CTNF 18/851,475 CTNF 89464 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Examiner acknowledges the following data: Parent data 18851475 filed 09/26/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/KR2023/004119, International Filing Date: 03/28/2023 claims foreign priority to 202241017993, filed 03/28/2022 claims foreign priority to 2022 41017993, filed 03/07/2023. Information Disclosure statements 06-52 The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 09/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devarayanigari (US 2016/0373928) in view of Tiwari (US 2012/0171993) . Regarding claim 1 , Devarayanigari discloses method for managing a public land mobile network (PLMN) list by a user equipment (UL, the method comprising (UE adds a PLMN identity to the “forbidden PLMN list”, [0035], line 1) : based on storing an entry of the PLMN list, starting a timer of a predefined-time period for the entry of the PLMN list, wherein the PLMN list includes at least one PLMN identity of at least one PLMN not allowed to operate at a present UL location (UE adds a PLMN identity to the “forbidden PLMN list”, the “forbidden PLMNs for attach (storing) in S101 mode” list, or the “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” list or sets the USIM as invalid for non-EPS services or EPS services or both, and timer T3245 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) is not running, the UE starts the timer T3245 as specified in 3GPP TS 24.008 [13], sub clause 4.1.1.6, [0035], lines 1-4) ; while the timer is running, detecting that a switch-on operation of the UL is occurred after a switch-off operation of the UL and a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) in the UL remains the same (If the UE is switched off when the timer T3245 is running, the UE behaves as follows when the UE is switched on and the USIM in the MS (Mobile Station) remains the same: [0037], lines 1-2) ; in case that a remaining time ti of the timer is greater than an elapsed time t between the switch-off operation and the switch-on operation, re- starting the timer with a restart value of tl-t , wherein the entry in the PLMN list is removed in case that the re-started timer is expired (Upon expiration of the timer T3245, the UE shall erase (remove) the “forbidden PLMN list”, the “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” list, and the “forbidden PLMNs for attach in S101 mode” list and set the USIM to valid for non-EPS and EPS services. If the UE is switched off when the timer T3245 is running, the UE behaves as follows when the UE is switched on and the USIM in the MS (Mobile Station) remains the same: When the lists are erased, the UE performs cell selection according to 3GPP TS 36.304 [21]. When the time remaining for T3245 timeout at switch off is t1 and t is the time elapsed between switch off and switch on, if t1 is greater than t, then the timer is restarted with the value t1−t. If t1 is less than or equal to t, the UE will follow the behavior as defined in the paragraph above upon expiration of the timer T3245, [0036], lines 1-3, [0037], lines 1-2 and [0038], lines 1-3) ; and Devarayanigari does not specifically disclose concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, removing the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired. However, Tiwari specifically teaches concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, removing the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired (As the elapsed time is less than the remaining time in this embodiment, the controller module 112 starts the back-off timer with the result of the remaining time minus the elapsed time (step S250). After that, the controller module 112 removes or clears the "forbidden PLMN list" when the back-off timer expires (step S260). In another embodiment, if the elapsed time is determined to be greater than or equal to the remaining time in the step S240, the controller module 112 does not start the back-off timer, and instead, directly removes or clears the "forbidden PLMN list", [0032], lines 1-5) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, removing the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods for access control with a back-off timer for low priority devices, (Tiwari, [0003], lines 1-2) Regarding claim 2 , Devarayanigari discloses method (fig. 2, method) , further comprising: in case that the UL is not capable of identifying the elapsed time, re- starting the timer based on the remaining time (If the UE is not capable of determining t, the UE restarts the timer with the value t1, [0038], lines 3-4) . Regarding claim 3 , Devarayanigari discloses method (fig. 2, method) , further comprising: Devarayanigari does not specifically disclose concept of in case that the UL is switched off, storing the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UL. However, Tiwari specifically teaches concept of in case that the UL is switched off, storing the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UL (In response to the mobile communication device 110 being powered off before the back-off timer expires, the controller module 112 stores the amount of the remaining time for the back-off timer to expire and the "forbidden PLMN list" (step S230), [0030], lines 15-17) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the UL is switched off, storing the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UL of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods for access control with a back-off timer for low priority devices, (Tiwari, [0003], lines 1-2). Regarding claim 5 , Devarayanigari discloses user equipment (UL) for managing entry of a public land mobile network (PLMN) list, the UL comprising (UE adds a PLMN identity to the “forbidden PLMN list”, [0035], line 1) : a communication unit (fig. 10 item 1006, communication unit) ; and at least one processor (fig. 11, item 1108, processing unit) coupled with the communication unit (fig. 10 item 1006, communication unit) and configured to: based on storing an entry of the PLMN list, start a timer of a predefined-time period for the entry of the PLMN list, wherein the PLMN list includes at least one PLMN identity of at least one PLMN not allowed to operate at a present UL location (UE adds a PLMN identity to the “forbidden PLMN list”, the “forbidden PLMNs for attach (storing) in S101 mode” list, or the “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” list or sets the USIM as invalid for non-EPS services or EPS services or both, and timer T3245 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) is not running, the UE starts the timer T3245 as specified in 3GPP TS 24.008 [13], sub clause 4.1.1.6, [0035], lines 1-4) , while the timer is running, detect that a switch-on operation of the UL is occurred after a switch-off operation of the UL and a UniversSubscriber Identity Module (USIM) in the UL remains the same (If the UE is switched off when the timer T3245 is running, the UE behaves as follows when the UE is switched on and the USIM in the MS (Mobile Station) remains the same: [0037], lines 1-2) , in case that a remaining time tl of the timer is greater than an elapsed time t between the switch-off operation and the switch-on operation, re- start the timer with a restart value of tl-t , wherein the entry in the PLMN list is removed in case that the re-started timer is expired (Upon expiration of the timer T3245, the UE shall erase (remove) the “forbidden PLMN list”, the “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” list, and the “forbidden PLMNs for attach in S101 mode” list and set the USIM to valid for non-EPS and EPS services. If the UE is switched off when the timer T3245 is running, the UE behaves as follows when the UE is switched on and the USIM in the MS (Mobile Station) remains the same: When the lists are erased, the UE performs cell selection according to 3GPP TS 36.304 [21]. When the time remaining for T3245 timeout at switch off is t1 and t is the time elapsed between switch off and switch on, if t1 is greater than t, then the timer is restarted with the value t1−t. If t1 is less than or equal to t, the UE will follow the behavior as defined in the paragraph above upon expiration of the timer T3245, [0036], lines 1-3, [0037], lines 1-2 and [0038], lines 1-3) , and Devarayanigari does not specifically disclose concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, remove the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired. However, Tiwari specifically teaches concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, remove the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired (As the elapsed time is less than the remaining time in this embodiment, the controller module 112 starts the back-off timer with the result of the remaining time minus the elapsed time (step S250). After that, the controller module 112 removes or clears the "forbidden PLMN list" when the back-off timer expires (step S260). In another embodiment, if the elapsed time is determined to be greater than or equal to the remaining time in the step S240, the controller module 112 does not start the back-off timer, and instead, directly removes or clears the "forbidden PLMN list", [0032], lines 1-5) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, remove the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods for access control with a back-off timer for low priority devices, (Tiwari, [0003], lines 1-2). Regarding claim 6 , Devarayanigari discloses UE, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 11, item 1108, processing unit) is further configured to: in case that the UE is not capable of identifying the elapsed time, re- start the timer based on the remaining time (If the UE is not capable of determining t, the UE restarts the timer with the value t1, [0038], lines 3-4) .. Regarding claim 7 , Devarayanigari discloses UE, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 11, item 1108, processing unit) is further configured to: Devarayanigari does not specifically disclose concept of in case that the UE is switched off, store the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UE. However, Tiwari specifically teaches concept of in case that the UE is switched off, store the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UE (In response to the mobile communication device 110 being powered off before the back-off timer expires, the controller module 112 stores the amount of the remaining time for the back-off timer to expire and the "forbidden PLMN list" (step S230), [0030], lines 15-17) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the UE is switched off, store the PLMN list in a non- volatile memory of the UE of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods for access control with a back-off timer for low priority devices, (Tiwari, [0003], lines 1-2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devarayanigari (US 2016/0373928) in view of Tiwari (US 2012/0171993) and further in view of Kuppelur et al (US 2022/0312360) Regarding claim 4 , Devarayanigari discloses method (fig. 2, method) , further comprising: Devarayanigari and Tiwari do not specifically disclose concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list. However, Kuppelur et al specifically teaches concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list (The list of “PLMNs where registration was aborted due to SOR” is deleted when the UE is switched off or the USIM is removed, [0078], lines 1-2) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, removing the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired of Tiwari and concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list of Kuppelur et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve Wireless mobile communication technology for transmitting data between a base station and a wireless mobile device, (Kuppelur et al, [0002], lines 1-2) Regarding claim 8 , Devarayanigari discloses UE, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 11, item 1108, processing unit) is further configured to: Devarayanigari and Tiwari do not specifically disclose concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list. However, Kuppelur et al specifically teaches concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list (The list of “PLMNs where registration was aborted due to SOR” is deleted when the UE is switched off or the USIM is removed, [0078], lines 1-2) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Devarayanigari with concept of in case that the remaining time is equal to or less than the elapsed time, removing the entry in the PLMN list based on the timer being considered as expired of Tiwari and concept of in case that the USIM is removed, deleting the PLMN list of Kuppelur et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve Wireless mobile communication technology for transmitting data between a base station and a wireless mobile device, (Kuppelur et al, [0002], lines 1-2). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRANTZ BATAILLE whose telephone number is (571)270-7286. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Akwasi Sarpong can be reached on 571-270-3438. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 2 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 3 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 4 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 5 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 6 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 7 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 8 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 9 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 10 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 11 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/851,475 Page 12 Art Unit: 2681