Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breese (US-20060177641).
Regarding claim 1, Breese teaches:
A stretched film ([0003] – [0004] and [0010]) comprising, in the following order:
a layer (a1) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]);
a layer (b) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (B) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 913 kg/m3 or lower as a main component ([0011], [0015] and [0022]); and
a layer (a2) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Breese further teaches:
not comprising a layer comprising a medium-density polyethylene having a density of 925 kg/m3 or higher and lower than 941 kg/m3 as a main component ([0022]), see the HDPE/LLDPE/HDPE embodiment.
Regarding claim 3, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (B) has a density of 911 kg/m3 or lower ([0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on. Breese further teaches:
having a stretch ratio of 2.0 times or more ([0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on. Breese further teaches:
having a thickness of 5 pm to 1 mm ([0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Breese teaches:
A laminate comprising a layer composed of the stretched film according to claim 1 ([0023]) and [0032] – [0033]), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Breese teaches:
A package comprising a layer composed of the stretched film according to claim 1 ([0003], [0005] – [0006], and [0032]), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Breese teaches:
A method for producing a stretched film, comprising:
a step of stretching a laminate film ([0003] – [0004], [0023], and [0026]) having, in the following order, a layer (a1) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]);
a layer (b) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (B) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 913 kg/m3 or lower as a main component ([0011], [0015] and [0022]); and
a layer (a2) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 9 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (B) has a density of 904 kg/m3 or lower ([0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 9, which claim 10 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (A) has a density of 954 kg/m3 or higher ([0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 3, which claim 11 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (A) has a density of 958 kg/m3 or higher ([0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 9, which claim 12 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (A) has a density of 958 kg/m3 or higher ([0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 13 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein in a case where the layer (a1) or the layer (a2) contains a component other than the ethylene-based polymer (A), the content of the ethylene-based polymer (A) in the layer (a1) or the layer (a2) is 90 mass% or more. Breese is silent as to whether the a1 or a2 layers contain any components other than the ethylene-based polymer. However, Breese explicitly points out the components of the suitable LLDPE ([0011]) and MDPE ([0012]), and has a paragraph describing the characteristics of suitable HDPE ([0014]). Therefore if Breese wanted the HDPE, which layers a1 and a2 are made of, to contain other components other than ethylene-based polymer, Breese would have disclosed this information in paragraph ([0014]) while describing suitable HDPE. The fact that Breese describes suitable HDPE and does not mention any other components being a part of the HDPE implies that the suitable HDPE does not contain other components and therefore this claim limitation is inherent in Breese’s disclosure, and the claim is taught by Breese.
Regarding claim 14, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 14 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein in a case where the layer (b) contains a component other than the ethylene-based polymer (B), the content of the ethylene- based polymer (B) in the layer (b) is 90 mass% or more ([0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see applicant arguments/remarks on pages 5-8, that Breese (US-20060177641) does not properly teach the limitations of the independent claim because it does not teach using an LLDPE with a density of under 913 kg/m3 for layer b. Applicant argues that the example in Breese teaches using an LLDPE with a density of 915 kg/m3. While it is true that 915 is greater than 913, this is only one example of the stretched film that can be made by Breese. Breese explicitly states that a suitable LLDPE can include a suitable VLDPE which has a density within the range of 0.865 g/cm3 (kg/m3) to 0.910 g/cm3 (kg/m3) ([0011]). Therefore the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because showing that a single example in the prior art does not fit the claim limitations when the prior art itself is much more general and includes ranges that do fit the prior art does not make the invention patentable over the prior art. The invention would have to overcome the reference as used in the rejection in its entirety and therefore the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is upheld.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748