DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 3/26/2026. Claims 16, 21, 25 & 31 have been amended. Claims 1-15 & 24 have been canceled and claims 32- 35 have been newly added. No other claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Accordingly, claims 16-23 & 25-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-23 & 25-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23 & 25-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amit et al. (EP 3401217 A1) in view of Kodger et la. (US2006/0229895 A1).
As per claim 16, Amit discloses: a method for controlling a movement of transport units with associated sorting criteria within a control area of an installation, the method comprising steps of:
a) initially capturing an identity and a time stamp of one or more transport units at a known initial position (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a-2b & 4; monitoring objects/cargo in the cargo deck, sensing agent and sensing zone);
b) moving at least one of the transport units (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1- 2b & 4; cargo handling system and movement of ULDs);
c) capturing positions of the transport units within the control area over time by using a position capture device configured to capture the positions of transport units without separate marking of the transport units (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a-2b & 4; sensing agents, ULDs in cargo deck and ID tag/label scanning objects);
d) continuously transmitting the captured data to a background system (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database);
e) continuously assigning the captured positions of the transport units to the captured identity of a respective transport units by using the background system, starting from an initial position (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database);
f) mapping the positions of the transport units in the control area by using the background system (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database).
Amit further discloses an autonomous handling system, moving cargo into and out of an aircraft and controlling the movement of the ULDs, assess and/or detect possible collision of the ULDs with other objects (see Amit at least fig. 1B, 2A and 3).
However, Amit does not appear to explicitly disclose issuing navigation instructions as a function of the sorting criteria to provide a movement command for an intended movement of the one or more transport units.
Nevertheless, Kodger—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses issuing navigation instructions as a function of the sorting criteria to provide a movement command for an intended movement of the one or more transport units (see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & par. 10, 17-18, 58-59; package routing module [300], global tracking data repository, determined shipping routes and established shipping routes).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the given invention, would have been motivated to combine Kodger’s routing module with those of Amit’s autonomous cargo handling system in order to form a more efficient system and better user experience (i.e., by providing a customer enhanced visibility for tracking, reporting and modifying delivery of packages).
Motivation to combine to combine Kodger with Amit, not only comes from knowledge well known in the art but also from Kodger (see Kodger at least Summary of Invention ¶24).
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 17: which further comprises: carrying out step a) by initially capturing an identity and a time stamp of one or more transport units in connection with an entry of a transport unit into the control area; carrying out step b) by moving the identified transport unit; and carrying out step f) by mapping the positions of the identified transport unit (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 18: which further comprises providing the position capture device with at least one of a lidar sensor or a camera system or a light grid or an optical sensor (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; sensing agent LIDAR sensor, infrared sensor, dept sensor, 3D scanner, ultrasound, radar and/or weight sensor; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 19: which further comprises capturing a shape of the identified transport unit within the control area over time by using the position capture device or another device configured to capture a shape of objects or of transport units (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; ULD and/or non-ULDs; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 20: which further comprises using the background system to at least one of detect and signal with a message or store deviations of the captured shape of the transport units or of the identified transport unit, at different capture times (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 21: which further comprises: at least one of loading or unloading a transport unit with one or more loading units within the control area; and performing steps a) to g) for the one or more loading units and for a transport unit (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 22: which further comprises using the background system to check a length of time which at least one of the identified or captured transport units spends in the control area, and signaling with a message upon the length of time exceeding a predetermined value (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 23: which further comprises capturing further objects in the control area by using the position capture device or another device configured to capture the further objects or moving objects or persons, and transmitting the captured data to the background system (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously and object database; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 25: which further comprises using the background system to detect and signal deviations between an intended and an actually captured movement by using a message (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 26: which further comprises dividing the control area into subareas and at least one of assigning universal or transport-unit-specific occupancy prohibitions to one or more of the subareas or displaying at least one of free or occupied subareas (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 27: which further comprises providing the installation with two or more control areas having at least one of different requirements for accuracy or frequency of capture by the position capture device (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 28: which further comprises providing the two or more control areas with at least one of a different type or number or sensitivity of the position capture device (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 29: which further comprises at least one of providing the installation with manual conveyance elements or configuring the transport units to be moved automatically (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems—autonomous and human handling; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 30: which further comprises displaying the captured position for at least one of a selected identified or captured transport unit (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 31: A system for controlling a movement of transport units with associated sorting criteria in an installation, the system comprising: a device for capturing an identity and a time stamp of one or more transport units at a known initial position; a position capture device configured to capture positions of transport units within a control area over time without needing separate marking of the transport units; a background system receiving the captured data, said background system configured for a continuous assignment of the captured positions of the transport units to the captured identity of a respective transport unit and for mapping the captured positions of the identified transport units; and said background system issuing navigation instructions as a function of the sorting criteria to provide a movement command for an intended movement of the one or more transport units (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 32: which further comprises sending the navigation instructions to a human operator or a transport vehicle (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 33: which further comprises at least one of accessing or displaying and using aircraft flight information when a transport unit is to be loaded onto an aircraft (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 34: wherein the navigation instructions are sent to a human operator or a transport vehicle (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Both Amit and Kodger disclose claim 35: wherein aircraft flight information is at least one of accessed or displayed and used when a transport unit is to be loaded onto an aircraft (see Amit at least fig. 1-4 and in particular fig. 1a, 2a- 4; mapping cargo deck, sensing agent to identify/monitoring ULDs/cargo continuously, object database and cargo handling systems; and see Kodger at least fig. 2-3 & 7-8 and Abstract & Summary).
Motivation to combine Amit and Kodger, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 16 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663