DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 and 8-11 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 3. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The terms “electronic” and “electrical” would cover the same components and are synonymous with one another. As such, the claims are substantially identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akizawa et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2024/0139804).
Regarding claim 1, Akizawa et al. discloses copper particles and methods of making thereof having a (111) crystallite size to (220) crystallite size ratio of 1.35 or less (Abstract) and wherein the (111) crystallite size is 10-60 nm. (par. [0026]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Akizawa et al. discloses that the copper particles sizes have dimensions of 100-500 nm (par. [0023]), equivalent to the presently claimed “major axis”. thickness of the particles. As can be seen in Fig. 3, the thickness of the copper particles appears to be slightly less than 50 nm but more than 5 nm based on the 100 nm bar on the bottom right of the figure.
Regarding claim 4, Akizawa et al. teaches that the surface of the particles can be coated with organic materials such as fatty acids (par. [0083]), which would meet the limitation of “a shell made of carboxylic acid” as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Akizawa et al. teaches that polyphosphoric acids absorb onto the crystal planes (i.e. surface) of the copper particles during growth. (par. [0078]-[0079]). The surface of the particles where the polyphosphoric acid would therefore meet the limitation of “a shell” and the core would be the copper interior to the surface.
Regarding claims 8-11, Akizawa et al. teaches forming a conductive paste with the copper particles (par. [0122]) and applying the paste onto a printed circuit board (i.e. an electronic/electrical component/semiconductor device).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 08/26/2026