DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-11 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-11 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 6-7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of O’Hare and Geissler does not teach the claimed invention because O’Hare discloses monitoring zones as a spatial regions not temporal divisions.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because the claimed invention does not include any limitations to define a time zone. In this case, as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 12/10/2025, the rejection relied upon O’Hare to disclose a data acquisition unit to adjust a sampling frequency at a time when an animal positions at a monitoring zone (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected. The data from the accelerometer may also be used to adjust the sampling frequency of the RTLS system. For example, a sudden vertical acceleration of the tag may trigger an increased sampling frequency of the RTLS system) of a plurality of monitoring zones (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The health, welfare and fertility parameters of an animal within its environment (meaning total area e.g. farm, transportation, animal processing plants, zoos, wildlife parks, stables, kennels, catteries) or zone area (meaning specific area of said environment e.g. passageway area, cubicle area, feeding systems or area, milking systems or area, grassland area, loafing area, access/control/sorting gates, a stable, a paddock)…The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal). Therefore, O’Hare reads on the limitations of “wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by adjusting the frequency of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit for each time zone.”
On pages 7-8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach predictive acquisition amount adjustment based on “trend.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 12/10/2025, the rejection relied upon O’Hare to already disclose the data acquisition unlit acquires data in accordance with the acquisition amount adjusted by the data acquisition amount adjustment unit (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected), except for the limitations of an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler, which discloses an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time (Geissler: Abstract, [0042], [0091], [0119], and FIG. 1-2: In an embodiment, the activity log 250 records events occurring throughout each day. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks which locations are visited and/or in which activities an animal engages over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a length of time spent at each location and/or engaged in each activity over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a number of visits to a location or number of times in which the animal engages in the activity).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare and Geissler, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare to include an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al. (O’Hare – US 2011/0298619 A1) in view of Geissler et al. (Geissler – US 2011/0148639 A1).
As to claim 1, O’Hare discloses a data collection device, comprising:
a data acquisition unit (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], [0044], [0053]-[0056], and FIG. 1 the tag 18 ) that continuously acquires data indicating an activity level of an animal (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: the tag thereby allows for high accuracy three dimensional positioning and directional monitoring of a tagged animal, continuously in real time);
an identifying unit that analyzes the data and identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal); and
a data acquisition amount adjustment unit that adjusts an acquisition amount of the data, based on the identified trend in the change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected), wherein
the data acquisition unlit acquires data in accordance with the acquisition amount adjusted by the data acquisition amount adjustment unit (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected).
O’Hare does not explicitly disclose an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler, which discloses an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time (Geissler: Abstract, [0042], [0091], [0119], and FIG. 1-2: In an embodiment, the activity log 250 records events occurring throughout each day. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks which locations are visited and/or in which activities an animal engages over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a length of time spent at each location and/or engaged in each activity over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a number of visits to a location or number of times in which the animal engages in the activity).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare and Geissler, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare to include an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information.
As to claim 2, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by adjusting a frequency of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected. The data from the accelerometer may also be used to adjust the sampling frequency of the RTLS system. For example, a sudden vertical acceleration of the tag may trigger an increased sampling frequency of the RTLS system) for each time zone (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The health, welfare and fertility parameters of an animal within its environment (meaning total area e.g. farm, transportation, animal processing plants, zoos, wildlife parks, stables, kennels, catteries) or zone area (meaning specific area of said environment e.g. passageway area, cubicle area, feeding systems or area, milking systems or area, grassland area, loafing area, access/control/sorting gates, a stable, a paddock)…The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal).
As to claim 4, O’Hare and Geissler discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein the data includes at least one of location information indicating a location where the animal exists (O’Hare: [0004], [0006], [0041], [0046], [0051], [059], [0061], [0068], [0077], and FIG. 1-3: a real time location system (RTLS) for determining the three dimensional position of said at least one tag within a monitoring zone, orientation determining means for determining the orientation of said at least one tag, and discriminating means for discriminating between different activities of the at least one animal based upon the location and orientation of the animal's tag within the monitoring zone and Geissler: Abstract, [0042], [0091], [0119], and FIG. 1-2: In an embodiment, the activity log 250 records events occurring throughout each day. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks which locations are visited and/or in which activities an animal engages over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a length of time spent at each location and/or engaged in each activity over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a number of visits to a location or number of times in which the animal engages in the activity), acceleration information acquired from an accelerometer provided on the animal (O’Hare: [0022], [0049]-[0052], [0067], [0071], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: First and second sides of the tag housing define first and second side housing portions 104,106, a first housing portion 104 housing one or more rechargeable batteries and a second housing portion 106 housing an orientation sensing device, such as a magneto-resistive field sensors and/or one or more accelerometers), and angular velocity information acquired from an angular velocity sensor provided on the animal (O’Hare: [0022], [0049]-[0052], [0067], [0071], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: Additionally, or alternatively, the pitch & roll of the device can be measured with the use of accelerometers. Accelerometers measure the direction of the earth's gravitational pull upon the orientation device, and with simple trigonometry the pitch & roll is determined. Accelerometers may also determine the rate of movement of the tag).
As to claim 6, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein
the data is detected by a sensor (O’Hare: [0013], [0015], [0022], [0048], [0055], [0057], [0081], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: the tag may also be associated with one or more biometric sensors provided on or in or associated with the animal for determining and/or monitoring the physical condition of the animal, such as sensors for sensing the temperature of the animal. The tag may also be associated with one or more environmental sensors for determining and/or monitoring the ambient conditions surrounding the animal, such as temperature, humidity and/or air quality, for example methane, ammonia or other greenhouse a compositions), and
the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The health, welfare and fertility parameters of an animal within its environment (meaning total area e.g. farm, transportation, animal processing plants, zoos, wildlife parks, stables, kennels, catteries) or zone area (meaning specific area of said environment e.g. passageway area, cubicle area, feeding systems or area, milking systems or area, grassland area, loafing area, access/control/sorting gates, a stable, a paddock)…The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal) by discarding the data received from the sensor (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected. The data from the accelerometer may also be used to adjust the sampling frequency of the RTLS system. For example, a sudden vertical acceleration of the tag may trigger an increased sampling frequency of the RTLS system).
As to claim 9, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein
the data is detected by a data detection unit of a sensor (O’Hare: [0013], [0015], [0022], [0048], [0055], [0057], [0081], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: the tag may also be associated with one or more biometric sensors provided on or in or associated with the animal for determining and/or monitoring the physical condition of the animal, such as sensors for sensing the temperature of the animal. The tag may also be associated with one or more environmental sensors for determining and/or monitoring the ambient conditions surrounding the animal, such as temperature, humidity and/or air quality, for example methane, ammonia or other greenhouse a compositions), and
the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an operation of power supply to the data detection unit (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1-3: Alternatively, or additionally, the accelerometer may be utilised to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected. The data from the accelerometer may also be used to adjust the sampling frequency of the RTLS system. For example, a sudden vertical acceleration of the tag may trigger an increased sampling frequency of the RTLS system).
As to claim 10, O’Hare discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to implement:
a data acquisition function (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], [0044], [0053]-[0056], and FIG. 1 the tag 18 ) to continuously acquire data indicating an activity level of an animal (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: the tag thereby allows for high accuracy three dimensional positioning and directional monitoring of a tagged animal, continuously in real time):
an identifying function to analyze the data and identify a trend in a change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal): and
a data acquisition amount adjustment function to adjust an acquisition amount of the data, based on the identified trend in the change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected), wherein
the data acquisition function acquires data in accordance with the acquisition amount adjusted by the data acquisition amount adjustment function (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected).
O’Hare does not explicitly disclose an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler, which discloses an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time (Geissler: Abstract, [0042], [0091], [0119], and FIG. 1-2: In an embodiment, the activity log 250 records events occurring throughout each day. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks which locations are visited and/or in which activities an animal engages over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a length of time spent at each location and/or engaged in each activity over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a number of visits to a location or number of times in which the animal engages in the activity).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare and Geissler, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare to include an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information.
As to claim 11, O’Hare discloses a data collection method executed by a data collection device, the method comprising:
a data acquisition step (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], [0044], [0053]-[0056], and FIG. 1 the tag 18 ) of continuously acquiring data indicating an activity level of an animal (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: the tag thereby allows for high accuracy three dimensional positioning and directional monitoring of a tagged animal, continuously in real time);
an identifying step of analyzing the data and identifying a trend in a change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: [0035]-[0040], [0043], [0051], [0054], [0060]-[0061], and FIG. 1-3: The RTLS system and tag identification may be used to control the operation of gates to control the access of the animal to certain locations within or outside of the monitoring zone based upon the identity and/or activity and/or condition of the animal); and
a data acquisition amour adjusting step of adjusting an acquisition amount of the data, based on the identified trend in the change in the activity level over time (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected),
wherein the data acquisition step acquires data in accordance with the acquisition amount adjusted by the data acquisition amount adjustment step (O’Hare: Abstract, [0051], and FIG. 1: the accelerometer may be utilized to trigger the RTLS functionality in terms of the position and/or orientation monitoring of the animal. For example, to reduce power consumption the RTLS functionality of the tag may be deactivated when the cow has been immobile for a period of time, for example when sleeping, and may be reactivated upon detection of movement of the animal by the accelerometer or when acceleration beyond a certain threshold is detected).
O’Hare does not explicitly disclose an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler, which discloses an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time (Geissler: Abstract, [0042], [0091], [0119], and FIG. 1-2: In an embodiment, the activity log 250 records events occurring throughout each day. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks which locations are visited and/or in which activities an animal engages over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a length of time spent at each location and/or engaged in each activity over the predetermined period of time. In an embodiment, the activity log 250 tracks a number of visits to a location or number of times in which the animal engages in the activity).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare and Geissler, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare to include an identifying unit that analyzes the data for a predetermined period identifies a trend in a change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Geissler. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information.
Claims 3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al. (O’Hare – US 2011/0298619 A1) in view of Geissler et al. (Geissler – US 2011/0148639 A1) and further in view of Rosen et al. (Rosen – US 2014/0062695 A1).
As to claim 3, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data higher for time zones with higher activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, and adjusts the acquisition amount of the data lower fer time zones with lower activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data higher for time zones with higher activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, and adjusts the acquisition amount of the data lower fer time zones with lower activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data higher for time zones with higher activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, and adjusts the acquisition amount of the data lower fer time zones with lower activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time (Rosen: Abstract, [0030]-[0032], [0067], [0084], and FIG. 1-3: while within the portable safe-zone, the tracking device may transmit enhanced data to the portable safe-zone beacon at an increased frequency via its short-range radio and/or increase the frequency of sampling (or polling) of sensors (e.g., accelerometers) within the tracking device, such as to better record the level of activity during a walk).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare, Geissler, and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare and Geissler to include wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data higher for time zones with higher activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, and adjusts the acquisition amount of the data lower fer time zones with lower activity levels, based on the trend in the change in the activity level over time, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information in a different zone.
As to claim 5, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an operation of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an operation of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an operation of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit (Rosen: Abstract, [0030]-[0032], [0067], [0084], and FIG. 1-3: while within the portable safe-zone, the tracking device may transmit enhanced data to the portable safe-zone beacon at an increased frequency via its short-range radio and/or increase the frequency of sampling (or polling) of sensors (e.g., accelerometers) within the tracking device, such as to better record the level of activity during a walk).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare, Geissler, and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare and Geissler to include wherein the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an operation of acquiring the data by the data acquisition unit, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information in a different zone.
As to claim 7, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein
the data acquisition unit acquires data from a sensor (O’Hare: [0013], [0015], [0022], [0048], [0055], [0057], [0081], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: the tag may also be associated with one or more biometric sensors provided on or in or associated with the animal for determining and/or monitoring the physical condition of the animal, such as sensors for sensing the temperature of the animal. The tag may also be associated with one or more environmental sensors for determining and/or monitoring the ambient conditions surrounding the animal, such as temperature, humidity and/or air quality, for example methane, ammonia or other greenhouse a compositions), except for the claimed limitations of
the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of transmitting the date by the sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of transmitting the date by the sensor, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of transmitting the date by the sensor (Rosen: Abstract, [0030]-[0032], [0067], [0084], and FIG. 1-3: while within the portable safe-zone, the tracking device may transmit enhanced data to the portable safe-zone beacon at an increased frequency via its short-range radio and/or increase the frequency of sampling (or polling) of sensors (e.g., accelerometers) within the tracking device, such as to better record the level of activity during a walk).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare, Geissler, and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare and Geissler to include the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of transmitting the date by the sensor, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information in a different zone.
As to claim 8, O’Hare and Geissler disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the data collection device according to claim 1, wherein
the data acquisition unit acquires data from a sensor (O’Hare: [0013], [0015], [0022], [0048], [0055], [0057], [0081], [0084], and FIG. 4-7: the tag may also be associated with one or more biometric sensors provided on or in or associated with the animal for determining and/or monitoring the physical condition of the animal, such as sensors for sensing the temperature of the animal. The tag may also be associated with one or more environmental sensors for determining and/or monitoring the ambient conditions surrounding the animal, such as temperature, humidity and/or air quality, for example methane, ammonia or other greenhouse a compositions), except for the claimed limitations of
the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of detecting the data by the sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring condition of an animal to implement the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of detecting the data by the sensor, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of detecting the data by the sensor (Rosen: Abstract, [0030]-[0032], [0067], [0084], and FIG. 1-3: while within the portable safe-zone, the tracking device may transmit enhanced data to the portable safe-zone beacon at an increased frequency via its short-range radio and/or increase the frequency of sampling (or polling) of sensors (e.g., accelerometers) within the tracking device, such as to better record the level of activity during a walk).
Therefore, in view of teachings by O’Hare, Geissler, and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of O’Hare and Geissler to include the data acquisition amount adjustment unit adjusts the acquisition amount of the data for each time zone by controlling an interval of detecting the data by the sensor, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to determine an activity of an animal based on sensing information in a different zone.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Harty et al., US 10,517,276 B2, discloses method, a device and a system for detecting a state of an animal.
Flennert et al., US 2019/0387711 A1, discloses monitoring device, sensor device and respective methods performed thereby for monitoring animals.
Beckham et al., US 2018/0218057 A1, discloses system and method for monitoring and analyzing animal related data.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685