DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leeb DE 102018105631 A1.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Leeb teaches a method for distributing spray (from reservoir 16) onto an agricultural area (paragraph [0001]) using an agricultural spray device (12), comprising the steps of conveying the spray using at least one conveying device (using pump 30), along at least one liquid circuit of the agricultural spray device (fluid line 32), wherein a delivery rate and/or a delivery pressure, with which the spray is conveyed at least in portions along the at least one liquid circuit, is set on the basis of at least one operating parameter which can be set on the at least one conveying device (pressure can be variably set, with an operating parameter of rotating speed of pump 30 which controls pressure added to fluid, paragraph [0010]); and distributing the spray onto the agricultural area via a plurality of distributing elements (nozzles 36 and 38 in figure 2A) arranged along the liquid circuit (as shown in figure 2A), which are each designed to adjust a distributing spray quantity (Pulse width modulation of nozzles, Abstract), according to demand and/or location (PWM based upon height of boom, paragraph [0091]), on the basis of opening times (paragraph [0110]), which can be set on the plurality of distributing elements (switching elements of valves, paragraph [0110]), wherein the at least one operating parameter of the conveying device is open-loop and/or closed-loop controlled on the basis of the opening times, and on the basis of the delivery rate and/or the delivery pressure (operation of pump 30 based upon open loop control on basis of pressure, determined by PWM of the nozzles, paragraph [0051], where the output is not disclosed as being used as an input to determined operation of the system).
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Leeb teaches the plurality of distributing elements (36 and 38) are open-loop and or closed-loop controlled in the manner of pulse width modulation (control of nozzles through pulse width modulation, paragraph [0011], where the control is open loop where it is not disclosed that the output from the nozzles is used to control change).
Regarding Dependent Claim 3, Leeb teaches the at least one operating parameter is set to one of a plurality of defined operating points (pump 30 operated at different speeds to produce different pressures, paragraph [0078]) which can be determined and/or called up (called up from storage device, paragraph [0081]), the defined operating points being assigned in each case to different opening times and to different delivery quantities (variation of pulse width modulation controls length of opening of valves and quantity delivered by valves, paragraph [0078]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Leeb teaches the at least one operating parameter is open loop and/or closed loop controlled within limit values (pump 30 will be operate within pressure limits of the system), which are predeterminable and/or variable (limits of the turning of pump 30 are present prior to operation of the pump), the limit values being adapted as a function of the opening times, the delivery rates and/or the delivery pressure (limit of operation of pump 30 within system is dependent upon pressure delivered by pump 30).
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Leeb teaches at least one actuating element (switching element with each nozzle 36, paragraph [0104]) provided for adjusting the plurality of distributing elements (nozzles 36), which are provided for adjusting delivery pressure (adjustments to maintain pressure, paragraph [0104]) are set in such a way, that the at least one operating parameter is set to one of the plurality of determinable and/or retrievable operating points (pump 30 operated at different speeds to produce different pressures, paragraph [0078], which can be determined and/or called up from storage device, paragraph [0081]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Leeb teaches an agricultural spray device (12) having at least one associated open-loop and/or closed loop control system (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the agricultural spray device is configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Leeb teaches that the at least one conveying device is a pump device (pump 30).
Regarding Dependent Claim 8, Leeb teaches the opening times are based on a pulse duration or a duty cycle of the plurality of distributing elements (pulse width modulation of nozzles, abstract).
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Leeb teaches the at least one operating parameter is rotation speed of the at least one conveying device (pressure can be variably set, with an operating parameter of rotating speed of pump 30 which controls pressure added to fluid, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 10, Leeb teaches the plurality of defined operating points are defined rotation speeds (operating points will be different speeds of rotation of pump 30 that determined different pressures produced by pump within a range that the pump is capable of operating at).
Regarding Dependent Claim 11, Leeb teaches the different opening times are pulse durations or duty times (paragraph [0110]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 12, Leeb teaches the agricultural spray device is a field sprayer (abstract).
Related Art
Henderson 5,653,389 cited but not relied upon in the rejection discloses a similar spray system (2), but has a controlled conveying device (throttle valve 24) separate from a pump (19).
Giles 5,134,961 cited but not relied upon in the rejection discloses details of pulse width modulation for solenoid valves of nozzles (see control system shown in figure 1 and PWM charts in figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Leeb does not teach that the at least one operating parameter is open or closed loop controlled on the basis of the opening times of the distributing elements. As recited in paragraph [0051] of Leeb, and described by applicant on pages 4-5 of the arguments of 9/17/2026, the pressure produced by the pump is varied in order to maintain a constant pressure in the liquid circuit on the basis of the modulation of the nozzles. Therefore, the operational speed of the pump which changes the pressure produced by the pump is set dependent upon the opening times of the nozzles of the system. The claim recites control “on the basis of the opening times”, not on a control system that measures the opening time of the distributing elements directly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752