DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (CN 107281222, 10/24/2017, cited by applicants) in view of Ekemar A (US 20040045958 A1), Ekemar B (US 6191402 B1) and Westin et al (US 20190014624 A1, cited by applicants).
Hou et al teaches separation of cryoprecipitate from fresh frozen plasma by thawing the plasma using variable frequency microwave energy (electromagnetic waves) then removal of the supernatant from the cryoprecipitate. See pages 1-2, 4 of the English translation. Hou et al do not teach a specific electromagnetic frequency for their methods, indicating that prior methods used a typical microwave frequency of 2450 MHz, which typically leads to inferior results due to overheating (page 4, third and fourth full ¶’s). Hou et al teach their solution is to use microwaves at a low temperature setting, e.g. 50C.
Ekemar A teaches problems associated with overheating blood products by microwave techniques (abstract, ¶’s [0001]-[0008]) and their solution is to use electromagnetic/dielectric heating at a lower frequency, preferably below 300 MHZ and exemplified at 135 MHz (¶’s [0013]-[0014], [0034]-[0035]). Ekemar B teaches the use of electromagnetic frequencies of from 1-299 MHz, or 100-299MHz in methods of heating organic materials, e.g. blood, (abstract, col. 1, lines 23-26; col. 3, lines 39-45).
In similar methods as Ekemar A, Westin et al teach methods of thawing frozen blood plasma using electromagnetic energy at a frequency of 135MHz (abstract, ¶’s [0001]-[0002], ¶ [ 0027]).
The claimed methods of producing a cryoprecipitate are essentially disclosed by Hou et al with the exception of the specific electromagnetic frequency used. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking a method to prepare cryoprecipitate from frozen plasma, would have been motivated to use electromagnetic frequencies of 1-299MHz, with emphasis on frequencies near 135 Mhz, with the methods of Gou et al because Ekemar A, Ekemar B and Westin et al teach these frequencies to be a well-known means for thawing plasma in order to avoid the same problems of overheating as taught by Hou et al. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating cryoprecipitate for administration as taught by Hou et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638