DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 25. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the refrigerant flow direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, the first recitation has been interpreted as “a refrigerant flow direction”. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the outdoor air”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “the air”. Claims 2-14 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 1 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claims 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the function”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted “a function”. Claims 4-14 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 3 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “the on/off function” and “the refrigerant flow on/off function”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. To expedite prosecution, they have been interpreted as “an on/off function” or “a refrigerant flow on/off function”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the refrigerant amount”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “a refrigerant amount”. Examiner notes that Applicant may also wish to add additional language relating to the function of the refrigerant amount.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the refrigerant amount”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “a refrigerant amount”. Examiner notes that Applicant may also wish to add additional language relating to the function of the refrigerant amount.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the refrigerant amount”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “a refrigerant amount”. Examiner notes that Applicant may also wish to add additional language relating to the function of the refrigerant amount.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the inlets”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the inlets”. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “inlets”. Claim 12 recites the limitation “to sequentially circulates”. It appears Applicant intended either “to sequentially circulate” or “such that the refrigerant sequentially circulates”. Claim 12 recites the limitation “the inlet of the connection line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “an inlet at a connection line”. Examiner notes that to avoid additional clarity issues, Applicant should relate the connection line back to the bypass line(s).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the inlet of the connection line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “an inlet at a connection line”. Examiner notes that to avoid additional clarity issues, Applicant should relate the connection line back to the bypass line(s). Claim 13 recites the limitation “the inlet of the branch line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, it has been interpreted as “an inlet at a branch line”. Examiner notes that to avoid additional clarity issues, Applicant should relate the branch line back to the bypass line(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 20220100764: cited by Applicant: English translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al. shows a vehicle heat pump system comprising:
a compressor for discharging a refrigerant (see at least compressor #1100);
an indoor heat exchanger (see at least indoor condenser #1200) which is provided in an air- conditioning case (see at least “The indoor condenser 1200 is provided in an air conditioning case (not shown)”), and exchanges heat between air and the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to heat the interior (see at least “The indoor condenser 1200 condenses the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant (gas) flowing inside through heat exchange with the air supplied to the vehicle interior through the air conditioning case (not shown) and heats the air with the heat of condensation, thereby heating the vehicle interior. to be heated.”);
a water-cooled condenser (see at least water-cooled condenser #1300) which is provided downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction (see at least “An output terminal of the indoor condenser 1200 is connected to a second flow path R2 , and the second flow path R2 is connected to a water-cooled condenser 1300”), and exchanges heat with first cooling water (see at least “The water-cooled condenser 1300 introduces the refrigerant discharged from the indoor condenser 1200 through the second flow path R2, to be described later in a first coolant line 1800 and a second coolant line 1900. 1 The cooling water line 1910 serves to condense and evaporate the refrigerant through heat exchange with the cooling water flowing into the line 1910.”);
an outdoor heat exchanger (see at least outdoor condenser #1400) which is provided downstream of the water-cooled condenser in the refrigerant flow direction, and exchanges heat between the refrigerant and the outdoor air (see at least “The outdoor condenser 1400 draws in refrigerant from the water-cooled condenser 1300 and condenses the refrigerant through heat exchange with external air.”);
an evaporator (see at least evaporator #1500) which is provided in the air-conditioning case, and exchanges heat between the refrigerant and the air so as to cool the interior (see at least “an evaporator connected to the outdoor condenser by a fourth flow path and cooling the interior of the vehicle by heat exchange with air supplied to the interior of the vehicle through the air conditioning case while introducing the refrigerant discharged from the outdoor condenser to vaporize the refrigerant”); and
a chiller (see at least chiller #1700) which is provided downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction, is provided in a refrigerant line bypassing the evaporator (see at least “the other part of the refrigerant that has passed through the outdoor capacitor 1400 passes through the bypass flow path BR to the battery chiller 1700”, and exchanges heat with second cooling water (see at least via line #1920),
wherein an outdoor unit bypass line, which allows the refrigerant passing through the water-cooled condenser to bypass the outdoor heat exchanger, is provided (see at least #QR2), and
wherein the outdoor unit bypass line branches off between the water-cooled condenser and the outdoor heat exchanger and connects upstream of the chiller in the refrigerant flow direction (see at least line #QR2 which branches between #1300 and #1400 and connects prior to #1700).
Regarding claim 2, Park et al. further shows further comprising: a refrigerant flow direction-changing valve which is arranged at a connection portion between the outdoor unit bypass line and the refrigerant line upstream of the chiller, and controls the refrigerant flow so that the refrigerant passing through the water-cooled condenser selectively passes through or bypasses the outdoor heat exchanger (see at least valve combination #2200/#2030).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al. further shows wherein the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve performs the function of a three-way valve and the function of expanding the refrigerant (see at least valve combination #2200/#2030 performs the flow-switching function of a three-way valve and the expansion function of an expansion valve).
Regarding claim 4, Park et al. further shows wherein the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve includes two inlets and one outlet (see at least valve combination #2200/#2030 which includes a plurality of inlets and outlets), the first inlet is connected to a branch line between the water-cooled condenser and the outdoor heat exchanger (see at least inlet of portion #2210 between #1300 and #1400), the second inlet is connected downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction (see at least inlet of portion #2220 downstream of #1400), and the outlet is connected to the chiller (see at least outlet of #2030 connected to #1700).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al. further shows wherein the first inlet performs only the on/off function of the refrigerant flow (see at least inlet of portion #2210 between #1300 and #1400, which does not perform expansion), and the second inlet is configured to perform the refrigerant flow on/off function and the refrigerant expansion function (see at least inlet of portion #2220 downstream of #1400, which performs both on/off function and expansion function by virtue of communication with #2030 of valve combination #2200/#2030).
Regarding claim 6, Park et al. further shows further comprising:
a first expansion valve which is positioned between the indoor heat exchanger and the water-cooled condenser, and selectively expands the refrigerant or allows the refrigerant to pass through without expansion (see at least valve #2010); and
a second expansion valve which is placed upstream of the evaporator in the refrigerant flow direction and expands the refrigerant (see at least valve #2020).
Regarding claim 8, Park et al. further shows wherein the first cooling water circulates through electric components of a vehicle (see at least “the coolant stored in the first reservoir tank 1810 is cooled by the first pump 1840 to the vehicle driving unit (drive motor, not shown) and then to the water-cooled condenser 1300. Cycled”), and the second cooling water circulates through a battery of the vehicle (see at least “The second coolant line 1900 includes a 2-1 coolant line 1910 and a 2-2 coolant line 1920 . The 2-1 cooling water line 1910 connects the second writer RAD2 of the radiator unit RAD and the water-cooled capacitor 1300, and the 2-2 cooling water line 1920 is the second -1 It is connected to the coolant line 1910 and connects the battery chiller 1700 and the vehicle's battery (not shown).).
Regarding claim 12, Park et al. further shows wherein in a cooling mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve closes all of the inlets to block the refrigerant flow, and controls the refrigerant to sequentially circulates through the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, the water-cooled condenser, the outdoor heat exchanger, the second expansion valve, the evaporator, and the compressor (see at least Figure 2, there exists a mode such that all bypass inlets of valve combination #2200/#2030 are closed and such that refrigeration flows sequentially through compressor #1100, indoor heat exchanger #1200, first expansion valve #2010, water-cooled condenser #1300, outdoor heat exchanger #1400, second expansion valve #2020, evaporator #1500, and compressor #1100), and
wherein in a cooling and battery cooling mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve opens only the inlet of the connection line downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and expands the refrigerant, so that a portion of the refrigerant passing through the outdoor heat exchanger is controlled to pass through the chiller (see at least Figure 2, there exists a mode such that an inlet of valve combination #2200/#2030 is open such that refrigerant flows through outdoor heat exchanger #1400 is expanded in valve #2030 and passes through battery chiller #1700).
Regarding claim 13, Park et al. further shows wherein in a maximum heating mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve opens only the inlet of the connection line downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and allows the refrigerant to pass through directly so that the refrigerant is controlled to sequentially circulate through the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, the water-cooled condenser, the outdoor heat exchanger, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve, the chiller, and the compressor (see at least Figure 2, there exists a mode such that an inlet of valve combination #2200/#2030 is open such that refrigerant flows through compressor #100, indoor heat exchanger #1200, first expansion valve #2010, water-cooled condenser #1300, outdoor heat exchanger #1400, direction changing valve #2200, chiller #1700, and compressor #1100), and
wherein in a partial heating mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve opens only the inlet of the branch line between the water-cooled condenser and the outdoor heat exchanger so that the refrigerant is controlled to sequentially circulate through the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, the water-cooled condenser, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve, the chiller, and the compressor (see at least Figure 2, there exists a mode such that an inlet of valve combination #2200/#2030 is open such that refrigerant flows through compressor #1100, indoor heat exchanger #1200, first expansion valve #2010, water-cooled condenser #1300, through direction changing valve #2220, through chiller #1700 and through compressor #1100).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 20220100764: cited by Applicant: English translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 15, Park et al. shows a vehicle heat pump system comprising:
a compressor for discharging a refrigerant (see at least compressor #1100);
an indoor heat exchanger (see at least indoor condenser #1200) which is provided in an air- conditioning case (see at least “The indoor condenser 1200 is provided in an air conditioning case (not shown)”), and exchanges heat between air and the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to heat the interior (see at least “The indoor condenser 1200 condenses the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant (gas) flowing inside through heat exchange with the air supplied to the vehicle interior through the air conditioning case (not shown) and heats the air with the heat of condensation, thereby heating the vehicle interior. to be heated.”);
a water-cooled condenser (see at least water-cooled condenser #1300) which is provided downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction (see at least “An output terminal of the indoor condenser 1200 is connected to a second flow path R2 , and the second flow path R2 is connected to a water-cooled condenser 1300”), and exchanges heat with first cooling water (see at least “The water-cooled condenser 1300 introduces the refrigerant discharged from the indoor condenser 1200 through the second flow path R2, to be described later in a first coolant line 1800 and a second coolant line 1900. 1 The cooling water line 1910 serves to condense and evaporate the refrigerant through heat exchange with the cooling water flowing into the line 1910.”);
an outdoor heat exchanger (see at least outdoor condenser #1400) which is provided downstream of the water-cooled condenser in the refrigerant flow direction, and exchanges heat between the refrigerant and the outdoor air (see at least “The outdoor condenser 1400 draws in refrigerant from the water-cooled condenser 1300 and condenses the refrigerant through heat exchange with external air.”);
an evaporator (see at least evaporator #1500) which is provided in the air-conditioning case, and exchanges heat between the refrigerant and the air so as to cool the interior (see at least “an evaporator connected to the outdoor condenser by a fourth flow path and cooling the interior of the vehicle by heat exchange with air supplied to the interior of the vehicle through the air conditioning case while introducing the refrigerant discharged from the outdoor condenser to vaporize the refrigerant”); and
a chiller (see at least chiller #1700) which is provided downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction, is provided in a refrigerant line bypassing the evaporator (see at least “the other part of the refrigerant that has passed through the outdoor capacitor 1400 passes through the bypass flow path BR to the battery chiller 1700”, and exchanges heat with second cooling water (see at least via line #1920),
a refrigerant flow direction-changing valve which functions as a three-way valve controlling the refrigerant passing through the water-cooled condenser to selectively pass through or bypass the outdoor heat exchanger, and expands the refrigerant (see at least valve combination #2200/#2030 which performs the flow-switching function of a three-way valve selectively bypassing outdoor heat exchanger #1400 and performs the expansion function of an expansion valve), and
wherein the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve expands only the refrigerant passing through the outdoor heat exchanger (see at least Figure 2, there exists a mode such that valve combination #2200/#2030 will only expand refrigerant passing through the outdoor heat exchanger #1400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (CN 106802039).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. further discloses wherein the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve has an electronic expansion valve (EXV) structure capable of controlling the refrigerant amount (see at least valve #2030 of valve combination #2200/#2030, which is an electromagnetic expansion valve and thus considered capable of meeting the claimed function), and wherein the first expansion valve has an electronic expansion valve (EXV) structure capable of controlling the refrigerant amount (see at least valve #2010, which is an electromagnetic expansion valve and thus considered capable of meeting the claimed function).
Park et al. does not disclose and the second expansion valve is a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) performing only the expansion function.
However, substitution of a thermostatic expansion valve for the solenoid expansion valve disclosed by Park et al. was known in the art, as evidenced by Cui et al. (see at least “the second throttle is an electronic expansion valve, or series of the capillary and solenoid valve has completely closed function, or thermostatic expansion valve arranged and with complete closing function of the electromagnetic valve in series, the third throttle is an electronic expansion valve. or capillary set in series with the electromagnetic valve has completely closed function, or thermostatic expansion valve arranged and with complete closing function of the electromagnetic valve in series.”).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the second expansion valve of Park et al. with and the second expansion valve is a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) performing only the expansion function, since, as taught by Cui et al. substitution of the two valve types was old and well-known in the art and would provide the predictable benefit of controlling the cost/function of the system. Examiner notes that use of the thermostatic expansion valve in place of the solenoid expansion valve is deemed to meet the functional recitation.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of An et al. (KR 20210079741: cited by Applicant: English translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 9, Park et al. does not disclose further comprising: a dehumidification line which branches off downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and connects upstream of the evaporator, wherein the dehumidification line is connected between the second expansion valve and the evaporator.
An et al. teaches another vehicle heat pump system comprising: a dehumidification line which branches off downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and connects upstream of the evaporator, wherein the dehumidification line is connected between the second expansion valve and the evaporator (see at least line #BR2 which branches off downstream of indoor heat exchanger #1200 and connects between expansion valve #2300 and evaporator #1500).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Park et al. with further comprising: a dehumidification line which branches off downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and connects upstream of the evaporator, wherein the dehumidification line is connected between the second expansion valve and the evaporator, as taught by An et al., to improve the system of Park et al. by allowing for dehumidification and heating of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Park et al. as modified by An et al. further discloses wherein the dehumidification line branches off between the indoor heat exchanger and the first expansion valve (see at least An et al. #BR2 branching off between expansion valve #1700 and indoor heat exchanger #1200), and includes a third expansion valve capable of controlling the refrigerant amount and expanding the refrigerant (see at least valve #2230).
Regarding claim 11, Park et al. as modified by An et al. further discloses wherein the dehumidification line branches off between the first expansion valve and the water-cooled condenser, and includes a shut-off valve controlling only the refrigerant amount (see at least An et al. line #BR2 branches off between expansion valve #1700 and water-cooled condenser #1300 and includes valve #2230).
Regarding claim 14, Park et al. as modified by An et al. further discloses wherein in a maximum heating and dehumidification mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve opens only the inlet of the connection line downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger in the refrigerant flow direction and allows the refrigerant to pass through directly so that the refrigerant is controlled to sequentially circulate through the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, the water-cooled condenser, the outdoor heat exchanger, the refrigerant flow direction- changing valve, the chiller, and the compressor, and a portion of the refrigerant passing through the indoor heat exchanger is supplied to the evaporator through the dehumidification line (see at least Park et al. Figure 2 as modified by An et al., there exists a mode such that an inlet of valve combination #2200/#2030 opens only an inlet such that refrigerant passes through compressor #1100, indoor heat exchanger #1200, expansion valve #2010, water-cooled condenser #1300, outdoor heat exchanger #1400, part of valve combination #2200, and through evaporator #1500 via line #BR2), and
wherein in a partial heating and dehumidification mode, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve opens only the inlet of the branch line between the water-cooled condenser and the outdoor heat exchanger so that the refrigerant is controlled to sequentially circulate through the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, the water-cooled condenser, the refrigerant flow direction-changing valve, the chiller, and the compressor, and a portion of the refrigerant passing through the indoor heat exchanger is supplied to the evaporator through the dehumidification line (see at least Park et al. Figure 2 as modified by An et al., there exists a mode such that an inlet of valve combination #2200/#2030 opens only an inlet such that refrigerant passes through compressor #1100, part of valve combination #2200/#2030, chiller #1700, compressor #1100 and to indoor heat exchanger #1200 through line #BR2).
Conclusion
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763