DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Double Patenting
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 15, 16 and 17 as outlined in the Office Action mailed 01/09/2026 is still sustained. The examiner acknowledges applicant’s request in the response filed 08/13/2026, for these provisional requests to be held in abeyance until the present claims are otherwise deemed allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because claim(s) 16 has been cancelled and no longer under consideration.
The amendment of claim 1 introduces new claim limitations that changes the scope of the claim that was previously presented and considered thus, necessitating new search, new interpretation of prior arts, and new grounds of rejection. Subsequent dependent claims will be examined to include these new grounds of rejections. Note that the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are moot because the new interpretation of the prior art applied in the prior rejection of record is not reliant on matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji (US 4936027 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuji discloses a hair styling appliance comprising: a body (30 Figs. 1 and 2) from which a plurality of spaced projections (57 Figs. 2 and 5) project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair (see Fig. 2; Col. 4 lines 66 - 68);
a steam generator (60/70/90 Fig. 3) for generating steam (Col. 1 lines 50 - 55);
one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 11 - 20) in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom (Col. 1 lines 64 - 68), the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair through which the projections are passed in use (Col. 5 lines 11 - 20);
an air mover (40 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 - 33) for moving an airflow through the apparatus; and
one or more airflow outlets (41 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 - 33) in fluid communication with the air mover for receipt of an airflow therefrom (Col. 5 lines 8 - 11), the one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge air at or proximate to the discharged steam so as to provide a barrier to the passage of the steam (Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 17 - 20).
wherein the hair styling apparatus is configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently (see that the heater 70 and the motor can be independently controlled by switches 14 (manipulated by slide 17) and 13 (manipulated by slide 16), respectively (Col. 4 lines 19-25) thus, the steam function and the airflow function of the device can be operated concurrently depending on the user’s preference. Furthermore, there is no teaching in this disclosure that limits the device from functioning as claimed, rather the disclosure teaches measures to ensure effective functioning of both the steam generating heater and the airflow function of the device (Col. 5 line 61 – Col. 6 line 6)), wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 11 - 20) are arranged to discharge the steam in a first direction (see Fig. 5; the first direction is interpreted by the examiner as a direction extending away from the device relative to the stem vent 61 (see direction of dotted arrow in annotated Fig. 5 )) to wet the user's hair (Col. 5 lines 20-25: the positioning of the steam vents ensures for uniform hair moistening effect) and the one or more air outlets (41 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 - 33) are arranged to discharge the air in a second direction (see Fig. 5; the second direction is interpreted by the examiner as a direction extending away from the device relative to the air outlet 41 (see direction of dotted arrow in annotated Fig. 5 )) to provide a barrier between the discharged steam and the user (the function as stated is functional thus, while Tsuji does not have to teach the claim limitation as stated, the device of Tsuji is capable of functioning as stated because the air vents 4 are disposed on both sides of the stem vent thus forming a barrier wherein the
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Fig. 5)]discharged stem would be sandwiched in-between the air discharged from element 41).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are provided on the body (30 Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are arranged to discharge steam in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections (57 Fig. 5) from the body (30 Fig. 6) (see Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 13 - 20).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Tsuji further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (61 Fig. 5) are arranged to discharge steam into spaces formed between the projections (57 Fig. 5) (Col. 2 lines 44 - 50; as illustrated in Fig. 5, the steam outlets (61) are positioned between the projections (57) and thus facilitates discharge of steam into the spaces between the projections).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuo (JP H08256818 A).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuo discloses a hair styling appliance comprising: a body (1 Fig. 6) from which a plurality of spaced projections (1d Fig. 6; page 4) project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair (1d is a bristle of the brush portion 1c (abstract and page 4) and can function as claimed);
a steam generator (7/6 [abstract]) for generating steam ([abstract]: water in a water tank 7 is heated with a heater plate 6 to eject steam.);
one or more steam outlets (5 Fig. 6; steam jet port 5 (page 4)) in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom (page 3: the steam generated by heating the water tank by the heater plate 6, is jetted from the steam jet port thus element 5 and 7/6 must be in fluid communication in order to be able to function as disclosed), the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair through which the projections are passed in use (see Fig. 6: element 5 is arranged on the brush portion 1c containing projections (1d brush bristles) through which hair is passed during use; page 3: The steam ejected further can be applied to the hair gripped by the main body hairdressing unit 1…);
an air mover for moving an airflow through the apparatus (Fig. 6 and page 4: the device comprises a cold air discharge port 9, it is intrinsic that the device most have means of generating directed airflow and an open space to allow for the airflow movement that would eventually be discharged from element 9); and
one or more airflow outlets (9 Fig. 6 and page 4) in fluid communication with the air mover for receipt of an airflow therefrom (page 4 and claim 7: cold air can be applied to the hair through element 9 thus element 9 must be in fluid communication with the air mover for the device to function as disclosed), the one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge air at or proximate to the discharged steam so as to provide a barrier to the passage of the steam (claim 7 and Fig. 6; see that element 9 is disposed beside element 5 thus sandwiching element 5 thus in operation, the air stream from element 9 would form a barrier to the passage of steam from element 5).
wherein the hair styling apparatus is configured to discharge steam from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently (claim 7), wherein the one or more steam outlets (5 Fig. 6) are arranged to discharge the steam in a first direction (see Fig. 6; the first direction is interpreted by the examiner as a direction extending away from the device relative to the stem jet port 5) to wet the user's hair (page 3: The steam ejected further can be applied to the hair gripped by the main body hairdressing unit 1… application of steam to hair would wet a user’s hair) and the one or more air outlets (9 Fig. 6) are arranged to discharge the air in a second direction (see Fig. 6; the second direction is interpreted by the examiner as a direction extending away from the device relative to the cold air discharge port 9) to provide a barrier between the discharged steam and the user (the function as stated is functional thus, while Matsuo does not have to teach the claim limitation as stated, the device of Matsuo is capable of functioning as stated because the cold air discharge ports 9 are disposed on both sides of the stem jet port 5 thus forming a barrier wherein the discharged stem would be sandwiched in-between the air discharged from element 9).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Matsuo further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (5 Fig. 6) are provided on the body (1 Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuo discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2. Matsuo further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (5 Fig. 6) are arranged to discharge steam in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections (1d Fig. 6) from the body (1d Fig. 6) (see Fig. 6: see that in operation, the steam ejected from the steam jet port would be in the direction of element 1d).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuo discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Matsuo further discloses the hair apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the one or more steam outlets (5 Fig. 6) are arranged to discharge steam into spaces formed between the projections (1d Fig. 6) (see Fig. 6; by design, element 5 is disposed in the spaces between adjacent element 1d thus steam discharged through element 5 would be discharged into the spaces formed between element 1d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter et al. (US 3721250 A) (hereafter, “Walter”) in view of Omura (US 6584985 B2).
Walter et al. discloses a hair styling apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a body (7 Fig. 1) from which a plurality of spaced projections project (see Fig. 1), the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user's hair to style the hair ([abstract]: element 7 is a combing head and the disclosed invention allows for spraying of fluid and blowing air directly on the hair while combing thus, the projections on element 7 is for passing through a user’s hair);
a mist generator (5/6, a fluid dispensing system including a reservoir 2, a pump 4 and connecting pipes with valves 14 and 19; Fig. 1) for generating heated mist (Col. 1 lines 57-61; while the device of Walter discloses a fluid dispensing system, it does not specifically teach that said fluid dispensing system generates steam);
one or more mist outlets (the outlet of element 6; Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the steam generator (5/6 Fig. 1) for receipt of mist therefrom (Col. 1 lines 57-61), the one or more mist outlets arranged to discharge mist onto hair through which the projections are passed in use (see Fig. 1);
an air mover (20/space within element 7 Fig. 1) for moving an airflow through the apparatus (Col. 1 line 62 – Col. 2 line 11); and
one or more airflow outlets (21 Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the air mover for receipt of an airflow therefrom (Col. 1 line 62 – Col. 2 line 11: air generated through the operation of elements 24/22/23, flows through element 20 and through the internal space of element 7 and exits via element 21), the one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge air at or proximate to the discharged steam so as to provide a barrier to the passage of the steam (see Fig. 1; see that the one or more airflow outlets are arranged such that element 6 is disposed in between thus can form an air barrier at both ends. Also, the function as stated is functional thus, while Walter does not have to teach the claim limitation as stated, the device of Walter is capable of functioning as stated),
wherein the hair styling apparatus is configured to discharge mist from the one or more steam outlets and air from the one or more airflow outlets concurrently (Col. 2 lines 19-21), wherein the one or more steam outlets are arranged to discharge the mist in a first direction to wet the user's hair (Fig. 1; see that the first direction of the mist is an angle relative to the mist outlet of element 6) and the one or more air outlets are arranged to discharge the air in a second direction to provide a barrier (see Fig. 1; see that the outlet 21 points downwards thus it is inferable that the air discharge would be in a direction parallel to the comb tines adjacent the air outlets 21) between the discharged steam and the user.
While Walter discloses a mist generator for generating mist, it does not teach that said mist generator can generate steam; one or more steam outlets in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom, the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair.
Omura discloses an analogous device (Fig. 15A) comprising a body from which a plurality of spaced projections project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles (see Fig. 15A) and a mist ejection device (b Fig. 1). Omura further teaches a steam generator (9 Fig. 1; Col. 3 lines 27-29) for generating steam (see Fig. 1); one or more steam outlets (17 Fig. 15A) in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom (Col. 4 lines 26-35; the steam generated in element 9 is discharged from element 17 thus, element 17 must be in fluid communication with the steam generator), the one or more steam outlets arranged to discharge steam onto hair (see Fig. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mist generator of Walter to be configured to comprise a steam generator for generating stem; one or more steam outlets in fluid communication with the steam generator for receipt of steam therefrom, as taught by Omura, in order to provide a device with a steaming function allowing for improved and deep hydration of the hair during hair styling or treatment.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4936027 A) in view of Miki (JP 2731200 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in a direction across distal ends of the projections.
Miki teaches an analogous device (Fig. 11) comprising a body from which a plurality of spaced projections (101 Fig. 11) project, the projections in the form of comb teeth or brush bristles for passing through a user’s hair (see Fig. 11); a steam generator (110/109/108 Fig. 11) for generating steam; one or more steam outlets (104 Fig. 11); and one or more airflow outlets (105/111 Fig. 11). Miki further teaches that the one or more airflow outlets (111 Fig. 11) are arranged to discharge air in a direction across distal ends of the projections (101 Fig. 11) (see annotated Fig. 11; the outlet, 111, is provide at the base of the brush unit (102) and discharges air in a direction across the distal ends of the projections (101) as best seen in Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair styling apparatus disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with one or more airflow outlets arranged to discharge in a direction across distal ends of the projections, as taught by Miki, in order to facilitate quick drying of user's hair via the discharge of hot air from the one or more airflow outlet.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections from the body, and wherein the one or more airflow outlets are disposed so as to extend substantially about a periphery of the one or more steam outlets.
Miki further teaches that the one or more airflow outlets (105 Fig. 11) are arranged to discharge air in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections (101 Fig. 11) from the body (102 Fig. 11) (see Fig. 11; the arrow indicative of air discharge direction is pointed in the direction of extension of the plurality of projections), and wherein the one or more airflow outlets (105 Fig. 11) are disposed so as to extend substantially about a periphery of the one or more steam outlets (104 Fig. 11) (see annotated Fig. 11; the airflow outlet (105) as illustrated extends substantially about a periphery (the edges of 104 as illustrated with broken lines in Fig. 11) of the one or more steam outlets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured such that the one or more airflow outlets are arranged to discharge air in the direction of the projections and disposed substantially about a periphery of one or more steam outlets, as taught by Miki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows for the discharge of air and/or steam via the airflow and/or steam outlets to the hair caught by the projections for effective hair styling and drying without scattering the hair caught in the projections, as suggested by Miki.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A).
Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3 above. Tsuji is silent regarding the hair styling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein each airflow outlet is provided at or proximate to a distal end of a respective projection of the plurality of projections.
Qu et al. teaches a hair-drying comb wherein each airflow outlet (412 Fig. 2) is provided at or proximate to a distal end (the end point away from the body (1 fig. 2)) of a respective projection (4 Fig. 2) of the plurality of projections (4 Fig. 2) (paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with one or more airflow outlet provided at or proximate to a distal end of a respective projection of the plurality of projections, as taught by Qu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for the discharge of air closer to the hair or to effectuate the direct delivery of air to the hair thus, ensuring good hair drying or styling effect as suggested by Qu et al.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A), and further in view of Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuji as modified by Qu et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 7. The combination of Tsuji and Qu et al. is silent regarding the claimed invention wherein the projections are in the form of a row of spaced comb teeth, each tooth extending from the body in a longitudinal direction and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges that respectively lead and trail in movement through a user's hair in use.
Eddy et al. teaches a hair styling apparatus with steam-spraying teeth wherein the projections (12 Figs. 2 and 3) are in the form of a row of spaced comb teeth (see Figs. 2 and 3; element 12 is arranged in a spaced row, forming a spaced comb teeth), each tooth extending from the body (5 Fig. 2) in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 2; paragraph 19) and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges (see annotated Fig. 2; the leading and trailing edges are longitudinally extending along each tooth and have a lateral space that inclines inwardly at an angle, between them) that respectively lead and trail in movement through a user's hair in use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclose by Tsuji/Qu et al. to be configured to have the projections formed in a row of spaced comb teeth with each tooth extending from the body in a longitudinal direction and comprising laterally spaced and longitudinally extending leading and trailing edges that respectively lead and trail in the movement through a user's hair in use, as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows for user's hair to easily pass between the teeth or comb teeth during styling further refining the separation of the hair before additional styling steps, as suggested by Eddy et al.
Regarding claim 9, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 8 above. Tsuji is silent regarding claim 9, wherein each steam outlet is provided on a tooth of the row of comb teeth.
Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is provided on a tooth (12 Fig. 4) of the row of comb teeth (paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet provided on a tooth of the row of comb teeth, as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order allow for effective steam discharge directly to the hair as the hair pass between the comb teeth during use.
Regarding claim 10, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 9 above. Tsuji is silent regarding claim 10, wherein each steam outlet is provided on the leading edge of a tooth of the row of comb teeth.
Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is provided on the leading edge of a tooth (see annotated Fig. 4) of the row of comb teeth (12 Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet provided on the leading edge of a tooth of the row of comb teeth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance the hair styling process by discharging steam via the steam outlet on the leading edge to moisturize or vaporize the hair before fully passing through the teeth of the comb.
Regarding claim 11, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 10 above. Tsuji is silent regarding claim 11, wherein each steam outlet is arranged to discharge steam in a lateral direction away from the leading edge on which it is disposed.
Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each steam outlet (16a Fig. 4) is arranged to discharge steam (18c Fig. 4) in a lateral direction away from the leading edge (see annotated Fig. 4) on which it is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy et al. to be configured with steam outlet arranged to discharge steam in a lateral direction away from the leading edge on which it is disposed, as taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows hair in front of the leading edge of a tooth of the comb teeth to receive steam projected directly from the steam outlet of the leading- edge allowing hair further away from the leading edge to be vaporized or moisturized before ever coming in contact with the tooth of the comb teeth.
Claim(s) 12 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A)/Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A) in view of Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 109512119 A).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuji/Qu et al. in view of Eddy et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 8 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy is silent regarding claim 12, wherein each of the one or more airflow outlets is provided on a leading edge of a tooth of the row of comb teeth on which one of the steam outlets is provided, the airflow outlet disposed distally of the steam outlet.
Li et al. teaches an analogous device wherein each of the one or more airflow outlets (16 Fig. 5) is provided on a leading edge of a tooth (the outlet is provided on a side of the comb tooth as shown in Fig. 5) of the row of comb teeth (Fig. 5 is a tooth embodiment of the invention, Fig. 1) on which one of the steam outlets (7 Fig. 5; second outlet provided on the same side of the tooth) is provided, the airflow outlet disposed distally of the steam outlet (element 16 is positioned distally of element 7; see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leading edge of the tooth of the row of comb teeth disclosed by Tsuji/Qu et al./Eddy be configured with one or more airflow outlet provided on the same leading edge on which one or more steam outlets is provided, and disposed distally of the steam outlet, as taught by Li et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create where airflow is discharged to the not easily combed hair or the base of the hair while allowing moistening of the hair via steam discharge from the steam outlet posterior the airflow outlet thus, promoting a more efficient hair styling process or experience for the user.
Regarding claim 13, Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al. in view of Li et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 12 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./Li et al. is silent regarding claim 13, wherein each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided.
Eddy et al. further teaches the hair styling apparatus wherein each airflow outlet (16a Fig. 4) is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided (see annotated Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. be configured such that each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge airflow laterally and away from the leading edge of the tooth on which it is provided, as further taught by Eddy et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device that allows hair in front of the leading edge of a tooth of the comb teeth to receive air projected directly from the airflow outlet of the leading-edge allowing hair further away from the leading edge to reduce the hair moisture before ever coming in contact with the tooth of the comb teeth.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A)/Qu et al. (CN 111134436 A)/Eddy et al. (EP 2789256 A2) in view of Li et al. (CN 109512119 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of (DE 2508951 A).
Tsuji/ Qu et Eddy et al./Li et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 12 above. However, Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. is silent regarding claim 14 wherein each airflow outlet is arranged to discharge air towards the body.
(DE 2508951 A) teaches an analogous device wherein each airflow outlet (46 Fig. 3) is arranged to discharge air towards the body (40 Fig. 3; paragraph 15: hot air nozzles 46 are formed in the front-end region of the tine 44 near its tip, with the blowing direction being obliquely directed towards the base part of the body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuji/Qu et al./ Eddy et al./Li et al. to be configured with airflow outlet arranged to discharge air towards the body, as taught by (DE 2508951 A). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create device that allows for a particularly advantageous air flow through the hair that is achieved from the inner parts of the hair to the outer hairs resulting in intensive drying and curling of the hair, as the warm air jets not only avoid pressing the hair down onto the head, but actually lift away from the scalp, as suggested by (DE 2508951 A).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Conrad (US 20210307473 A1).
Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1 above. Tsuji further discloses a hair styling appliance configured such that airflow is discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (41 Fig. 5; Col. 5 lines 1 - 33). However, Tsuji is silent regarding claim 15, wherein the hair styling device is configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature.
Conrad teaches an analogous device configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (56 Figs. 3 - 5) is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature (paragraph 49; in the first operating mode, the device taught by Conrad can dry hair using high air velocity (paragraph 500) which air may be at ambient temperature; paragraph 601).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured such that the airflow discharged from the one or more airflow outlets is provided substantially at or below ambient temperature, as taught by Conrad, in order to remove excess moisture from the hair being styled and to protect the hair from damages caused by excessive heat.
Claim(s) 17 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 4,936,027 A) in view of Sahm (CH 687056 A5).
Regarding claim 17, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Tsuji is silent regarding claim 17, comprising a flow diverter moveable between: a first position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets; and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use.
Sahm teaches a hair roller comprising a flow diverter (9/10/16 Fig. 1) moveable between: a first position (8 closed and 7 open) in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more airflow outlets (7 Fig. 1); and a second position (8 open and 7 closed) in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets (8 Fig. 1) arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use (Col. 3 lines 49 - 64: The sleeves 9, 10 are rotated into that position (which can be accomplished before or after winding) in which the air outlet openings 8 are blocked. Thereafter, the treatment for producing perms is carried out according to the known procedure. The heating is now carried out by the warm air exiting only axially from the air outlet openings 7 of the hollow flange section 2. After the hair has been rinsed out, the sleeves 9, 10 are rotated into the release position of the air outlet openings 8 of the outer sleeve 10, so that the hair is dried uniformly from the inside through the openings 8 and from the outside through the openings 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsuji to be configured with a flow diverted moveable between a first position in which the flow diverter directs air to one or more airflow outlets, and a second position in which the flow diverter directs airflow to the one or more steam outlets or to one or more further airflow outlets arranged to discharge airflow onto hair being styled by the apparatus in use, as taught by Sahm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a device with two operable positions that allows for uniform drying of hair by allowing direction of airflow to distinct airflow outlets as prompted by the user's hair styling needs.
Regarding claim 18, Tsuji as modified by Sahm discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 17. Tsuji further discloses a hair styling apparatus wherein the apparatus is configured to operate in a first mode in which steam is discharged from the one or more steam outlets and air is discharged from the one or more airflow outlets (summary of invention and Col. 2 lines 51 - 54: see that the claimed device is operable in a mode wherein airflow is discharge from the airflow chamber via the airflow vent and stem is discharged from the stem chamber via the stem vents, providing a hair dryer and steamer combination); and a second mode in which steam is not discharged from the one or more steam outlets and airflow is discharged from the steam outlets or from the one or more further airflow outlets (Col. 2 lines 23 - 28: see that claimed invention is capable of being selectively utilized as a dryer and a steamer by a single device, thus, defining a drying mode where steam is not discharged).
Conclusion
/C.A./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772