DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, in regards to the claims excluding the fumed silica of 548, filed 7/15/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 16, 19 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 548 and Xia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-10, 16, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 113370548) referred to as 548 in view of Xia (Silica nanoparticles reinforced natural rubber latex composites: the effects of silica dimension and polydispersity on performance).
As to claim 1, 548 teaches a method of preparing an elastomeric laminate article, the method comprising:(i) providing a first aqueous coating composition comprising a first polymer and silicon dioxide nanoparticles [0109, 0036], wherein the first polymer is a polyurethane [0017, 0024, 0034-0036, 0038-0040];(ii) providing a second aqueous coating composition comprising a second polymer [0041, 0042];(iii) coating a substrate with the first aqueous coating composition to form a first film on the substrate [0041, 0042, 0024, 0034-0036, 0038-0040]];(iv) coating the first film with the second aqueous coating composition to form a second film on the first film [0041, 0042]; and(v) removing the substrate [0043-0045].
Xia teaches making latex composites with nanosilica reinforcement [Abstract]. The nanosilica has a particle size of 28 nm that is discrete nanosilica [Page 2 col 1 paragraph 1, 4] and notes that this silica avoids aggregation [Results and Discussion, Characterization of Silica Page 3] and notes that this nanosilica had improved uniformity in dispersion [Page 6 col 1 paragraph 2] which generally results in superior performance of the latex composite [Micromorphology of Silica/NR Vulcanizates by TEM] noting that the uniform distribution of the discrete nanosilica results in higher BRC, weaker filler–filler interaction (Payne effect), higher tensile strength, higher abrasive resistance and resilience, as well as lower modulus at 300% elongation [Conclusions]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 548 and utilized discrete silica, as suggested by Xia, in order to ensure a uniform distribution of the discrete nanosilica results in higher BRC, weaker filler–filler interaction, higher tensile strength, higher abrasive resistance and resilience, as well as lower modulus at 300% elongation.
As to claim 2, 548 teaches the second polymer is selected from a polyurethane [0043-0045].
As to claim 3, 548 teaches the second polymer is a polyurethane [0017, 0024, 0034-0036, 0038-0040].
As to claim 4, 548 teaches the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a particle diameter overlapping the range 1 to 100 nm [0109, 0034, 0036]
As to claim 6, 548 teaches the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles comprise surface silanol groups as colloidal and aqueous dispersions of silica inherently has hydroxyl groups ie silanol [0109, 0034, 0036].
As to claim 7, 548 teaches the step of providing a first aqueous coating composition comprising a first polymer and discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles comprises combining a source of the first polymer with a source of discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles to form the first aqueous coating composition [0034, 0036].
As to claim 8, 548 teaches the source of the first polymer comprises an aqueous polyurethane dispersion and/or wherein the source of discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles is colloidal silica [0034, 0036]. Colloidal silica is distinguished from aqueous silica by its particle size being on the nanometer scale and aqueous silica being micrometer in size, hence one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the aqueous dispersion of nanosize silica to be colloidal silica [0034, 0036].
As to claim 9, 548 teaches the method further comprises providing a third aqueous coating composition comprising a third polymer, and, between the step of coating the first film with the second aqueous coating composition to form a second film on the first film and the step of removing the substrate , coating the second film with the third aqueous coating composition to form a third film on the second film [0034-0036, 0038-0040].
As to claim 10, 548 teaches the elastomeric laminate article is a condom [0001].
As to claim 16, 548 teaches the first polymer and the second polymer are the same polyurethane [0040].
As to claim 17, 548 teaches the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a particle diameter overlapping the range 2 to 50 nm [0034, 0036, 0109]. Xia additionally teaches 28 nm as explained above.
As to claim 19, 548 teaches the source of discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles is colloidal silica [0034, 0036]. Colloidal silica is distinguished from aqueous silica by its particle size being on the nanometer scale and aqueous silica being micrometer in size, hence one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the aqueous dispersion of nanosize silica to be colloidal silica [0034, 0036]. Further still, the combination of 548 and Xia would suggest colloidal silica as the silica of Xia is produced via a type of strober process which is generally associated with colloidal silica [Page 2 col 1 paragraph 1, 4].
Claim(s) 5, 18, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 113370548) referred to as 548 in view of Xia (Silica nanoparticles reinforced natural rubber latex composites: the effects of silica dimension and polydispersity on performance), as applied to claims 1-4, 6-10, 16, 17, 19 above and in further view of Anand (WO 96/19531).
As to claims 5 and 18, 548 does not explicitly state the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a BET surface area of at least 250 m2/g.
Anand teaches a latex rubber composition [abstract] for use as a condom [Page 1 line 16] and notes use of silica in a range of 150 m2/g to 430 m2/g [Page 10 line 14-18] as this silica resulted in increased tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties [page 11 line 15-25]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 548 and utilized 150 m2/g to 430 m2/g an overlapping range to the claimed range, as suggested by Anand, as this silica had proven successful at increasing tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties.
As to claim 21, 548 does not explicitly state the first aqueous coating composition comprises the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles in an amount of 0.1 to 3 wt%.
Anand teaches a latex rubber composition [abstract] for use as a condom [Page 1 line 16] and notes use of silica in a range of .5%-5% by wt in the aqueous solution [Page 6 line 9-15] as this silica resulted in increased tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties [page 11 line 15-25]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 548 and utilized .5%-5% by wt an overlapping range to the claimed range, as suggested by Anand, as this silica had proven successful at increasing tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties. Moreover, Anand notes that too much silica detrimentally effects modulus and tensile properties but too little hurts tear strength [page 11 line 15-25]. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case wt % of silica, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the wt % to the exact value of 0.1 to 3 wt%, as suggested by Anand, in order to obtain desirable tear strength, modulus, and tensile properties.
As to claim 22, 548 does not explicitly state the first aqueous coating composition comprises the first polymer and the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles in a weight ratio of the first polymer to the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles of from 5:1 to 200:1.
Anand teaches a latex rubber composition [abstract] for use as a condom [Page 1 line 16] and notes use of silica to polymer in a range of overlapping the claimed ratio as this silica resulted in increased tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties [page 11 line 15-25]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 548 and utilized 5:1 to 200:1 polymer to silica an overlapping range to the claimed range, as suggested by Anand, as this silica ratio had proven successful at increasing tear strength without detrimental effects on modulus and tensile properties. Moreover, Anand notes that too much silica detrimentally effects modulus and tensile properties but too little hurts tear strength [page 11 line 15-25]. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case wt ratio of polymer to silica, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio to the exact value of 5:1 o 200:1, as suggested by Anand, in order to obtain desirable tear strength, modulus, and tensile properties.
Claim(s) 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 113370548) referred to as 548 in view of Xia (Silica nanoparticles reinforced natural rubber latex composites: the effects of silica dimension and polydispersity on performance), as applied to claims 1-4, 6-10, 16, 17, 19 above and in further view of Lazaro (Influence of the Production Process Conditions on the Specific Surface Area of Olivine Nano-Silicas).
As to claims 5 and 18, 548 does not explicitly state the discrete silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a BET surface area of at least 250 m2/g.
Lazaro teaches a “cheaper and greener” method of producing nanosilica [Abstract]. Lazaro notes both conventionally formed nanosilica [Table 1] and nanosilica made by his olivine method [Table 2] both having overlapping ranges with at least 250 m2/g [Table 1, 2] and that process parameters of making the nanosilica can be manipulated to result in a desired surface area [Conclusion, Abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 548 and utilized silica with surface area above 250 m2/g, as suggested by Lazaro, as surface area could be set to what was desired by the user, Lazaro’s method was “cheaper and greener”, and this surface area was conventional for nanosilica.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759