Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments to the claims and specifications filed 09/26/2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breese (US-20060177641).
Regarding claim 1, Breese teaches:
A stretched film ([0003] – [0004] and [0010]) comprising, in the following order:
a layer (a1) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]);
a layer (b) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (B) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 924 kg/m3 or lower as a main component ([0011], [0015] and [0022]); and
a layer (a2) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Breese further teaches:
not comprising a layer comprising a medium-density polyethylene having a density of 925 kg/m3 or higher and lower than 941 kg/m3 as a main component ([0022]), see the HDPE/LLDPE/HDPE embodiment.
Regarding claim 3, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Breese further teaches:
wherein the ethylene-based polymer (B) has a density of 918 kg/m3 or lower ([0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on. Breese further teaches:
having a stretch ratio of 2.0 times or more ([0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Breese teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on. Breese further teaches:
having a thickness of 5 pm to 1 mm ([0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Breese teaches:
A laminate comprising a layer composed of the stretched film according to claim 1 ([0023]) and [0032] – [0033]), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Breese teaches:
A package comprising a layer composed of the stretched film according to claim 1 ([0003], [0005] – [0006], and [0032]), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Breese teaches:
A method for producing a stretched film, comprising:
a step of stretching a laminate film ([0003] – [0004], [0023], and [0026]) having, in the following order, a layer (a1) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]);
a layer (b) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (B) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 924 kg/m3 or lower as a main component ([0011], [0015] and [0022]); and
a layer (a2) comprising an ethylene-based polymer (A) having a melt flow rate (190°C, 2.16 kg load) of 0.01 to 10 g/10 minutes and a density of 942 kg/m3 or higher as a main component ([0014] – [0015] and [0022]).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748