DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 6, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/851061 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a coated tool of a base body and coating of cubic crystals what displays a Ih(100)/Ih(002) relationship after heating for 0.5 hours in a non-oxidizing atmosphere. This is patentably indistinct of claims 4 and 6 of the ‘061 application which recite a coated tool of a base body and coating layer of Ta-containing multilayer structures comprising (AlaTibTac)N where 0.35≤a0.65, 0.3≤b≤0.5, 0.02≤c≤0.2 and a+b+c=1, and Mo-containing multilayer structures comprising (AldCreSifMog)N where 0.35≤d≤0.65, 0.2≤e≤0.45, 0.03≤f≤0.15, 0.02≤g≤0.2 where d+e+f+g=1. Instant claim 1 and claims 4 and 6 of the ‘061 application do not expressly overlap. However, applicant states in Paragraphs 49 and 57 of the originally filed specification where the coating which displays the claimed cubic crystal structure and XRD spectrum after heating is AlaTibTac)N where 0.35≤a0.65, 0.3≤b≤0.5, 0.02≤c≤0.2 and a+b+c=1 or (AldCreSifMog)N where 0.35≤d≤0.65, 0.2≤e≤0.45, 0.03≤f≤0.15, 0.02≤g≤0.2 where d+e+f+g=1. As such, instant claim 1 is considered patentably indistinct of claims 4 and 6 of the ‘061 application as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing.
Instant claims 2 and 4-5 recites a XRD relationship overlapping claims 4 and 6 of the ‘061 application for the same rationale as set forth above. Instant claim 3 recites a cutting tool overlapping claim 8 of the ‘061 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "rod-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). This rejection may be overcome by amending to “rod shaped”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2018/0281077) and claim 3 is rejected over Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Kusuda (US 2017/0333997 – previously cited).
Considering claim 1, Tanaka teaches a coated cutting tool (abstract) comprising an indexable insert, drill, etc. (Paragraph 67). The tool comprises a substrate (i.e. base body) and coating (Paragraph 10). The coating comprises (AlxTiyM1-x-y)N where M is one or more of Ta, Mo, Cr, Si, etc. and where 0.60≤0.85, 0≤y≤0.40, and where 0.60≤x+y≤1.00 (Paragraph 12) and comprises cubic crystals (Paragraph 39). Tanaka does not expressly teach the claimed XRD spectrum after heating. However, applicant states in Paragraph 49 of the originally filed specification where the coating may be (AlaTibTac)N where 0.35≤a0.65, 0.3≤b≤0.5, 0.02≤c≤0.2 and a+b+c=1. As Tanaka teaches a substantially identical cubic crystal coating of substantially identical materials as that which applicant claims and discloses and therefore one would reasonably expect the coated tool of Tanaka to display the claimed XRD spectrum after heating as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
The instantly claimed coated tool would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Tanaka as this is considered a combination of a conventionally known substrate and coating with materials known to afford cutting tools and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claims 2 and 4, Tanaka is considered to meet the claimed spectrum and phase transformation. However, as outlined above, these features are expected to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claim 3, Tanaka teaches a coated cutting tool and where the tool may be an insert, but does not teach the claimed holder and pocket.
In a related field of endeavor, Kusuda teaches a cutting tool and holder (Paragraph 1) comprising a cutting insert (Paragraph 7) where the insert is formed of a cemented carbide of WC-Co (Paragraph 29) and may be coated with a PVD film of hard materials, including carbides and nitrides (Paragraph 31). The tool structure is taught to have improved durability (Paragraph 56).
As both Tanaka and Kusuda teach coated cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Tanaka with the tool structure disclosed by Kusuda as this is considered a combination of a conventionally known coated tool and cutting tool structure known to have improved durability and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 5, as outlined above, Tanaka teaches a substantially identical coating as that which is claimed and is expected to possess the claimed cubic an hexagonal crystals after heating, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01. In addition, Tanaka teaches where the coating may comprise cubic and hexagonal crystals (Paragraph 39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horling et al. (US 2004/0110039), Waki et al. (US 2013/0022420), Sato et al. (US 2018/0071830), Nishizawa et al. (US 2018/0369927), Fukunaga et al. (US 2019/0177839) teach coatings for cutting tools similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784