ETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted on 11/07/2025, 07/30/2025 and 09/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 7-9, 24 and 31 are objected to, because of the following informalities:
The claims recite inter alia; “….a predicted value of the each pixel …”.
For a correct application of grammatical syntax it would be recommended to delete the article, “the” in the specified claim paragraphs, without resulting in a change of the claimed scope.
Correction is recommended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application does not currently name joint inventors.
4. Claims 1-9 and 24-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bae Keun Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee) (US 10,419,759) and Hu Ruimin et al., (hereinafter Hu) (CN 1021860086) in view of Je Chang Jeong et al., (hereinafter Jeong) (US 2025/0193414) priority to US 10,824,408 (Appl. 16/098,325 of Nov.1, 2018).
Re Claim 1. (Original) Lee discloses, an image decoding method (decoder in Fig.2, Col.2 Lin.10-14), comprising:
parsing a code stream of a to-be-decoded block, to determine a target prediction mode for predicting pixels in the to-be-decoded block (receiving a coded bitstream and prediction unit information module 230, Fig.2, Col.11 Lin.4-14);
determining a target prediction order corresponding to the target prediction mode based on the target prediction mode (determining the target prediction mode and prediction order according to the residual information scanning order based on the intra prediction modes of blocks, the transform methods to arrange coefficients, of the target intra prediction mode, Col.17 Lin.17-47, peer Fig.5 or Fig.8 or prediction order per scanning order, at Fig.9 at S940-vertical, S950-horizontal and S960-zig-zag order, Col.18 Lin.19-48);
predicting each pixel in the to-be-decoded block in the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode (each pixel is predicted according to the target prediction mode depicted in Fig.5 Col.13 Lin.51-67 to Col.18 Lin.1-30);
rebuilding each pixel based on a predicted value of the each pixel to obtain a rebuilt block of the to-be-decoded block (rebuilding the pixel block, i.e., reconstructing the block, as determined above, Col.18 Lin.26-30).
In an analogous art, Hu expressly teaches the application of an intra-frame prediction based on current block, i.e., target block, as part of the AVC standard using pixel intra prediction from adjacent sub-blocks of pixel references, e.g., from upper-left UL, upper-right UR, below-left BL, and below-right BR, subblocks of pixels, as claimed at,
predicting each pixel in the to-be-decoded block in the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode (the current pixel within a target block is predicted as cited below for brevity from Pg.5/17
according to the Step 1 to Step 5 at Pg.5/17 and at Pg.6/17 Lin.1-13, where the pixels are further scanned in prediction direction, according to the prediction mode, Pg.6/17 Lin.15 and Mode 1 to Mode 4 and Pg.7/17 Lin.1-15);
rebuilding each pixel based on a predicted value of the each pixel to obtain a rebuilt block of the to-be-decoded block (predicting each current block pixel for the 8x8 block, based on the reference pixel and the current coding pixel, Pg.12/17 cited below,
or at Pgs.3/17 and
Pg.4 Lin.1-4).
The skilled in the art would have considered the common pixel-based prediction methods where Lee teaches about the intra prediction mode determining the pixel scanning order (at Col.2 Lin.33-41) and find obvious before the effective filing date of invention, to combine with other intra-frame prediction methods corresponding to the scanning order taught in detail by Hu, in order to improve the encoding performance (Abstract) by which finding the combination predictable.
Furthermore, the pixel-based intra prediction mode is expressly disclosed by the art to Jeong, teaching about,
rebuilding each pixel based on a predicted value of the each pixel to obtain a rebuilt block of the to-be-decoded block (the pixel-based prediction, where a predicted value of the each pixel is used sequentially to reconstruct the target block i.e., the current to-be-decoded block as depicted at Fig.13b, Par.[0049, 0211-0222] of the reconstructed block in Fig. 14 Par.[0050, 0223-0224).
Within the same video prediction art, the combined references of Lee and Hu, teaching a common application of the intra prediction mode to the frame coding, the frame being comprised of predicted and to be predicted blocks of pixels, and there the intra prediction is applied at the intra-frame to the respective intra predicted blocks and where the ordinary skilled in the art would have found obvious to apply the respective intra mode down to the intra-block pixel reconstruction level identified in Jeong, by which improving the coding efficiency (Jeong: Par.[0035-0036]), thus finding such combination predictable in terms of the matter claimed.
Re Claim 2. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 1,
Lee teaches that, wherein when predicting any pixel in the to-be-decoded block in the target prediction order, a pixel used to predict this pixel has been rebuilt (the target block prediction is based on a residual and a pixel previously rebuilt pixel, at least at Col.6 Lin.39-41 and 53-56).
Re Claim 3. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 2,
Lee teaches about, wherein if the target prediction mode indicates that each pixel in the to-be-decoded block is predicted point by point in the target prediction order, then predicting each pixel in the to-be-decoded block in the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode comprises:
predicting each pixel in the to-be-decoded block point by point in a direction indicated by the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode (each pixel is predicted according to the scanning order and the intra prediction mode, Col.2 Lin.33-41 and Fig.9 Col.17 Lin.51-67 to Col.18 Lin.1-18);
wherein, when the target prediction mode is a first target prediction mode, the target prediction order is a first prediction order (a first target pixel prediction mode is in the vertical prediction mode direction, Col.2 Lin.14-18, Col.17 Lin.64-67), and
when the target prediction mode is a second target prediction mode, the target prediction order is a second prediction order (a second target pixel prediction mode is in the horizontal prediction mode direction, Col.2 Lin.18-19, Col.18 Lin.11-14), and the first prediction order and the second prediction order are different (where the vertical and horizontal modes are different in the respective prediction mode as set by the scan order direction which depends on the prediction mode, Col.2 Lin.33-41).
Re Claim 4. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 3,
Lee teaches about, wherein, for the to-be-decoded block with a size of a first size, predicting the to-be-decoded block by adopting a third prediction order in the target prediction mode (a third prediction mode and prediction order per Fig.9 Lin.15-18);
for the to-be-decoded block with the size of a second size, predicting the to-be- decoded block by adopting a fourth prediction order in the target prediction mode (the fourth diagonal prediction order is selected according to the block size, per Fig.8 Col. 17 Lin.16-30 where the size of the block determines the scanning order in addition to the information on the intra prediction mode, Col.18 Lin.61-67);
wherein the third prediction order and the fourth prediction order are different (the third prediction mode and zig-zag scan order Col.18 Lin.15-18 is different than the fourth diagonal order depending on the intra prediction mode and the size of the block per Fig.8 Col.17 Lin.21-34).
Re Claim 5. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 2,
Lee teaches about, wherein if the target prediction mode indicates that pixels of each sub-block in the to-be-decoded block are predicted sequentially with a sub-block of a preset size in the to-be-decoded block as a unit, then predicting each pixel in the to-be-decoded block in the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode comprises:
predicting the pixels in each sub-block in the to-be-decoded block sequentially in a direction indicated by the target prediction order according to the target prediction mode (per Fig.4 the pixels (420) and (440) of the blocks are decoded in the indicated direction and in sequential order, Col.12 Lin.58-67 and Col.13 Lin.1-22).
Re Claim 6. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 5,
Jeong teaches about, wherein the target prediction mode comprises a prediction mode for each sub-block in the to-be-decoded block, and
for a first sub-block in the to-be- decoded block, the first sub-block comprises a first pixel and a second pixel (the sub-block comprises two pixels to be part of the prediction per Fig.13b, Par.[0049, 0211-0222] and in the reconstructed block of Fig. 14 Par.[0050, 0223-0224)., and
a prediction mode for the first sub-block is used to predict the first pixel and the second pixel in parallel based on rebuilt pixels around the first sub-block (the parallel pixel prediction is possible Par.[0226, 0230] and Fig.15).
Re Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 1
Jeong teaches about, performing inverse quantization on a first residual block of the to-be-decoded block obtained by parsing the code stream of the to-be-decoded block, based on an inverse quantization parameter of each pixel in the to-be-decoded block obtained by parsing the code stream of the to-be-decoded block and an inverse quantization preset array, to obtain a second residual block (the inverse quantization and transform is depicted at Fig.3);
rebuilding each pixel based on the predicted value of the each pixel and the second residual block to obtain the rebuilt block (according to Fig.15 andPar.0225-0227] and similarly identified at Fig.16 Par.[0228-0229] for a first and a second residual used to reconstruct the current block).
Re Claim 8. (Original) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the method according to claim 7, wherein parsing the code stream of the to-be- decoded block comprises:
Jeong teaches about, parsing the code stream of the to-be-decoded block by using a variable code length decoding method to obtain the first residual block and a code length CL for coding each value in a residual block corresponding to the to-be-decoded block (the truncated unary (TU) binarization is considered a Variable Length Code (VLC) as taught at Table 2, Par.[0354-0355]).
Re Claim 9. (Original) This claim represents the image coding method where the “coding” is commonly interpreted as encoding/decoding, encoding the residual block (Lee: encoding the video block, module 130, in Fig.1, Col.2 Lin.42-46 along the residual value Col.6 Lin.1-4) in the target prediction order to obtain a code stream of the to-be-coded block, similarly to the method claim 1, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
10-23. (Cancelled)
Re Claim 24. (Currently Amended) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 1, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 25. (Currently Amended) This claim represents the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program or instructions thereon which, when executed by an electronic device, causes the electronic device to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 1, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 26. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 2, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 27. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 3, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 28. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 4, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 29. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 5, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 30. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 6, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 31. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 7, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 32. (New) This claim represents the decoding electronic device comprising a processor and a memory (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43), wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement each and every limitation of the method claim 8, hence it is rejected on the same evidentiary probe mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 33. (New) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions, and the processor is configured to call and execute the computer instructions from the memory to implement an image decoding method (Lee: per Fig.2, a memory 240 Col.9 Lin.39 and inverse process, Col.9 Lin.43) comprising:
Jeong teaches about, parsing a code stream of a to-be-decoded block to obtain an inverse quantization parameter of each pixel in the to-be-decoded block and a first residual block of the to-be-decoded block (Fig.3, Par.[0109-0110]);
performing inverse quantization on the first residual block based on an inverse quantization preset array and a quantization parameter QP indicated by the inverse quantization parameter of each pixel, to obtain a second residual block (inverse quantization at element 315, Fig.3);
rebuilding the to-be-decoded block based on the second residual block to obtain a rebuilt block (rebuilding at element 335 the current block “to-be-decoded” by using residual 325, in Fig.3 by using a second residual used to reconstruct the current block according to Fig.15 and Par.0225-0227] and similarly identified at Fig.16 Par.[0228-0229]) .
Re Claim 34. (New) Lee, Hu and Jeong disclose, the electronic device according to claim 33,
Lee teaches about, wherein parsing the code stream of the to- be-decoded block to obtain the inverse quantization parameter of each pixel in the to-be-decoded block and the first residual block of the to-be-decoded block (parsing the bitstream at element 210, in Fig.2, and NAL syntax including the coding prediction mode, to obtain the inverse quantization parameter of each pixel and the residual Col.9 Lin.32-67) comprises:
determining a target prediction mode for predicting pixels in the to-be-decoded block and an inverse quantization parameter of each pixel in the to-be-decoded block based on the code stream of the to-be-decoded block (receiving a coded bitstream and prediction mode per Fig.3, or 5 and unit information, module 235, Fig.2 Col.11 Lin.4-14);
determining a residual scanning order corresponding to the target prediction mode based on the target prediction mode (determining the residual and performing prediction per scanning order, at Fig.9 at S940-vertical, S950-horizontal and S960-zig-zag order, Col.18 Lin.19-48) in the ;
wherein when the target prediction mode is a first target prediction mode, the residual scanning order is a first scanning order (e,g., the first target prediction mode being at S940-vertical in Fig.9 Col.18 Lin.19-48), and
when the target prediction mode is a second target prediction mode, the residual scanning order is a second scanning order, and the first scanning order and the second scanning order are different (when prediction mode is S950-horizontal, Col.18 Lin.19-48);
parsing the code stream of the to-be-decoded block based on the residual scanning order to obtain the first residual block (parsing the residual block based on the residual scanned in the order per Fig.8 Col.4 Lin.1-3, indicated by the prediction mode group, per Fig.9, and Fig.10, Col.4 Lin.4-9).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Other representative prior art;
US 10,834,408; US 2021/0227212; US11,825,099; CN 110383837 A; CN 112070851 B; US 11,930,210; or,
Johannes Olsson Sandgren; “Pixel-based video coding”, Uppsala Universitet, Mar. 2014
See PTO-892 form. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c) to consider these references when responding to this action.
/DRAMOS KALAPODAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487