DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 13, 18-24 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasukawa et al. (US 20180115362, Yasukawa hereinafter)
As to claim 1: Yasukawa discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, to one or more wireless devices, an announcement message comprising a request for at least one of the one or more wireless devices to serve as a network coding device for retransmitting packets originally transmitted from the UE (see at least paragraphs [0128], [0175] and Fig. 14, in step S402, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as announcement message) in L2 by using a PSDCH or a PSCCH/PSSCH by any one of a broadcast, a groupcast, and a unicast that relays data communication using relay.);
receiving one or more confirmation messages in response to the announcement message, wherein each confirmation message of the one or more confirmation messages indicates a wireless device that is capable of serving as the network coding device (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, the remote UE2 that receives measurement resource (interpreted as confirmation messages) from the UE1B and the UE1C measures reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ and the like) of each UE1 where reception quality indicates that UE1B and UE1C are capable of serving as relay device.); and
selecting a set of one or more network coding devices from the one or more wireless devices based at least in part on the one or more confirmation messages (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, selects a UE1 of the best reception quality as a relay UE, for example (step S404). In the example FIG. 14, the UE1C is selected as a relay UE.).
As to claim 2: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa further discloses wherein each confirmation message of the one or more confirmation messages comprises a vote nominating the wireless device to serve as the network coding device, the method further comprising: calculating, by the UE, a quantity of votes nominating respective wireless devices indicated via the one or more confirmation messages, wherein the set of one or more network coding devices is selected based at least in part on the quantity of votes nominating each of the respective wireless devices (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, selects a UE1 of the best reception quality as a relay UE.).
As to claim 4: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 2. Yasukawa further discloses wherein each confirmation message further comprises an identifier of the wireless device, a weighted value of the wireless device, an indication that the confirmation message includes the vote, or any combination thereof (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, selects a UE1 of the best reception quality as a relay UE based on the measurement resource from the UE1B and the UE1C measures reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ and the like) of each UE1.).
As to claim 5: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 2. Yasukawa further discloses wherein the one or more confirmation messages are received during a first time duration, the method further comprising: transmitting, to the set of one or more network coding devices, a second announcement message indicating that the set of one or more network coding devices has been selected, wherein the second announcement message is transmitted after the first time duration and includes an identifier for each network coding device of the set of one or more network coding devices (see at least paragraph [0131] and Fig. 14, in step S405, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as second announcement request which is transmitted after the selection process time) of L3 including an L2 address of the UE1C as a destination address to the UE1C by a PSCCH/PSSCH. That is, in L2, the relay request is transmitted by a unicast. The relay request includes information for requesting assignment of an IP address in L3. For example, the relay request includes an RS of IPv6.).
As to claim 13: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa further discloses further comprising: storing a list of the set of one or more network coding devices based at least in part on selecting the set of one or more network coding devices (see at least paragraph [0170], the capability information storage unit 103 stores capability information including capability information indicating whether the UE has a capability to become a relay UE).
As to claim 18: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa further discloses wherein each network coding device of the set of one or more network coding devices satisfy one or more criteria indicated via the announcement message (see at least paragraph [0129], in step S402, each UE1 that receives the relay request transmitted from the remote UE2 performs measurement. For example, a UE1 (the UE1B and the UE1C in the example of FIG. 14) that received the relay request with reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ) equal to or greater than a threshold transmits a measurement resource.).
As to claim 19: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 18. Yasukawa further discloses wherein the one or more criteria comprise a speed threshold, a remaining power threshold, an available buffer size threshold, a computational load threshold, a reference signal received power threshold, or any combination thereof (see at least paragraph [0129], the relay request with reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ) equal to or greater than a threshold.).
As to claim 20: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa further discloses wherein: the announcement message comprises an indication of a quantity of network coding devices requested from the UE; and selecting the set of one or more network coding devices is based at least in part on the quantity of network coding devices requested from the UE (see at least paragraph [0129], the relay request with MAC address (L2 address) .).
As to claim 21: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa further discloses wherein the announcement message comprises a network coding request message including a request for retransmitting the packets originally transmitted from the UE (see at least paragraphs [0128], [0175] and Fig. 14, in step S402, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request that relays data communication using relay.).
As to claim 22: Yasukawa discloses a method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), an announcement message comprising a request for at least one wireless device to serve as a network coding device for retransmitting packets originally transmitted from the UE (see at least paragraphs [0128], [0175] and Fig. 14, in step S402, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as announcement message) in L2 by using a PSDCH or a PSCCH/PSSCH by any one of a broadcast, a groupcast, and a unicast that relays data communication using relay.); and
transmitting, to the UE, a confirmation message in response to the announcement message, wherein the confirmation message indicates that the wireless device or another wireless device is capable of serving as the network coding device (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, the remote UE2 that receives measurement resource (interpreted as confirmation messages) from the UE1B and the UE1C measures reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ and the like) of each UE1 where reception quality indicates that UE1B and UE1C are capable of serving as relay device).
As to claim 23: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 22. Yasukawa further discloses wherein the confirmation message comprises a vote nominating the wireless device or the other wireless device to serve as the network coding device (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, selects a UE1 of the best reception quality as a relay UE.).
As to claim 24: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 23. Yasukawa further discloses further comprising: receiving, from the UE, a second announcement message indicating that a set of one or more network coding devices has been selected, wherein the second announcement message is transmitted after a first time duration for selecting network coding devices (see at least paragraph [0131] and Fig. 14, in step S405, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as second announcement request which is transmitted after the selection process time) of L3 including an L2 address of the UE1C as a destination address to the UE1C by a PSCCH/PSSCH. That is, in L2, the relay request is transmitted by a unicast. The relay request includes information for requesting assignment of an IP address in L3. For example, the relay request includes an RS of IPv6.).
As to claim 29: Yasukawa discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable using the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to one or more wireless devices, an announcement message comprising a request for at least one of the one or more wireless devices to serve as a network coding device for retransmitting packets originally transmitted from the UE (see at least paragraphs [0128], [0175] and Fig. 14, in step S402, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as announcement message) in L2 by using a PSDCH or a PSCCH/PSSCH by any one of a broadcast, a groupcast, and a unicast that relays data communication using relay.);
receive one or more confirmation messages in response to the announcement message, wherein each confirmation message of the one or more confirmation messages indicates a wireless device that is capable of serving as the network coding device (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, the remote UE2 that receives measurement resource (interpreted as confirmation messages) from the UE1B and the UE1C measures reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ and the like) of each UE1 where reception quality indicates that UE1B and UE1C are capable of serving as relay device.); and
select a set of one or more network coding devices from the one or more wireless devices based at least in part on the one or more confirmation messages (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, selects a UE1 of the best reception quality as a relay UE, for example (step S404). In the example FIG. 14, the UE1C is selected as a relay UE.).
As to claim 30: Yasukawa discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable using the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), an announcement message comprising a request for at least one wireless device to serve as a network coding device for retransmitting packets originally transmitted from the UE (see at least paragraphs [0128], [0175] and Fig. 14, in step S402, the remote UE2 transmits a relay request (interpreted as announcement message) in L2 by using a PSDCH or a PSCCH/PSSCH by any one of a broadcast, a groupcast, and a unicast that relays data communication using relay.); and
transmit, to the UE, a confirmation message in response to the announcement message, wherein the confirmation message indicates that the wireless device or another wireless device is capable of serving as the network coding device (see at least paragraph [0130] and Fig. 14, the remote UE2 that receives measurement resource (interpreted as confirmation messages) from the UE1B and the UE1C measures reception quality (RSRP, RSRQ and the like) of each UE1 where reception quality indicates that UE1B and UE1C are capable of serving as relay device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa et al. (US 20180115362, Yasukawa hereinafter) in view of Li et al. (US 20180027429, Li hereinafter).
As to claim 3: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 2. Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose wherein selecting the set of one or more network coding devices comprises: calculating, by the UE, that a first wireless device and a second wireless device of the one or more wireless devices have a same quantity of votes based at least in part on the one or more confirmation messages; and randomly selecting the first wireless device or the second wireless device in the set of one or more network coding devices based at least in part on the calculation.
However Li discloses wherein selecting the set of one or more network coding devices comprises: calculating, by the UE, that a first wireless device and a second wireless device of the one or more wireless devices have a same quantity of votes based at least in part on the one or more confirmation messages and randomly selecting the first wireless device or the second wireless device in the set of one or more network coding devices based at least in part on the calculation (see at least paragraph [0260], if the first UE 20 has received broadcast messages that are sent by multiple UEs having the relay capability, the first UE 20 may first select one UE as the relay UE randomly or based on a predetermined rule.)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement random selection of relay when multiple UEs having the relay capability, as taught by Li, into the invention of Yasukawa in order to improve increase data efficiency (see Li, paragraph [0280]).
As to claim 14: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting a quantity of network coding request messages to one or more network coding devices, wherein transmitting the announcement message is triggered via an absence of one or more acceptance messages in response to the quantity of network coding request messages.
However Li discloses transmitting a quantity of network coding request messages to one or more network coding devices, wherein transmitting the announcement message is triggered via an absence of one or more acceptance messages in response to the quantity of network coding request messages (see at least paragraph [0118] a timer may be started at the same time when the first UE 20 sends the relay request message. It is assumed that duration that is set by the timer is T1. In this case, if no relay response message corresponding to the relay request message is received during the time period T1 after 303, the first UE 20 may retransmit the relay request message. The quantity of times of retransmission herein may be preset, or may be (that is, the second threshold) included in the D2D relay configuration information in 301. Herein, T1 may be zero.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement random selection of relay when multiple UEs having the relay capability, as taught by Li, into the invention of Yasukawa in order to improve increase data efficiency (see Li, paragraph [0280]).
As to claim 15: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining an absence of network coding packets, or encoder claiming packets, or both, for a second time duration, wherein transmitting the announcement message is triggered via the absence of the network coding packets, or the encoder claiming packets, or both, for the second time duration.
However Li discloses determining an absence of network coding packets, or encoder claiming packets, or both, for a second time duration, wherein transmitting the announcement message is triggered via the absence of the network coding packets, or the encoder claiming packets, or both, for the second time duration (see at least paragraph [0119], if after a quantity of times of sending a relay request message reaches the quantity of times of retransmission, the first UE 20 still receives no relay response message corresponding to the relay request message, it indicates that no available relay UE is around the first UE 20. In this case, the first UE may send another relay request message after an interval of T1′, where T1′ is configured in the relay configuration information in 301.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement random selection of relay when multiple UEs having the relay capability, as taught by Li, into the invention of Yasukawa in order to improve increase data efficiency (see Li, paragraph [0280]).
As to claim 17: Yasukawa discloses the method of claim 1. Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose further comprising: monitoring for one or more existing network coding devices; and determining an absence of an existing network coding device based at least in part on the monitoring, wherein transmitting the announcement message is based at least in part on determining the absence of the existing network coding device.
However Li discloses monitoring for one or more existing network coding devices; and determining an absence of an existing network coding device based at least in part on the monitoring, wherein transmitting the announcement message is based at least in part on determining the absence of the existing network coding device (see at least paragraph [0118] a timer may be started at the same time when the first UE 20 sends the relay request message. It is assumed that duration that is set by the timer is T1. In this case, if no relay response message corresponding to the relay request message is received during the time period T1 after 303, the first UE 20 may retransmit the relay request message. The quantity of times of retransmission herein may be preset, or may be (that is, the second threshold) included in the D2D relay configuration information in 301. Herein, T1 may be zero.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement random selection of relay when multiple UEs having the relay capability, as taught by Li, into the invention of Yasukawa in order to improve increase data efficiency (see Li, paragraph [0280]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12, 16 and 25-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alvarino et al. (US 20170111780) discloses Method for wireless communication in network, involves deciding whether to communicate with base station directly through narrowband region or to communicate with network indirectly through intermediate device.
KIM et al. (US 20160135203) discloses Method for Selecting or Reselecting Relay for Proximity Service.
LIAO et al. (US 20150029866) discloses Method of Relay Discovery and Communication in A Wireless Communications System.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464