DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 and 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the projection" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend Claim 7 to depend from Claim 6, which introduces the projection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the adapter" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend Claim 8 to depend from Claim 7, which introduces the adapter.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the adapter" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend Claim 9 to depend from Claim 7, which introduces the adapter.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the first coupler”, “the second coupler”, and “the belt” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Applicant should amend this claim to depend from Claim 19, which introduces these limitations.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the first coupler" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend this claim to depend from Claim 19.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the second coupler" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend this claim to depend from Claim 21.
Claim 23 recites the limitations "the first coupler” and “the second coupler” in the last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Applicant should amend this claim to depend from Claim 19, which introduces these limitations.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the second coupler" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend this claim to depend from Claim 19.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the wall" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should amend the claim to properly introduce these limitations.
The remaining dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 21-26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2011/100678 to Nguyen et al. (Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 18: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus comprising: a body having a handle (332); and a cleaning head (20) connected to the body, the cleaning head including: a housing (140) including an opening and defining a cavity that is accessible through the opening; a brushroll (214) mounted in the housing (140) for rotation relative to the housing about a brushroll axis, the brushroll (214) having an end disposed in the cavity; a motor (206) mounted in the housing (140), the motor (206) including a motor shaft configured to rotate relative to the housing about a motor axis, the motor shaft having an end disposed in the cavity; and a drive train (216, 234, 236) removably coupled to the housing (140), such that when the drive train is in a coupled position the drive train (216, 234, 236) drivingly connects the end of the motor shaft to the end of the brushroll (214); wherein in the coupled position the drive train (216, 234, 236) transmits rotation from the motor (206) to the brushroll (214).
Regarding Claim 21: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus according to claim 18, wherein when the drive train (216, 234, 236) is in the coupled position the first coupler (234) is rotatable about the motor axis and engages the motor shaft to rotate therewith.
Regarding Claim 22: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus of according to claim 18, wherein when the drive train (216, 234, 236) is in the coupled position the second coupler (236) is rotatable about the brushroll axis and engages the brushroll to rotate therewith.
Regarding Claim 23: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the motor shaft includes a motor coupler (231) disposed in the cavity, and wherein the brushroll (214) includes a brushroll drive (233) disposed in the cavity, and wherein in the coupled position the first coupler (234) is configured to engage the motor coupler and the second coupler (236) is configured to engage the brushroll drive (233).
Regarding Claim 24: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus of claim 23, wherein the brushroll drive (233) includes a roller recess See Figure 14A).
Regarding Claim 25: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus of claim 23, wherein the motor coupler (231) includes a shaped projection (See Figure 13A).
Regarding Claim 26: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus of claim 23, wherein the brushroll drive (233) includes a drive projection (See Figure 13B).
Regarding Claim 31: Nguyen discloses a surface cleaning apparatus according to claim 18, wherein when the drive train (216, 234, 236) is in the coupled position the drive train is received in the opening and prevents access to the cavity through the wall (See Figure 12), and when the drive train (216, 234, 236) is in an uncoupled position the cavity is accessible through the opening in the wall (See Figure 14A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 12-17 are allowed.
Claims 7-11, 19, 20 and 27-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches a panel removably coupled to the housing with the first coupler, the second coupler and the belt mounted on the panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 9380921.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632