as suggested by Park, for performing efficient channel state information reporting (CSI reporting) according to an AI/ML-based configuration/indication as indicated in [0378] of Park.
Regarding Claim 47, Alfarhan/Park teaches The method according to claim 46, wherein Park further teaches the criteria information is updated by the access network node, based on the channel quality value and the artificial intelligence / machine learning model. (Figure 19 and [0345]-[0348], discloses [0346] Step 1: The UE transmits input data (i.e., Training data) for AI Model Training to the RAN node. Here, the RAN node may collect data (e.g., measurements of the UE related to RSRP, RSRQ, SINR of the serving cell and neighboring cells, location of the UE, speed, etc.) from various UEs and/or from other RAN nodes. Step 2: The RAN node trains the AI Model using the received training data. Step 3: The RAN node distributes/updates the AI Model to the UE. Figure 20 and [0384] and [0389], further discloses a base station may perform an AI model operation before providing CSI reporting-related configuration information to a terminal ) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 46 above.
Regarding Claim 48, Alfarhan/Park teaches The method according to claim 46, wherein Park further teaches the at least one variation point for the channel quality value is determined by at least one of: an associated time; an associated location; and an associated distance. in [0368], discloses Input for AI: Location/distribution of terminals (i.e. associated location), request traffic, location movement-related information (e.g., a terminal moving along a certain route like a train, a fixed terminal with the little probability of a location change, etc.), an uplink reception channel/RS (e.g., a PUCCH, a PUSCH, a SRS, a UL-DMRS, etc.) in a corresponding network/base station.) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 46 above.
Regarding Claim 49, Alfarhan/Park teaches The method according to claim 46, wherein Park further teaches the artificial intelligence / machine learning model includes:
a data collection function configured to obtain information related to channel quality and information related to the UE, ([0346], discloses [0346] Step 1: The UE transmits input data (i.e., Training data) for AI Model Training to the RAN node. Here, the RAN node may collect data (e.g., measurements of the UE related to RSRP, RSRQ, SINR of the serving cell and neighboring cells, location of the UE, speed, etc.) from various UEs and/or from other RAN nodes)
a model training function configured to obtain training data from the data collection function and to obtain model performance feedback, ([0347] Step 2: The RAN node trains the AI Model using the received training data.)
a model inference function configured to provide the model performance feedback to the model training function, and to provide an output based on inference data obtained from the data collection function and based on model deployment / update information obtained from the model training function, ([0348] Step 3: The RAN node distributes/updates the AI Model to the UE. The UE may continue to perform model training based on the received AI Model. [0349] Step 4: The UE receives input data (i.e., Inference data) for AI Model Inference from the RAN node (and/or from other UEs)) and
an actor function configured to provide feedback to the data collection function based on the output from the model inference function. ([0302], discloses Model Inference function (30) may provide Model Performance Feedback (14) to Model Training function (20) when applicable) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 46 above.
Conclusion
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477