Detailed Action
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Application 18/851,711 filed on September 27, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024, 01/07/2026, and 02/18/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/852,877 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference is the fact that application (18/852,877) uses consisting of and the present applicant is comprising which is broader.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current App (18/851,711)
(18/852,877)
Claim 1. A probe comprising: greater than 20 mass% and less than or equal to 60 mass% of Pd; greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than 20 mass% of Ag; greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass% of Ni; and greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 74 mass% of Cu.
Claim 1. An alloy material for probe pins, consisting of: more than 20 mass% and 60 mass% or less of Pd; 3 mass% or more and less than 20 mass% of Ag; 3 mass% or more and 50 mass% or less of Ni; and 3 mass% or more and 74 mass% or less of Cu.
Claim 3.A probe comprising: greater than 20 mass% and less than or equal to 60 mass% of Pd; greater than or equal to 20 mass% and less than or equal to 35 mass% of Ag; greater than or equal to 7 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass% of Ni; and greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 53 mass% of Cu.
Claim 3. An alloy material for probe pins, consisting of: more than 20 mass% and 60 mass% or less of Pd; 20 mass% or more and 35 mass% or less of Ag; 7 mass% or more and 50 mass% or less of Ni; and 3 mass% or more and 53 mass% or less of Cu.
Claims 2 and 4 are also rejected to as they are the same as App 18852877 claims 2 and 4 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Hirano et al ( USPGPub 20150301081).
Prior Art: Hirano
Regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses a probe comprising: greater than 20 mass% and less than or equal to 60 mass% of Pd (between 1-50 mass%) ; greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than 20 mass% of Ag (between 1-50 mass%); greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass% of Ni (between 1-50 mass%); and greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 74 mass% of Cu (par 5 discloses the tip of a contact contacting 1-50 mass % of a least palladium, silver, nickel, and copper based on need. Therefore, the elements are between these ranges based on contact need).
Regarding claim 2, Hirano discloses wherein the probe includes greater than or equal to 0.2 mass% and less than or equal to 2.0 mass% of at least one of In, Sn, Zn, or Ga in place of a part of the Cu (par 5 discloses the tip of a contact contacting 1-50 mass % which includes In, Sn, Zn, and Ga).
Regarding claim 3, Hirano discloses a probe comprising: greater than 20 mass% and less than or equal to 60 mass% of Pd; greater than or equal to 20 mass% and less than or equal to 35 mass% of Ag; greater than or equal to 7 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass% of Ni; and greater than or equal to 3 mass% and less than or equal to 53 mass% of Cu (par 5 discloses the tip of a contact contacting 1-50 mass % of a least palladium, silver, nickel, and copper based on need. Therefore, the elements are between these ranges based on contact need).
Regarding claim 4, Hirano discloses wherein the probe includes greater than or equal to 0.2 mass% and less than or equal to 2.0 mass% of at least one of In, Sn, Zn, or Ga in place of a part of the Cu (par 5 discloses the tip of a contact contacting 1-50 mass % which includes In, Sn, Zn, and Ga).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shishino et al (USPGPub 20210017627): discloses an alloy material.
Kazama et al (US Pat No. 10889878): discloses an alloy material for a contact probe.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858