Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiojima (JP 2018067616 A, provided with Non-Final Rejection), in view of Zheng (CN-111372162-A, attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Shiojima teaches: A vehicle electroacoustic transducer (Figs. 1-10) comprising: a speaker unit that generates sound (Speaker 1); and a case that is formed in a box shape (element 10), that accommodates the speaker unit (understood speaker unit would be housed within housing 10), and that includes an attachment face (40e) disposed facing an attached member (30), wherein an attachment portion (20) that bulges out from the attachment face and that is attached to the attached member outside of a vehicle cabin (20 attaches to 30 outside of a vehicle cabin; Additionally, outside vehicle cabin is broad and can be read to mean any area outside of a vehicle or a vehicle cabin), and a boss portion that bulges out from the attachment face and that contacts the attached member, are formed at the case (legs 11). Shiojima does not teach wherein the attachment portion includes a positioning pin that is inserted into a positioning hole formed in the attached member. In a related field, Zheng teaches to provide at the rear of a speaker, a positioning pin for inserting into a positioning hole of an attached member (Fig. 6A: pin(s) 202 insert into slots 203). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shiojima to include one or more positioning pin(s), such as taught by Zheng. Motivation for doing so would lie in increasing ease of alignment of the speaker when mounting it to a surface.
Regarding Claim 2, Shiojima, in view of Zheng, teaches: wherein the attachment portion is formed at one end side of the attachment face (top/middle/bottom side of 10), and two portions that bulge out from the attachment face and contact the attached member are formed at another end side of the attachment face (top left, top right, bottom left, bottom right; alternatively, left and right sides).
Regarding Claim 3, Shiojima, in view of Zheng, does not teach: wherein a height of the boss portion with respect to the attachment face is greater than a height of the attachment portion with respect to the attachment face (From Fig. 6(b), the height of 20/21 and 11 appear identical). However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heights one some or all of the support legs 11. Motivation for doing so would lie in adjusting the angle of the speaker when attached to the wall 30, such as shown in Fig. 10, with a thicker leg 11 at a bottom thereof causing the speaker to point more upwards or conversely, a thinner 11 causing the speaker to point more downward.
Regarding Claim 4, Shiojima, in view of Zheng, teaches: wherein a plurality of boss portions are formed (as shown).
Regarding Claim 5, Shiojima, in view of Zheng, teaches: wherein a leading end of the attachment portion is formed as a flat face (20/21, facing 30). Shiojima does not specifically teach: and a leading end of the boss portion is formed in a spherical shape (11 is of a flat/taper shape). However, it would have been obvious to try to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape, including a spherical shape, of the legs 11. Motivation for doing so would lie in decreasing a contact surface with the wall 30 which would lend to reducing wear marks on the wall 30 in use.
Regarding Claim 6, Shiojima, in view of Zheng, does not specifically teach: wherein the boss portion contacts the attached member before the attachment portion when the attachment portion is attached to the attached member (From Fig. 6(b), the height of 20/21 and 11 appear identical). However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heights one some or all of the support legs 11. Motivation for doing so would lie in adjusting the angle of the speaker when attached to the wall 30, such as shown in Fig. 10, with a thicker leg 11 at a bottom thereof causing the speaker to point more upwards or conversely, a thinner 11 causing the speaker to point more downward.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW A EASON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2624