DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, 21, 26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (12,684,580) in view of Noh et al. (12,294,871).
For claims 1, 13, 26, 28-30, Rastegardoost teaches a method and system (abstract, background, summary and claims) for acquiring a channel state information (CSI) report (col. 12, lines 20-45), performed by a first terminal (col. 3, line 45 – col. 4, line 15), comprising:
receiving a CSI report request sent by a second terminal (col. 25, line 60 – col. 26, line 25), wherein a unicast connection is established between the first terminal and the second terminal (col. 24, lines 5-20);
receiving configuration information sent by the second terminal (col. 26, lines 25-40);
reading a target frequency band (col. 61, lines 20-30) in a plurality of frequency bands (col. 21, line 65 – col. 22, line 15); and
sending a CSI report of the target frequency band to the second terminal (col. 26, lines 1-25).
Rastegardoost does not expressly disclose determining a target frequency band in a plurality of frequency bands. Noh teaches a method and system (abstract) within the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes this limitation (col. 15, lines 25-55). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Noh in order to provide improvements to legacy systems such as repeaters in DL/duplex schemes (col. 1, lines 35-60).
For claim 2, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the configuration information indicates a first frequency band in the plurality of frequency bands; and wherein determining the target frequency band comprises: determining the first frequency band to be the target frequency band according to the configuration information (col. 21, line 65 – col. 22, line 15).
For claims 3, 14, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the CSI report request indicates a second frequency band in the plurality of frequency bands; and wherein determining the target frequency band comprises: determining the second frequency band to be the target frequency band according to the CSI report request (col. 21, line 65 – col. 22, line 15).
For claims 4, 16, Noh teaches wherein the second terminal sends the CSI report request on a third frequency band in the plurality of frequency bands; and wherein determining the target frequency band comprises: determining the third frequency band to be the target frequency band according to the CSI report request (col. 15, lines 25-55).
For claims 5, 17, Noh teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a list of frequency bands comprising at least one frequency band in the plurality of frequency bands (Table 4), and the CSI report request indicates a first index identification indicating a first position in the list of frequency bands (col. 10, lines 30-40); and wherein determining the target frequency band comprises:
determining a fourth frequency band located at the first position in the list of frequency bands according to the first index identification (col. 17, lines 1-15); and
determining the fourth frequency band to be the target frequency band (col. 15, lines 25-55).
For claim 6, Rastegardoost teaches starting a CSI report timer (col. 55, lines 40-col. 56, line 25).
For claim 7, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a report delay corresponding to the target frequency band (col. 25, lines 40-60); and the method further comprises:
determining not to send the CSI report of the target frequency band to the second terminal, in response to the CSI report timer expiring (col. 20, lines 30-50); wherein a timing time of the CSI report timer is the report delay (col. 20, lines 50 – 60; col. 50, line 35 – col. 51, line 15).
stopping the CSI report timer, in response to sending the CSI report corresponding to the target frequency band to the second terminal and the CSI report timer not expiring; wherein a timing time of the CSI report timer is the report delay (col. 55, line 40 – col. 26, line 55).
For claims 10, 21, Noh teaches wherein in a case where the configuration information comprises a list of frequency bands comprising at least one frequency band in the plurality of frequency bands (Table 4), the frequency band identification is a second index identification indicating a second position in the list of frequency bands (col. 10, lines 30-40), wherein a fifth frequency band located at the second position in the list of frequency bands (col. 17, lines 1-15) indicated by the second index identification is the target frequency band (col. 15, lines 25-55).
For claim 11, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the CSI report has a sidelink channel state information reporting medium access control control element (sidelink CSI reporting MAC CE) structure (col. 12, lines 20-45), and the sidelink CSI reporting MAC CE structure comprises a reserved bit for carrying the frequency band identification (col. 36, lines 10-35).
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost and Noh as applied to claims 1, 13above, and further in view of Shin et al. (12,225,397).
For claims 9, 20, Rastegardoost and Noh do not expressly disclose the elements. Shin teaches a method and system (abstract) within the current art (background, summary and claims) wherein the CSI report indicates a channel quality indicator (CQI) of the target frequency band and a frequency band identification (col. 20, line 40 – col. 21, line 10); and wherein the frequency band identification is used to determine the target frequency band (col. 22, lines 45-65). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Shin in order to provide improvements to CSI report systems (col. 2, lines 15-65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445