DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/848,953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 1 is anticipated by Application No. 18/848,953 claim 8.
Claim 8 of Application No. 18/848,953 which is dependent on claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, recites a hair styling apparatus according to claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, comprising a body from which a plurality of spaced projections project, the projections being in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair. Claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953 recites a hair styling apparatus comprising: a steam generator for generating steam; one or more steam outlets in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom, the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use; an air mover for moving an airflow through the apparatus; and one or more airflow outlets in fluid communication with the air mover for receipt of an airflow therefrom, the one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge air at or proximate to the discharged steam so as to provide a barrier to the passage of the steam; and a flow diverter moveable between: a first position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets; and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets, or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge air onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use. Therefore, claim 8 of Application No. 18/848,953 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 1. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/848,953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 15 is anticipated by Application No. 18/848,953 claim 9.
Claim 9 of Application No. 18/848,953 which is dependent on claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, recites a hair styling apparatus according to claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/848,953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 16 is anticipated by Application No. 18/848,953 claim 11.
Claim 11 of Application No. 18/848,953 which is dependent on claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, recites a hair styling apparatus according to claim 1 of Application No. 18/848,953, configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/848,953 in view of Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A).
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/848,953 recites a hair styling apparatus of the application claim 1, further comprising a flow diverter moveable between: a first position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets; and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets, or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge air onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use. Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/848,953 lacks a body from which a plurality of spaced projections project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair.
Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) discloses a hair styling appliance comprising: a body (30 Fig. 1) from which a plurality of spaced projections project (57 Fig. 5), the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair styling apparatus recited in claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/848,953 to include a body from which a plurality of spaced projections project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles, as taught by Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A), in order to provide the user with improved detangling of hair when the device is in use. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A).
Regarding claim 1; Tsuji discloses a hair styling appliance comprising: a body (30 Figs. 1 and 2) from which a plurality of spaced projections (57 Figs. 2 and 5) project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair (see Fig. 2; Col. 4 lines 66 – 68); a steam generator (60/70/90 Fig. 3) for generating steam (Col. 1 lines 50 – 55); one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 11 - 20) in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom (Col. 1 lines 64 – 68), the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair through which the projections are passed in use (Col. 5 lines 11 – 20); an air mover (40 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 - 33) for moving an airflow through the apparatus; and one or more airflow outlets (41 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 – 33) in fluid communication with the air mover for receipt of an airflow therefrom (Col. 5 lines 8 – 11), the one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge air at or proximate to the discharged steam so as to provide a barrier to the passage of the steam (Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 17 – 20).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1 above. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are provided on the body (30 Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2 above. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are arranged to discharge steam in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections (57 Fig. 5) from the body (30 Fig. 6) (see Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 13 – 20).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are arranged to discharge steam into spaces formed between the projections (57 Fig. 5) (Col. 2 lines 44 – 50; as illustrated in Fig. 5, the steam outlets (61) are positioned between the projections (57) and thus facilitates discharge of steam into the spaces between the projections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 – 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Miki (JP 2731200 B2).
Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in a direction across distal ends of the projections.
In the same field of endeavor, Miki teaches a hair setter wherein the one or more airflow outlets (111 Fig. 11) are arranged to discharge air in a direction across distal ends of the projections (101 Fig. 11) (see annotated Fig. 11; the outlet, 111, is provide at the base of the brush unit (102) and discharges air in a direction across the distal ends of the projections (101) as best seen in Fig. 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair styling apparatus disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge in a direction across distal ends of the projections, as taught by Miki, in order to facilitate quick drying of user’s hair via the discharge of hot air from the one or more airflow outlet.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections from the body, and wherein the one or more airflow outlets are disposed so as to extend substantially about a periphery of the one or more steam outlets.
Miki teaches a hair setter wherein the one or more airflow outlets (105 Fig. 11) are arranged to discharge air in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections (101 Fig. 11) from the body (102 Fig. 11) (see Fig. 11; the arrow indicative of air discharge direction is pointed in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections), and wherein the one or more airflow outlets (105 Fig. 11) are disposed so as to extend substantially about a periphery of the one or more steam outlets (104 Fig. 11) (see annotated Fig. 11; the airflow outlet (105) as illustrated extends substantially about a periphery (the edges of 104 as illustrated with broken lines in Fig. 11) of the one or more steam outlets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured such that the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in the direction of the projections and disposed substantially about a periphery of one or more steam outlets, as taught by Miki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows for the discharge of air and/or steam via the airflow and/or steam outlets to the hair caught by the projections for effective hair styling and drying without scattering the hair caught in the projections, as suggested by Miki.
Regarding claim 16, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1 above. However, Tsuji is silent regarding the device of claim 1 being configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently.
Miki teaches a hair setter configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets (4 Fig. 7) and air from the one or more airflow outlets (5 Fig. 7) concurrently (See the “action” paragraph of the translation; weak wind is discharged from the wind discharge outlets; in addition, the hair is moistened via the steam discharged from the steam outlets. Furthermore, Miki’s invention describes a space between the airflow path and the steam generator to ensure that the steam generator is not cooled by the air flow thus, allowing steam to be generated stably, which indicates that the steam and air discharges concurrently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuji to be configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently, as taught by Miki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device capable of simultaneously providing steam discharge that moistens the hair and air discharge that reduces hair fizziness and heat damage thus, promoting effective hair styling process.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A).
Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein each airflow outlet is provided at or proximate to a distal end of a respective projection of the plurality of projections.
However, Qu et al. teaches a hair-drying comb wherein each airflow outlet (412 Fig. 2) is provided at or proximate to a distal end (the end point away from the body (1 fig. 2)) of a respective projection (4 Fig. 2) of the plurality of projections (4 Fig. 2) (paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with one or more airflow outlet provided at or proximate to a distal end of a respective projection of the plurality of projections, as taught by Qu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for the discharge of air closer to the hair or to effectuate the direct delivery of air to the hair thus, ensuring good hair drying or styling effect as suggested by Qu et al.
Claim(s) 8 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuji/Qu et al. is silent regarding the claimed invention wherein the projections are in the form of a row of spaced comb teeth, each tooth extending from the body in a longitudinal direction and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges that respectively lead and trail in movement through a user's hair in use.
Eddy et al. teaches a hair styling apparatus with steam-spraying teeth wherein the projections (12 Figs. 2 and 3) are in the form of a row of spaced comb teeth (see Figs. 2 and 3; element 12 is arranged in a spaced row, forming a spaced comb teeth), each tooth extending from the body (5 Fig. 2) in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 2; paragraph 19) and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges (see annotated Fig. 2; the leading and trailing edges are longitudinally extending along each tooth and have a lateral space that inclines inwardly at an angle, between them) that respectively lead and trail in movement through a user's hair in use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclose by Tsuji/Qu et al. to be configured to have the projections formed in a row of spaced comb teeth with each tooth extending from the body in a longitudinal direction and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges that respectively lead and trail in the movement through a user’s hair in use, as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows for user’s hair to easily pass between the teeth or comb teeth during styling further refining the separation of the hair before additional styling steps, as suggested by Eddy et al.
Regarding claim 9, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 8 above. Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is provided on a tooth (12 Fig. 4) of the row of comb teeth (paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet provided on a tooth of the row of comb teeth, as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order allow for effective steam discharge directly to the hair as the hair pass between the comb teeth during use.
Regarding claim 10, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 9 above. Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is provided on the leading edge of a tooth (see annotated Fig. 4) of the row of comb teeth (12 Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet provided on the leading edge of a tooth of the row of comb teeth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance the hair styling process by discharging steam via the steam outlet on the leading edge to moisturize or vaporize the hair before fully passing through the teeth of the comb.
Regarding claim 11, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 10 above. Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is arranged to discharge steam (18c Fig. 4) in a lateral direction away from the leading edge (see annotated Fig. 4 above) on which it is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet arranged to discharge steam in a lateral direction away from the leading edge on which it is disposed as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows hair in front of the leading edge of a tooth of the comb teeth to receive steam projected directly from the steam outlet of the leading-edge allowing hair further away from the leading edge to be vaporized or moisturized before ever coming in contact with the tooth of the comb teeth.
Claim(s) 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A)/Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A) in view of Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 109512119 A).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 8 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy is silent regarding claim 12 wherein each of the one or more airflow outlets is provided on a leading edge of a tooth of the row of comb teeth on which one of the steam outlets is provided, the airflow outlet disposed distally of the steam outlet.
Li et al. teaches an analogous device wherein each of the one or more airflow outlets (16 Fig. 5) is provided on a leading edge of a tooth (the outlet is provided on a side of the comb tooth as shown in Fig. 5) of the row of comb teeth (Fig. 5 is a tooth embodiment of the invention, Fig. 1) on which one of the steam outlets (7 Fig. 5; second outlet provided on the same side of the tooth) is provided, the airflow outlet disposed distally of the steam outlet (element 16 is positioned distally of element 7; see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leading edge of the tooth of the row of comb teeth disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy be configured with one or more airflow outlet provided on the same leading edge on which one or more steam outlets is provided, and disposed distally of the steam outlet, as taught by Li et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create where airflow is discharged to the not easily combed hair or the base of the hair while allowing moistening of the hair via steam discharge from the steam outlet posterior the airflow outlet thus, promoting a more efficient hair styling process or experience for the user.
Regarding claim 13, Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 12 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./Li et al. is silent regarding claim 13 wherein each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided.
Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each airflow outlet (16a Fig. 4) is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. be configured such that each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided, as further taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows hair in front of the leading edge of a tooth of the comb teeth to receive air projected directly from the airflow outlet of the leading-edge allowing hair further away from the leading edge to reduce the hair moisture before ever coming in contact with the tooth of the comb teeth.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A)/Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A)/Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2) in view of Li et al. (CN 109512119 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of (DE 2508951 A).
Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 12 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. is silent regarding claim 14 wherein each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge air towards the body.
(DE 2508951 A) teaches an analogous device wherein each airflow outlet (46 Fig. 3) is arranged to discharge air towards the body (40 Fig. 3; paragraph 15: hot air nozzles 46 are formed in the front-end region of the tine 44 near its tip, with the blowing direction being obliquely directed towards the base part of the body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. to be configured with airflow outlet arranged to discharge air towards the body, as taught by (DE 2508951 A). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create device that allows for a particularly advantageous air flow through the hair that is achieved from the inner parts of the hair to the outer hairs resulting in intensive drying and curling of the hair, as the warm air jets not only avoid pressing the hair down onto the head, but actually lift away from the scalp, as suggested by (DE 2508951 A).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Conrad (US 20210307473 A1).
Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1 above. Tsuji discloses a hair styling appliance configured such that airflow is discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (41 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 – 33). However, Tsuji is silent regarding claim 15 wherein the hair styling device is configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature.
In the same field of endeavor, Conrad teaches an analogous device configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (56 Figs. 3 – 5) is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature (paragraph 49; in the first operating mode, the device taught by Conrad can dry hair using high air velocity (paragraph 500) which air may be at ambient temperature; paragraph 601).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature, as taught by Conrad, in order to remove excess moisture from the hair being styled and to protect the hair from damages caused by excessive heat.
Claim(s) 17 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Sahm (CH 687056 A5).
Regarding claim 17, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Tsuji is silent regarding claim 17, comprising a flow diverter moveable between: a first position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets; and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use.
Sahm teaches a hair roller comprising a flow diverter (9/10/16 Fig. 1) moveable between: a first position (8 closed and 7 open) in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets (7 Fig. 1); and a second position (8 open and 7 closed) in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets (8 Fig. 1) arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use (Col. 3 lines 49 – 64: The sleeves 9, 10 are rotated into that position (which can be accomplished before or after winding) in which the air outlet openings 8 are blocked. Thereafter, the treatment for producing perms is carried out according to the known procedure. The heating is now carried out by the warm air exiting only axially from the air outlet openings 7 of the hollow flange section 2. After the hair has been rinsed out, the sleeves 9, 10 are rotated into the release position of the air outlet openings 8 of the outer sleeve 10, so that the hair is dried uniformly from the inside through the openings 8 and from the outside through the openings 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with a flow diverted moveable between a first position in which the flow diverter directs air to one or more airflow outlets, and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use, as taught by Sahm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device with two operable positions that allows for uniform drying of hair by allowing direction of airflow to distinct airflow outlets as prompted by the user’s hair styling needs.
Regarding claim 18, Tsuji/Sahm discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 17. Tsuji further discloses a hair styling apparatus wherein the apparatus is configured to operate in a first mode in which steam is discharged from the one or more steam outlets and air is discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (summary of invention and Col. 2 lines 51 – 54: see that the claimed device is operable in a mode wherein airflow is discharge from the airflow chamber via the airflow vent and stem is discharged from the stem chamber via the stem vents, providing a hair dryer and steamer combination); and a second mode in which steam is not discharged from the one or more steam outlets and airflow is discharged from the steam outlets or from the one or more further airflow outlets (Col. 2 lines 23 – 28: see that claimed invention is capable of being selectively utilized as a dryer and a steamer by a single device, thus, defining a drying mode where steam is not discharged).
Conclusion
/C.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772