DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 and 12 of the current application 18/851616 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 of co-pending Application No. 18/725984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, co-pending application 18/725984 discloses A method comprising (claim 1: A method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising) and A station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (claim 8: A receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to):
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a SIG field for resource unit allocation related information from another STA (claim 1: receiving, by a receiving station (STA), a Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) from a transmitting STA; obtaining, by the receiving STA, control information related to a tone plan by decoding the PPDU); and
obtaining a data field in the PPDU, based on the resource unit allocation related information (claim 1: decoding, by the receiving STA, a data field of the PPDU based on the control information),
wherein the resource unit allocation related information indicates a specific candidate within a set including a pre-defined number of multiple RU (MRU) candidates for a bandwidth exceeding 320 MHz (claim 1: wherein the tone plan includes information on an arrangement of tones or Resource Units (RUs) used within a bandwidth of the PPDU, … wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 480 MHZ, the tone plan is a 3×2020-tone RU, and wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 640 MHz, the tone plan is a 4×2020-tone RU. Claim 5: wherein based on the PPDU being 480 MHz and one 40 MHz channel being punctured in the 480 MHz, the tone plan is a 2×2020+996+484-tone MRU, wherein based on the PPDU being 480 MHz and one 80 MHz channel being punctured in the 480 MHz, the tone plan is a 2×2020+996-tone MRU, wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 480 MHz and one 80 MHz channel and one 40 MHz channel being punctured in the 480 MHz, the tone plan is a 2×2020+484-tone MRU or a 2020+2×996+484-tone MRU, wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 640 MHz and one 40 MHz channel being punctured in the 640 MHz, the tone plan is a 3×2020+996+484-tone MRU, wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 640 MHz and one 80 MHz channel being punctured in the 640 MHz, the tone plan is a 3×2020+996-tone MRU, wherein based on the bandwidth of the PPDU being 640 MHz, and one 80 MHz channel and one 40 MHz channel being punctured in the 640 MHz, the tone plan is a 3×2020+484-tone MRU or a 2×2020+2×996+484-tone MRU).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-4, 8, and 11 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 11 recite “the 480 MHz bandwidth” but it should be “a 480 MHz bandwidth” because it is introduced for the first time.
Claim 3 recites “996-ton” but it should be “996-tone.”
Claim 4 recites “wherein The pre-defined number” but it should be “wherein the pre-defined number.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US 2023/0361941 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Guo discloses A method comprising and A station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 12, [0221]: apparatus 1200 may be the sending device 201 and the receiving device 202, and includes a communication module 1240 coupled to a processor 1210):
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a SIG field for resource unit allocation related information from another STA (Fig. 4, [0102]-[0103]: sending device 201 sends a data frame (i.e., PPDU) to a receiving device 202. Fig. 5, [0116], [0119]: the data frame includes an EHT-SIG field 506 which comprises of a common field 516 which includes an RU allocation subfield); and
obtaining a data field in the PPDU, based on the resource unit allocation related information (Fig. 5, [0117]: The EHT-SIG field 506 carries signaling used to demodulate subsequent data. The Data field 509 carries data information),
wherein the resource unit allocation related information indicates a specific candidate within a set including a pre-defined number of multiple RU (MRU) candidates for a bandwidth exceeding 320 MHz ([0095], [0109]: specific RUs (MRUs) can be determined based on a transmission resource block occupied by the data frame and RU allocation information in the data frame. [0112]-[0113]: for a 480 MHz bandwidth, the transmission resource block may be any one of (a) a 4×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 5×996-tone MRU), (b) a 4×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 4×996+484-tone MRU), (c) a 4×996-tone RU; (d) a 2×996-tone+996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996+484-tone MRU), (e) a 2×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996-tone MRU), (f) a 2×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 2×996+484-tone MRU), and the like).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Guo discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Guo discloses wherein, based on that the bandwidth exceeding 320 MHz corresponds to the 480 MHz bandwidth, the pre-defined number of MRU candidates includes at least one of a first MRU without 80 MHz channel puncturing, a second MRU with one 80 MHz channel puncturing applied, and a third MRU with one 160 MHz channel puncturing applied ([0106], table 1: 996-tone RU in the 80 MHz bandwidth or 80+80/160 MHz bandwidth. [0112]-[0113]: for a 480 MHz bandwidth, the transmission resource block may be any one of (a) a 4×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 5×996-tone MRU), (b) a 4×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 4×996+484-tone MRU), (c) a 4×996-tone RU; (d) a 2×996-tone+996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996+484-tone MRU), (e) a 2×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996-tone MRU), (f) a 2×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 2×996+484-tone MRU), and the like. Note: claim requires 80 MHz bandwidth is punctured and/or not punctured. Cited paragraph gives examples for 80 MHz bandwidth that may or may not be punctured).
Regarding claim 16, co-pending application 18/725984 discloses A station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 12, [0221]: apparatus 1200 may be the sending device 201 and the receiving device 202, and includes a communication module 1240 coupled to a processor 1210):
construct a SIG field for resource unit allocation related information (Fig. 4, [0102]-[0103]: sending device 201 sends a data frame (i.e., PPDU) to a receiving device 202. Fig. 5, [0116], [0119]: the data frame includes an EHT-SIG field 506 which comprises of a common field 516 which includes an RU allocation subfield); and
transmit a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including the SIG field to another STA (Fig. 4, [0102]-[0103]: sending device 201 sends a data frame (i.e., PPDU) to a receiving device 202. Fig. 5, [0116], [0119]: the data frame includes an EHT-SIG field 506),
wherein the resource unit allocation related information indicates a specific candidate within a set including a pre-defined number of multiple RU (MRU) candidates for a bandwidth exceeding 320 MHz ([0095], [0109]: specific RUs (MRUs) can be determined based on a transmission resource block occupied by the data frame and RU allocation information in the data frame. [0112]-[0113]: for a 480 MHz bandwidth, the transmission resource block may be any one of (a) a 4×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 5×996-tone MRU), (b) a 4×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 4×996+484-tone MRU), (c) a 4×996-tone RU; (d) a 2×996-tone+996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996+484-tone MRU), (e) a 2×996-tone+996-tone MRU (or denoted as a 3×996-tone MRU), (f) a 2×996-tone+484-tone MRU (or denoted as a 2×996+484-tone MRU), and the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2023/0361941 A1) in view of Hart et al. (US 2021/0067283 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Guo discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Guo does not disclose, but Hart discloses wherein the 480 MHz bandwidth includes a 320 MHz channel and a 160 MHz channel, based on that the bandwidth exceeding the above 320 MHz corresponds to the 480 MHz bandwidth ([0023]: for a bandwidth of 480 MHz, the tone plan may be 160+320 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the RUs for a 480 MHz bandwidth, as taught by Guo, to have a tone plan of 160+320 MHz, as taught by Hart.
Doing so provides a streamlined tone plan useful for IEEE 802.11ax with a high degree of reuse, for different bandwidths (Hart: [0023]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2023/0361941 A1) in view of Hart et al. (US 2021/0067283 A1) and Dong et al. (US 2023/0388091 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Guo in view of Hart discloses all features of claim(s) 8 as outlined above.
Guo in view of Hart does not disclose, but Dong discloses wherein the pre-defined number of MRU candidates includes a combination of a pre-defined MRU candidate in a 320 MHz and a pre-defined MRU candidate in a 160 MHz ([0040]: the multi-RU may be consisted of at least two different single-type RUs, e.g., 484+996 tone (160 MHz), 996+484+242 tone (160 MHz), 2×996 tone (160 MHz), 2×996+484 tone (240 MHz), 3×996+484 tone (320 MHz), and 4×996 tone (160+160 MHz/320 MHz)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the RUs for a 480 MHz bandwidth, as taught by Guo, to have a tone plan of 160+320 MHz, as taught by Hart, which consist of two different single-type RUs, e.g., 484+996 tone (160 MHz), 996+484+242 tone (160 MHz), 2×996 tone (160 MHz), 2×996+484 tone (240 MHz), 3×996+484 tone (320 MHz), and 4×996 tone (160+160 MHz/320 MHz), as taught by Dong.
Doing so provides bandwidth dependent multi-RU (Dong: [0040).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Guo discloses all features of claim(s) 9 as outlined above.
Guo discloses wherein a size of the pre-defined MRU candidate in the 320 MHz corresponds to one or more of 4×996 tones, 3×996 tones, 3×996+484 tones, or 2×996+484 tones, and
wherein a size of the pre-defined MRU candidate in the 160 MHz corresponds to one or more of 2×996 tones, 996+484+242 tones, or 996+484 tones ([0040]: the multi-RU may be consisted of at least two different single-type RUs, e.g., 484+996 tone (160 MHz), 996+484+242 tone (160 MHz), 2×996 tone (160 MHz), 2×996+484 tone (240 MHz), 3×996+484 tone (320 MHz), and 4×996 tone (160+160 MHz/320 MHz)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the RUs for a 480 MHz bandwidth, as taught by Guo, to have a tone plan of 160+320 MHz, as taught by Hart, which consist of two different single-type RUs, e.g., 484+996 tone (160 MHz), 996+484+242 tone (160 MHz), 2×996 tone (160 MHz), 2×996+484 tone (240 MHz), 3×996+484 tone (320 MHz), and 4×996 tone (160+160 MHz/320 MHz), as taught by Dong.
Doing so provides bandwidth dependent multi-RU (Dong: [0040).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2023/0361941 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0045151 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Guo discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Guo does not disclose, but Chen discloses wherein the one or more MRU candidates are related to non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) transmission in the 480 MHz bandwidth ([0135], [0152], [0153]: MU-MIMO transmission with a PPDU bandwidth of 480 MHz. [0195]: some concepts may be applicable to RU allocations for non-OFDMA MU-MIMO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the RUs for a 480 MHz bandwidth, as taught by Guo, to be used for non-OFDMA MU-MIMO, as taught by Chen.
Doing so allows the use of a first compression mode in a PPDU on a non-punctured (full bandwidth) wireless channel which allows to omit the RU allocation information in in the common field of the EHT-SIG (Chen: [0221]) thereby reducing overhead.
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov