Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed 06/11/2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of Claim 20, 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of Claims 1, 3, and 6-11, and the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of Claims 2 and 12-20 as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 03/11/2026. Applicant has deferred addressing the non-statutory double patenting rejection as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 03/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 06/11/2026 regarding claim interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues disagrees with examiner's interpretation of Renne teaching movement of the first cylinder along the reference curve of the base because Renne allows unrestricted movement of the first cylinder.
Examiner replies see MPEP § 2111.01, claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the independent claims, a reference curve is a curve of reference, in this case, the curved shape of the base and is not constrained. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, a new ground of rejection is necessitated due to the amendments to the claims. Claims 1, 12, 20 are now rejected by the combination of Renne and Stone.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of the independent under 35 U.S.C. 103, as it relates to the amended claim language, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the combination of Renne and Stone, as necessitated by the amendment.
Applicant argues Renne neither discloses nor suggests determining a point on a reference curve corresponding to a drag input and moving the cylinder based on the determined point, as recited in Claim 1.
Examiner replies Renne fails to disclose the amended language recited in Claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the combination of Renne and Stone as necessitated by the amendment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-10, 12, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 9-12, 18, and 19 of copending application Kim (Application No. 18/580947), hereinafter referenced as Kim. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the notion of the claims of the current application correspond with the claims in Kim.
Below is a limitation mapping between the current application and the claims of Kim.
Current Application (18/851786)
Kim (18/580947)
Claim
Limitation
Claim
Limitation
1
An oral cavity image processing method comprising:
1
An intraoral image processing method comprising:
obtaining 3-dimensional oral cavity data by scanning an oral cavity including teeth;
1
obtaining three-dimensional intraoral data that is data from scanning an object;
generating a base based on the 3-dimensional oral cavity data;
1
generating a base, based on the three-dimensional intraoral data;
generating, based on a reference curve of the base, one or more cylinders that pass through a wall of the base;
1
generating, based on the base, a cylinder that penetrates through a wall of the base;
receiving a user input for moving a first cylinder from among the one or more cylinders;
moving the first cylinder along the reference curve of the base based on the user input;
and generating one or more drain holes by deleting data corresponding to the one or more cylinders from teeth model data including the base.
1
generating a drain hole by deleting data corresponding to the cylinder from teeth model data including the base; and displaying the teeth model data in which the drain hole is generated.
7
The oral cavity image processing method of claim 1, further comprising
1
displaying the teeth model data in which the one or more drain holes are generated.
and displaying the teeth model data in which the drain hole is generated.
8
The oral cavity image processing method of claim 7, further comprising
9
The intraoral image processing method of claim 1, further comprising
obtaining the teeth model data by generating mesh data extending from an edge of the 3-dimensional oral cavity data to the base.
obtaining the teeth model data including the base, by generating mesh data extending from a boundary of the three-dimensional intraoral data to the base.
9
The oral cavity image processing method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more cylinders comprises
2
The intraoral image processing method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises
receiving a user input regarding a number of the one or more cylinders, diameters of the one or more cylinders, and distances from a reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders.
receiving a user input with respect to a number of cylinders, a diameter of the cylinder, and a distance from the base to the cylinder.
10
The oral cavity image processing method of claim 9, wherein the generating of the one or more cylinders further comprises
3
The intraoral image processing method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises
determining positions of the one or more cylinders, based on the number of the one or more cylinders and the distances from the reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders.
determining a position of the cylinder, based on a number of cylinders and a distance from the base to the cylinder.
12
An oral cavity image processing device comprising:
10
An intraoral image processing device comprising:
a display;
a display;
a user interface;
a memory storing one or more instructions;
10
a memory storing one or more instructions;
and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to:
and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to:
obtain 3-dimensional oral cavity data by scanning an oral cavity including teeth;
obtain three-dimensional intraoral data that is data from scanning an object;
generate a base based on the 3-dimensional oral cavity data;
generate a base, based on the three-dimensional intraoral data;
generate, based on a reference curve of the base, one or more cylinders that pass through a wall of the base;
generate, based on the base, a cylinder that penetrates through a wall of the base;
control the display to display the generate one or more cylinders;
receive, through the user interface, a user input for moving a first cylinder from among the one or more cylinders;
move the first cylinder along the reference curve of the base based on the user input;
and generate one or more drain holes by deleting data corresponding to the one or more cylinders from teeth model data including the base.
10
generate a drain hole by deleting data corresponding to the cylinder from teeth model data including the base;
18
The oral cavity image processing device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to
10
control the display to display the teeth model data in which the one or more drain holes are generated.
and control the display to display the teeth model data in which the drain hole is generated.
19
The oral cavity image processing device of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to
18
The intraoral image processing device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory
obtain the teeth model data by generating mesh data extending from an edge of the 3-dimensional oral cavity data to the base.
to obtain the teeth model data including the base by generating mesh data extending from a boundary of the three-dimensional intraoral data to the base.
20
A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program comprising at least one instruction for performing, by a computer, an oral cavity image processing method, the oral cavity image processing method comprising:
19
A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program comprising one or more instructions for executing, on a computer, an intraoral image processing method comprising:
obtaining 3-dimensional oral cavity data by scanning an oral cavity including teeth;
obtaining three-dimensional intraoral data that is data from scanning an object;
generating a base based on the 3-dimensional oral cavity data;
generating a base, based on the three-dimensional intraoral data;
generating, based on a reference curve of the base, one or more cylinders that pass through a wall of the base;
generating, based on the base, a cylinder that penetrates through a wall of the base;
receiving a user input for moving a first cylinder from among the one or more cylinders;
moving the first cylinder along the reference curve of the base based on the user input;
and generating one or more drain holes by deleting data corresponding to the one or more cylinders from teeth model data including the base.
generating a drain hole by deleting data corresponding to the cylinder from teeth model data including the base;
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renne (Wally Renne – The MOD Institute, “UPDATED How to quickly hollow and base models for printing”, Youtube, 2020), hereinafter referenced as Renne in view of Stone (US 2015/0026618 A1), hereinafter referenced as Stone.
Regarding Claim 1, Renne discloses an oral cavity image processing method (Renne: [Image 1], discloses a tutorial of processing a 3D oral cavity model in the title of the video) comprising:
obtaining 3-dimensional oral cavity data by scanning an oral cavity including teeth (Renne: [1:00; Image 1], states the model is an intraoral scan, shows cleaning up the edges of 3-D model which includes teeth);
generating a base based on the 3-dimensional oral cavity data (Renne: [4:43; Image 2], "flat base" on dental model is created);
Screen clip of base creation from the video, [4:34]
generating, based on a reference curve of the base, one or more cylinders that pass through a wall of the base (Renne: [6:22; Image 5], a cylinder is created and cylinder passes through wall of base <where the wall of the base read on reference curve>);
and generating one or more drain holes by deleting data corresponding to the one or more cylinders from teeth model data including the base (Renne: [7:39; Image 10], shows cylinder data removed to create drain holes on the dental model which includes the generated base).
a first cylinder from among the one or more cylinders (Renne: [6:47; Images 8, 9], shows a first cylinder among one or more cylinders)
Renne fails to disclose
receiving a user input for moving a first object, wherein the user input includes a drag input from a first point to a second point on a screen;
determining, from among points on the reference curve of the base, a third point corresponding to the second point;
moving the first object such that the third point is located on a central axis of the first object;
However, Stone discloses
receiving a user input for moving a first object, wherein the user input includes a drag input from a first point to a second point on a screen (Stone: [0049-0050] discloses receiving a drag input of a cursor for moving a first object’s source feature from a first point to a second point on a screen);
determining, from among points on the reference curve of the base, a third point corresponding to the second point (Stone: [Figs. 6C-D], illustrate a determined third point corresponding to the second point, which is the ending point <end of dragging motion> of the selected feature, and 610 of Fig. 6D is the third point, the perimeter of the square is considered the reference curve because it is a closed curve, and the 8 points on it are the points on the reference curve of the square <base>; [0050], discloses the selected source feature is within a distance of a feature on the reference curve of the base, this corresponds to the second point because that is the ending point of the mouse drag which has moved the object);
moving the first object such that the third point is located on a central axis of the first object (Stone: [0050], discloses snapping or aligning <moving> the source object with the target feature <base> containing the third point, the central axis is interpreted as the center of the source object);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by Renne by using drag and snap logic as taught by Stone . One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely position drain holes.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further discloses
a direction of a central axis of each of the one or more cylinders is parallel to a direction of a normal vector of a point where the central axis intersects the reference curve (Renne: [6:47; Images 8, 9], shows the central axis of a cylinder as parallel to a normal vector, pointing right, where the central axis of the cylinder is intersecting with the reference curve, where the reference curve is the sidewall of the base).
The boxed arrow is interpreted as the vector
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose wherein the moving of the first cylinder comprises
moving the first cylinder such that a distance between the central axis of the first cylinder and a reference surface of the base is maintained (Renne: [6:03; Image 4], moves the cylinder such that the distance between the central axis of the cylinder and a reference surface of the base is maintained).
Regarding Claims 7, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
displaying the teeth model data in which the one or more drain holes are generated (Renne: [7:39; Image 9], displays teeth model with a plurality of generated drain holes).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Renne and Stone discloses the method of Claim 7. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
obtaining the teeth model data by generating mesh data extending from an edge of the 3-dimensional oral cavity data to the base (Renne: [1:00; Image 1], shows Meshmixer, a well-known 3D editor, displaying mesh data extending from an edge of the oral cavity to the base).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
receiving a user input regarding a number of the one or more cylinders, diameters of the one or more cylinders, and distances from a reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders (Renne: [5:54; Image 3] shows cylinder size changing; [6:46; Image 7] shows distances from a reference surface of the base changing; [6:46; Image 7], shows the number of cylinders is determined by the user).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 9. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
determining positions of the one or more cylinders, based on the number of the one or more cylinders and the distances from the reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders (Renne: [6:47, Images 8 and 9] shows user positioning cylinders based on the position of other cylinders to connect them).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
and generating the one or more cylinders based on the determined heights of the side surfaces of the one or more cylinders (Renne: [6:33, Image 6] shows the cylinder duplicated <where duplicated reads on generated based on determined heights of the side surfaces because a duplicated cylinder will have all the same properties, including the determined heights of the side surfaces, of the cylinder it was duplicated from>).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Renne and Stone in view of Denzinger et al. (US 2021/0166389 A1), hereinafter referenced as Denzinger.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone fails to disclose the limitations of Claim 2, however, Denzinger discloses
at least one of an inner boundary of the base, an outer boundary of the base, and a curve connecting points located in a middle of the base in a thickness direction of the base (Denzinger: [0125], discloses a region of interest with inner and outer boundaries and a centerline <reads on a curve connecting points located in the middle of the base in a thickness direction of the base>; [Fig. 2], where the centerline is reference character 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by the combination of Renne and Stone by designating a reference curve defined by an inner boundary, and outer boundary, and a centerline as taught by Denzinger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification because inner/outer boundaries and centerlines define, constrain, and visualize surface data. This is beneficial in 3D modeling because it increases efficiency by providing precise, actionable, and structural reference lines for modeling, visualization, and analysis.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Renne and Stone in view of “Finding element nearest to clicked point”, 2014, stackoverflow.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose wherein the determining of the third point corresponding to the second point comprises:
first cylinder (Renne: [4:43, Image 2], illustrates multiple cylinders <includes a first>)
and determining the third point from among points on the reference curve, the third point being at a minimum distance from the selected source feature (Stone: [0049-0050], discloses determining a target feature <third point> from among points on the target object <reference curve>, the target feature being at a predetermining minimum distances from the selected source feature);
and moving the source object to locate the second point on the central axis of the source object (Stone: [0050], discloses snapping the object to the target object, snapping the second point of the source feature to the nearest point on the target object <reference curve>).
second point (Stone: [0049-0050], discloses a second point)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by the combination of Renne and Stone by using drag and snap logic as further taught by Stone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely position drain holes.
The combination of Renne and Stone do not disclose
generating a virtual ray in a direction perpendicular to the screen from the second point;
minimum distance from the virtual ray;
However, Tan discloses
generating a virtual ray in a direction perpendicular to the screen from the (Tan: [Images 1 and 3], discloses mouse clicks <interpreted as generating a virtual ray perpendicular to a screen because a mouse click acts as a ray cast>);
minimum distance from the virtual ray (Tan: [Images 1 and 3], discloses selecting an object at minimum distance from a mouse click <virtual ray>);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by the combination of Renne and Stone by finding an element nearest to a mouse click as taught by Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to handle human inaccuracies, maximizing precision.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Tan disclose the method of Claim 4. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Tan further disclose wherein the determining of the third point comprises
first cylinder (Renne: [4:43, Image 2], shows a first cylinder)
an intersection point between the reference curve and the central axis of the into the base (Renne: [6:47, Image 8], shows when the cylinder is selected, but before it is moved into the base, the central axis of the cylinder is projects, this axis intersects with the reference curve of the base <intersection point between the reference curve and the central axis>)
determining the third point on the reference curve to be at a minimum distance from the selected feature (Stone: [0050], discloses the target point to be snapped to is at a minimum distance from the selected feature)
and within a preset distance from a a point on the reference curve (Stone: [Fig. 6C], illustrates 8 points on a reference curve <includes a fourth>)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by Renne, Stone, and Tan by using drag and snap logic as further taught by Stone. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely position drain holes.
the virtual ray (Tan: [Image 1], discloses a mouse click)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by Renne, Stone, and Tan by using a mouse click as further taught by Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification of user selection for enhanced user experience.
Claims 12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Renne and Stone in view of Chen et al. (CN 111449781 A), hereinafter referenced as Chen.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites limitations similar to Claim 1 but as a device. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Renne and Stone disclose the method of Claim 1. The combination of Renne and Stone further disclose
a display (Stone: [0021], discloses a display device);
a user interface (Stone: [0021], discloses a user interface);
a memory storing one or more instructions (Stone: [0064], discloses a memory storing instructions);
and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory (Stone: [0022], discloses a processor executing an application <instructions> stored in the memory) to: …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by the combination of Renne and Stone by including a display, a user interface, a processor, and a memory as further taught by Stone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance user interaction with the method being performed and enable real time data processing.
The combination of Renne and Stone fail to disclose
An oral cavity image processing device comprising: …
However, Chen discloses
An oral cavity image processing device (Chen, [Abs], discloses a method, terminal, and storage medium for overflowing holes on a dental model; [0064], discloses a terminal, a user interface, and a processor executing software programs stored in memory) comprising: …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by the combination of Renne and Stone by developing it as a system as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this application because a device including a display, UI, memory, and a processor to enhance user interaction with the method being performed and enable real-time data processing.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 12. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen further disclose
a direction of a central axis of each of the one or more cylinders is parallel to a direction of a normal vector of a point where the central axis intersects the reference curve (Renne: [6:47; Images 8, 9], shows the central axis of a cylinder as parallel to a normal vector, pointing right, where the central axis of the cylinder is intersecting with the reference curve, where the reference curve is the sidewall of the base).
The boxed arrow is interpreted as the vector
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 12. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen further disclose wherein the moving of the first cylinder comprises
moving the first cylinder such that a distance between the central axis of the first cylinder and a reference surface of the base is maintained (Renne: [6:03; Image 4], moves the cylinder such that the distance between the central axis of the cylinder and a reference surface of the base is maintained).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 12. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen further disclose
displaying the teeth model data in which the one or more drain holes are generated (Renne: [7:39; Image 9], displays teeth model with a plurality of generated drain holes).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 18. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen further disclose
obtaining the teeth model data by generating mesh data extending from an edge of the 3-dimensional oral cavity data to the base (Renne: [1:00; Image 1], shows Meshmixer, a well-known 3D editor, displaying mesh data extending from an edge of the oral cavity to the base).
Regarding Claim 20, it recites limitations similar in scope to Claims 1 and 12 but as a computer-readable recording medium. As shown in the rejection, Renne and Stone and the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the method and device of Claims 1 and 12 respectively. Additionally, Chen discloses
A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program comprising at least one instruction for performing, by a computer, an oral cavity image processing method, the oral cavity image processing method comprising (Chen, [0153], discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, that when executed by a processor, performs operations that comprise a method): …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method disclosed by Renne and Stone or the device disclosed by the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen by developing the method or device as a computer-readable recording medium as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this application because a computer-readable medium provides an automated data-processing, data storage, and data retrieval.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen in view of Denzinger et al. (US 2021/0166389 A1), hereinafter referenced as Denzinger.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 12. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen fail to disclose the limitations of Claim 13, however, Denzinger discloses
at least one of an inner boundary of the base, an outer boundary of the base, and a curve connecting points located in a middle of the base in a thickness direction of the base (Denzinger: [0125], discloses a region of interest with inner and outer boundaries and a centerline <reads on a curve connecting points located in the middle of the base in a thickness direction of the base>; [Fig. 2], where the centerline is reference character 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the device disclosed by the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen by designating a reference curve defined by an inner boundary, and outer boundary, and a centerline as taught by Denzinger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification because inner/outer boundaries and centerlines define, constrain, and visualize surface data. This is beneficial in 3D modeling because it increases efficiency by providing precise, actionable, and structural reference lines for modeling, visualization, and analysis.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen in view of “Finding element nearest to clicked point”, 2014, stackoverflow.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen disclose the device of Claim 12. The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen further disclose wherein the determining of the third point corresponding to the second point comprises:
first cylinder (Renne: [4:43, Image 2], illustrates multiple cylinders <includes a first>)
and determining the third point from among points on the reference curve, the third point being at a minimum distance from the selected source feature (Stone: [0049-0050], discloses determining a target feature <third point> from among points on the target object <reference curve>, the target feature being at a predetermining minimum distances from the selected source feature);
and moving the source object to locate the second point on the central axis of the source object (Stone: [0050], discloses snapping the object to the target object, snapping the second point of the source feature to the nearest point on the target object <reference curve>).
second point (Stone: [0049-0050], discloses a second point)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the device disclosed by the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen by using drag and snap logic as further taught by Stone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely position drain holes.
The combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen do not disclose
generating a virtual ray in a direction perpendicular to the screen from the second point;
minimum distance from the virtual ray;
However, Tan discloses
generating a virtual ray in a direction perpendicular to the screen from the (Tan: [Images 1 and 3], discloses mouse clicks <interpreted as generating a virtual ray perpendicular to a screen because a mouse click acts as a ray cast>);
minimum distance from the virtual ray (Tan: [Images 1 and 3], discloses selecting an object at minimum distance from a mouse click <virtual ray>);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the method or device disclosed by the combination of Renne, Stone, and Chen by finding an element nearest to a mouse click as taught by Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to handle human inaccuracies, maximizing precision.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Renne, Stone, Chen, and Tan disclose the device of Claim 16. The combination of Renne, Stone, Chen, and Tan further disclose wherein the determining of the third point comprises
first cylinder (Renne: [4:43, Image 2], shows a first cylinder)
an intersection point between the reference curve and the central axis of the into the base (Renne: [6:47, Image 8], shows when the cylinder is selected, but before it is moved into the base, the central axis of the cylinder is projects, this axis intersects with the reference curve of the base <intersection point between the reference curve and the central axis>)
determining the third point on the reference curve to be at a minimum distance from the selected feature (Stone: [0050], discloses the target point to be snapped to is at a minimum distance from the selected feature)
and within a preset distance from a a point on the reference curve (Stone: [Fig. 6C], illustrates 8 points on a reference curve <includes a fourth>)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the device disclosed by Renne, Stone, Chen, and Tan by using drag and snap logic as further taught by Stone. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely position drain holes.
the virtual ray (Tan: [Image 1], discloses a mouse click)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply and/or modify the device disclosed by Renne, Stone, Chen, and Tan by using a mouse click as further taught by Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification of user selection for enhanced user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoffman et al. (US 2015/0327959 A1) teaches positioning teeth in a jaw model.
Lee (US 2023/0039451 A1) teaches processing oral cavity images
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618