DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 18-19, 23, 33, 37-39, 43-44, 46-47, 68, 84, and 91-94 remain pending the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that the claims are not unclear because the specification describes how blood amount is used. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner also notes that he was instructed by his Supervisory Patent Examiner specifically to include this 112b rejection. To advance prosecution, the Applicant is encouraged to amend the claims to clearly indicate what items a) and b) are modifying. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-13 that Makinouchi does not disclose sub-pixels. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited previously and in the rejection below Makinouchi discloses subpixels (Makinouchi, Para 36-42; “The image sensor 13 includes a plurality of light receiving elements arranged two-dimensionally, such as a CMOS sensor or a CCD sensor. The light receiving elements are sometimes called pixels or subpixels.). This is not the Examiner’s own interpretation, but in fact is a citation from Makinouchi and these subpixels are part of the same sensor and therefore under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims are a subset. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the pixels not be at discrete locations) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). If the Applicant wishes to differentiate themselves from the prior art based on the specifics of the subpixels, these differences should be reflected in the claims. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 13-14 that Makinouchi does not disclose the limitations related to fluorophore concentration, based on the Applicant’s own interpretation of their claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited above, the 112b rejection is being maintained and the claims need not be so narrowly construed as the Applicant’s own specification interpretation. Additionally, the claims recite calculating fluorophore amount or concentration, not just concentration, which the Applicant focuses on in their arguments and Makinouchi discloses calculating fluorophore amount as cited previously and below. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant repeats their arguments in pages 14-17. These arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons outlined above. Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 68, 84, and 91-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 68, claim 68 recites “based on (a) the estimated amount of blood and (b) at least a subset of the one or more light signals”. It is unclear what these two limitations are modifying. Are they both modifying step i, step ii, or both step i and step ii? Is only one modifying step i and the other step ii? Something else? Additionally, how would a processing unit estimate amount of blood from an amount of blood? This seems circular. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, a reference disclosing determining an amount of blood and fluorophores or fluorescent material present in the tissue will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 68 and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Makinouchi (US20170079741).
Regarding claim 68, Makinouchi discloses a system comprising:
a processing unit including an image of a tissue, wherein the image includes data from one or more imaging sensors, wherein each of the one or more imaging sensors includes a plurality of pixels (Makinouchi, Para 39-41; “In the present embodiment, the light detection unit 3 outputs the detection result of the image sensor 13 as a digital signal in an image format (hereinafter referred to as captured image data). In the following description, an image captured by the image sensor 13 is referred to as captured image as appropriate. Data on the captured image is referred to as captured image data. The captured image is of a full-spec high definition (HD format) for the sake of description, but there are no limitations on the number of pixels of the captured image, pixel arrangement (aspect ratio), the gray-scale of pixel values, and the like. […] As described above, the wavelength of infrared light detected by each light receiving element of the image sensor 13 is determined by the position of the light receiving element, and hence each pixel value of captured image data is associated with the wavelength of infrared light detected by the image sensor 13. The position of a pixel on the captured image data is represented by (i,j), and the pixel disposed at (i,j) is represented by P(i,j).”),
wherein at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a first plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to a first band or wavelength of light and a second plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to a second band or wavelength of light, wherein the first band or wavelength of light is distinct from the second band or wavelength of light (Makinouchi, Para 49; “The pixel P(i,j) in FIG. 2 is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13. The pixel P(i+1,j) is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the second wavelength. The pixel P(i+2,j) is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the third wavelength in the image sensor 13.”) (Makinouchi, Para 45-47; “A first wavelength λ1 can be set to any desired wavelength. […] A second wavelength λ2 can be set to any desired wavelength different from the first wavelength λ1. A third wavelength λ3 can be set to any desired wavelength different from both of the first wavelength λ1 and the second wavelength λ2.”),
wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a quantitative analysis of one or more features or fiducials that are detectable within the image of the tissue based on one or more light signals obtained or registered using each of the first plurality of sub-pixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 60; “The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”), and
wherein the processing unit is configured to (i) estimate an amount of blood in the tissue and (ii) determine an amount or a concentration of fluorophores or fluorescent material present in the tissue based on (a) the estimated amount of blood and (b) at least a subject of the one or more light signals (Makinouchi, Para 161; “Such a scanning projection apparatus 1 can be utilized for examination and observation of lesions that change the distribution of blood or water, such as edema and inflammation, by projecting a component image indicating the amount of water included in the gum BT1, for example.”) (Makinouchi, Para 88; “For example, the scanning projection apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1 may detect a fluorescent image of the tissue BT added with a fluorescent substance, and generate a component image of the tissue BT on the basis of the detection result. In this case, a fluorescent substance such as indocyanine green (ICG) is added to the tissue BT (affected area) prior to the processing of capturing the tissue BT. For example, the irradiation unit 2 includes a light source that outputs detection light (excitation light) having a wavelength that excites the fluorescent substance added to the tissue BT, and irradiates the tissue BT with the detection light output from the light source.”) (Makinouchi, Para 89; “The light detection unit 3 includes a light detector having sensitivity to fluorescent light radiated from the fluorescent substance, and captures an image (fluorescent image) of the tissue BT irradiated with the detection light. For extracting fluorescent light from light radiated from the tissue BT, for example, an optical member having characteristics of transmitting fluorescent light and reflecting at least a part of the light other than the fluorescent light may be used as the wavelength selection mirror 23. A filter having such characteristics may be disposed in an optical path between the wavelength selection mirror 23 and the light detector. The filter may be insertable in and removable from the optical path between the wavelength selection mirror 23 and the light detector, or may be exchangeable in accordance with the type of fluorescent substance, that is, the wavelength of excitation light.”).
Regarding claim 91, Makinouchi discloses all of the limitations of claim 68 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to generate one or more combined images of the tissue based on image data or image signals derived from each of the first plurality of sub-pixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels (Makinouchi, Para 53-60; “In this manner, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i,j) of each of a plurality of pixels, thereby calculating the distribution of indices. The calculation unit 15 may calculate an index Q(i,j) for every pixel in the range where pixel values necessary for calculating the indices Q(i,j) are included in captured pixel data. The calculation unit 15 may calculate the distribution of indices Q(i,j) by calculating indices Q(i,j) for part of the pixels and performing interpolation operation by using the calculated indices Q(i,j). […] Thus, the data generation unit 16 in FIG. 1 rounds numerical values as appropriate to convert the index Q(i,j) into data in a predetermined image format. For example, the data generation unit 16 generates data on an image about components of the tissue BT by using the result calculated by the calculation unit 15. In the following description, the image about components of the tissue BT is referred to as component image (or projection image) as appropriate. Data on the component image is referred to as component image data (or projection image data). […] The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 18-19, 23, 33, 37-38, and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi (US20170079741) and Talbert et al. (US20200404131, hereafter Talbert).
Regarding claims 1 and 33, Makinouchi discloses a system and method comprising:
one or more imaging sensors configured to capture an image of a tissue, wherein each of the one or more imaging sensors includes a plurality of pixels (Makinouchi, Para 39-41; “In the present embodiment, the light detection unit 3 outputs the detection result of the image sensor 13 as a digital signal in an image format (hereinafter referred to as captured image data). In the following description, an image captured by the image sensor 13 is referred to as captured image as appropriate. Data on the captured image is referred to as captured image data. The captured image is of a full-spec high definition (HD format) for the sake of description, but there are no limitations on the number of pixels of the captured image, pixel arrangement (aspect ratio), the gray-scale of pixel values, and the like. […] As described above, the wavelength of infrared light detected by each light receiving element of the image sensor 13 is determined by the position of the light receiving element, and hence each pixel value of captured image data is associated with the wavelength of infrared light detected by the image sensor 13. The position of a pixel on the captured image data is represented by (i,j), and the pixel disposed at (i,j) is represented by P(i,j).”),
wherein at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a first plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to a first band or wavelength of light and a second plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to a second band or wavelength of light, wherein the first band or wavelength of light is distinct from the second band or wavelength of light (Makinouchi, Para 49; “The pixel P(i,j) in FIG. 2 is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13. The pixel P(i+1,j) is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the second wavelength. The pixel P(i+2,j) is a pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the third wavelength in the image sensor 13.”) (Makinouchi, Para 45-47; “A first wavelength λ1 can be set to any desired wavelength. […] A second wavelength λ2 can be set to any desired wavelength different from the first wavelength λ1. A third wavelength λ3 can be set to any desired wavelength different from both of the first wavelength λ1 and the second wavelength λ2.”),
wherein a modality of the imaging one or more imaging sensor is fluorescence imaging, hyperspectral, multispectral, or laser speckle imaging (Makinouchi, Para 88; “For example, the scanning projection apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1 may detect a fluorescent image of the tissue BT added with a fluorescent substance, and generate a component image of the tissue BT on the basis of the detection result. In this case, a fluorescent substance such as indocyanine green (ICG) is added to the tissue BT (affected area) prior to the processing of capturing the tissue BT.”) (Makinouchi, Para 89; “The light detection unit 3 includes a light detector having sensitivity to fluorescent light radiated from the fluorescent substance, and captures an image (fluorescent image) of the tissue BT irradiated with the detection light. For extracting fluorescent light from light radiated from the tissue BT, for example, an optical member having characteristics of transmitting fluorescent light and reflecting at least a part of the light other than the fluorescent light may be used as the wavelength selection mirror 23. A filter having such characteristics may be disposed in an optical path between the wavelength selection mirror 23 and the light detector.”) (Makinouchi, Para 84; “In the case where the projection unit 5 irradiates the tissue BT with laser light directly as in the present embodiment, flickering called speckle, which is easily visually recognized, occurs in the component image projected on the tissue BT, and hence a user can easily distinguish the component image from the tissue BT owing to the speckle.”), and
a processing unit operatively coupled to the one or more imaging sensors, wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a quantitative analysis of one or more features or fiducials that are detectable within the image of the tissue based on one or more light signals obtained or registered using each of the first plurality of sub-pixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 60; “The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”).
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein each of the first plurality of subpixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels are configured to generate image data having distinct image modalities, wherein one of the distinct image modalities is a color image.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Talbert discloses a sensor configured to generate image data having distinct image modalities, wherein one of the distinct image modalities is a color image and the other imaging modality includes fluorescence imaging (Talbert, Para 7; “The traditional endoscope with the image sensor placed in the handpiece unit is further limited to capturing only color images. However, in some implementations, it may be desirable to capture images with fluorescence, hyperspectral, and/or laser scanning data in addition to color image data. Fluorescence imaging captures the emission of light by a substance that has absorbed electromagnetic radiation and “glows” as it emits a relaxation wavelength.”) (Talbert, Para 119; “Multiple exposure frames may be combined to generate a black-and-white or RGB color image. Additionally, hyperspectral, fluorescence, and/or laser mapping imaging data may be overlaid on a black-and-white or RGB image.”) (Talbert, Para 50; “Disclosed herein are systems, methods, and devices for digital imaging in a light deficient environment that employ minimal area image sensors and can be configured for laser scanning and color imaging”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein each of the first plurality of subpixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels are configured to generate image data having distinct image modalities, wherein one of the distinct image modalities is a color image in order identify critical structures in a body and providing precise and valuable information about a body cavity as taught by Talbert (Talbert, Para 8-9) which improves diagnosis.
Regarding claim 2, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the system further comprises a first optical illumination in a third band or wavelength of light and a second optical illumination in a fourth band or wavelength of light (Makinouchi, Para 96; “FIG. 5 is a diagram showing a modification of the irradiation unit 2. The irradiation unit 2 in FIG. 5 includes a plurality of light sources including a light source 10 a, a light source 10 b, and a light source 10 c. The light source 10 a, the light source 10 b, and the light source 10 c each include an LED that outputs infrared light, and output infrared light having different wavelengths. The light source 10 a outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the first wavelength but does not include the second wavelength and the third wavelength. The light source 10 b outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the second wavelength but does not include the first wavelength and the third wavelength. The light source 10 c outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the third wavelength but does not include the first wavelength and the second wavelength.”).
Regarding claim 3, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the first optical illumination is selected to generate data for the first plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to the first band or wavelength of light, and wherein the second optical illumination is selected to generate data for the second plurality of sub-pixels sensitive to the second band or wavelength of light (Makinouchi, Para 96; “FIG. 5 is a diagram showing a modification of the irradiation unit 2. The irradiation unit 2 in FIG. 5 includes a plurality of light sources including a light source 10 a, a light source 10 b, and a light source 10 c. The light source 10 a, the light source 10 b, and the light source 10 c each include an LED that outputs infrared light, and output infrared light having different wavelengths. The light source 10 a outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the first wavelength but does not include the second wavelength and the third wavelength. The light source 10 b outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the second wavelength but does not include the first wavelength and the third wavelength. The light source 10 c outputs infrared light in a wavelength band that includes the third wavelength but does not include the first wavelength and the second wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 45-47; “A first wavelength λ1 can be set to any desired wavelength. […] A second wavelength λ2 can be set to any desired wavelength different from the first wavelength λ1. A third wavelength λ3 can be set to any desired wavelength different from both of the first wavelength λ1 and the second wavelength λ2.”) (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”).
Regarding claim 18, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the first band or wavelength of light and the second band or wavelength of light correspond to distinct bands or wavelengths of visible light, infrared light, or ultraviolet light (Makinouchi, Para 45-46; “A first wavelength λ1 can be set to any desired wavelength. For example, the first wavelength λ1 is set to a wavelength at which the absorbance is relatively small in the distribution of the absorbance of the first substance (lipid) in the near-infrared wavelength region and the absorbance is relatively small in the distribution of the absorbance of the second substance (water) in the near-infrared wavelength region. As one example, in the present embodiment, the first wavelength λ1 is set to about 1150 nm. Infrared light having the first wavelength λ1 is small in energy absorbed by lipid and strong in light intensity radiated from lipid. Infrared light having the first wavelength λ1 is small in energy absorbed by water and strong in light intensity radiated from water. A second wavelength λ2 can be set to any desired wavelength different from the first wavelength λ1. For example, the second wavelength λ2 is set to a wavelength at which the absorbance of the first substance (lipid) is higher than the absorbance of the second substance (water). As one example, in the present embodiment, the second wavelength λ2 is set to about 1720 nm. When applied to an object (for example, a tissue), infrared light having the second wavelength λ2 is larger in energy absorbed by the object and weaker in light intensity radiated from the object as the proportion of lipid to water included in the object becomes larger.”).
Regarding claim 19, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the first band or wavelength of light is within the infrared (Makinouchi, Para 45; “A first wavelength λ1 can be set to any desired wavelength. For example, the first wavelength λ1 is set to a wavelength at which the absorbance is relatively small in the distribution of the absorbance of the first substance (lipid) in the near-infrared wavelength region and the absorbance is relatively small in the distribution of the absorbance of the second substance (water) in the near-infrared wavelength region. As one example, in the present embodiment, the first wavelength λ1 is set to about 1150 nm. Infrared light having the first wavelength λ1 is small in energy absorbed by lipid and strong in light intensity radiated from lipid. Infrared light having the first wavelength λ1 is small in energy absorbed by water and strong in light intensity radiated from water.”), and wherein the second band or wavelength of light is in the visible or the ultraviolet (Makinouchi, Para 87; “For example, the scanning projection apparatus 1 may generate a component image of the tissue BT by detecting visible light radiated from the tissue BT with the light detection unit 3 and using the detection result of the light detection unit 3.”) (Makinouchi, Para 46; “A second wavelength λ2 can be set to any desired wavelength different from the first wavelength λ1.”).
Regarding claim 23, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses one or more band pass filters for filtering out one or more bands or wavelengths of light emitted, reflected, or received from the tissue (Makinouchi, Para 35; “The infrared filter 12 transmits infrared light having a predetermined wavelength band among light passing through the imaging optical system 11, and blocks infrared light in wavelength bands other than the predetermined wavelength band. The image sensor 13 detects at least a part of the infrared light radiated from the tissue BT via the imaging optical system 11 and the infrared filter 12.”) (Makinouchi, Para 89; “A filter having such characteristics may be disposed in an optical path between the wavelength selection mirror 23 and the light detector. The filter may be insertable in and removable from the optical path between the wavelength selection mirror 23 and the light detector, or may be exchangeable in accordance with the type of fluorescent substance, that is, the wavelength of excitation light.”) (Makinouchi, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 37, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses collecting the one or more light signals from each of the first plurality of sub-pixels and the second plurality of sub-pixels substantially in parallel (Makinouchi, Para 36-42; “The image sensor 13 includes a plurality of light receiving elements arranged two-dimensionally, such as a CMOS sensor or a CCD sensor. The light receiving elements are sometimes called pixels or subpixels. […] In the present embodiment, the light detection unit 3 outputs the detection result of the image sensor 13 as a digital signal in an image format (hereinafter referred to as captured image data). In the following description, an image captured by the image sensor 13 is referred to as captured image as appropriate. Data on the captured image is referred to as captured image data. The captured image is of a full-spec high definition (HD format) for the sake of description, but there are no limitations on the number of pixels of the captured image, pixel arrangement (aspect ratio), the gray-scale of pixel values, and the like. […] A first pixel corresponding to a light receiving element of the image sensor 13 that detects infrared light having the first wavelength is, for example, a pixel group satisfying i=3N, where N is a positive integer. A second pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the second wavelength is, for example, a pixel group satisfying i=3N+1. A third pixel corresponding to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the third wavelength is a pixel group satisfying i=3N+2.”).
Regarding claim 38, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 37 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses performing the quantitative analysis substantially in real time based on the one or more light signals collected substantially in parallel (Makinouchi, Para 171-172; “The infrared camera 71 is a light detection unit that detects light radiated from the tissue. The projection unit 5 can project an image generated by the control device (not shown) by using the detection result of the infrared camera (captured image). The display device 31 can display an image acquired by the infrared camera 71 and a component image generated by the control device. For example, a visible camera is provided to the surgery lamp 80, and the display device 31 can also display an image acquired by the visible camera. […] The surgery support system SYS projects an image indicating information on a tissue on the tissue. Thus, a legion, as well as nerves, solid organs such as pancreas, fat tissue, blood vessels, and the like can be easily recognized to reduce invasiveness of an operation or treatment and enhance the efficiency of an operation or treatment.”).
Regarding claim 43, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the quantitative analysis comprises an identification or classification of one or more tissue regions in the tissue based on the one or more light signals (Makinouchi, Para 84; “Such a component image can be used, for example, to determine whether the tissue BT has an affected area, such as a tumor. For example, when the tissue BT has a tumor, the ratio of lipid or water included in the tumor area differs from that in a tissue with no tumor. The ratio may differ depending on the type of tumor.”) (Makinouchi, Para 81; “At Step S2, the light detection unit 3 detects light (for example, infrared light) that is radiated from the tissue BT irradiated with the detection light. At Step S3, the calculation unit 15 in the image generation unit 4 calculates component information on the amount of lipid and the amount of water in the tissue BT.”) (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 60; “The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”).
Regarding claim 44, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a multispectral classification of one or more tissue regions in the tissue based on the one or more light signals having a plurality of different wavelengths (Makinouchi, Para 84; “Such a component image can be used, for example, to determine whether the tissue BT has an affected area, such as a tumor. For example, when the tissue BT has a tumor, the ratio of lipid or water included in the tumor area differs from that in a tissue with no tumor. The ratio may differ depending on the type of tumor.”) (Makinouchi, Para 81; “At Step S2, the light detection unit 3 detects light (for example, infrared light) that is radiated from the tissue BT irradiated with the detection light. At Step S3, the calculation unit 15 in the image generation unit 4 calculates component information on the amount of lipid and the amount of water in the tissue BT.”) (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 60; “The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi and Talbert as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Ramsteiner (US20140213860).
Regarding claim 39, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi further discloses wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a quantification an amount of fluorescence emitted from a surgical scene or a concentration of a fluorescing material or substance of the one or more features or fiducials (Makinouchi, Para 88; “For example, the scanning projection apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1 may detect a fluorescent image of the tissue BT added with a fluorescent substance, and generate a component image of the tissue BT on the basis of the detection result. In this case, a fluorescent substance such as indocyanine green (ICG) is added to the tissue BT (affected area) prior to the processing of capturing the tissue BT. For example, the irradiation unit 2 includes a light source that outputs detection light (excitation light) having a wavelength that excites the fluorescent substance added to the tissue BT, and irradiates the tissue BT with the detection light output from the light source.”) (Makinouchi, Para 52; “The calculation unit 15 calculates the index Q(i,j) at the pixel P(i,j) as described above. While changing the values of i and j, the calculation unit 15 calculates indices at other pixels to calculate the distribution of indices. For example, similarly to the pixel P(i,j), a pixel P(i+3,j) corresponds to a light receiving element that detects infrared light having the first wavelength in the image sensor 13, and hence the calculation unit 15 uses the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) instead of the pixel value of the pixel P(i,j) to calculate an index at another pixel. For example, the calculation unit 15 calculates an index Q(i+1,j) by using the pixel value of the pixel P(i+3,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the first wavelength, the pixel value of a pixel P(i+4,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the second wavelength, and the pixel value of a pixel P(i+5,j) corresponding to the detection result of infrared light having the third wavelength.”) (Makinouchi, Para 60; “The index Q(i,j) calculated by Expression (1) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid, and hence the pixel value of the pixel (i,j) becomes larger as the site has a larger amount of lipid. For example, a large pixel value generally corresponds to the result that the pixel is displayed brightly, and hence, as the site has a larger amount of lipid, the site is displayed in a more brightly emphasized manner. An operator may request that the site where the amount of water is large be displayed brightly.”).
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the quantification is determined using spectral fitting or absorption spectroscopy.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Ramsteiner discloses wherein quantification is determined using spectral fitting or absorption spectroscopy (Ramsteiner, Para 21; “The fluorescent-light-emitting region 113 can be configured here such that it constitutes, viewed from the light-detecting device 12, a nearly point-type light source arranged in the tissue, which light source can be used for absorption spectroscopy of the tissue located between the two devices 11 and 12, the fluids located between the two devices 11 and 12, and/or the particles located between the two devices 11 and 12. In this manner, the light 14′, which is trapped in the device 11, is coupled out and emitted in a point-type fashion through the region 113 (see arrows 14). The absorption spectroscopy of the fluorescent light 14 emitted according to the disclosure can then be carried out by the light-detecting device 12 or another suitable device using methods known therefor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the quantification is determined using spectral fitting or absorption spectroscopy in order to reliably quantify different analytes as taught by Ramsteiner (Ramsteiner, Para 3-4) which improves diagnosis.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi and Talbert as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Ayaz et al. (US20150038812, hereafter Ayaz).
Regarding claim 46, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a determination of the real-time blood oxygenation based on the one or more light signals.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Ayaz discloses wherein quantitative analysis comprises a determination of real-time blood oxygenation based on one or more light signals (Ayaz, Para 50; “was performed at real-time during an experiment in order to calculate the oxygenation changes in the prefrontal cortex of a subject at real-time”) (Ayaz, Para 73; “The fNIR-BCI Server software on the Protocol-Computer received the raw fNIR signals, calculated the oxygenation changes at real-time using modified Beer Lambert Law and transformed oxygenation changes to a number between 0 to 100, called fNIR-BCI index as described above. fNIR-BCI index is transmitted to the game at real-time through TCP/IP networking”) (Ayaz, Para 33; “FIG. 2 is another depiction of fNIR and the light path that fNIR may take in passing through tissue in the brain of a test subject. Although not limiting, an example experimental description of fNIR is now included. Typically, an optical apparatus for fNIR Spectroscopy consists of at least one light source that shines light to the head and a light detector that receives light after it has interacted with the tissue. Photons”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a determination of the real-time blood oxygenation based on the one or more light signals in order to measure tissue activity as taught by Ayaz (Ayaz, Para 7-9) which helps diagnosis.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi and Talbert as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Lennartz et al. (US20210228287, hereafter Lennartz).
Regarding claim 47, Makinouchi as modified by Talbert above discloses all of the limitations of claim 33 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a quantitative speckle analysis based on the one or more light signals.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Lennartz discloses wherein quantitative analysis comprises a quantitative speckle analysis based on one or more light signals (Lennartz, Para 90; “The light sensor 540 may be an image sensor such as CCD or CMOS array and may output the sensed results, which may be laser speckle data for processing into laser speckle contrast images (LSCIs). The LSCI allows a clinician to see a quantitative mapping of local blood flow dynamics in a wide area so that the clinician can quickly and accurately assess the blood flows within the tissue 330”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the quantitative analysis comprises a quantitative speckle analysis based on the one or more light signals in order to quickly and accurately assess the blood flows within the tissue as taught by Lennartz (Lennartz, Para 90) which helps diagnosis.
Claim 84 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi and Felce et al. (US20240027464, hereafter Felce).
Regarding claim 84, Makinouchi discloses all of the limitations of claim 68 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the processing unit is configured to quantify an amount of fluorescence emitted from the tissue or an amount of fluorescent material present in the tissue based on a lighting condition of the image, wherein the lighting condition includes an illumination bias, an illumination profile, or an illumination gradient of the image.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Felce discloses quantifying an amount of fluorescence emitted from a tissue or an amount of fluorescent material present in the tissue (Felce, Para 11; “in a first aspect, the invention provides a method of identifying pathogens in a sample using a fluorescence imaging system configured to illuminate the sample with an excitation light source and detect resulting fluorescence in multiple colour channels”) based on a lighting condition of an image, wherein the lighting condition includes an illumination bias, an illumination profile, or an illumination gradient of the image (Felce, Para 163; “The intensity profile of the external light source may vary across the focal plane, in which case the intensity of detected candidate objects may depend on the position of the candidate object within the external light source beam. This may be corrected for by determining the intensity profile of the external light source and applying a correction to the measured intensity data based on the position of the candidate object”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the processing unit is configured to quantify an amount of fluorescence emitted from the tissue or an amount of fluorescent material present in the tissue based on a lighting condition of the image, wherein the lighting condition includes an illumination bias, an illumination profile, or an illumination gradient of the image in order to correct for determined light intensity as taught by Felce (Felce, Para 163) which leads to more accurate measurements which improves diagnosis.
Claims 92-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinouchi and Valdes et al. (US20160278678, hereafter Valdes).
Regarding claim 92, Makinouchi discloses all of the limitations of claim 91 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the processing unit is configured to generate a quantitative map of fluorescence in the tissue based on the image data or image signals.
In an analogous optical diagnostic device field of endeavor Valdes discloses generating a quantitative map of fluorescence in tissue based on image data or image signals (Valdes, Para 71; “The processor 180 also uses the hyperspectral camera 128 to capture a hyperspectral fluorescent image stack and executes dFI (depth-resolved fluorescent imaging) and/or qdFI (quantified depth-resolved fluorescent imaging) routines from memory 178 to process the hyperspectral fluorescent image stack to map depth and quantity of fluorophore in tissue […] tomographic display of mapped depth and quantity of fluorophore.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the processing unit is configured to generate a quantitative map of fluorescence in the tissue based on the image data or image signals in order to improve the ability of a user to distinguish tissue types as taught by Valdes (Valdes, Para 8) which improves diagnosis.
Regarding claim 93, Makinouchi as modified by Valdes above discloses all of the limitations of claim 92 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the quantitative map of fluorescence indicates an amount or concentration of fluorescence material present in one or more regions of the tissue.
Valdes further discloses wherein the quantitative map of fluorescence indicates an amount or concentration of fluorescence material present in one or more regions of the tissue (Valdes, Para 25; “Hyperspectral images taken under specific wavelengths of light are displayed as fluorescent images, and corrected for optical properties of tissue to provide quantitative maps of fluorophore concentration”) (Valdes, Para 91; “thereby generate a map of tissue classifications up to one centimeter deep in the brain surface. The classifier operates on chromophore concentrations, including oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin and ratios of oxygenated to deoxygenated hemoglobin, fluorophore concentrations, and optical properties as determined for that voxel. Finally, the images and generated maps are displayed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the quantitative map of fluorescence indicates an amount or concentration of fluorescence material present in one or more regions of the tissue in order to improve the ability of a user to distinguish tissue types as taught by Valdes (Valdes, Para 8) which improves diagnosis.
Regarding claim 94, Makinouchi as modified by Valdes above discloses all of the limitations of claim 93 as discussed above.
Makinouchi does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a calibration that correlates an amount of fluorescent light detected by the one or more imaging sensors to the amount or concentration of fluorescent material present in the one or more regions.
Valdes further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a calibration that correlates an amount of fluorescent light detected by the one or more imaging sensors to the amount or concentration of fluorescent material present in the one or more regions (Valdes, Para 25; “Hyperspectral images taken under specific wavelengths of light are displayed as fluorescent images, and corrected for optical properties of tissue to provide quantitative maps of fluorophore concentration”) (Valdes, Para 91; “thereby generate a map of tissue classifications up to one centimeter deep in the brain surface. The classifier operates on chromophore concentrations, including oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin and ratios of oxygenated to deoxygenated hemoglobin, fluorophore concentrations, and optical properties as determined for that voxel. Finally, the images and generated maps are displayed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Makinouchi wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a calibration that correlates an amount of fluorescent light detected by the one or more imaging sensors to the amount or concentration of fluorescent material present in the one or more regions in order to improve the ability of a user to distinguish tissue types as taught by Valdes (Valdes, Para 8) which improves diagnosis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798