DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8 and 11-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 11, 12, 16-19, 23 and 24 are rejected under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei et al, application no. 2022/0007395, hereinafter known as Lei (IDS submitted art).
As to claim 8, Lei discloses a communication apparatus (Lei, figure 20, communication apparatus as an User Equipment (UE)), comprising: reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives a control signal including information on a configuration of a transmission direction for each of a plurality of time resources in a unit period (Lei, [0010], UE receives from base station downlink control information, DCI; control information provides slot information to UE, specifically uplink, downlink or flexible time resources configuration; [0004], time resources of slot configured as uplink, downlink or flexible as per New Radio TDD standard well known in the art), the configuration including different transmission directions in a same time resource (Lei, [0010], time resources in a slot can be uplink, downlink or flexible); and control circuitry, which, in operation, determines the configuration based on the information (Lei, [0222], control circuitry of UE to operate according to configuration provided in the Slot Format Indicator SFI for time resources in a slot, include using the times resources as uplink, downlink or flexible).
As to claim 11, Lei discloses wherein the information on the configuration is indicated individually for a first part of a frequency band and a second part of the frequency band (Lei, [0006]-[0007], [0097]-[0098], frequency bandwidth including subbands being configured as uplink or downlink individually).
As to claim 12, Lei discloses wherein the configuration of the transmission direction is determined based on the control signal and a TDD UL/DL configuration indicated by a higher layer signaling (Lei, [0004], [0113], [0121], [0165], RRC signaling, higher layer signaling, used to indicate SFI signaling that provides the uplink and downlink configuration for time resources in a slot).
As to claim 16, Lei discloses wherein each of the plurality of time resources is a symbol, and the unit period is a slot (Lei, [0004], [0052], common slot structure of the art with plural time resource symbols in a lot).
As to claims 17-19 and 23, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 8, 11, 12 and 16 respectively above by Lei.
As to claim 24, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Lei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Abotabl et al, application no. 2021/0297226, hereinafter known as Abotabl.
As to claim 13, Lei dicloses the communication apparatus according to claim 8. Lei does not disclose however Abotabl discloses wherein each of the plurality of time resources is a symbol, and a downlink symbol among the plurality of time resources is overwritten with a symbol supporting both of a downlink direction and an uplink direction (Abotabl, [0110], either or both uplink and downlink time resources can be overwritten into either flexible symbol as uplink or downlink symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei to include the limitations of wherein each of the plurality of time resources is a symbol, and a downlink symbol among the plurality of time resources is overwritten with a symbol supporting both of a downlink direction and an uplink direction as taught by Abotabl. Use of flexible symbols that can be written to be both uplink and downlink symbols provides spectral efficiency in allocating resources and lower latency for sending traffic when uplink or downlink symbol could be configured as soon as needed.
As to claim 14, Lei and Abotabl dicloses the communication apparatus according to claim 13. Lei does not disclose however Abotabl discloses wherein the downlink symbol is overwritten with the symbol supporting both of the downlink direction and the uplink direction by a higher layer signaling (Abotabl, [0108], RRC signaling, higher layer signaling, used to indicate SFI signaling that provides the uplink and downlink configuration for time resources in a slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei to include the limitations of wherein the downlink symbol is overwritten with the symbol supporting both of the downlink direction and the uplink direction by a higher layer signaling as taught by Abotabl. Higher signaling such as RRC signaling between devices in network are well known that indicates to UEs to how configure and process communications.
As to claims 20 and 21, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 13 and 14 respectively above by Lei in view of Abotabl.
Claims 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Abotabl et al, application no. 2021/0352667, hereinafter known as Abotabl2.
As to claim 15, Lei dicloses the communication apparatus according to claim 8. Lei does not disclose however Abotabl2 discloses wherein a guard band is placed at symbols between a first part of a frequency band and an adjacent part of the frequency band where the transmission directions are different (Abotabl2, Figure 6, [0087], Guard band placed in between two frequency bands, one being an uplink band and one being a downlink band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei to include the limitations of wherein a guard band is placed at symbols between a first part of a frequency band and an adjacent part of the frequency band where the transmission directions are different as taught by Abotabl2. Placing guard bands in between frequency bands is well known technique in the art to reduce interference in communicated signals.
As to claim 22, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 15 above by Lei in view of Abotabl2.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467